Hi Rammy, Needle, Petals,
These 2 days after my breakfast and throughtout the day I will feel nausea and can't really tell when I'm hungry although I can still eat. I'm still taking duphaston twice a day. I did ask Dr whether duphaston will cause nausea but he said no. I remembered dr said got to be careful this 1mth esp for pregnancy thru ivf. After i left,I kept thinking of his words and whether ivf pregnancy is different fr normal preg.

I still take naps during the day and stay at home alot. Really hope will pass the 1st trim quicly cos the nausea feeling is quite hard to bear...I feel much better during the injection period.

Petals,
The Vit B is a separate pill, besides the folic acid & duphaston, given to me because I told my doc of the constant yellow discharge that I'm having.

Nano,
Actually, I can't really feel much in my tummy area too. Can't really feel much hunger and even whether I have high tide or not, so I just go toilet anyway. Past 2 nites I slept right thru, and when I woke up this morning, I didn't even feel the need to pee...so funny right?

Petals,
Do you still drink alot of water? Cos if i drink before i sleep, I will defintely wake up in the middle of the nite to pee. Recently, I haven't been able to take plain water so has cut down on my fluid intake which is not too gd..but in a way it is better cos i dun have to wake up often to pee. If u still can take plain water then very gd.

Do you have a funny after-taste after yr meals? Soon after i finished my meal, i will loose the taste of the food that i just took. I always have it now which is very irritating.

Nano,
Yah, I can still drink water. I read that we shld try to drink more during daytime so that u don't need to pee so much during the nite. Must hydrate, very very impt. I also notice that once I start eating, I'll lose interest very fast, and I'll also have the after-taste of my food for quite a while after I finish. So sometime I eat something sweet to get rid of the dinner taste. No real craving now, but i seem to prefer soupy stuff.

Petals,
Ya heard that it is impt to drink more water now but it is quite a difficult task for me now cos drink too much will be bloated n nausea. This morning, I nearly vomited after 2 sips of plain water. Think i can't take plain water esp immediately after meals. Haiz
But I find that popping some mint sweets seems to ease my nausea abit for that moment. I also prefer soupy stuff too cos no much appetite easier to swallow.

Dear Nano

I've gotten this recipe from a cookbook on food during pregnancy. It is writen by a herbalist Mak Chung man from Hong Kong. If you have problem drinking plain water. Try this:

200ml milk (about rice bowl)
10ml fresh ginger juice (about one tablespoon)
25g sugar (about one tablespoon)

Put all ingredient into a pot and bring it to boil. Leave for a while until it set. Serve warm.

It claims to strengthen the spleen and Stomach, eases nausea & vomiting.

You can check with your elders or any sinseh if you have doubt in this recipe...

Unfortunately, he did not say how many times you can drink per day. Maybe if it helps to ease the nausea feeling, den you may be able to sip a little plain water for a short while before it comes back.

Hope this would help.

to-day was my 2nd day of meanses. so i went for the blood test. my first supereffect will be start from 17th october. i am praying to my allah so that i can success in my journey.

pls pray for me.

Hi Pupi,

Glad that you have embarked on your journey. Hope for all the best! Do share your experiences as you move along. I should be around the same time as you.

yuki and petals
thanks for your support.

yuki,
from when u r starting your supereffect? is it your first try?

petals
when is your scan? are u carrying twin?

pupi,
My 1st scan's next week...the waiting seems so long.

Nano,
Do u feel any cramping? I sometimes feel it just for a short while, and I get very worried. Hope I'm not being paranoid.

Pupi,

Yes! this is my first IVF. I'm on contraceptive pills right now and will be visiting KKIVF on D16. I absolutely have no clue why they ask me to go on D16 rather then D21. Lucrin jab should commence probably on 4 Oct, if not should be 11 Oct.

Petals,
Slight cramping should be alright. It's the uterus expanding. I have them occcasionally too. My doc said not to worry unless it's accompanied by spotting.
I bet you're really excited about your first scan.

Yuki, Pupi,
All the best for your IVF journey!

Rammy

Thanks for the well-wishes. Will have a lot to learn from you too! And lots of babydust as well.

Hope you'll have a smooth 9 months too!

Btw, just for your info, I believe you diet do consist of ingredient such as galangal and lemongrass. I've read that although lemongrass is good for health, however, it is not recommended for pregnant ladies. It stimulates menstrual flow, which indirectly means harmful for pregnancy. Avoid things like aromatic oil, message oil or tea consisting of lemongrass.

