Mc, tell the nurse u wan to change in dr! Not transfer if is not allowed. Ie, can always pay first consultant fee again n wait longer for an appointment with dr tan! Ask the nurse KKH not accepting new patients, closing shop just coz 2 drs r leaving?

Dr tan tps clinic is now on wed morning, I saw him there 2 wks ago as dr loh is away n I dun wan to wait 5 wks for next appointment. I believe that after dr loh leaves, dr tan will hv more tps clinics coz dr loh has many tps patients n he is covering.

LOL Hazel.. that is what I am thinking too.. pay first consultation fee again lor.. actually quite unfair to us.. they shld hv inform us earlier that a particular doc is leaving in the first place since we are NEW..

I think it is only fair that they allow us to switch since it will be my first time seeing Dr Jerry too.. so what is the diff?

Anyway, jus hope for the best on Monday..

Mc, u will be able to see dr tan watever the outcome on Monday. Just a matter of how it shld be done. Unless KKH is not accepting any new patients which is not possible. Hv a GD wk end!

I'm on medicated fet. Can I know for first scan, do I get to see the doc and can ask for mc? I rem for my fresh cycle, my first scan did not see any doc; only saw nurse and hence no mc when I asked for it. Subsequent scans saw the dr on duty and was given mc.

Hi dec

First scan for FET should be seeing Dr to inform u whether ur lining is thick enough. Only when u get to see Dr then can request for MC. Nurse only give time chit. Remember to eat red bean soup or stuff to help ur lining.

piglet02 : then roughly when do we get to see doc? must wait for how many scans? im trying to estimate... i understand ET is done when lining is about 8mm? which means ET is roughly abt 16-18 day of the cycle?

for fet, is it usually grow 1mm per day?

LoveNhope i told my PILs and my own family..cos i need the emotional support
..PIL even contributed some $ for us as a token for the treatment in their way to say they'll support us

those who take royal jelly & raspberry tea concurrently ~ do you gals noticed any difference in your discharge? I noticed that mine was specially 'gluely' after i took these few days...(sorry for being gross) which i never experienced b4...am i the odd one out?
kao_confused.gif

Hi Chrisl, yeah, your PILs are so nice. Think my PILs might not even understand cos they're not very well-educated and can be rather superstitious.

Hi tree, oh my, thank goodness you mention that cannot take royal jelly if have fibroid. Doc said i have fibroid but thankfully in area that doesn't affect implantation.

Hi dec
I cannot remember how many for the first scan. Usually intervals of 2 to 3 days for the scans. My last FET I have abt 3 scan b4 I go for ET. It will depend on the lining of your womb. Remember start eating red bean to build up your lining.

Can anyone advise what the first bloodtest and baseline scan during Stage 1 of suppression is looking for? What's the ideal result?

It has been awhile since i posted..
Thot i'll share abit of my experience here.

I just had my ER yesterday, and retrieved 50 eggs! Imagine my risk of OHSS.. I wasn't on very high dosage, 125iu puregon for about 9 days? Maybe cos i have pco, so thats why the large number. In the end, 30 mature, 17 fertilised, and i have to postpone ET.

The ER for me was not a breeze though, i felt a bit of pain during, and vaguely remember screaming twice, and the second time i did, Doc increased painkiller dosage. I suffered quite badly after ER, vomited twice, and was all nauseous and giddy. And at night, OHSS kicked in. I was bloated, and my adominal area hurt so bad, i couldnt move out of the bed, and my hubby needed to pull me up to go toilet.

Im feeling better today, but still suffering from abit of pain, but at least i can move around myself.

On 1 hand, a bit sad i can't go thru with ET, but on the other hand, i dun want to go thru OHSS, 1 day is bad enough. Guess now i have to patiently wait for menses to come.

Can anyone advise what will happen from now? Normally how long does it take for period to come?
Btw, im with SGH, and i realise most here are with KKH, so not sure if protocols are the same.

Hi ganie,
Sorry, how come u can't go ahead with the ET? 17 fertilized eggs' very good isn't it?

I thought during ER, we will be placed under GE? Were u not under GE?

Hope u feeling better already.

Dear All

I am very trouble by this and totally in a lost, need all your advice

My ET tomorrow, email doctor and was told not to delay, my uncle has just pssed away, he is just like my father to me, we are vey close, what should i do, forgo my ET or go ahead with ET, after ET can i still go to the wake.

Thanks for your advice

Has been a few days since i login as i just went for the surgery to remove my polyps on fri.

I was given antibiotics, painkiller n hormones pills to take. The pharmacist told my hubby that i can oni take the hormones pills after i complete e antibiotics. This is correct?

