orangedots,

I am not sure abt the waiting time in KKH, I am with NUH instead. even if you do with private practice, you still need to do blood test for you and hb too before you start on IVF too, HIV tests lah etc....

For NUH, you need to go and talk to Prof PC Wong about your history and see what he suggest to you, waiting time is not that long and usually appointment time is fast too for IVF patient, draw blood and scan is very fast too, also immediate cos they also have a individual clinic for IVF patient, so very fast, no need to wait. Usually IVF treatment can start quite soon if dates does not crash with lab closure.

you can call Emerald Clinic or CHR in NUH to find out.

BB, ok let me tell you my feelings brieftly about getting preggie, when I started this IVF journey, I did not expect to get pregnant at the 1st attempt as I always see a lot of sisters here tried many times before they get preggie then when we went for scanning, we only expect 1 BB but didn't know god has 2 in-store for us so me and my hubby is very happy, and he already promised a reward for me
waiting to collect it. BB, I believe you will make it too, see Renee, she persevere and she managed to succeed, YOU CAN TOO !
Renee's story will be very motivating for all the sisters here !

Nanz, where is the Tampines St11 market that you are talking ? btw, where are you staying in the East too huh ?

Yvonne, you very notti, mentioned Tom Yum Steamboat makes me drool

waiting for my hb to lose his football game so that he can come home early. faster lose leh, if win, still have to keep playing till final, so stupid, somemore today so hazy. if come home with any injury, headache, sore throat or anything, sure dun let him off! :-(

BB,

since i got nothing to do and didi tells you her story, let me tell you mine in detail too.

I started TTC in 2002, first dr said i got PCOS so did a laproscopy to drill a hole to my ovary to let the egg comes out better, after that i go back japan straight and tried on our own, not successful and somemore infection due to the surgery, went to see a japanese gynae and she trial and error on me for 2 mths (dun forget that i got infection and it itch like hell for two whole mths, cannot sleep at night at all) she told me w/o any scan that i got yeast infection and just changed the creams for me, i got fedup and finally get to come back to singapore and see a dr, he said i might got an infection and need to do a second laproscopy on me again, this time, he found that i got blocked tube which i did not in the first laproscopy, so he gave me 3 injections to take with me to japan for 3 mths and then come back to do a x-ray and see if dye pass thru, luckily after 3 mths no blockage liao, some dr later told me that that is not blocked tube but just that my tube went into spasm, that's why during the laproscopy, dye dun come out. anyway after clearing the blocked tube, the dr gave me painful injections everyday to stimulate ovulation, something like IVF but instead after injecting with pregnyl, he asked us to go home and ML, i arranged my hb to be in singapore that period, so succeeded, pregnant but reading very very low, 2 weeks later miscarriage, then he told me to rest for 3-6mths before ttc. then i come back to sin again, this time, he gave me 3mths of clomid back to japan to try on my own since he is convince that i can get pregnant. At the same time, I went to NUH to see my current fertility dr, he told me to take clomid for 6 mths instead of 3mth, so now i have 9 mths worth of clomid to take, which i took all in japan but still not successful leh.

Finally god answered my prayers and posted us back to singapore, i immediately start on IUI, 3 times failed and then start on IVF, halfway thru supefact to suppress my hormone, i found that i was pregnant the 2nd time, i stopped the ivf treatment, reading was okay, but at 6th week, no heartbeat was detected, went thru numerous of blood tests and scans to for the next 2 weeks to see any heartbeat or aborted miscarriage or not, everyday durin that pregnancy period and waiting and praying for the next scan to see the heartbeat is hundreds time worse than the 2ww of IVF, at times, the wait is so slow and painful that you find yourself breathless and becos the wait is so killing that I purposely went to a neighbour gynae and told him that i got flu and pregnant too so that he can do a scan for me to see if it is okay cos simply cannot just go back to own dr before the due date to scan again. At last, dr said, better to do D&C to abort it since no heartbeat. did a specimen test on the pregnancy sac to see what's wrong since 2nd time miscarriage, found out that chormosome got problems, did more blood test over the next 6 mths to see if it is in my genes or just one time unlucky thing, luckily cleared, rested for 3 mths, go into IVF again, failed and you know the rest from then on...... so for the last 4 years of ttc, my journey was not just waiting for it to happen but full of up and down, very surprise that my body can still take it, thought by now, should be some freak body system liao, that's why my mense upside down one. from quite regular menses before ttc to now 60 over days period and very short and light menses cycle.

