my genetic is egg genetic.

lynx, yr fertilization rate is good, so still have chances. my fertilization rate is bad cos of genetic bad eggs. wic the embryo may also have genetic prob, wic i dunno.

dreambear> hw many matured eggs u have last cycle?

brchow> my amh readings is in pmol. so i look at min's chart from nuh and its normal, but nt responding to puregon also, like u... i am going to see dr tan in mar. but if again nt much eggs then i will go egg doner liao..cos i have no quality and quantity. no time to waste. my health is getting bad as mths go by.

Lin > At 185IU of gonal F, I harvested 7 eggs. 6 matured, 4 fertilized, transferred 2 n the other 2 not gd enough to store. So yes, I'm going thro the whole cycle again!!!!! I hope to hv quality & quantity!!!

dreambear> 185 is nt the highest dose? i think if higher maybe can have more eggs. my amh is 10.4pmol but i only have 5 matured eggs. pui. amh seems to be just a number. i use 450 puregon also no eggs.

Lin: no la.. mine oso cld be egg genetic accordingly to the Dr. She said either egg or sperm. Therefore the embryo not meant to be a bb & din implant. She not so worried abt the implantation as we were given progesterone inserts which she tinks its sufficient.

Lin, I know not the highest, hence coming cycle will up my dosage. Was discussing number of eggs with Dr Zou last evening, she say too many also not gd cos our body n hormones can't harvest so many at the same time. She suggested having abt 25 is best lah. Cos too many maybe alot will be too small to use. But also depend on individual to react to the regime & stimulation medicine.

sandra> i nt planning to do ivf so soon, so just queue for 6mths also nvm.. also dun know if he has earlier slots... cos v sianz to see doc now liao.

lynx> i have 5 matured eggs but only 2 fertilized cos my egg is genetic bad. so i think yrs still ok, if u have 4 fertilized.

dreambear> i had 23 follicles all small so only 5 matured. so yes, sometimes some will be too small to have egg inside... and i think long cycle maybe better?

lin, about the genetic problem, the only cure is to do PGD.

Actually i am an alpha thalassemia carrier. So if my DH is also an alpha thalassemia carrier then we are allow to do PGD. but i think very unlikely.

Maybe i will try my luck to check with prof wong on next visit. if i want my kids to be free from this disease, the only way is to choose an embryos do not have that.

Hi everyone, i just had my eggs retrieved. Unfortunately out of the 30 eggs retrieved, none was of "usable" quality. Two grade2 were eventually transferred cos "we had come so far..." my Dr said. I was crushed. The rest were flushed. None to freeze. It's once of the hardest things one had to go through. All that work (plus suffering from the OHSS monster) and no viable embryo? Did anyone experience anything like this? Any input would be helpful. thanks a million.

Prosepina,

My hubby has thalassemia minor and bicuspid aeortic valve (heart only has 2 valves) but i think also cannot do PGD.. It was brought up at prof's seminar, but he said MOH's stand is that it must be a life-threatening disease then can check.. When are you seeing prof again? Maybe you can double-check with him and share with me?

Min, not so soon le, if i decided to go for IUI then will be in Mar, by then you already pregnant

ur DH one is alpha or beta? actually this is quite dangerous one, if our next generation did not aware, then their kids will suffer.

Min81/Lin/dreambear: yup doc said these r just nbrs. Gd doesn't mean everything is ok. Sometimes infertility is just unexplainable.

Lin: oh so strange me fr kk n under same doc s u but y the diff in units of measurement....
For quality n quantity, dr tan said chng to pergoveris will b better for me. I go google they said somewhat same like menopur but slightly more power that's y it's ex. In states, they use n seem to yield better result wor. Not sure how true. Mayb u can try asking dr tan to chng for u, if suitable for your condition.

Sigh... I juz went for scan.. Hav a total of 20 eggs but doc say they aren't growing.. It ranges fr 7 to 10.. He had expected ard 11-14 n said 300 is already high dosage for me

Is there any way I can simulate e growth??

Lin : yup 4 fertilized. I wished I had more eggs retrieved. Cos total ONI had 9 follicles & 5 retrieved. While others got so many follicles to start with.

Ya.. I am with dr Loh.. My appt is at 5 but end up only seeing him at 6 plus n close to 7. He does hav night clinics till 830 on tue n thurs

Dream > Which day are you at now? There is still chance for the smaller ones to catch up to the right size. 300 is puregon or gonal-f? Did dr explain why its considered high dosage? Many of us here were on higher dose. I was on 350iu gonal-f.

Adejoy > Thanks for the recipe. How do you manage to gulp it down? Looks like a very bitter one to me.

Yah.. 300 is for puregon.. I didn't drill him further on y is high for my situation.. He said usually shd be abt 200-250. He is worried on over simulation.. Now he increase to 350 and start e injection to stop ovulation tmr.. Today is my 5th day of cycle n I had 4 injections Liao.. But I called dr Zou and she say is ok cos still early ..

Really nothing I can eat??

Dream, same lor. I also 300 puregon. scan on wed.
I also have to jab in the morning to stop over stim then nite jab 300 puregon.
I also confused y morning jab to stop then nite jab to stim.
Tml scan again

Blizzbless: I am supposed to jab both at the same time leh.. So will be at night.. Dunno y is diff... He ask me to go tFC on mon morn to see him

Dream > You'll have more follicles at the later stage, as the small ones can't seee from scan now. I started with about 6-8 on each side, and by the time of ER I had over 20 in total and all yield an embryo. I was told to take more protein to prevent over stimulation.

Yvejen, sorry to hear abt it. But be strong. Hugz hugz.