May want to have a look at this: http://www.drugs.com/npp/lemongrass.html

Petals,
Ya as wat Rammy explained, slight cramping may be due to uterus expanding, as long as it is mild and no bleeding ok. I have it quite frequent during my 3rd, 4th wk of preg,now much lesser. Btw, can we take black vinegar now?(Those that we add to Lor Mee)

Yuki,
Thks for yr recommendation but can i know how to make the fresh ginger juice? I have the 3 in 1 instant ginger drink, dunno can substitue wif that or not. My nausea sometimes ok but sometimes bad...hope it will get better soon.

Pupi, Yuki,
All the best for yr IVF cycle.

Nano,

If u got a meat tenderiser or those chilli pounder (chang-kor) , just cut a thumb size ginger into small cubes.. den put them in a small and clean plastic bag (those sandwiches bag) and gently pound it. You can place the plastic in the pounder, that way u won't have to mess with it. Should be able to extract sum.

I normally use food processor to extract ginger juice for my cooking purposes. Otherwise, follow the lazy method b'cos u are expecting and u dun want to do too much washing.

I'm not certain if u can use the 3 in 1, but no harm trying.. just add halve a packet to the 200ml milk. Believe those instant contain a fair bit of sugar.. Give it a try and if it works, that'll be good.

Another alternative to instantly ease your nausea is those candied ginger from those ichiban shop. U can put it under your tongue or on you tongue (which ever suit you) and suck it..
It's a slow process but usually works.. If you are worried about the sugar level, just raise it before u put it in your mouth.

But always remember, dun over do everything.. even if it works very well.. too much or too little is no good. MOderate amount...

Dear MTBs

Talking about food, those of u who like soupy stuff and too worried about hawker food or lazy to prepare difficult meal.. heres an easy one..

Pork Liver Soup with Spinach

600g Chinese spinach
150g pork liver sliced ( for muslims chicken liver also can)
Sliced ginger
4 cups of water

Boil water in a pot. Put in the ginger slices and liver. Cook brielfy.
Add spinach and bring to boil. Season with salt and pepper for taste.

If u like u can add steamed rice or heehoon into it.. that will make it very easy, healthy and MSF free. AND that's one easy meal when u are alone.

Spinach is rich in folic acid. Liver benefits the blood. Chicken liver lots of Vit B.

Give it a shot, you may like it.

TIPS : if u gals are lazy to wash the spinach... get HB to wash the night before and wrap it in the plastic bags and keep in fridge...

Thanks Yuki, but I read that we are not supposed to eat too much liver when preggy cos of high Vit A content. Too much vit A might cause birth defects. I guess we can substitute with meat in ur recipe instead.

Petal

Yes, u can substitute with meat if you want. Moderate amount of Liver should be fine.. in fact this recipe was recommended for those from 0-12 weeks. Well, if you are taking multi-vits den you should keep the amount low.. Probably 2 or 3 sliced to bring out the flavour of the soup and the rest add in meat.. u can opt not to eat the liver, just drink the soup. My SIL takes these once a week and she managed to deliver 3 little ones.

I believe you may have read article from Fiona Ford from UK who refers Liver as to those Liver Sausage and Liver pate, which is entirely made of nothing but liver. They are taking a whole chunk of it which is very harmful.

Like I've mentioned, too much is bad too little is insufficient.. Having a few slices once a week should be fine.. Lean Meat is perfectly okay but don't over do with too much proteins also..

ER Yesterday

I am new, although I have been following this thread closely since July.

I am 34, married with a 7 y/o boy. DH has low count and motility.

Would like to take this opp to recount my experience...just as THERESA,maple_babies, Petal etc all have .....which provided great emotional support.

I am with SF Loh in KKH and have just completed my ET yesterday.

The process has been exciting but nerve wrecking. I took the injections well and reacted well to them - not much side effects. It was only last Sat after they increased the dosage of Puregon from 250IU to 400IU that I started feeling and looking bloated.(that all cleared up after the ER)

The most frustrating thing up to this stage is the (sometimes) lack of clear information from the nurses about my progress. They are very good in the procedural aspects but the information about my specific case is not always clear. But must say SF Loh replies to emails promptly.

Anyway, my ER was on Thursday .

Retrieved: 16 eggs
Successfully Fertilised: 11
Grade: One grade 5; the rest all grade 4.
Transfered 2 yesterday.

I was concerned if a D2 transfer might impede the success but Dr Loh re-assured me that KKIVF (which has one of the highest success rates in Singapore) performs D2 transfers routinely and research has shown a longer wait will increase success. He explained that the in-vitro growth is in an artificial environment which stresses the embryo. So unless, there is reason (eg embryo grade is not good), he will not subject the embbies through undue stress.

