as read from book that hair color/rebonding/perm/hair treatment increase changes of miscarriages. Pls be careful.

SC

aiyo, u r supposed to rest after ER leh. dun do any more to ur hair as chemicals wil stay in our body quite long n s not good for implantation. u seems sooooooooo relex!! stay positive n make sure u hav enough rest after ET. good luck!!

babylow

i've been married for almost 4 yrs n hav been ttc for 3 yrs. we went for pre pregnancy check up after 1 yr ttc. found out i got pcod n hubby has veri low sperm count of 1%. i went for lap in 2005, had my prob settled. then we tried for another few mth natural, n done 7 IUIs in 2006, but all failed. my gyn has examined hubby n said can nt find out e reason for low sperm count coz nothing wrong with him n no family history as well. he diagnosed us as unspecified infertility. we cosidered for 6 mth, then decided to start on ivf this yr. we r lucky tat nothing wrong with my uterus n i m 28 this yr, stil young for ivf. i read up journals tat e early u start for ivf, e better successful rate u hav due to age factor. so i called up kkh n fixed appt with Dr Loh after a few days following up in this thread. hee hee, want to hav e best recommended Dr to help us mah. so everthing move fast since we saw him in March. started my treatment after April menses. din waste any time. hope tat can help u.

PL

yes, u r right. not only hair treatment, facial not allowed during 2ww n pregnancy,too. n air freshener, aroma, paint.... be alert, ladies!!

Babylow,

Yes, i'm still doing my acup and twice a week. According to advise, i should have my last acup just the day before ER.

Mulberry,
According to bks that i have read, ER of 10~15 is consider normal.

some journal mentions that Papaya is not good for women who has infertility problem. Pls avoid papaya and pineapple.

Today is my ER, total 16 Eggs collected and i tot only got 4... now bloated but cant sleep. during the sedation, I can feel the sharp pain even though I'm asleep.

Hi Weiwei,
Can half boiled egg be taken to ease the bloatness? The nurse told me to take egg white best to taken raw... but I dun think I can take raw..

weiwei,
thank you for sharing so much. you are indeed young and kudos that you know your life goal and priority. you mean you saw dr loh in march and started in april? what sort of treatment? just curious, then how come you only started ivf in june? please advise. is waiting time in kkh very long? how soon can dr loh start ivf? would be very helpful if you can provide me with the schedule that you experienced with dr loh? i feel like getting him to do it for me as well? i hope you don't mind my long-windedness.

we will soon hear another two more success cases soon; cancerian and SC.

cancerian and SC,
are you with dr loh from kkh as well?

i would like to collate a list of hospital that you went for ivf. i just like to compare so that it will help me to make wise decision. what do you ladies think?

Baby Low,
Yes, i'm with dr loh at kkh.
I also see him on Apr and start the IVF in May, i think you just call for appointment to see dr loh and he will be the one decide when you should start. I've compare among the ivf ctr included the ivf in JB (it required about 17-20k RM$), but since we can use our CPF to cover part of the cost we decided to do it here.
among the ivf ctr, kkh is among the best succesful rate.

the success rate in JB IVF is manipulated. They did not provide their actual data to the Malaysia Mini. of Health.

cancerian

congrats u got good no. of folliles. rest well!! my gyn said as long as we tale e egg white, it doesnt matter how u prepare it. however dun think we should take it raw, who knws raw eggs may cause stomacg upset, somemore now got bird flu. i normally eat half boiled eggs. get ur hubby to cook some red date n ginger water, tat helped me a lot after ET. remember to drink at least 2 liter of water a day. bare with it, it should b settle within a few days. dun think too much, all u need to do s rest, rest, n rest! get hubby to help u during these days as u r e "queen of e house", must handle with care!

babylow

here s my schedule

27/3-1st visit to Dr Loh, signed all e papers on e same date.

22/4-1st date of menses, called kkivf to inform of menses. however only full force on 23/4

25/4- D2 baseline bld test

14/5-D21 of menses, start of lucrin jab

28/5-D15 of lucrin, v/s done

31/5- start puregon jab

7/6-v/s, follicles not big enough, cont with lucrin n puregon

9/6-v/s, decided on ER date

11/6- last dose lucrin in e morning. hcg jab at 8pm

13/6- ER, had 19 eggs

15/6- ET, had 13 good embryos in total. transferred 3 embryos.

20/6- D5 after ET, bld test

2/7- D17 after ET, preg bld test

frm ur last af until ET, need abt 6-8 wks. dun b too anxious, do everything step by step. all wil b ok.

