I am on my day 3 gonel f, can see my tummy burging out. May I know blastocyst can use govt grant. And how much it cost. I did discuss with Dr Tan he mention that I can only do that if I got lot of eggs to spare.

HI su_yanna,

What are you ? Are you currently cycling or have progressed to mtb?

Dear Hazel,

Hihi....I heard that you are using oct menses and doing ER on dec? isist ? do you mind sharing how many cycles you have done? Dr loh is not bad. I must say.

I m 36 this year and have done 2iui and 2 ivf. All Bfn. These failures made me very upset. So this year, i have rested enough and decided to try with Dr Yu.

My previous attempt is with Dr Loh and Prof PC wong. Dr Loh is okay but i find PC wong very cool and aloof.

I would love to try with Angela Ho/ CARE at paragon as i heard they will a way with older women. But that will set me back by $20 000.

Anybody know where is gan2973 ? She used to be my inspiration. Anybody got the contact for Chen qiu mei chinese doc? The doctor who treated Mark Lee?

Jia you everyone !!!

Judebabe,
Gan2973 is a proud mother now, if I m not wrong.. She is my inspiration too when I 1st learnt tt I hv to b go thru ivf (ard 2 yrs back).. Try pm her bah..
Babydusts for a super BFP tis cycle...

Hi judebabe- i just started seeing 陈秋梅. The tel no is 6534 4131. Address: health & beauty spa pte ltd, no38,upper cross street. She consults on mon, wed n fri fr 3-8pm at health beauty & spa. She also consults at the west near ntu area. I did my ivf at CARE. Angela assisted my gynae. Nice lady!

Oh Ron, you gave me a very good idea! Like this? I sure hope the plunger is really a good seperator! Thanks for helping me!

6023445.jpg

Waaaa !!!! Gan 2973 is a proud mother now. This shows that ren jian you xi wang ! ( There is hope on earth).

Thanks Snoopy for chen qiu mei's contact. Does anyone know whether she treats ivf patient? Snoopy, you are in good hands. Is your doctor dr Paul? Can you tell me the total cost at care. Many pple BFP there. Good Luck !!

Hi Judebabe, yes she does treat patients going for IVF. I have failed in my 2 IVF attempts (2nd attempt failed in Aug) but I still have 4 frozen embbies. So planning to go for FET. Dr Chen said monitor my temperature chart for 2 months and will advise me if body is good enough.

My gynae is Dr Ann Tan. Not with Dr Paul. I have stopped counting how much we have spent on treatments...hahha.

Jubebabe, I m in my 2nd trimester now. I did natural FET last Sept but had another m/c.. I did 2nd fresh cycle in April this yr as I hv no more frozen embiees. This time dr loh put me on aspirins from ER n I was given a 3rd injection during stimulation stage. I bfp again under dr loh. I m still on aspirins now coz we can't find a reason for my last 2 m/c though I hv done all the necessary BTs n karotyping on my placenta from first pregnancy.. All the results came out well.

Dr loh has always impressed me with his expertise n skills. Well, keep a positive attitude, we will defintely carry our little one in our arms. Jiayou!

Hi Hazel,

Very happy for you. just rest more n everything will go on well. Jus wondering how do you know you need aspirin huh?
yeah I m seeing dr Loh this Thursday n was thinkng of questions to ask him for my failed IVF cycle on 19 Aug. What are the questions to ask him huh?

Mi thinking of doing FET in Nov n understand that only 3 days MC given issit huh? Is HL given huh? Haven't think of how to tell my boss . My hubby say still have to wait for it to thaw so he say no need to inform so early. issit necessary to rest two weeks for FET huh? Or rest one week issit okie huh?

Hazel, are u working huh? I might take no pay leave once I m preggie. My current bosses strongly encouraged that.

What will dr Loh normally recommend huh? I have complete Trust in him. Wishing for a baby in my arms soon.

Hi Moo3Moo,

Have a good confinement n you are ready to start again.
Tiao your body first. Have you seen your gynae for the next step huh?

The journey is tough. But jus wan to say "when going gets tough, the tough gets going".

Mi love exercise but dun really dare to go jogging during the last week nearer to my menses. Am I nuts huh? Cos I remembered my last pregnancy is becos mi too busy to exercise. haha any thoughts on that huh?