Now, I have to go for daily progesterone jabs which must admit are painful - not the needle but the med spreading into the leg muscles. The nurse says it is because I had 16 eggs retrieved so I need the jab to stabilise my uterus....but i still dun understand why below 15 dun need to jab.

Anyway, I am going to my GP (3 min walk) who is charging me $8. I reckon this is better than DH driving me on his way to work (PIE/CTE ERP:$4; taxi ride home $9).

I am following you gals' advice on making the red dates and goujizi drink.

I am also taking folic, vit ACE, and capsule spirulina (which is the highest protein food) in lieu of the eggs. Not sure if it is working but I do not feel any bloatedness.

Thank you Ladies for sharing all your experiences.....I am now eagerly waiting for the 2 weeks to pass. I told hubby I am not getting my hopes high. After these 2 weeks, succeed or fail - we will go out and treat ourselves to a good meal.

God Bless You All.

Jo

Hi Joanna,
Welcome! Nice to hear your update as I find this thread getting quieter and quieter...
Good that your ER/ET went well...now it's just the long 2ww ahead for you. Most of the other sistas on the thread also had D2 trsfs in KKH. Initially I wanted to go to GP for my daily jabs too, but DH decided to drive me to KKH early (they open at 7.30am) then send me home and then drive to office. If early enuf, we don't have to pay ERP and if we leave KKH within 10min, sometimes didn't even pay car park! Haha... Then if he has to be in office early, then I took cab home a couple of times.
About the jabs, for those who retrieved less than 15, KKH will give HCG jabs, which I read on a few ivf websites, might aggravate OHSS symptoms like bloating and nausea. So i guess that's why KKH sets a cut-off of 15, and gives those > 15 eggs the daily progesterone jabs instead since so many eggs retrieved.

Remember to rest well, and don't do anything too strenuous like heavy lifting. The first few days of 2ww will be impt as implantation occurs. All in all, have fun relaxing and watching tv! Oh don't worry, I also didn't feel bloating until after I tested positive...

Hi Petals

I log on almost everyday in anticipation...somehow reading all your posts make the waiting more bearable....But things have been pretty quiet here.

One other thing...my HcG shot was extremely painful..btw, my pain threshold is very high. So when the nurse said that I had to have progesterone shots (with similar sized needle and oil base) I nearly broke down.

Thank GOD! the shot was not painful at all. DH said that this nurse jabbed the needle in quickly while the one who did the HcG put the needle into the thigh very slowly - which probably increased the pain. SO now I am a happy girl again and look foward to the jabs everyday cos I explained to my son that "we are 'loving' the little ones" everyday.....

My boy is thrilled but, again, we have to restrain ourselves from getting too excited for the possibility of "nothing"...... : )

In fact, now i am more amazed at conceiving my boy.....and love (not spoil) him even more.
i must say, i do look forward to being pregnant again.......all fingers/toes crossed

joanna,
just had my bak kut teh lunch. Yum. Did u conceive ur son thru ivf too? Most of my jabs were painless, except twice when the nurse didn't check for a soft spot n just jabbed into one of the existing lumps. Wah, i jumped n instictively wanted to turn around n box her...haha... So remember to pick ur spot properly.

Hi Joanna and Petals,
Another new one for this thread.... me !
I have been reading this thread for the last 2 days after the nurse at KKIVF told me about it. Ithink it's great! Quite fun to read and I look forward to communicating with you all esp during the 2ww that I am dreading. I think that is the hardest part...

This is my first IVF and we are halfway through it now. Having egg retrieval on Monday... oh dear, tht's tomorrow... am getting a bit scared of the pain. Joanna was it painful or were you totally oblivious ( asleep), and was there pain when you woke up ?

Pain is a real issue for me and I have an idea for those ppl in the previous archive threads( if youare reading still) who were talking about the pain of injections. I found using an ICE pack to numb the abdomen before you jab, almost takes away all pain of the needle. HCG of course hurt going in... cant do anything for that i guess.
Anyway, look forward to hearing more stories and advice from you all.

Babydust2

Hi petals,

how's things with u. i jus came back from a trip so MIA for awhile. tried calling dr. zou for accu but line either no ans or engage. is the no. 64560833? do u know the opeing n closing time?

yuki,
i'm on contraceptives too...dr. loh ordered a 5wks doasage 4 me...so my IVF journey seems very long...........

To the rest on the IVF Cycle,
Hope to hear a POSITIVE from u guys soon!

babydust2,
good luck for ur er tmrw! Don't worry, by the time u wake up, shld be in recovery room already. You shld be able to see hubby and go home around 11am. But go home must rest, cos may have some cramping that day after the GA wears off.