I sad to say that my HCG did not double up so this preg has to stop. I was told to stop all medicine and let my menses come. I was devasted when i heard this news. Cry the whole day.. Everyone who are still trying "Jia You"

Can anyone advise me how come no need D & C?

jas

so sori to hear tat u lost this pregnancy. i guess now ur embryos still small tat can come out together with menses, hence no need D & C. however, better ask ur gyn do a u/s for u to check whether it all cleared. of coz wil cry after hearing e news, but dun cry for too long, as u still hav chance to do FET. u stil hav frozen embryos, right? mean while just go for TCM to tiao ur body. make urself stronger n try again, u wil make it. actually i m planning to start TCM if fail this cycle. dun knw why, feel my chances not veri high this time. anyway, hav to accept all e possile outcomes. i knw it's easy to say than to do, but u hav to b strong. it's nt e end but only e starting of another battle. we wil b with u. jiayou!!!

wei,

I dun have any frozen embryos. Maybe will try again next year but will be at KKIVF. Monday i need to go back again for last bld test then i will ask them about my case again..

jas

remember to ask frm them all ur bld results, printed copies. tat wil help u in future consultation. go shopping ths weekend n get urself relax. think after 3-6mth of TCM, ur body wil b much stronger. try again at tat time.

hey jas

so sorry to hear of your loss. do take care and remember to treat this period as a mini confinement, drnk lots of red dates and ginger tea to get rid of the wind and take care of your health generally.

cancerian
congrats on the good number of eggs..now is just a step away from ET and the 2www. hope to hear good news from you soon.

sc
wah you so relaxed har..after ER can go do hair. *pei fu* are you working? if you are working, how many days hospital leave/leave you intend to take for the 2www?

all the best for your ET.

weiwei,
be positive keep the faith, only 2 more days to results. keep spirits up.

hi Jas

so sorry to hear of ur loss. Dun grieve over too much as it add strains to ur body. Like wat babymaking says..take this as a mini confinement, its important to nurse ur body to tip top condition for the FET.

Hi Jas,

I'm so sorry to hear that but don't get too upset for too long and remember we are here to "JIA YOU" and never say give up until we got our precious little ones. Now just concentrate to "tiao" your body and perhaps if you have not tried acup, take an extra step in doing that and maybe it really helps you the next round and you never know. Take care & God bless you.

Weiwei,
I remember that you put in 3 embryos of Grade 4 and you mentioned that they are in good shape thats why you choose them over those in Grade 5. What do you mean in good shape, are you referring to the cells in the embryos. Starting to worry what is consider good quality embryo and was thinking of putting in just 1 embryo as i worried about multiple pregnancy.

Babymaking,

Check with you.. last round when your HCG did not double up.. did you require for D&C or just wait for menses to come?

JR,

Can i have the contacts of your TCM? Because i intend to go for acu to make my boby stronger..

Thanks gals..

Jaslyn...
I'm sorrry to hear about your news. You have tried your best and I'm sure you will succeed the next time round. For now, take time off to pamper and take care of yourself so that your body will be in tip-top condition. You will succeed.

Theresa....
I don't think the doctor will recommend that you put in only one embryo if you have more than one good embryo. The success rate is 30% (in KK), so that's why we put in 2 or 3. After going through the whole process of bood tests, probing, scanning and injections, not to mention money spent, it's just not worth to put in only one and hope that that one will work out.

Of course, whether putting in two or three embryos also depend on your condition, age and the quality of the embryos. Dr Loh wanted me to put in 3 embryos whereas I think he was trying to disuade Wei Wei from putting in 3 embryos...if I remember correctly. Anyway, there is no need to worry about this now...until you have reached the EC stage.

jaslyn,
Really sorry to hear about your loss...you will need some time to grieve over it. In the meantime, maybe you and hubby can take a holiday somewhere to relax? Did your doc say when you can try again? If u want to switch to KK, maybe you can make an appmt for 1st consultation to discuss your options. For me, when I found out my FET wasn't successful, I called up to make appmt with KKH straight away since I'd already considered switching. It helped me feel as if I was taking a proactive step towards my next try, and help me get over my FET failure by looking forward. Let's encourage each other. We are behind you.

jas

the gynae suggestd we wait for menses to come but after a few days of spotting and bad cramps, nothing happened.

we went for another opinion and the gynae found that the lining of the womb is very thick due to the progesterone jabs and suggested a d & c.

so in the end we did the d & c.

there are pro and cons of doing d & c
1) faster recovery period - natural will have to wait for unknown period of time.
2) with d & c, all remaining tissue will be removed, natural may not happen that way and in the end still have to go d & c
cons
1) d & c can cause asherman's syndrome where too much is scrap - that is dependent on the skill of yr gynae
2) d & c involved dilation of the cervix - some say that can cause incompetent cervix in future but no evidence so far.