Tks for explanation now I know only TFC must fork out cash first. I was confused because my first ivf they deducted straight fm medisave at KK.

I had a cyst detected during lucrin stage and dr loh removed it during ER.

Sandra, thanks.
4 were fertilized but was told they were of lower grade. 5 immature. The rest were abnormal I guess. I was thinking about the quality too. What supplements would work?

In regards to TCM... Has anyone taken Bak Foong Pill? Is it safe to consume during this period? (Sorry if this has been discussed, I can't seem to find it in the archives)

Hi All, thank you so much for the encouraging words...I know everyone here understand how I feel. I know I'm truly not alone. Seriously set me thinking what's wrong inside as this is my 3rd failure...hiaz.

Purpledragon, Dr mentioned that it is endrometriosis cysts. The industry did debate abt fertility issue with the existence of this cysts. Initially, there were conflicting answers but in the end, I dunno how, they conclude that it will not affect chances of pregnancy.....but after repeated failure, it really set me thinking.

Oh Rexxie, you remove during ER? That means you don't have to go thru keyhole surgery to do it?

Leor & Leapgal, though I have failed, I still hope the 2 of you will send us positive news! All the best ok....truly wish the 2 of u well.

Laki_gal, let me know how's the scratching process like after you have gone thru it k...looks like very few pple has done it.

Finnolia> 30 eggs retrieved, but not all usable cud be cos they did not grow to the required size to matured. usu need abt 16mm or more for it to matured. also, not all follicles has eggs. where did u do yr cycle? grade 2 is good or? do u mean u have 4 matured eggs out of 30 eggs? for my case 23 follicles retrieved, 9 eggs and only 5 matured, only 2 fertilized. sometimes long cycle cud be better? and u can chk why fertilization rate is low.. so are u in 2ww now? who knows u might just strike with the 2??

endrometriosis cysts is same as endrometriosis? or is it the cysts in the uterus?? i think if u have cysts/fibriods/polyps in the uterus is nt good and will affect implantation

Finnolia> cannot anyhow take bai feng wan, chk with yr tcm dr..

Lin, err...i thought they are the same...but dr just keep mentioning endrometriosis. I have 1 in each ovary. Not in the uterus that's y dr not keen to remove i suppose.

I saw that all sistas have been talking abt royal jelly, immunocal, ensure milk & DHEA.
Understand from the post that DHEA helps to improve egg quality and the rest mentioned promote implantation. Just wanna ask what's this DHEA? Is it some pill supplement or drink?

And what does immunocal and ensure milk helps in?

I'm not taking anything except folic acid.

Need some advice...thanks.

Thanks, Sandra & Joyhope.. Looks like I better eat more eggs... I m already drinking immouncal.. Actually I wan to swim but dr Zou advised against it... Looks like I have to go for brisk walking... I tried running but can't cos get itchy all over prob due to blood circulation.. Never try brisk walking before

Sandra, wat I meant was if too many eggs harvested, our body will need much more effect & hormones to make them grow. Hence too many is not necessary good.

Finnole, who says lower quality eggs will not bfp? It all voice down to luck. U hv done ur best to come so far. Tell ur body to accept ur embryos & talk to them everyday to cultivate them to grow & stick tight to u. Do hv a positive mind & u will win half e battle le. Remember, u r already pregnant after ur ET. Just need another confirmation on ur BT nia.

Thks for ur kind words vyejen. I am going for early BT tomoro as I hv to attend a meeting on Mon morning. Hope it will remains positive thruout.

Dreambear- yap, think u are referring to me.
U are the sweet lady with short hair? Yr hubby sitting opposite the TV wearing specs?
Will wave to U next week when c U.
Leapgal- will remain +ve.
Waiting for yr babydusts
Dreamirene- Up yr egg whites to like 6-8, immunocal 2pkts

Nite nite ladies

Yvejen, hugs... Do cry your hearts out if you feel the need to do so. All of us understand the pain you have gone through, as we are all in the same boat. Rem not to lose heart ok, we will all be here rooting for you. Stay strong girl, and let's all jiayou together!

Joyhope, you are most welcome!

I think I am too overly consumed with the thought of having a child of my own. Hence, really show hand Liao. All my life, I never dare to take tcm medicine. Cannot tahan the smell and taste. But well, guess i just have to persevere and keep trying. I can only do my best and pray for the best to happen.

Frankly, the receipe really taste yucky. I really shiver at the thought of consuming it. But my sis is really sweet. Always never fail to prepare sweets for me, to go with the receipe.

I really hope we can all graduate from here soon. Let's all jiayou tog k?

Btw, have u started taking it?

Yvejen, ya my cyst was detected during scanning. Nurse said it was sucked out along with eggs retrieval.

U mean ur cyst at the ovary ? How big is it? Doc didn't tell u wat to do with it? It's quite dangerous when at ovary. My fren had same removed along with her ovary as it had grown too big. Better have it check out properly and remove it before it gets too big.

Joyfully, me same with u. Hated tcm smell never take herbs in my life but I diligently took tcm meds during the 2ww.

Guess we are stronger than wat we thought we are when there no more choice left.

Jiayou. One day u will have that baby in ur arms.

hi yvejen

did dr tell you what stage endometriosis you have? most doc are worried about handling endo cysts in the ovaries-- as it may affect your egg count--- but ivf stimulation may worsen it--- so its a discussion that you need to have with your doctor--- its balancing the risks and benefits

hi yvejen

you can check with your doctor whether he/she thinks DHEA will be useful for you--- i know not every doctor believes in it--- so better check--- and also not sure if suitable for women with endometriosis. DHEA is a pill--- its meant to improve egg count-- not sure about quality though.