He say wait I cough half way while he's extracting, there's a chance that my bladder might get punctured by accident. So better let me sleep. I prefer to sleep aso, not so scary.

Serene,
Have faith in Prof. I am sure he is doing the best for you. Does not mean short protocol means lower pregnancy rate. It's the follicles quality that matters most.

Serene- I do not agreed regarding yr say of low success rate compare to long protocol.
Prof did say short protocol just came out not long ago, so maybe the articles u read won't have many +ve result compare to long.
I believe safer way is still the best way.
Sure BFP with baby bunnies

thanks vio...

Hi lynn,
U so good... nice numbers too...
me requested for ga... Alamak, doc refuse to give... I end up suffering side effects of sedation... And vomit for 2 dayS... Crap...

hi blue, su_yana, i definitely hav faith in Prof : )
There are few type of short protocols. The type Prof planning for me is short protocol with GnRH antagonists. Tis type of protocol has lower pregnancy rate than long protocol due to lesser follicles yield (including both good and poor quality of follicles).
Like u said, hopefully is quite new tats y not much statistic on the successful rate than long protocol.

Lynn,

I see. I was on 225 units. It was quite stressful for me towards the end of my stimulation phase. I was supposed to go for my last ultrasound scan on a Saturday, pregnyl on a Sunday, then ER on a Tuesday morning.

On my ultrasound scan on Saturday (that's after 9/10 days of stimulation), of the 10 follicles, only 2 were about 18 mm. The rest were below 16 mm, some even below 10 mm. My doctor decided to schedule another ultrasound scan for me on Monday morning to see if the smaller ones have caught up. Thankfully, they did. By Monday, we had 8 above 18 mm, and 2 were about 16 mm but I was quite worried that weekend whether we would have a good number of eggs for harvesting.

At my review with Angela today, she confirmed that all 10 eggs retrieved were mature but 1 egg could not be fertilised and 1 fertilised abnormally so were discarded.

2 of my embryos that were transferred had fairly thick walls too and as I have never conceived before, CARE decided to do assisted hatching on my embryos. I had been quite worried cause the brochure said it's usually done for women who are 38 and above, who may have lower egg quality. Thankfully, Angela said my eggs were ok.

Dawn, u have quite a few good size ones. My last scan shows only 1 at 16, the rest all below 16. But doc scare I will have OHSS so wants me to do ER on tues. I went to dr zou, she said the follicles are abit small but then that time is sat afternoon already. I couldn't call Kkh to change ER to wed abit sad lah but no choice loh. Hopefully can get a few good quality embbies.

Btw hor, why nobody ask me which day I want to trsfr de ah?I cannot choose D3 meh? Must b D2 ah? Wat abt D5? The nurse said to go on thurs for ET but didn't say will call me to tellme about how many eggs got fertilized or mature or wat. Can I call them? Or shd I email dr loh?

Lynn,

If over 2 days, my eggs caught up, many of yours might have too. It's just that you didn't have another scan to confirm, that's all. Don't worry, ok? Jia you!

Lynn,

CARE also didn't ask me which day I would like to transfer. They just told me when to come. I had my ER on Wed afternoon, and my ET on Friday morning. Is that considered D2 or D3?

When I asked about FET protoccol today, Angela also didn't offer my different options. She just said they will thaw, observe 1 day to let the cells split once more, then transfer.

hi vio
So happy for u..;) congrat...

Hi girls
Kkh asks me go down to collect the lucrin on weekday.. I request for weekend but they say cannot..;( can anyone advise wht time can we go collect our lucrin? If first day i inject lucrin at kkh is afternoon but 2nd day i inject in the morning, is it ok? Do i need to bring cooler bag to collect lucrin? How long it takes for them to show us how to inject lucrin as wonder can i just take timeoff?? Sorry for so many questions as had start to worried liao.. Keke..;)

sticky,

you also vomit after ER ar? ... hehe I vomit until the doc came back to give me something to stop my vomit and drip to hydrate me before releasing me ... my ER at 9.30am I only get to go home at 4pm .... I was still wondering why I so weak when everyone can go back 2 hours after ER

<font color="aa00aa">Joanne - you can always pre-collect from KKH, that's what I did that time as I was travelling, so I pre-collected and learnt how to jab myself, then when menses arrived called / emailed KKIVF to inform them - viola.