Sun belle - I been running lately n feeling really good. After my failed ivf in early aug, period kinda haywire and 'qi' like not so good. I think cld be the daily progestrone jabs. Aft exercising, felt beta. Maybe sweat the toxins now. Last week near to menses don't run ba. Maybe slow walk instead. Haha! For my last fet, I rested at home 2 weeks too.

Judebabe,
I've just given birth on 26th of aug , a baby girl.
I did one more try of ivf last dec and thankfully
it was a success under prof wong.
That attempt would be my last whatever the outcome was.

I'm glad that throughout 9 mths, it was quite a smooth journey.

All the best to your journey.
It will succeed

Sunbelle, I m working still. I did a few BTs when I m/c in 2nd tri in first pregnancy when karotyping results (genetic tests) showed that fetal was fine. So I was tested for a no of antibiodies, lupus, n thyroids.. Dr loh said the last 2 tests r not required coz if I hv lupus or thyroids I will know. But since I wan to confirm just do the tests. Antibiodies check also came out negative. All these hinder implantation n even successful may cause fetus rejection n hence m/c.

I went to see dr Paul Tsang from Care too at TMC for 2nd opinion. I just wan to find a reason. Well, no reason.. All drs told me medical science may not be tt advanced until BT can detect all antibiodies on mummy's bodies. So, take aspirins on precaution. Coz currently no medicine to address antibodies. Aspirins thin our blood n hence increase blood flow to our womb, hopefully to increase success rate of implantation. When pregnant, aspirins increase blood flow to fetus n hopefully prevent m/c.. Is not foolproof but at least give us hope. I requested fr dr loh n he didn't object. I started on ER. He told me can stop after I passed 10wks. But I scared n he said no harm to continue. So, I continue till now.

For FET, your embiees after thaw is 3 days old at KKH. Implantation happens on d8-d9, ie 5-6 days after FET. Thus, u can request one wk mc/Hl from dr loh. He will give. After 1 wk, the outcome is sealed. Just dun carry heavy stuff coz u can be pregnant In the 2nd week. Ask him if can put u on aspirins. If so, can start u earlier before FET..

One of friends who have repeated failures are told by their gynae to take aspirins at least 3 mths before her nexr Ivf cycle. Dr Paul also told me same thing if gynae warns to be aggressive. But dr loh is more conservative as aspirins do hv side effects. Thinning of our blood means our blood will not clog as easy if bleed n mommies more prone to bruises. So If fall n hit out head, it can be dangerous. I did voice these concerns to dr loh. He said if I wan to take then dun worry too much as all med has side effects. He is right.

Dr loh is v good n accommodating. U know how biz he is. But I requested to see him every 2 wks from d1. Though he said no need, he understands my fear n gives in. At 10 wk scan he said my bb's NT is not thick, i felt assured n more confident of the 12wks Oscar scan which I didn't hv good result in first pregnancy. Indeed my oscar scan n BT came out well.

Last fri, I asked him why I felt bb movement as high as belly button n as low as pelvic hair area when uterus is still at lower abdominal that few days.He pressed on my tummy n said bb is just under belly button. After that he scanned n indeed he was right. Bb legs were at belly button n the head at my public hair area! There r other egs how gd he is.

That is why I rather queue hrs to see him every 2 wks. I can always go pte in b/w his appointments for scans n not have to q right?

A colleague of mine seating next to me, has be coughing nag having running nose for pass 1 weeks. She is not taking medication as she is taking care of her 7mths baby.

How can I prevent from myself catching her virus. I am now in my stimulation weeks. Help

Yana - congrats, last attempt turned out to be a fruitful one. That's cool. Happy motherhood ahead!

Hazel, great to hear bb scans turning out well. Jia you!!

Thank hazel

Am I too late to start accupture? Or can I wait till after ET. Any gd tcm to recommend at west area.

I actually see tcm but she only give herbs no accupture.

Accupuncture is to improve egg quality n womb lining. So do b4 ER. I didn't do once I started Ivf cycle. Find too stressful n taxing running to clinics n tcm. Sorry dunno of any tcm in west. I saw xia rong of EYS paragon when I was trying naturally.

Wa! i am so encouraged.

