Thanks for the advise! It is really very useful..
The success rate is higher for ivf compare to iui right.? If really got budget constraint, then maybe jus go straight to ivf, rather than trying using iui method? But ivf seems scary... Need to hospitalize for "ER"? Then my company will knows I'm trying for baby.. I jus pass my probation. =(
I'm 30 this year.

Flyingballons - im 30 this year too.. i have pcos hubby has issues with soldiers too.. We tried taking clomid and timed intercourse for 6 mths but no results. We then decided to go for ivf and skip iui.. But dr @ kkh said we were young and ivf is really a last resort.. So we went thru one iui to try and after it didnt work, we went ahead with ivf..

I think the most important thing now is finding out what is the exact problem.. Sometimes, it's just a timing issue and nothing wrong with the couple.. Or maybe stress.. IVF has higher success rates, but it comes with more emotional roller coasters, time for scans and procedures etc.. So my advise is, dont jump to ivf straight, go step by step and if the decision really comes to ivf.. Do sone research on it, it will make u feel more at ease cos it's no longer foreign.. It's not as scary as it seems.. We also have support from so many sisters in this forum.. =)

As for the ER part, its a short day surgery, but the hospital usually gives u hospitalization leave all the way till pregnancy blood test for you to rest at home.. It's up to u to decide when u want to go back to work.. Some sisters here rest a few days or a week and are back to work.. If u feel ur boss may not be supportive, some sisters take leave around the estimated day of ER for a week so their bosses never need to know.. It might be alot to juggle but things will work out..

Don't stress!

wah.. baby steps, I am also 30 this yr!!
flying ballons, ivf is not as scary as what u thought.. at first I thought the jabbing process was scary but after the first jab My hb find it easy to handle and it wasnt pain at all!! there is alot of moral support from the sister here and they will clear ur doubts. so don't worry..

Positivecalm - First year in the big 30s club! May this year be our year for a new member into the family!!

Im getting scared of OHSS.. After the doctor mentioned yesterday im at high risk.. Going to drink lots of isotonic and proteins right after trigger tonight.. Hope i dont get it too bad!!

Hi ladies..

im back after a long while..hope all sisters in various stages are doing well..

I'll be starting FET this month i suppose cos AF is here today
will send an email to my clinic soon later..

who else is starting FET? Any cycle buddies ma?

Flyingballoons - hv u done blood test eg AMH, day 3 FSH and AFC, day 21 progesterone, LH, TFT, prolactin? And hysterosalpingiogram to check ur fallopian tubes & basic ultrasound scan of structure of ur uterus? These r the basic tests that will help dr decide what could be the problem that u r not conceiving naturally & plan the conceive plan for u ;)

Baby Steps, u have good number of follicles and all good size. Don't worry too much.. Just drink water and stay zen!
For my last scan, nurse only manage to scan 10 follicles. Hope for more follicles during my scan tmr!

Pregnyl trigger done! Yay, tmr is injection free day!!

ChrisL - All the best to ur FET cycle!

Positivecalm - Don't worry, I'm sure more follies will be growing and u will also get a good number with good sizes too! Remain zen... =)

Babysteps - Don't worry about ohss. Juz think abt all d big mature follicles that they can collect n fertilzed n become good embies. In a literature paper that i came across, abt 1/3 of patients hv mild ohss and drs will be able to advise what to do if u really have. No need to be hospitalized for mild cases juz take medicine n isotonic drinks can liao. U hv already increase ur protein intake. So even if mild ohss sure will be able to thong

Thanks Kum Yin! Hubby went to buy a dozen 1.5L H2O just now after i told him what might happen if i get OHSS.. Haha.. So 我的家什么都没有、h2o 很多!

But i do hope i develop it in the later week. Of 2ww.. Cos its good indication it might be a bfp !

Shall not think too far first.. Haha.. One step a day.. Hehe..

ChrisL: good to hear from u again.. All d best to your FET!

Babysteps: your dh v loving.. ;) all the best to your ER on Tues!

Hi I m new here. Can I know the steps in getting subsidized rate for ART? Do I make appt with the doc or do I get ref letter from poly clinic? I have done some test previously abt 2 years ago. So may have to redo the tests and find a suitable treatment. Your advice please.

ChrisL,

All the best for your coming FET!

Chris,

Best of luck for your ET tmr!
Thanks for the link.. I think the ovidrel given on thur was a relatively low dose.. Tested this morning and it was a clear single line..

Baby steps,

Enjoy your jab-free day tmr!

Min81: thank you! Hope for the best
I m glad the link help you. ;) lets jy and keep up the cheer

Bluenosebear/lakigal: hope u are doing good there too

Chris - I think i scared him too much with the cannot breathe, vomitting and hospitalization to drain water.. Lolx.. Thanks!