Back from Dr Zou - I fell asleep there hahaha</font>

Sticky n flower: I don't think it's becoz u r weak lah, diff pple react differently to the sedation. Don't b too hard on urself, most important thing is we all get bfp in the end ;)

Joanne: Is okay for you to jab the very first one in the afternoon then the rest in the morning...you might need to bring cooler bag because it has to be kept cold as for the rest of the question hee hee im not from kk so i dont know the waiting time..

<font color="aa00aa">Dawndew - yeah, not painful one la...rotfl, think my nightly stim jabs - 4 in total each night - are more painful </font>

Hi Lynn,

Your ER very drama
I'm sure everything will be ok.

If your ER today (D1 of fertilisation), then Thur will be d3. Don't worry, usually the embryologist or at least nurse will call you tomorrow or next day to tell you status of fertilisation - how many eggs fertilised, etc. Your # of eggs (32) is amazing! Also don't have to worry about the embryos - some of them grow slower but will catch up. We had 2 transferred, and balance 4 were too slow at D3 for freeze, but at D4 2 embies caught up to 10cell and 8 cell, so at least we have some fellas in the freezer for now
Some just don't want to wake up early...

Hope you chill and just relax, and enjoy the transfer on Thur. I found the ET more "exciting" as this time I was awake (we went straight to IVF, no IUI, so a bit <sua-ku>)

Sticky vibes to you!

Lynn
Kk always go for d2. Unless theres public holiday on d2 or unless your dr not so in demand, you can hv d3. Not sure abt d5.

Dawn
For my thawing, angela will thaw on my et day. I think it depends on the cell formation of your embbies. Care also prefers d2/3.

Shoes
I also just back frm dr zou. What time you there. I too fell asleep when accu my back.

<font color="aa00aa">Flowers - cos I love injections rotfl!!!
Kidding la, my 4 jabs are :
Buseralin
Menupur
Fraxiparine (blood thinner)
Puregon

Every night really call out to Jesus for help, sometimes sit there 5 mins the needle still never go in hahahaha</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Miracle - are you the one teaching dr zou about the free fone call app?

Lynn - think KK will only do D5 if you request and if you have a lot of fertilised embroyos</font>

Hi Ron,

Sorry to ask (too many sisters here I can't keep track
) - so was your first IVF attempt bfp?

Why were your embryos considered too slow for freeze? Just wondering as CARE froze mine at 2 cells only! My embryos (like my follicles, I suppose) are all on the slow side - of the 8 fertilized, only 2 were 4 cell. The remainder were all 2 cell only. It seems that different hospitals / IVF centres have different practices...

can i know how did the dr check for cyst after your cycle? I went for an ultrasound after my menses came (sigh, confirm not pregnant) and he did a vaginal scan to confirm my ovaries gotten back to normal size, and said we can start again but recommend 1 month cycle of rest...

but he never mention cyst? and looks like the next cycle no need to go on BCP as well.

All these qusetions when in dr's clinic i always forget to ask until I reach home lying in bed doubting myself.... hahaha

It's pouring outside (or just finished), so everyone get home safely.

Shoes,

Why do you think blood thinner?

I also had 4 injections everyday:
Puregon
Menopur
Lucrin
Growth hormone

Thankfully for Puregon and Menopur, my dosage allowed me to just jab once. Cannot imagine if my dose was some odd number like 200. Then sometimes must jab twice just for Puregon alone cause each vial is 300. I did a rough count - by the end of my IVF cycle, I would have poked myself / allowed others to poke me over 50 times!!! I joked with my hubby that he should let me poke him once or twice so he understands the pain.

<font color="aa00aa">Ron - cysts can be seen during v-scans, you can always call and ask the doc again? since they will have print out of the scan in your file</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Dawndew - cos I have some history of some hormonal thinggy - too long a story to delve in here - but Dr Tseng put me on blood thinners to hopefully augment the protocol a litle.