hope the above helps.

jas,
sorry for your loss, take the positive side, now u can go shopping and not worrying walking fast. take your time today b4 GST hike tomorrow.

theresa

i also dun think putting 1 embryo s enough for u. just think some of our sis here, even pt in 3 also din get BFP. good grade embryo means tat: all cells r equal in size n hav round, nice layout. it should nt hav some big cells, some small cell, or fragmental.

went for my progesterone jab just now, told e nurse tat my bloatedness come back again. she said s a good sign, but din explain why. also she s suprised tat i put in 3. dun care, i dun mind to hav multiples rather than nothing. btw, i din choose e embryos, Dr Loh choose for me. maybe he think tat s good enough liao.

Krmeow & Weiwei,

Thanks for your advise and sharing. I think you are right that I should not be worrying about all these right now and hopefully i have change my thoughts and worries about multiple pregnancy along the process.....

babymaking,

Monday i will go for final blood test b4 i stop all medication. Actually the nurse need to make appt with the dr but the dr will be on leave for one week. That means i will just need to wait for my menses to come first..

Wei,

Dun worry.. ya i heard that bloatedess is good sign of preg.. you will make it... will wait for your good news on monday..

Jas,
I'm sorry to hear about your lost. Heed the advice of the sisters and go for a shopping spree or go for holiday. We are not going to give up until we get our little precious one so until then, keeping your spirit high is just as important.

Weiwei,
Good luck to your blood test on Monday. After the ER, the doctors will tell us what grade of embryos were collected right? So which grade number is the best, is it 1 or 5?
A sister mentioned that She felt the pain during ER...did you feel it too? I am due for ER in about 8 - 10 days time. Kinda nervous.

mulberry

we only collect follicles during ER. Dr wil tel us quality n quantity of embryos b4 ET. kkh practice grade 5 s e best quality. i din feel anything during ER. after e sedation injection i slept throughout, only wake up in e recevery bay. relax, stil got 8-10 days time.

Hi Jas,

So sorry to hear your lost. Your case is the same as mine the previous time. I was given 3 options by Dr Loh

1) Wait for mensus to come by itself. However, even if mensus come, there is no guarantee that our HCG will drop and all the tissue will 'come out' but itself. If no, than D&C will still be needed.

2) Take an injection. Think is some chemotherapy kind of injection which will induce an artifical miscarriage. However, same as above, no guarantee.

3) D&C

Dr Loh suggested that we take option 2. However, after consulting my gynae from GE, he gave me a straight forward answer. And that is D&C cos I also have plenty of fibroid. He said if the fibroid are not removed. Than even if I will to do IVF again and conceived, the chances of miscarriage is very high. So we took his advise.

Address for acu
Blk 152 Mei Ling Street
#01-16 S(140152)
Tel: 64759621

Hi Weiwei,

Somehow, I think yours will be a good news. My six-sense very strong one... trust me..haaaa

JR

Thanks. Sound scary. I have not seen the doc yet coz she will be on leave for a week. Furthermore, i request for another blood test b4 stop all medication. I heard from the nurse that just stop medication then by 7 - 10 day, menses will come and that's it. They did not give me any option at all. I' totally at lost now. Dun know what to do. Have to ask the nurse again and again.. So who do the D&C for you? Dr Loh or gynae at GE? How long have you rest b4 start a new cycle? Sorry for asking so many questions. Sign.. i rather a straight negative result then i will not be so devasted. Now i'm on pins and needles.
Oh ya.. thanks for the address for acu... will give it try.

Wei,

Ya.. same feeling as JR.. yours will be a good news and will be a BFP. Remember to keep us posted.

JR

hee hee......hopefully ur six-sense s right

anxious.... nervous....biting fingers.... dun knw tonight can sleep or nt. haiz......

jas

yes. for sure i wil b posting again re my preg test outcome.

i m e kind of pp tat wil think a lot a lot one. these few days, i've been doing rehearsal for positive n negtive outcomes. wat if hav, wat if dun hav......

always prepare for e worst, hope for e best outcome.

All the best weiwei. Hope to hear your good news tomorrow.

Btw, anyone cycling in July/Aug?

I will be starting my lucrin jab in mid July.

Hi Jaslyn,

The gynae from GE did the D&C for me. Just a key-hole op. And at the same time to remove fibroid. I recover just within few days.

Actually, Dr Loh suspected ectopic. But my gynae didn't agree with it. In the end, it was not ectopic..... heng har... If you want the contact for my gynae, I can PM you. A good, skillful and patient gynae. A bit ex thot.