Nervous babe - Hihi, there is no subsized rate for ART procedures.. All patients are treated as private. But u do get subsidized rates for consultations before ivf.. U can get a referral from polyclinics for that.. But do note that if u have any preference for a particular doc, u wont be able to choose as a subsidized patient..

Are you refering to tests on diagnosis or tests for pre-ivf.. 2 years ago might be too long, some drs might want to do retests to get diagnosis that is more recent.. =)

Nervous babe - to get subsidised ART u hv to go to polyclinic for a referral letter. The polyclinic will make appt for u. I think u juz bring all ur tests to the dr in hosp then they will c which one u need to repeat or what other types u still need.

Min81 - u probably tested too early. Today is only consider as day 10 post ovulation.

Thanks baby steps

So even with public hospitals there are still two rates, one subsidized rate that cannot choose doc and one private rate can choose doc?

So for the public hospital with private rate, I will get subsidized rate if I opt for ivf eventually?

May I know which doc are you all with now?

Positive, kum yin,

Hehe.. Hands too itchy.. Will test again on bt morning if i don't oversleep..

Nervous babe,

Both subsidised and private patient pay the same amount once ivf program starts.. But for subsidised patients, your pre-ivf consultations and tests (which is paid in cash and not covered by grant and medisave) will be at subsidised rates..

Nervous babe - im with kkh's dr sadhana.. I specifically wanted her to be my attending doc.. So i didnt go thru polyclinic.. She will be the dr doing my ER and ET as well..

If u get a referral from polyclinic, kkh will assign a doctor to you based on their availability, so for e.g, u get dr A for consultation, his consultation fees, any scans he requests for are all under subsidized rates.. If he decides that IUI or IVF is what u need, he will transfer you to kkivf.. From that point onwards, u are a private patient, meaning u and i will be charged the same for the IUI/IVF procedures.. So the only difference for subsidized rates are before u get referred to kkivf for the start of ur cycle..

Once at kkivf, there are government grants and medisave u can use to help co-pay the procedures..

Hope i didnt confuse u further! =)

Chris
Yeah been a rather long time..Thanks! Oh? you ET tomorrow? All the best and sleep well tonight cos tomorrow you'll be reunited with your bb(s) Happy 2ww thereafter! Waiting for your baby dust to share ;)

Min81
hey thanks gal! You're in 2ww now? Hope you'll have good news soon and sprinkle us some babydust ok hehe ;)

ChrisL: good that you are gg at it.. Ya, ET tmr. It's faster this time as went on short route. Hope to be able to share some blessing around
Min n a few others will be able to kick start the ball rolling first.. :D trying to sleep but maybe slept too much liao so still rolling in bed.. :p

Chris - good luck tmrw. Go read a book with ur bed side lamp until u r tired or drink a cup of warm milk before 12 midnight.
I too have difficulty sleeping, kan cheong abt the embies.

ChrisL, welcome back, I came back after a long time too since last yr may. Your nick looks familiar hehe. I'm in my 2ww, 5dpt2dt, counting the days to BT.

Kum yin, hope you are feeling better after the ET.

Baby steps, your hubby is so sweet. Good luck to you ET.

Chris, good luck for your ET tomorrow morning, you will be in safe hands of your dr.

I also can't sleep, tossing around, worry about my embbies, don't know if they are growing well and sticking on
. I don't feel anything this cycle. Only some mild cramping in the mornings, no other symptoms other than this.

ChrisL, i also doing fet this mth, medicated... my af come today, so will start medicine & scannings next few days le.... hope everything go smoothly.......
cycle buddy, we must jia you!!!!

ladybuggy
hehe yeah maybe cos i've been lurking ard since years ago whahaha..sigh..my ttcing journey is so long...wah you on 5th day liao..think anytime implantation is happening so stay away from house work and relax all you can
be queen hosieh liao lah lol all the best in your 2ww hor! Also waiting for you to sprinkle baby dusts..the thread here really needs to get more 'dusty' lol

Cycle buddy Snoopy!
so qiao! We same cd1 lol..are you also given progynova? So fast you start scanning liao..think mine only next week le. Yeah! Hope this cycle will be THE cycle of our bfp!!

Kum Yin: thanks I kong off soon after. ;)

Babysteps: thanks buddy!

Ladybuggy: don't worry, relax! Let the embbies work their way in

ChrisL: haha.. lets all get "ah-chooing" in this dusty place!

Thanks u gals for the great info. I have tons of qns. How many trips (est)do we have to make to the hospitals for ivf?I m really at a lost to which doc to go for. If it involved many trips then I will not consider NUH. I have read in other thread that KKH needs us to be there every 2 days for scan? Or is this a standard procedure when we reach certain steps?
Can anyone tell me the steps we will go thru for ivf?

Nervousbabe: I suggest you could attend the NUH seminar that tsf has posted. This is a good informative seminar that gives you an overview how Ivf is and what happen w a good amount of time for Q&A. You can decide where you want to go for treatment after that.

tsf0205's post:
Posted on Saturday, March 09, 2013 - 11:46 am:
The NUH IVF seminar will be conducted on 23/3/13 at O&G seminar room at level 6 from 2-5pm. Interested can call 67745336 to register. It's FOC.