Hi Dee,

As i produced too many follicles, my risk of getting OHSS is really high. My doctor didn't even dare to trigger me with HCG and used Lucrin instead.

So if i go ahead with ET, and it does result in pregnancy, the HCG produced will trigger onset of OHSS again, and given the fact that i had so many eggs, OHSS may get real bad so doctor didn't want to take the risk. Apparently, my E2 level 2 days before ER was 24000.

I was put under sedation and painkillers. In my blurry state, i rem feeling pain but strangly, i can't recall it now, feels like a dream.

Just glad i survived till this point. Now waiting for grading of embryos tmr.

I'm much better already, drinking as much H2O as i can and trying to eat as many egg whites as possible. Doctor also put me on cabergoline. Thanks for your concern!

Hi Usagi,

Think i saw you then, you were probably before me right? Think i was the last patient, and i walked out like a wreck and went on to vomit in the nurses room... haha.. Everyone before me looked fine though.

You going ahead to do ET tmr rite? All the best! I'll be patient.

Glad to know someone from SGH too..

Looking forward, sorry abt your predicament and the loss of your uncle!

Have you discussed with your hubby (and the rest of your family if they know) abt the situation? They are prob in the best position to advise you.

Hi Looking Forward,

I'm so sorry bout your loss. Why dun you discuss this with your hubby? I dun think there's a right decision to this.

I suppose its fine to attend his wake, you not staying over right? But on the other hand, you can't afford to grieve too much if you go ahead with ET. Its a dillema i understand, but regardless of whatever decision, it'll not be a wrong decision. Don't be too hard on yourself k.*Hugs*

Ganie16, I know of a sister here, dr loh's patient in KKH. Retrieved 60 over eggs in dec 2009. Broke the record then. Dr loh gave her 3 choices, (1) proceed with ET, (2) abort or (3) rest a few days n do d5 Transfer. Dr loh Said option 1 is too risky n She refused to abort the cycle. So, chose to do d5 embyro transfer. But her her embiees did not look promising on d4, ie, survive another day to d5. So, dr loh quickly called her down n picked the best 2 m did a D4 transfer for her. He was worried she has none to transfer at d5. During 2ww, she was hoapitalised 2x for ohss, cox ohss returns when one gets pregnant. She is now a mother of a 14mths old boy-girl twins!

Looking forward, why can't u go to the wake after ET? Just dun tire yourself or stand too long. Only when u r pregnant then try to avoid。now is too early to avoid these. my hubby has been visiting my elder dsughter's niche these mths though I didn't go coz pregnant. My daughter wun harm me but there r many other niches there.. She will understand why mummy can't go.. Though I didn't go, doesn't mean I dun miss her.

Dear All

For those experience ET, can we move around? i need to attend wake, help out and send my uncle last journey, need your advice as i am in the loss

Tree/LuvnHope~
they had waited so long for a bb to carry (all their peers are grandmum/granddad now) that's why they don't mind speeding up the process haha but then i count my blessings and think culture plays a part as well

tree~
thanks for the info..didn't know that ;P

piglet~
yes cervical discharge..I don't think so leh..dunno..but i hv still ovulation test kits..think later i go test and see..

liliankoh~
My condolences to you and family. It really depends on you if you're superstitious or not, but i think for my viewpoint, if your uncle was just like your father to you, go see him for one last time. Cos you might live to regret it in future should you not go..take care!

babyjourney~
think the logical thing is to finish antibiotics 1st..cos the medication might react with one another..but do double check with doc to be sure as im sure you don't want any jeopardy to your IVF treatment..

Usagi2011~
12 is also good number..impt thing is quality not quanity

ganie16~
were you on semi-sedated state during ER? And from what you've said, i think most likely you hv severe OHSS read more here:

http://www.ivf-infertility.com/ivf/standard/complications/ovarian_stimulation/ohss.php

it could be life threatening, so that's why doc don't recommend ET in a few days after, but when OHSS stabilizes, they might offer ET ASAP.

But were you given any medications or injectable for now? or any progesterone luteal support?

But every hospital's protocol is different, call your doc up to check just to be sure and to have a peace of mind..take care! (BTW, im doing with Puregon too..200 this time as i was mildly OHSS on my 1st try with 225)

Ganie16, u were the one seating near the door? I also felt sick. During ER, I could feel pain in a dreamlike state. When I was resting inside, I could barely mumbled nurse nurse. Say I feel like vomitting. Then they gave me sugared drink n crackers. The crackers really helped! Think yesterday got 5 pp. I was no. 2. Tml doing ET. Hoping for the best.