I dunno what else to do liao, whatever it is i experienced it all. Getting a positive reading is not enough for me, only the day, my bb is born then i can have a piece of mind.

In japan, the nearest fertility treatment centre is 3 hours drive away, so imagine, me and my hb purposely drove 3 hours to and back just for one consultation, so that's why I am very grateful that we are posted back to sin again. :)

i guess i am kinda of tired liao.

Yvonne, let him off lah, he gives you massage mah
you are having the steamboat at your place ? you use the gas type huh, do you go to market to get the ingredients ? me don't like to go market, don't know where to start

Yvonne, your ttc journey is indeed lots of up and down.... if it's me, i'd surely give up liao. but u are a positive girl, you'd have a baby in your arms soon.... maybe more than one. glad you are back in sin too. all the best.

check with u girls, i take lots of nutella and milo one... is it consider caffeine?

didi,
no leh, i prepare and then take to my brother house so now dunno whether to wait for him or go myself first.

steam boat uses electric type, i usually get my stuff in Meidi-ya. all the meat are sliced and packed properly and vegetable, mushrooms all bought from there, except fish ball and prawns and some liang toufu which my mum will get from the market, so alot easier lor.

MSH,

thanks. not sure if it does contain caffeine, milo shd be okay, what does the ingredient behind the bottle of nutella says? but both are heaty stuff so do drink lots of water too.

hmmm, i'm ok with heaty stuff. i take lots of water too.

another qn .... when dr doing ET, will it affect anything if we take deep breaths, like diaphragm breathing.... cos i recently learnt yoga, diaphragm breathing very relaxing for me now... but i was jst wondering, the tummy go up and down, will it affect dr, or need to hold my breath... i already forgot how to breath withou tummy moving up and down liao... hahaha...

Yvonne, you really makes me hungry, think I will try to make the steamboat one of these days
Yvonne, I always thought my own journey is eventful, until I read yours..... don't give up, me too also have the same thinking, will only be really happy when I hold my babies in my arms

thanks for the petrol adding, nanz...i talked to them everyday or rather whenever i am free

renee, thanks for asking abt my butt *keke* but i jab on thigh wan. less troublesome, i think.

by the way, all u preggie ladies, pls try to avoid tuna or any other deep sea fish cos all deep fish have high mercury content...not good for bb leh. can eat sardines as alternative though it is very stinko but rich in calcium...goodfor building bones

yvonne, u have been encouraging all of us here so u also gotta set good example by being positive okie
u can def.initely make it wan

MSH,

I just told blur blur recently that when doing the ET or transfer of frozen embryos to keep breathing like you are doing yoga breathing exercise, just pretend when you lying down for the dr to do transfer that you are in yoga session and doing your relax breathing exercise but dun breath until so hard that you keep moving lah, but dun hold your breath else muscle will be tense up and no good for transfer, must be relax when doing the transfer then can implant better, after transfer continue to keep your uterus relax and warm at all times.

didi,

you shd do it lor, steam boat very easy, go meidi-ya or isetan to get the food and wash and prepare whatever soup base you like, even herbal soup also can, then eat lor, simple, no need to fried, steam or anything and not oily too. Afternoon eat already, can continue to eat for dinner too right?

yvonne, blurblur, ok i start practising today... hehehe... i was suddenly thinking last nite.... can we request for anaesthetic for ET at KK? cos i very scared i move leh. cos very nervous. tihs is my 2nd try but the last try is almost 10 months ago... sigh... if that had succeeded, i'd be a mother by now.... anyway, i try to look forward... nothing can be done about the past but we can do something in the present for our future!