Stardiva,
Hi, where did u go for holiday? AMK acu is open 7days (except closed Wed daytime, but open from 6.30pm).

Stardiva

I'm surprised that you are on 5 wks contraceptive...that's really long. Seriously, I dun know if mine would be change to a longer protocol like yours. Need him to review before any further actions.

Anyway don't worry, you'll have my support as we move along.

Babydust2

Numbing the area with ice is definitely a good idea!

I'm not sure how the rest of the sisters handle the pain during injections and blood withdrawals.

When I have my jabs for my IUIs, I usually bite a hanky or small towel to divert my fear for pain.

All the best to you for your ER.

Petal,

Ba kut teh sound delicious, but please dun take too much. Understood that Dang Gui is one of the herbs used.(Not sure if it's the teocheow or hokkien version).

You may want to check with the chinese herbal shop about eating dang gui during pregnancy. I know ppl always say dun take dang gui during AF, so wonder if we can take that during pregnancy.

hi petals,

my gf brot me to genting to celebrate my bday in advance
this coming wk 6th yr wedding anniversary so hubby booked a room in raffles the plaza to celebrate then following wk off to krabi to celebrate bday

This 2 yrs went thru alot of depression n all the unsuccessful fertility treatments so best friend n hubby really try to cheer me up
6yrs of marriage no baby..every year bday wish 4 bb for 3yrs liao...
It gets discouraging...This year, i told God...u know wat i want la

hi yuki,

i took the pills on the 6th day of my period. Dr say my follicle is already 10mm on the 6th day n since i spot for a wk b4 tt he feels tt i need to take contraceptives so tt i will respond better to the stimulation jabs.( the last time i did IUI, i had to take a high dosage of puregon cos i dun respond well ) 5wks was becos of traveling plans. think suppose to b 3wks.
Dr. loh told me to go for the long protocol, say it's better for me n also he didn't advice me to do blastocyst cos hubby has weaker sperm morphorlogy

BTW, i eat bak ku teh every sat! LOVE IT!!!! es balestier's!

Stardiva

oh! your trip's the reason for your delay.. yeah I totally agree that you should enjoy before you start on your IVF journey. In fact, I've just got back from a week stay in Banyan Tree Phuket, both of us thot maybe we such pamper ourselves before who start on this journey. Maybe it's god's will that my AF arrived the day before my trip. Hahaha! so can't try naturally... must really depend on IVF.

Like you, I've been married for 7 years and still no news. Tried all means and IVF is my last resort.

Dang gui consumption should be okay before pregnancy, however I'm not really certain about taking it during pregnancy. I think is subjected to individual's healthy condition. Better check with sinseh. I certainly know that most sinseh will tell us not to take "Tian qi" during pregnancy.

Anyway, enjoy your trip. Don't worry so much. Both of u deserve some pampering. See ya when u are back!

Hi babydust2
so sorry for the late response...how was your ER?

I was completely knocked out until the nurses woke me up about 45min later. The soreness (which was more like period pain) came only in the afternoon. I had to take 1 panadol capsule.

I aimed to take 1 cup of water every hour - the nurse told me to drink lots to wash out the hormones injected over the past weeks.

I find this site very helpful.....
http://www.ivfconnections.com/questions.htm

Hope to hear about your experience.....

hi petals

No, my boy was conceived naturally....that's why all the more painful to find out we cannot now.

Tried 2 failed cycles of IUI b4 IVF.

petal , nano and all sisters

A warm welcome to those who are new. I have been mia for 2 weeks. Thank you for the encouragment especially when i realised i have only 6 folicles and 2 eggs that time. That time is really depressing. But today i have a good news, i am tested positive. And i have one embryo which you can imgaine how precious it is. We must really stay positive for everyone who is in the cycle.

I ate brazil nuts too ! dont know does it help.

Hi all...
I got my ET on 27 Sept, and now I feel very very bloatedness. I try to eat half boiled eggs white 6 - 8 / day but still not effect. I even try eat raw eggs white. Still the same.
How abt drink red dates + wolf berries? Is it can reduce bloatedness? How many glass a day?

dear ximi
congrats!! i think you are under prof wong right?
i am also. from 17 oct i will start my supereffect.
from when you start brazil nuts?i will also take it.
did you do accu?
finally i wish you all the best

dear ximi
congrats!! i think you are under prof wong right?
i am also. from 17 oct i will start my supereffect.
from when you start brazil nuts?i will also take it.
did you do accu?
finally i wish you all the best

pupi,

Yes. i started during my 2ww. But dont take too much as can be heating , must drink alot of water.

I did not do acu. as too late when i know it helps.