Good morning Ladies!
Abple is pregnant!
It's on a long cycle after my 2nd failed IVF/ICSI cycle. (zero fertilisation) I ovulated on CD32.
I am going to be cautiosly optimistic as i had MCd twice in 2011. It's still very early But posting here anyway so my story will give hope to all women out there is their 40s and others who are on long cycles that it can happen.
Baby Dust to all...

Nervousbabe: its difficult to answer your questions on fertility treatment depending on which stage u are and your doc will determine that. But briefly there are quite a few trips from consultation, physical investigation, blood work, review, scans, bloodwork, retrieval, transfer, bloodwork/jab, blood test.

Abple!!! Congrats! Yes, do take care and be careful! Yay! Looks like the house is indeed going to get real "dusty"!!

Nervousbabe,

The seminar that chris and tsf0205 mentioned, it's actually a private seminar for nuh ivf patients.. There's actually an ivf seminar open to the public coming up in april and july, also conducted by prof wong.. And it's foc too.. I think it'll definitely help to attend if you wish to learn more..

http://www.nuhgynae.com.sg/wbn/slot/u2349/Events/ART%20Forum%202013%20(13%20April%202013).jpg

ChrisL,

Thanks gal! I'll be very happy if i can spread bb dust here

Min81: good that you clarified

Just want to hear from those who have gone through FET: is it true that blastocyst have better survival rate after thaw?

To all others: is it better to freeze or just culture to D5 regardless the quality of embryo?

chrisl, waving. How hve u been?

Abple, congrats and grabbing ur baby dust.

bluenosebear, how hve u been? V fast u n min gg to spread baby dust too.

Now im bk to work n feeling soooo tired.

Min81: yes, 1. Makes me think now why the hassle to deal w 1 when they can just trsf all. Not complaining but have to deal with difficult decision.

Chris,

Oh you mean today transfer 1 embryo, then the other one will be cultured to blastocyst before freezing? Hmm but you've signed the papers to transfer 2 right? I guess it's ultimately ur choice..

Abple - congrats!! Catching some of ur babydust. Rest more and keep us all updated here about ur scan in 2 weeks. What is ur hcg level btw if u don't mind sharing?

Chris - bu yao chi. Not good by for ur embies when they r finally reunited with u. I m sure NUH team knows what they r doing. Just concentrate on nurturing the 2 that r reunited wif u. For the 3rd embi, once u r ready again will reunite wif u. Its safer to have twins than triplets. U want the best for each of ur embi right, not good thing spilt between 3 of them

Ops sorry chris. I m a bit confused. Thought u hv 3 embies.
Yes blastocyst has higher pregnancy n birth rate. Bcoz if embi can reach blasto stage the defect is slight. But also bear in mind that some embi can arrest before hitting blasto stage either bcoz environment embi is growing in not as ideal as in womb or there is a defect. Try talking to prof or the embryologist again.

Min81: to trsf 2. have 1 that they propose to culture a few more days. Anyway, now I will just relax and wait for my embbies
Excited.. Hehe.

Kum Yin: I think you misunderstood. I am trying to make decision that is best for my embryo hence seeking to hear some views to help me decide.

Thank u Chris, Laki Gal, Mind81 & Kum Yin.
I wish you all get your baby dreams soon!
KY- I only used a HPT. Flying over to see Dr Loh on the 27th when i am 6weeks. Meanwhile as per Dr Loh's advice, i am going to stay away from people with flu & rashes.

Chris,

Keke.. Sorry, a bit confused now.. So that means u have 3 embbies, today transfer 2 then the other culture to blastocyst then freeze? Sounds gd
All the best!!

ChrisL, my ttc journey is also long.. im trying not to read into the symthoms and enjoy my 2ww. My hubby have been doing the housework and cooking.. poor hubby ehhehe. Hopefully i can spray the baby dust,making the place dusty

Snoppy77, your nick tells me.. u same age as me? SNakey? hehe.. may we have a snakey baby, this month is the next month to strike for snakey baby.

Abple, catch lots of your baby dust!

mi81, don't test, wait for the BT. I know is hard, my last cycle, i tested when i had the spotting but sisters here told me to wait for BT.

Chris, so now u are at NUH waiting for ET, felt excited for you too.

Lakigal, i also felt very tired and headache. Not sure if its the cyclogest doing the trick.

Chris - I read blasts have higher chances of birth rate but alot dont manage to survive till then.. In any case, most important are the ones u gonna be reunited with! Congrats on being PUPO! Enjoy ur 2ww!

Min - Tahan, tahan! Just 4 more days to BT!

Abple - Congrats on ur BFP! Thanks for spreading bb dust! Catching lots of them..