ok, i read nanz advice too.... talk to embies.... i'd certainly talk to them,... I'd start talking to them from stim stage ....hahaha... hahaha.... hope they'd not be sick of my voice by then.... they'd be complaining, 'so naggy..'

msh, i don't think u can ask for anesthetic for ET cos we are only using sedation for ER...just relax and before u know it, the process is done.

blurblur, yvonne, i used to love canned tuna.... we love having it on sandwiches when we were growing up. i've stopped taking since marriage, simply bcos hubby not tuna fan and i can't finish one whole can by myself... don't like to keep overnight stuff in fridge one. hope whatever mercury in my blood have been washed off by now.

blurblur, i'd try vrey hard to relax. sometimes i feel a tightness in my tummy when i stressed, like now. yoga breathing has been helpful past 2 months. i found a mp3 in teh web, which has a lady telling u to breathe and relax... lasts for 10 min. very useful too. i've downloaded it onto my phone, can listen to it while travelling to and from work. :p

Yvonne,
My god! You been through so much and yet you are still standing here so strong.I Salute to u. I will say the same like i hv said to Renee, god is fair and if not this round most probably will be next round. U deserve it!

Ok will take your advice, will try to do 1 or 2 ACU before FET. To cut the story short, since beginning did not pin so much hope in FET and the last time when i show KK report of my frozen embroys which my doc adviced are good grading, Dr Sheila told me with KK standard it is only average, so u can understand why i dont feel like doing much for this round. Even though i hv no problem pysically but the average grading of the embroys is something i cannot change.

Now what i really want is to hv at least 2 to survive the thaw if not, i am ok to hv nothing this round so that i can start treatment with KK soon.

Yvonne,
Women very MAO TUN hor. U hope to hv positive news but on the other hand u hope AF comes before 15. I hope to be preggie but on the other hand hope they will not survive the thaw since i hv no confiedence with them. What women want????
Drop us a short line as soon as u hv some news tomoro ok.

blurblur,
Huh! I think i better throw away my tuna. looks like will ahv to stick wy cod fish and flatefish more.

MSH,
nutella and milo got no caffeine. talk abt taht, I still hv 2 bottles of barnd new nutella in the fridge.

BB, I didn't leh for this time, just look at my hubby and shocked that's all. But when I got my results previously, I did jump

Yvonne,
I think you must be enjoying your tomyum steamboat hor?

Tom hb got to work very early in the a.m. was abt to go take shower, and thinking no need to blow my hair, since not going anywhere aft sen him to work. But later realiaz I need to go KK tom. YOu see lah, I'm in the daze. cham liao!!

Renee, normal lah, it is just the begining,you are still basking in the good news
how's your dimsum lunch ?

Renee,
Today I eat Penang Laksa. Yummy ! Not bad, but very little ,only fill up my half tank.The stall name is House of Laksa at Clememti Centre,where my hb and I go and see the Chinese Dr. My Hb is doing acu.treatment, I only take some medicine. Today The Dr say I must eat more meat,,esp red meat. Last time I used to be vegetarian more than 5 years, only recently take a bit white meat(seafood) , but still my body so weak "XU".He said my body need BU. I really hate the "bloody" smell in red meat. Is it red meat impt for conceiving?If so, I have to cook it with many gravy to cover the smell.
* I enjoy seeing the process that many of you've been going thru.Very encouraging!

Orangedots,
I think you have to see Dr in KKH first and the Dr will advise you what steps to be taken. For my case, I 1st see Dr Loh in June with my past assessment reports. Dr asked my Hb to do sperm test again. When results out, in August, he suggested us to do ICSI, acutally there was still slot in Oct but after my long hesitation I called up the centre to book to start in Nov. I also did HSG in Oct. The best way is to book your first consultation to see Dr for advise. Good Luck!

