Wendy, he is leaving end of this year. I'm on Gonal-F previously so I don't have the figure for puregon. Hope some ladies can help in answering to your question on puregon cost.

Hi all, I had my ET (for FET) yesterday and 2 good grade embryos were transferred. My blood test (pregnancy test) will be on 29 Nov. I am now in my 2ww. "wave" to all sista in 2 ww.
Btw, I just checked the IVF/ICSI updates link and saw cost of FET in NUH is 1k+. It's not correct. Mine costs 3k+. Will update in the link once I calculated all my bills again.

Hi Wendy, like what tromso said, I think high protein diet is supposed to help reduce ohss. Have not been through the cycle so not so sure. U may want to try it, I remember some sisters from the Nuh Ivf thread saying prof Wong says it's ok to up protein intake during the treatment.

I am doing it with prof in Nuh.

Hi hi joanne, how hv u been? Jia you too! Thanks for the tip!!

Hi Wendy, i have never worry about bill from KKH, i am only worry if i am going to follow Dr Loh and what if the bill shot up to amount that we didnt expect as no one will know what will happen. Where you stay?

Hi Tromso, you in hormones pill, DHEA? How long have you been in hormones pill? Any side effect? Is this your 1st fresh cycle? (For this IVF, the bloatedness was surprisingly little compared to last year and minimal other side effects. I'm crediting this to protein I guess)

Hi eskimobaby, based on spreedsheet est cost from TMC is $15 - 17K, (only $5k for 2nd cycle) what if i need more dosage etc, in my case at KKH, last round, i need to increase my dosage and have to purchase additional 4 more, the cost will be over $20k which i am worry.

I am totally in the lost of when too go, KKH, NUH, TMC. Sisters who gone through the ivf / fet and know your bill amount, care to share, e.g. Injection dosage and total bill, thanks in advance

Hi looking forward..alternatively..u can switch to puregon..puregon is cheaper compare to gonal f.. Since they r meant for the same purpose..I think puregon is better..I am using puregon at parkway east..I am using 225-250iu..

I think the expensive part of ivf at pte is more @ the hospital charges..I pay ard 9k+ including storing the blastocyst which is higher in cost compare to normal d2-d3 embryos..

Medication,I pay ard 3k+..I think my ivf charges ard 13k..after medisave I pay ard 7k in cash..

I knw how you feel...I was aso v upset when my dr call me up that day..ESP when there are no more embryos left..the feeling is...haiz..have a gd cry..my hubby was also stunned when he hear me crying bitterly @ home n rush back home to see me..I was really upset..cry for the whole nite

Do cry out and I am sure it will make you feel better..

Btw,is there amy reason why you are on this dosage..? I remember my dr tell me before that he will always avoid giving too high a dosage cos the whole process will be too "chemical" thus pregnancy might not b viable...

Hi Wendy, your stage 2 dosage looks like on the lower side compared to many of us here...do you know why the OHSS is still so severe? Did the stimulation yield many follicles hence the OHSS?

For me, the 300iu that I was on was a bit on the high side, cos I only had 1 stage 2 scan done, then had to do ER. Didn't know too much dosage can affect pregnancy...its really a fine line.

Hi Looking Forward, I was on clomid, metformin and latrozole hormone pills last year but not IVF (those were to stimulate ovulation then TTC naturally). Didn't work out and make me really sick (had to stay in bed about a week each month cos the nausea and breathlessness was very bad). So before I started this IVF, was really really scared. Luckily didn't have to relive that now...

Wendy, your private charges for medication 3k+, is this just for the stage 1 and 2 jabs? About 3 times mine...

A gf told me when she got pregnant, her progesterone jab at KKH costs $10+ but at TMC costs $40+. She had to take the jabs weekly cos her pregnancy not too stable but chosen TMC still. Looks like 'complications' can be really costly at private, every little bit adds up.

Hi Looking forward,
one Gonal f pen (900iu) costs 834 in NUH. My bill for Gonal f alone costs me about 2k. My total bill for IVF fresh cycle (from day 19 suppression stage to pregnancy test) is exactly 10k.
I have done FET also. But I haven't received the bill for ET day yet. I just paid deposit 1200. Once I know the exact amount, I will let you know.

Hi tromso..I only have 19 follicles retrieved..7 fertilized n 5 make it to blastocyst..my dr say I am hypersensitive to it thus even though I am on low dosage I get ohss n maybe could b the last jab I had-hcg jab..

