i will be going for my 1st ivf treatment soon and hope to get some support & also a listening ear here..
for those sisters who are under Dr Loh, will you be following him to Thomson? The nurse told me that as long as i have not started the process, I can sign a consent form to transfer my file to him.
Dr Loh had previously arranged for me to start ivf in Nov, but recently when i went for the counselling session at KKH, the nurse told me Nov is all full! and even if i call on my day1 of menses, also not guarantee that i can do it in Nov! can like that meh?!
so i am very 'fan' now.

babymaps12,

KKH has a quota of fresh cycles every month because they want to ensure that their lab can handle the no. of cases and minimise any human error. After all, that's where all the fertilisation and culture takes place.

Hope that takes away some of your confusion, even if it doesn't take away your 'fan'.

Hi BellsBells,

Sorrie to hear that. It must been hard on you having to cope with all these ESP the 5 th month one. Dun give up. Mi also been telling myself that as I m turning to 36 next years.

Hi Moo3Moo, I am unable to start now since my menses are late for two months. Yeah wish k start sooner. Tested not preggie. But really hope is preggie soon hahaha

How u all settle the makan during 2ww, mi thinking of ctering, any caterer to intro?

Would like to check during the 2ww are we able to move around like going out for makan etc

Thanks in advance

Hi Bellbells,
Sorry about your lost. I also lost my baby when i was 20weeks. Do a mini confinement and rest well.

Dear sisters,
I will be going for the surgery to remove the polyps this friday. May i know what should i take note? Anything i can or cannot eat? Dr Loh said i can go back to work next monday. Is this enough rest? Thank you.

Hi Looking forward, when are you starting your 2ww? Mine likely next month. I'm taking med to induce menses now. I'm also considering to cater those trial tingkat meal for lunch. I read from other sisters' experience that first few days not to move about too much. 2nd week onwards should be ok to go out but take it slow. Some movement will help blood circulation.

Hi Bell, sorry about your lost. I know no words can make you feel better. Let time heal the wound. Meanwhile, take great care and rest well.

Hi tanny,
My 1st FET to see kkivf on 31 oct for my 1st scan.
Btw wa is the scan for? It will be my d10 as I am doing natural. I hv nv test ovulation kit to see whether I ovulate. Is it ok?

Hi Babyjourney

I had my polyps removed in jul, day surgery centre offer me 1 week Mc, it recover faster then cyst surgery but I think as it recover faster I didn't really bothers about it and started to clear my office work on my 4th day, now I can feel that my body wasn't that good, I think good rest is important if you can afford the 1st week. But again depending on individual health.

Hi pinkdoll

ER on sat n ET on mon. Thanks for your sharing. Any good caterer in mind? I call Neo garden but their orders min 2pax. The rest I scare too oily or can food

Hi BellsBells, this is my 2nd cycle, first time doing FET. Haha, no choice, I have to work. No work less money so I'll be more stressed.
My boss is quite understanding. Also I try not to overexert myself at work. Different situation for everyone I guess.

Hi Baby, I think only the stronger embbies can survive till D5 so it acts like a screening process. But on the downside, it means fewer embbies can survive. Also, no one knows for sure if the embbies which can't survive till D5 in lab environment, might have made it if transferred earlier. It's a risk.

Hi Looking Forward,
Thanks for your advise. Your surgery is done at KKH too? May I know where is Day surgery center?
Is there any food that I cannot eat or should eat after the surgery?

I'm starting stage 2 on 29oct.. Which is the day 22 of my lucrin jab.. R they delaying my egg pickup? I'm scheduled for the ultrascan on 05nov. How many scans do I hve to go before the pickup? I hve an exam on the 17nov.. How how????!!
Who can i ask for help???

MC 007 : you have up to one year to claim from medisave. The reimbursement process is simple. But I would suggest that you keep your medisave for IVF (can claim from medisave up to 3 times only).

hello gals, i will like to find out how does the payment process for IVF procedure in govt hospitals work. Do we need to pay upfront the $10k++ first, then we will get reimbursed thru medisave or do we pay the net amt after deducting the claim from medisave?

Rainy,
During my briefing last week, I was told which items I need to pay cash and which items can claim from medisave (meaning no need to pay cash at all).

baby-thks for the info. so if is our 1st try, this means that we only need to pay cash abt $1 to $2k after deducting the $6k medisave & $3 grant?

JustFaith: thanks.. yah.. I don't think I want to claim for my previous IUI. Since I am switching to KKH now (my first appt tml), I will used it for IVF then..

Rainy,
I am not sure of the actual cash payout. Perhaps the other sisters who have gone thru their first cycle can give you more advise.