After that, I wait for at least 4 months before I start again. But unfortunately, fail again.

My suggestion to you. Why not go outside to see your own gynae. What makes the nurses so sure that your mensus will come after stopping all medication. If upfront was a negative, I can agree. But you have actually got pregnant. What if it is ectopic, mensus may come by itself. Ectopic pregnancy can be dangerous if not treated early.

Sorry har, dont get angry with me hor. I am not scaring you further, but I have been in your position before just begining of the year. Me too, told my husband that I would rather have an upfront negative. Can understand how you feel now. So, sincerely just want to help.

JR,

Thanks. Just came back from bld test. i asked the nurse again and she told me if i stop medication, menses will come abt 2 - 3 days and will be a heavy one. I did ask her then how do i know that is completely come out by itself. She just told me that if i'm worried then make an appt with doc or else they will arrange another appt with doc then inform me but "not so fast". The nurse told me is chemical pregancy but dun know how true. Can you PM me your GE gynae's contact. If you know the charges can you PM to me too. Thanks. So you straight go to D&C instead of waiting your menses to come is it? Then for my case i need to make appt with him/her while waiting for my menses to come? Totally lost...

Dun worry i'm not angry but very grateful for your help. At least there is someone who can advise me . Million thanks.

Jaslyn

In my first pregnancy, I was in your situation, HCG up but din double up that suppose to be. I didnt do D&C, but just wait for the mensus to come.

My beta was below 150 and I had not reached my 6 weeks, so mine was only very very initial stage. I was told by 1 of the gynaes is if I want to do D&C, he will still preform for me to clear everything out. Is faster, but he warned me that D&C might make the womb have scar and this will affect the future implantation. As such, we need longer to wait for the womb to recover. He also advised to take at least 6 months to do IVF if I want to do D&C. (Affect implanatation)

After seeking 3 gynaes opinion, we decided not to do D&C but just wait for mensus coming. My mensus was last for 18 days. (spotting and bleeding)

Many persons can console you by saying sorry, but it was really terrible for you to go through this period. I have been through what you are going through now. Mine was terrible than yours, why? I had started the suprefect (surpression drugs) for 5 days after that I was discovered I was pregnant, is natural conceived !!!! And until now, I still suspect that the HCG couldnt up becos of the surpression jabs.

I hope you can be strong and please go to get a good TCM sinseh to tiao your body during this period. You decide to do D&C or not, please do a mini confinement after your mensus comes/after D&C, meaning:-

1) take a full rest at home at least for 2 weeks. Reduce walking please.
2) boil the red date water
3) avoid cooling and raw stuff (Salmon)
4) Dont carry heavy stuff.
5) eat dishes with ginger so that you can pass out the wind.

You also can go to Fu Hua or any medical hall to get the TCM med for boiling water, just tell them is to be taken after the miscarriage.

Trust me, you will succeed again as this incident has proved that you are able to get pregnant. Is just the matter of time only.

Hi SC,
I knew that from one of the singapore dr. there is many evidences show that the success rate cannot be as high as 40%.

Hi Koala,

Thanks for your advise.I know that you have gone through alot b4 your pregnancy.. i've been following this thread.. So happy that you made it. This is my first pregancy.. and yes i'm very sad and "lost"..now i'm in week 5 also very very initial stage. My beta reading as follows:
1st reading: 73.9
2nd readng: 191
3rd reading: 55.1

Can i know how long you have to wait for your menses to come and if no D&C how long do i need to wait for my next IVF? I'm intending to try second fresh IVF maybe early next year at KK.. so for the time being will "tiao" my body.. I have a high FSH and PCOS and i'm 32 this year.

Yes alot of people say sorry to me and asked me to try again anyway still young, dun worry you will make it eventually... After hearing all these.. i'm still very upset for my "lost".... But life is such.. up and down... actually i feel much better but just worried about the "what to do now"....

I will take care of myself and thanks for your advise..

I do not know anything about the mini confinement, will go to FU HUA for advise.. Thanks.

Jaslyn

I remember the first af of mine was coming on CD35th ++ day, so is only abt 1 week + after I have confirmed +ve. I suggest you go to seek for advice from at least two gynaes so that you know whether you should need to go for D&C. They are the best persons to advise you right now.

I have been waiting for 1 year to proceed with my next IVF. However, I think is depends on individual health condition. During this period, Me and HB did ACU and TCM to tiao our body.

You dont think too much, just concentrate to gain back your health first. Even without D&C, our health will be affected after miscarriage.

I am also bearing high FSH and I am older than you. Dont worry, end of the day, we just need 1 embroy to make us pregnant.