My dr was also surprise that i had such a bad reaction though the dosage is so low..therefore he mentioned that there is no way I can go for long protocol coz he is certain that this will happen again..

My medications include lucrin,puregon,hcg jab ..ard 3k+..as for progesterone jab,my was 110 per jab..imagine when I always spot during my previous pregnancy..I had to jab everyday..haiz.. Money spent and backside swell n harden till ibcant even jab any further on my backside but thigh...
is the jab so cheap in kkh?.I am so surprised...

Wendy, I dun thunk high dosage of gonal-f affects pregnancy chances like wat your doc said. First cycle, my dosage was 300iu. 2nd cycle, my dosage was 375iu. I didn't hv any issue of bfp both times. I know of other sisters who are on high dosage as me who r now mummies too. Usually, the dosage increases with mummies' age.

Looking forward, first cycle my ivf cost, excluding insurance was no more than 8k, was on gonal-f for 12 days, I was one of th pioneers who used gonal-f which was implemented in KKH in 3Q2010. 2nd cycle, I was on gonal-f again n 7 days stimulation only. Again, total bill nv exceed 8k, it wld be lesser than first round if not of the expensive assisted hatching which the embyrologist did. Cash portion, I didn't pay much other than BT costs n for lucrin.

Hi hazel..thanks for your advise..I was pretty worried too..worried that if I had go go for short protocol,the dosage might be higher thus reducing the possibilities of conceiving..

I think 300-375 is still reasonable..not really high..but I had a gf which is in her late 20s is using up to 600iu but not viable..I think it is also due to body reaction too..well there is too many reasons behind all these.. Really confusing too..

But at pte practise,gonal f is more expensive than puregon...thus many will opt for puregon instead..

Costs are kkh is really reasonable..but I am kinda too late for it..

Looking forward...will yr dosage be increased even if you go tmc with dr loh..? I think if you are still on 300 range the charges are perhaps ard 12-13k..unless you need dosages of 600 then maybe the range is around 15k n above..

Your range of 300+ is still reasonable in the mid range..perhaps you can check with dr loh on it..

Let's pray together and hope our prayers will be answered soon..

Wendy, r u given a prescription at pte hospitals for gonal-f/puregon? I m asking thus coz, if there is a prescription, maybe can buy from restructured hospital pharmacy like in KKH. My mil is a mt E patient n has dialysis at Camden. Her medicine we get at restructured hospitals like nuh n cost abt 1k a mth. We just take the prescription from her pte hospitals to nuh pharmacy n buys the medicine. We made a comparison among, sgh, ttsh n nuh n concluded that nuh is the cheapest. Can save quite a fair bit. We told her dr honestly that is too ex to buy from pte hospitals / clinic n ask him to give us prescription. :p

Hazel..I tot of this idea before..but i don't think the dr will give us the prescription since they are also earning $$ from e medications..

Any idea if dr loh can do this at tmc??if he can,I believe many friends here will be able to seek his expertise there too..honestly,the medications is really expensive at pte..I browse thru my previous bill and realized just puregon alone..I am paying almost 4k..I still tot 3k..just imagine I am only @ 250iu..

E dr is really nice to give yr mum in law another better alternative..e renal dr don't sell in their own clinic??

Wendy, I dunno if dr loh allows... I nv ask him before.. I thought profits of medicine go to ivf centre? Not ah?

Renal dr has in his clinic but Mil told him his charges r too ex! He already earns 2k plus every mth from mil on dialysis cost. So, mil will asked him for prescription. Maybe coz she has been her patient > 15 yrs so he closes 1 eye to her request....

FYI, India is the best plc to buy medicine coz A lot of pharmaceutal companies hv factories there. No need prescription. Some medicine, my sil buys from there coz she is staying there now. Is super dirt cheap, even when compared to restructured hospital's pharmacy. Medicine can cost a few bucks here per tablet but is just cents over there.

Hi, I am 3 days into 300iu jab, but no side effect nor feeling anything! Does that means the dosage too low for me?? Any idea? N wat should I eat now to improve follicles?

Wendy, cannot buy medicine from mil's renal dr unless we print money. He is one of the top notch renal dr in SG so medicine charges r v ex. Mil is frequently warded in hospital, this yr, twice and another day surgery. Maybe coz she has been his long time patient, he is more accommodating. Mil will get warded in mt alvernia instead of mt E n the hospital will call her mt E dr, n he will go see mil, examine her, etc. Mt e is cut throat prices, last time, 1 hospital stay at mt e cost her kids 50-60k... Pte hospitals really v ex... Sigh...