Blur Blur,
I also stay Punggol. Only few months ago.

didi,
my dim sum luch was good. ordered many dim sum and noodle. cousin said b'day must eat noodles. i finish everytning even the soup.i think i was too hungry.

so hv you try cooking the char beehoon?? or you wanna do tomyum steamboat first?

Renee, good that you enjoyed the lunch. Me have tried neither yet, think will start with the steamboat easier ......

BB,

yes I can understand your feeling, rather than holding on to something that you have little faith in, might as well start a fresh one that gives you more hope right?

I told my doctor the same thing when i asked him about the success rate of FET, he said that why start a fresh cycle when got frozen one, still got chance and the chance is better than IUI, so why not. mine though blastocyst stage but also only satisfactory grade, anyway finish the frozen liao :) hope you at least have 2 that survive the thaw but even one also do lah, go so far liao and you only need one to implant mah.

yours very easy leh, ovulate on time and then put in, remember my was so ma fan, scan and scan follicle still so small, take forever to grow and then still worry whether can grow or not.

renee,

yes, just got back from tomyum steamboat, didn't eat alot cos body tired, got backache, maybe this morning stand too long to prepare those ingredient, got to sleep early liao, tmr another busy day, dun even wanna think about it :-(

StacyP,
Wah, suddenly got so many places selling peneang laksa. but clementi a bit too far for m to travel.... Happy wt the Geylang one. and the portion is quite generous too. yu may like to try.

When come to "BU" red meat is something ppl will recommend. if you are Xu like your chinese dr said, it can be quite difficult to concieve. But you can take seafood,chicken or pork if you don like the red meat taste. then be good to take the chinese dr's herbs.

stacy, good to know i have co
so u just moved in?

yup yvonne, only sedation for ER no GA, tat's why i was quite awake for both times. for the last time, i even told the anesthetist during the process i can still feel something so she add more lor.

renee, yvonne, stacyP
thanks for your advise. will fix my appointment with KK dr then. btw, how much is the estimated cost to do IVF at KK?

orangedots,
You are most welcome.KK ivf is aroung 6-9k It all depend on how much your dosage gonna be for the stimulation stage.

Hi Yvonne,

Read your story.... You are stronger than you think.... you will have yours soon.....

Renee, Happy belated bday.. was out the weekend with friends for her henzy night... heee

Congratulation......... FINALLY YOU ARE A SOW!!!!!!... Today i am seeing Dr Loh for a review on my failure..... hope the review is not something too serious....

Update then

pinpanter,
Thanks for yout B'day greeting,and me becoming a SOW!!!! hahah....

What time is your appt wt dr lOh? NOrmally the review dr won't be able to give you a definate reason/answer Y it din happen. the appt is more for us to ask him qs and see wat's our next plan or decision.

renee,

thanks, went for blood test liao, but this morning temperature went down, stupid right! anyway done the test liao.

renee,
btw, now at home, going to work soon, after blood test, came back home and you know why? cos i forgot to bring my sanitary pad to office :) since the temp goes down, i expect menses to come soon, so i took some pads out and in a rush to NUH, forgot to put the pads into my bag, so now come back and take, i dun want wait menses come and stain my beige skirt that i am wearing today, sickening hor!

pinpanter,

during the last review with my dr, he said he dun want why failed cos everything was perfect, cannot be any better and yet failed. to me that is the worst review cos i take it that dr was saying : nothing more can be done, so how?

at least if dr gave us some insights of something like : well you know the last cycle, your linning wasn't that thick, or well your hormone level seems to be on the low side etc...." at least with these kind of reviews indicates that there is still chances if next round, we improve on those things, still better than dr tells you that i am disappointed, everything is prefect and dunno why. :)

like renee said, review is just for you to discuss with your dr on the next step or option that you can take lor. Heng Sway one!

Didi, yah i stay in tampines. U can see the market when exiting from tampines to PIE. Just reopen early this year, they called it the round market...U stay in east too? Which part? Awy, tampines St 11 only one market so can find very easily.