Hi LuvNHope, I didn't tell anyone about IVF, so no one know

Dear LuvNHope, Ganie16 & Hazel
My hubby is very strong against me attend the wake as he think baby not stable, the baby is a life and tomorrow is the still 1st day n I still want to attend the wake. My yi si from eu yang sang ever told us during these 2ww dont move too much n sit too long, bed rest is the best for stability n implantation. I really in the loss no to attend my uncle wake.

Thanks, Chrisl ya going tonight but hubby are very again my day wake visit

Thanks all sister, sorry to trouble all of you as I am in the loss and don't know who to talk to as no one knows

lookingforward~
I see..you can go and take it easy..walk slowly and not squat, and if need help to do things like lifting things such as heavy drinks boxes or cartons, then ask for support from HB..go for rests in between..is the wake near your hse or? some relatives? Ask to take some naps in between..

Hi, looking forward, like what chrisl says, what matters is the quality. I still remember someone in the forum says we all only need 1 egg n 1 sperm for success. My friend having wedding this coming week, I will give it a miss for the sake of our ivf success. We have come so far, must continue to work hard.

Hazel and Ganie16, my wife had 45 eggs from ER. Dr Loh advised us not to do D3 transfer. We decided to wait till D5 to see if she has any symptom for OHSS. 2 embryos managed to survived till D5 blastocyst stage and they are now happily in mummy's womb and just past 2nd trimester. Ganie16, pray that you will have no OHSS. God bless!

Hi mc_007

I have not go for my SIS scan. Wait for my AF to come. During last AF, I just failed my cycle so didn't go.

Has be Ttc this month, hopefully don't even need to go SIS.

Ganie16, rest and relax. Remember to drink 2-3 litres of fluid every day. You can eat up to 8 egg whites. You will find isotonic drink useful during OHSS. Hope yours will subside soon. Take care. You can always do your FET the next round. BTW, you are added to the spreadsheet online that you can update your status thereafter.

Looking Forward, there is no right or wrong in whatever discussion you've made. Just do to whatever you feel good and with no regrets. Remember to do it at ease and no rushing. Rest whenever you can and no carry of heavy loads.

Gals, anyone experience lesser AF flow after failed FET? It applied on me. Was weird too when I thought AF finished and the day after the last day, the spotting came. Wonder if it's normal.

Hazel,

Thanks for sharing this story, i was abit worried abt my number of eggs. Doctor kept on saying amazing, and i dunno whether its good or bad. I guess i still have a tmr to decide whether i want to go ahead with ET. But i have a feeling doctor wun let me.
And my hubby is not very for me going for it this cycle too..

Chrisl,

My doctor was recommending rest at least 1 or 2 cycle. Currently not on any injectibles already, only on cabergoline to ease OHSS. Dunno whether i should go for D5, hmm.. see tmr how it goes.
I believe i was in a semi-sedated state, can feel pain but too drowsy to do anything except to moan in pain.. haha..
I think i prob got moderate OHSS, the vomitting prob was due to the sedation, cos the nurse said luckily they didn't finish up the sedation dosage, if not wun be able to go home.
I'm much better now, just feel a bit of abdominal pain.

Usagi,

Yeah, i was seated near the door.. were you in pink? At least you took it much better than me, i couldnt even walk on my own, and nurse keep on waking me and i refuse to get up.. and i vomited 1 bag of gastric juice.. opps.. sorry TMI.. haha..
All the best tmr!

Looking forward,

I guess its fine to attend the wake for awhile. Why dun you just go and pay respects, and dun stay too long. Dun stress yourself too much over this yah? Stress can affect implantation too.. Im sure your hubby will be able to understand your fillial piety. And baby will feel it too and will be good and implant and grow properly...

DH,

Congrats! So nice to hear so many success stories. I actually dun feel as bad as yesterday, and i somehow feel i might recover soon, im half hearted abt going for ET this cycle, hmm.... even though it is very tempting. Tmr i should know grading of embryos, maybe i'll decide again then. But did your wife suffer from any OHSS at all?

Ganie16, all nurses and Dr Loh said sure have OHSS. but she felt alright with just mild bloatedness. drank lots of 100plus to ease the bloatedness. we prayed and commit it to God. With faith, we went for the D5 ET. Dr Loh said D5 Blastocyst stage will have a better chance to get pregnant. you know your body the best. So do listen to your body ya? jia you and i will pray for you too.

JoynFaith,

I'm drinking as much 100plus as much as i can, but i prob finish abt 1 big bottle a day, that's about just 1.5l. Opps, okie, i'll try drink more, thx for adding me onto spreadsheet, i'll be sure to update.