Hmmm where is the ivf spreadsheet that says the charges? Is it the one that we update our progress?

Some can really conceive; just saw on Facebook that she has just gave birth to her third prince. Happy and envy her....

Mt E rates are so sky high - for those really rich people. Did u see yahoo news? A Singaporean family booked a 1million dollar tour for his family of 3 to space. That's how the rich spend their money....

yes Tanny, costs comparison in same ivf spreadsheet that we update.

Looking at the private hospital rates discussions above, remind me why I've been thinking to upgrade my hospitalization policy for last couple of months. But when I was ready to upgrade, I saw a question asking if I'm pregnant. Makes me wonder if one answers yes, if pregnancy complications will be excluded and say if discover hv cysts or god knows what along with pregnancy, then if large part of the the reproductive system will be excluded fr cover. Cos I know for cysts cases, a lot is excluded not only cysts. Regret not upgrading earlier...

Hi Rabbitpig, many of us don't get much side effects fr stage 2 jabs...so don't worry ok
some may get bloatedness. You can take egg whites (plus other protein food if you like) to prevent/ reduce potential bloatedness and these should help with the follicles and lining growth too. There is actually quite a lot discussed on this in Oct's forum, you may like to browse through those too ;)

Hii Wendy, I was thinking about what you said about the hcg jab could have worsen/ fired off your OHSS. For my case, side effects wasn't a real issue until after the hcg jab too...felt quite lousy for 3 days. I spoke with TCM dr and was told the standard hcg dosage is indeed very high, wonder why it can't be reduced...

For me, I was given 300iu (considered high for my age) cos I was quite resistent to hormone drugs from last year fertility treatment experience. Funny thing is, I was detected PCOS just this year, so maybe that's why I couldn't be given higher dosage, luckily didn't cos 300iu proves slightly too high for me too. Really pity your younger fren, I'm guessing she may have some underlying condition too. It's really not easy...

Hi Tromso, thanks for e clarification.

I told Dr Zou dat my nx cycle will b 600iu of Gonal-f & commented high dosage.
Really hope I can success.

Thanks, coolcool & hazel

Hi Wendy, My egg response badly, so likely to change the dosage and medicine. Recently given DHEA, but after reading some information on the web, my hubby discourage me to start, any sister try DHEA before?

Hi hazel
Can help to check with your SIL roughly how much IVF cost in india? Thank you. Budget tight try to save to go to india. Thank you

Hi tromso..hw old r u this young?perhaps I am also pcos thus after trigger it become worse too..alternatively,they can use lucrin to trigger but by using lucrin to trigger we have to wait for fet can't go ahead with fresh cycle..

I think she is obese..her bmi is 40+..tat could b the reason too..

Piglet, I did IVF in KKH last year. Total damage less than 7K. Fully covered by govt fund and medisave. I was on puregon.

Maybe change of environment, less stressful. Treat as going for holiday. I not young liao. Left last chance to use medisave. Maybe can check with our kkh dr to see got any gd dr to recommend oversea.

Hi Piglet, India!! I like your thinking
Actually not surprised if the top notch hospitals there are as good as ours, could be better too..??

Hi Wendy, I've been told that PCOS patients can get many many small tiny follicles with the stimulation jabs. And these are usually too 'malnutrition' for ER procedure. You have 19 right, actually not many compared to PCOS case.

If you are curious, can check with gynae or if you have your blood test results, can check if your LH is way higher than FSH, can be a sign of PCOS. Hmm...it's something I need to check with my gynae too, cos I think I'm not a real PCOS patient (have implications for diet and other health aspects).

Hey gals how is your sunday so far?

Piglet~
India's a very popular choice for IVF for norwegian ladies too..cos it's very cheap..it's a good choice
Just hv to find a good hospital

Tromso~
Are you in your 2ww now? You taking leave to rest at home? Remember to take brazil nuts

Rabbitpig~
Im in my stage 2 too, 5th day today..no side effects as now (touchwood) hehe..i keep a food diary to keep track of what i ate and drank..so if i feel not too good after a particular food, i'll avoid the next days..

oh RabbitPig~
Just some pulling and feeling 'fullness' on my womb (right side lower abdominal part)..i attribute to that it's the follicles/eggs growing

Thanks Chris, yes I'm in 2WW. Taking brazil nuts now, I'm actually hoping lining doesn't grow excessively cos my first stage 2 scan lining already 12mm...lol...too little, worry, too much oso worry...