Hi Rainy,
Usually the consult and blood test u need to pay. KKH will collect the payment on the same day as per visit. They will proceed the deduction for medisave once the whole process is over.

The cash payment part is as per visit + ur insurance. All in is abt 1 to 2k.

Hi there.

Can I ask, this Lucrin or Suprefact jab on Day 21, what if we are pregnant? I mean Day 21 we would not know if pregnant yet but if conception has happened, would the suppression do harm? I read suprefact is contraindicated in pregnancy. If have must terminate.

Mel, from day 1 to day 21 we should hve protected sex.. If pregnant, have to terminate.. But on the 21st day,still cant tell whether pregnant anot. I hve read one of the forum abt such case where the lady hve unprotected sex..didn't know she is already pregnant when she start the jabs... End up hve to remove the foetus...

Mei_Mei, u will be told to practice safe sex during the briefing at KKH before u start Ivf. U r not supposed to get pregnant at all in the mth u start injection. Why do u wan to n risk killing a life?

Hi Miracle_Happens, I think you are the same as me, process was prolonged. If my understanding is correct, the process requires 6-8 weeks. I was told mine was about 6 weeks protocol but when collecting my Lucrin, they have prolonged to 8 weeks as Nov is very tight for them.

As for the scan, depend on the result for the egg & lining (if I'm not wrong), for me, usually more than 3 times.

Noy, u took the stage 2 jab for how many days?
Im so worried tht the procedure will be too near to my exam date..17nov..
If the egg transfer is 2-3 days before exam..not sure if I can take the exam anot

Miracle, dun worry. Stage 2 jab shld be abt 10-12 days unless the person is really a poor responder of the medicine. My 2nd cycle I only jab for 7-8 days on stage 2 jabs. Stage 2 jab cannot drag like stage 1. Once eggs r ready, must proceed to ER

Miracle, just walk slowly n dun stand too long. Take it easy. I will bloat after ET so I dun go out for long as I felt uncomfortable. So, I just go out for meals. 2nd fresh, scan once only. First fresh abt 3x

Bb-thks for asking
is alright. the painful part is when they inserted the speculum in. just cried for a while during the insertion. after that, it got ok liao. the doc told me my tubes are not blocked
so now hv to wait for hubby's test results to decide how to proceed further

Miracle and Hazel, thanks for your replies. The nurse told me there are patients who get pregnant during suppression (day 21) and it's alright. I feel uneasy... cos I was trying naturally.

I think I must ask Dr to clarify my doubts.

Thanks again for the info, at least now I now.

Hi Miracle_happens, initially I was told after baseline ultrasound, stage 2 commences 3 days later then after 7 days will have to go for scan... so about 10 days. But now they changed my protocol so I don't know whether anymore changes.

Miracle, baseline scan means to check if ur hormones r suppressed fr the Lucrin jabs. If they r, stage 2 can start anytime. Baseline scan usu is on D14 of Lucrin jabs. But KKIVF will drag to longer than that coz they need to schedule n avoid bottle neck in ER/ET. Coz Lucrin stage can drag, no harm. Stage 2 cannot. First scan for stage 2 is on D7 of 2nd jab. That is to check follicle size n estimate when ER will be. Another 1-2 scans thereafter if follicles r not ready

HI Miracle_Happens, I'm kind of "blur blur" on the scan as it seems to me all scan are the same as I enter the same room every time... :)

Karen is the Chinese sinographer in the scanning room at KKIVF n most senior there. Usu she will scan unless she is called away to help in ET. U can ask her wats the scan abt, lining thickness etc. She is v friendly n will ans u

Ling, is ur stage 1 lengthened too? I'm starting Lucrin only on 31 Oct n going back for scan only on 21 Nov. You?

MC, how did ur appt with Dr M go?

Hi BabyJourney

Ya, my op is at KKH. DS is at basement 1 behind the fountain near the cab area.

Hi miracle_happens

My last scan was on Tue, they have arrange tonite for pregnyl injection, sat morning for ER and Mon for ET. i was told of all these date on Tue

Hi Usagi_2011

When is HCG jet?

Just experience pregnyl 10,000units, it wasnt painful at all just ant bits, stupid me worry whole day of the injection pain.

The injection hurts coz it goes into the thigh muscles. Got to ask for the jab at the butt then it wun hurt. KKH 24hrs now does do it on the butt. Some nurses auto will jab on butt. Some still jab ln thigh n that ouch! Butt is painless. I know coz I was jab at thigh n butt respectuvely in 2 separate fresh cycles.

Is it? I didn't know. Ha. Jet on my tummy as usual and it bleeds abit. The nurse said the jet is to ripen the eggs as tml i doing egg collection.