Gan2973, suyanna and Hazel all succeed after several attempts. i am so happy for all of you.

You see, the problem with IVF is this, we can try and try and the result maynot be guranteed. All the blood test and going to the clinic and scanning is draining. Sorry, i am not discouraging anyone here but it is really exhausting.

Seeing so many positive examples, i shall keep my chin up and try again. My maximum no. of attempts is 4 or until i turn 40 years old. I am starting the 3rd time now and keeping my fingers crossed.

Hope the one up there dun make fun of me anymore and grant me a easier journey.

Snoopy, Ann Tan is equally as good. No need to worry!

Dr Yu says that to improve egg quality, she made me eat 2 tabs of coq10 daily. She didnt mention anything on DHEA at all.

Snoopy, yeah last attempt turned out good.

I was not so bothered abt symptom, taking egg white or brazilnuts. Though I still took brazil nuts it was more like a snack. I did not put too much pressure too. During 2ww, I did go out n not stress myself.
I was leading a normal lifestyle. I was even very energetic after ER. I tried not to be so affected by the pain.

Good morning sisters! I'm on my way to hospital but 2nd blood test. Is it a norm to do blood test again after BFP? I was told this is to monitor the hormones level to see if I need additional support. But my friend who just BFP with a private hospital didn't have to do it.

Ron, Didn't know you are so adventurous over the GnolF pen!

HeartBeat, do not throw away the GnolF pens after you used because there will be some left over. 3 or 4 used pens can combined into one full dosage if you are using 300iu. Hope this helps!

Morning everyone,
I am going for my 1st BT after 2ww. What actually is it for and wa do I expect from kk? I saw the form it say blood progerstone.

Sami : Thank you for sharing your ttc journey. I hope you continue to have a blessed good 9 months of motherhood !

Ron, Su yana and Hazel : Thank you for sharing so much of our knowledge
Really helpful. Bless you!

Fatefully : After the BT they will ask u to wait for their phone call. If neccessary to have more support, they will ask you to return to get the medication. For my case, I went home and they called me at about 1230pm. I din need to return.

KKIVF nurse said so loh! Anyway, the pen cant be opened like puregon pen. If u find a way to Open without spoiling the pen pls share with kkivf.. That is why they always issue gonal f pen that can match as close to one's dosage as possible to prevent wastage. Eg 300iu, they issue 900iu pen for 3 days dosage. My last round was 375iu I think. Every day one pent of 400iu each to reduce wastage as far as possible. End up I m issued so many pens! We r all smart folk, we wld hv propose to the nurse to combine leftovers Into 1 pen. The fact is cannot means cannot.

The only way to use the leftover in the pen is to jab yourself.. So 3 pens say 50 iu each, u jab 3x loh to make it 150iu loh. That is defintely possible. But who is so stupid to jab 3x just to save money/wastage? :p

I'm so damn screwed!!! I actually got my ovidural jab date wrong!! Went thru the entire ER but dr couldn't retrieve anything coz the trigger jab has yet to take effect!! Dr tried on 1 side, the better side out the 2 but failed. I'm so pissed with myself!! After 1 side, dr stopped & called DH to find out more.

Now I'm left with only 1 side. Dr said most likely can retrieve sth but nth to freeze. DH made all arrangements & I'll come back since hubby needs to work.

Goodness!! I'm so screwed!! How cld this happen!!!!
back on my own tmr

Hazel, oh! I am not from kkh.

I went through my fresh cycle using Gonalf and the left over of 3 to 4 pens were combined into one more new one by my clinic. I saved quite a lot of money. I think CARE also does that.

There will still be some left over from the gonalf pen that cannot be jabbed, left inside the pen. Of course, no one is stupid to jab 3 times unless it is the clinic that gives wrong instruction.

I have used combined balance for both puregon & gonalF. This is referring to both the "dead" balance left in the pen after all the dosage is injected, and the balance dosage (ie, 50iu of the 400ou pen). Whatever can save some $, have to try
Ask your clinic, some clinics will use balance, some won't.

Hi koirc, u wif SGH? If so, yes.. We need to go back every Tues for hcg, progesterone n estrogen BT. Stop only until gynae ok it.. Which in my case is week 8. Though it's troublesome, but I find it quite assuring cux we see gynae only once every 2 wks n by taking a weekly BT, we r able to check that at least hormones r ok.