How's your egg whites? Starting to get used to it? Is your IVF there much more costly then sing's?

Thanks Tromso & Chris.
Chris, I had cramp today too!! I was also wondering whether it is egg growing! Haha..
This is my very first time to do ivf. When u guys talk about stage 2, are u refering to jab? I learnt from my friend that she was using purgeon. And I think mine is gonal. What's the diff?which is stronger?

Hi Joanne, I just ET this week...still quite long way off to final BT. I just had 1 scan and that's when lining was 12mm, plus follicles already btw 10mm to 17mm, so did ER 3 days after. I think my dosage bit on high side...

Hi Piglet, at kkh stage 1 refers to supression stage, and stage 2 refers to stimulation stage - Puregon and Gonal F. I read in this forum that Gonal F is stronger but dr would have prescribed according to suitability
Yes, the scan you are going for will tell you and dr the number of follicles, size, lining thickness. You can request to pen it down (if interested) when doing review with the nurse after the scan. Depending on the conditions, your jab dosage may change/ unchange and I think next scan should be about 2 days after. I didn't do second scan, so the 2 days is just what I recall fr the ivf timetable. You must be excited about the results now...all the best

Hi tromso

I had failed 2x fresh cycle with all those medication u had stated. I am just exploring for more cheaper option. I may not be able to go to pte.

I see, that's why you are thinking India could be a viable option. Like Chrisl said, if even the Norwegien ladies are starting too seek treatment in India, could well be a good option to explore. But hope it's really much cheaper and good standards.

Have you explored other options like tiao your body?

Piglet, u can find ivf cost in India on the website. Eg, http://www.drmalpani.com/cost-of-ivf.htm

Different pte clinics hv different charges, just like in SG. U can just goggle online for the clinics. SIL is a tai tai there coz her eurasian hub is posted there coz of work. She has no intention to hv kids n maybe too old to hv children now also. :p

RabbitPig~
Im using puregon too, 200iu this time compared to my 1st cycle 225iu..as doc said i was mildly overstimulated then. From my experience, (im not sure how's your case-as i think it's case by case ..varies doc to doc too) I think it'll be like say 9 days jab then scan then a 2 day transfer (ER&ET)..well at least my case it's this way

But a question, do you hv to go to pee very often? I don't remember i have to do so often in my 1st cycle leh..

Tromso~
So far, 1st cycle we paid $5k (all including consultation and medications), then this cycle we've paid $2k so far (we had leftover medication from the 1st cycle to use) all in all about $7k.

We're also using the gov grant here, but can only claim FROM minimum $3800+- (meaning if lesser than that, we hv to pay ourselves) we can claim some things..we will hv to submit all receipts and forms then they'll do a claim for us after. So in this case and after reading all you ladies hv mentioned on the costs..i can say it's definitely cheaper than SG (based on my fresh cycle using PUREGON--as for FET or using other medications im not too sure then)

As for egg whites, i love it! hehe..steam them over slow medium moist heat, watching/stirring them every 1-2minutes..nicely done!
Im intending to keep the yolks to make kueh lapis one of these days too...

Long time no pop in here ...

heartbeat, ur menses late too? mine too as well...super late! never like this. till now no sign and I worrying whether can make it to FET under Dr Loh. Thk I will follow like u induce menses liao.

Hi piglet02, if you don't mind, can I ask for your 2 cycles did it implant, how is your break in between, how many eggs in each cycle, did you go for TCM, sorry so many questions, mi just failed my 1st cycle, eggs volume low, planning for 2 cycle

Me too. Worry now as my menses was longer than usual and my ovulation kit could only detect it on day 27. This means my menses will be delayed by 2 weeks. Super worry!!! Am hoping can do a FET under Dr Loh. Sign!!

Goodies & Pierced, feel free to update your status in the online spreadsheet. Will you be on natural/ medicated FET? Is this round your first time? Some ladies went to get medication to induce their AF to come, it's up to you whether to do it this way or let it come naturally.

Joy n faith, I like your nick. We need so much faith and strength in exchange for the abundant joy from our little one. Sign. I am on natural 1st FET, failed my 1st fresh cycle IVF on 25 October. I may wait as i also trying naturally. As I am pretty desperate, never let go any single open window lor. Sign. Hoping to be able to be a mother again. will update the spreadsheet.