DH,

That's nice to hear, was your wife triggered with Lucrin or HSG? So OHSS didn't occur during 2ww? Though im feeling better now, bit there's still the risk of getting it again during initial weeks of pregnancy, so dunno whether i should take the risk. All the nurses were so worried about me after ER, kept on repeating i have to rush to A&E if i get worse. So that scares me too...

Hi lilian, sorry to hear abt the sudden loss of someone close to u. I will share my experience and hope it will help u in decision making. My ER was on a Thurs. I slept the whole afternoon and went back to office on fri. My ET was sat. Felt pretty tired so slept the whole weekend which was unusual but went out for quick meals as usual. Was back to work on mon as was feeling ok. BFP aft 2ww.

For yr ET on mon, a lot depends on how yr body responds. Rest well and if u feel up to it, make a trip to yr uncle's funeral. If u hv side effects / body 'tells' u to rest more, perhaps u can go nx day when u feel better. Hope tis helps and all the best to u! *hugs*

Ganie16, don't just drink 100plus alone. You can drink soup as well and not forgetting water is our best friend to our body. If you feel better over your OHSS, I'm sure your Dr will let you proceed with your ET. I've slight OHSS in my past after ER (bloatedness) and able to proceed ET 2 days after ER because I can walk around and no pain. All the best!

Ganie16, do a BT again before u do d5 transfer. If ohss is no longer on dangerous range, u can proceed. That is what the sister I told u abt did. But if u r pregnant, ohss may come bk to haunt u. But then again, haunt for a gd cause! Going thru Ivf itself carries risk but we all still go thru it despite all these., for just one purpose, to be mommies. Dr loh is very confident. If he allowed my friend n DH's wife to proceed with d4/5 transfer, he knows the calculated risk. Yes, ohss is terrible. First time my friend was warded, the cover dr dare not tap her coz dr loh was away! She proceeded to ET coz no one can assure her that her embyros can survive thaw or not if she abort the cycle n do FET later. What if they dun, all she has gone thru is wasted.

My other friend did 3 fresh cycles. A girl n a boy from first 2 fresh cycles n a pair of twins in her 3rd cycle. She has >10 frozen embiees per cycle. But none can make it after thaw during FET. So, she had to do 3 fresh cycles since her frozen embies didn't survive.

This whole thing is a gamble. We wun know ye outcome until we r there.

I hv only 8 eggs retrieved. But during 2ww, I bloated badly. I even wonder if I had ohss. But I doubt so since I only had 8 eggs. So, I know those who suffer from ohss will feel many times worse than me. That 2ww though was tough, I know I stand a good chance. The more bloated I m the higher the chance of pregnancy n best bloat all the way! Even after bfp, bloatedness didn't go away.. It stays for a while.. I m in my 2nd tri now..
. Just avoid certain food that will make bloatedness worse. Eg porridge is a no no..

Ya. Ganie16. That was me with my dad. My dear hubby overseas and only be back Tml. I used his stored sperms. Can only hope and pray for the best. So he gonna miss my Et too. So Tml bring my mum with me for support. The nurses all very sweet. Says give me support since my husband not with me yesterday. Today also got bloated feeling, kept drink 100+ n water.

Posted on Sunday, October 30, 2011 - 11:15 pm:       
Ganie16, my wife had no signs of OHSS during and after 2ww. Like Hazel said, she was just bloated. She was on Lucrin and Puregon - not sure if this is the trigger shot u meant.
After ER, she had this bloatedness. I went to buy the baby oilment (for tummy wind) and rub and massage all over her tummy. During ET, I was "scolded" by nurse Sarah that it is an absolute no no to do that. Thank God all turn out to be well. So ladies, remember not to rub oilment and massage your tummy.

JoynFaith, Hazel,

Now im in a dilemma. I heard from my hubby that nurse told him doctor will be on leave the whole of next week.. hmm... and they will be going ahead to freeze i think, cos tues they asked us to go collect freezing cert. As i was feeling so terrible after ER, i couldn't ask any questions. So i should call them to ask to do BT to see if i can do ET? Is it too late already since they say they are going to freeze everything?

Usagi,

I see, that was you. After ER i was so giddy i didn't wear my glasses so i couldnt see anything, i vaguely rem you and your dad, and hearing the nurse ask you to go in tmr to do ET, i was so envious...

When i was doing my previous IUIs, my hubby was away too, my fren accompanied me instead. Sometimes, its just so hard to plan timing.

Yeah, the nurses are all very nice, all so patient and motherly.

Btw, you're with Dr Yu too?