HeartBeat, as what sunstillshines mentions to keep the left over Gonal-F pens for later use. Remember to store them in the cooler fridge (not freezer). Once open, the remainders can be used within a month; otherwise to discard. The nurse can help to use the syringe to draw out the remainders and inject on you if needed, do check with your nurse.

Jesscia, just call up KKIVF that swimming is allowed before ER. To my opinion don't swim to prevent infection at vagina from the pool water and make the situation more complicated. Do it when more stabilize during pregnancy.

siblinghopes, relax and don't tense up. You might want to record down the dates next time and set reminders. Keep yourself calm tomorrow.

Sunstillshines, I did 2nd fresh in April this yr. Pen still the same as when I did first fresh in oct 2009 leh.

KKIVF has lots of patients. Nurse wun hv time to extract using a syringe. Maybe pte will

Aiyoh, swimming will not cause vagina infection leh. Said many times already. Dun give inaccurate information lah :p Bb dance lagi more can cause UTI though after hormones is suppressed from Lucrin jabs can bb dance! Some sis still bb dance wat. Haiz.

After ER/ET dun swim coz pregnant cannot excerise in first tri. Anyway I :X

Siblinghopes: Do not worry too much and focus on a successful ER tomorrow. I am sure Prof will be able to maximize your chances and I am sure you have more than enough for a successful cycle. I will keep you in prayers that all will be positive.

Gonal F pen left over are drawn out by another syringe & needle & they put in another syringe & needle (like the insulin syringe which used for suprefact), the difference is the dosage is 75iu onwards, which was same as the gonal f pen.
Nuh did that, I think kkh should do that the prevent wastage.

Siblinghopes, sorry abt wat has happened. Bygones r bygones, now prepare urslf for Et. I know easy said, but still need to be postv to move forward.

Hazel, guess Kk also combines the gonal f. Durg my fresh cycle, I remem one of the nurse combined the remaing dosage from my two gonal f pens.

Hope283, I actually asked for in in april this yr. The nurse said no! Maybe I shld feed back to dr loh when I next see him on the preferential treatment by his nurses! Kekek

Hazel, thanks for your information on swimming will not cause vaginal infection. I've learnt something new here. I feel like going for swimming for a long time but have the fear of infection. Now that I know the wrong thought, I can go ahead any time. Thanks again. Forgive me for my ignorant.

Regarding about the Gonal-F, the white hair nurse told me to bring my pens on my last day of jab and they can help to extract the remainders and jab for me if needed. But I don't need further. Maybe there is some protocol changes in the department.

Purgeon - midway i did bring my pen back and kkivf did combine the old and the new medicne into the syringe and inject for me. but at the end still i still have 150 iu wastage. considered quite a lot right - its 1 day dosage. Actually we also can combine ourself- saw the nurse just inject both into the syringe. looks simple.

Purgeon pen: the cartidge is separate only. Gonel F: the cartage is built in. May be can ask the nurse to do draw for us or teach us how to do it.

Fwah. I so dont like the gonalf pen!

Thanks Sunstillshines and JoynFaith for the tip. KK also didnt tell me to bring back my pens, dont know is it they dont usually draw out the balance to combine for last dose. But now i see you girls say, i will still bring back my pens to them, see how. Hopefully can combine for last dose else so wasted. Left abit also = a few tens of dollars at least.

Hopeful, yes am with SGH. You mean after week 6 scan, still need to go back every Tue for blood test? I am really phobic of needles!!! I was hoping next week will be my last BT! :'(

Hi koirc, I think it depends on gynae. Dr Yu mentioned that as long as hcg is >100k dun need to go back test. But she did give me an option during my 6 wk scan if I wan continue my BT till 100k. N since I KS, I just do lor.. Me also phobia if needles now. Esp aft 1 BT a couple of wks back cux I fainted right aft they took my blood.. Since then going for BT is a night mare for me..

Heartbeats the nurse only tell me to bring the last pen back. But I saw every pen there is a little left, made me wonderful whether did I jab the correct dose.

Anyway I will be going back to KK this fri. Shall bring all my pens back