You have 10 follies and still need growth hormones?</font>

Hi Dawn,

This was my first IVF, we have male factor so didn't even do IUI. So first BFN. Cried like the rain that day..

The 2 embryos that froze were really slow - 4 and 5 cells by Day 3, so we thought nothing to freeze (we had 6 fertilised: 2 transfer, 2 slow, and 2 didn't get pass 2 cell i think) but the embryologist said she will continue to monitor. Then we got a call at Day 5 morning saying 2 caught up to 10cell/8cell by D4, so she decided to freeze it.

I am curious how come they freeze at 2 cells? Were there 2cell at D3pt?

Your numbers look good - did they say how many they are going to thaw?

iloveshoes - thanks for the advise. I think I will go in an do another scan since this month Dr ask to try naturally .. hubby said eh, i thought TTC naturally cannot, THEN only we go IVF, right? ;)

You are all great champions - 4 jabs @ night!!

My respect for women has heighten tremendously these few months into this journey

<font color="aa00aa">Miracle - me the one who zzz-ed lorrrrr!! oh, you must be the one opposite me then, the one who said don't want the cubicle that's too cold?</font>

Hi shoes, piggy and flowers
Thks so much to hear fr u...

Hi shoes
I will want to precollect on weekend if posdible too but they say Sat they very busy so cannot collect..;( if hv to collect on weekday, i might as well go on day16 so that they can inject for me.. Do u collect urs on weekend? Or any of the gals collect lucrin at kkh on sat before? If can, think i shd insists lor... As me do soiui before so shd know how to inject myself.. Just want to learn how to use the lucrin needle, is it same as puregeon pen??

Hi flower
Ya, me plan to drive there on lunch time too.. So that no need take so long time off... Got to save my leave during 2ww as plan to take leave since dun want anyone to suspect that i do ivf...

Hi piggy
I see.. If i head straight home after collect lucrin, do i still need prepare cooler bag? Btw, r u in 2ww now? As the post run too fast.. Me still reading jan achive.. Hee...

Anyone starting ocp around this week too? We maybe cycle buddy... Sigh.. Still hv no chance to visit doc zou since cny.. Think must start be hardworking fr next week onwards...

<font color="aa00aa">Joanne - oh, I can't remember when I pre-colleced. I think KKH everything can one la, just need to talk and talk to them - give them really good reason</font>

Joanne,

I never bring cooler when collecting lucrin or any other meds for that matter. KK provide a bag of ice with the meds, so I just leave everything in my handbag in office ... hehe just dun put it under direct sun ... and go home as early as possible lor .... but the handbag gets a damp la

Ron,

At least your gynea check that your ovaries goes back to normal size lor ... hmmm KK like never check wan leh ... just recommend FET 2 cycles later

shoes, miracle... i was at dr zou's too... the bed oop the "cold" bed... but i think i left when u gals still doing acu...

my dh was outside... it was raining so heavily dr zou nagged at my dh to wipe his feet and dun get wet coz he not well... machiam mother like tat... haha

Dr zou's medi for pre-ET is different from the usual after O medi? Coz it's different from wat i usually take after O leh

Shoes,

It seems your growth hormone level has no correlation to the number of follicles.

My SIL had 2 failed IVF attempts at Mt E. Each time, she had 10 follicles but she told me the 1st time, only 3 were fertilised, the 2nd time I think 5 or 6 and all were grade 2 and below.

So for her 3rd attempt, she decided to try CARE. It was discovered then that her growth hormone level was almost 0. Angela put her on 3 months growth hormones before allowing her to even start her IVF cycle. This time, she still had 10 follicles but 9 were fertilized and all grade 1. (She was already 37 too!) So I would think growth hormone affects quality and less so quantity?

<font color="aa00aa">Calzz - haha, she also did the same to me, ask me to wear more and don't catch cold. Love that she's so mommy.

Dawndew - oic, thanks for sharing, interesting fact</font>

Good evening ladies...

did my ER this morning and had 12 eggs. dozed off for 1 hr, LOL...

hv slight bleeding during the process, but the nurse said it's normal. it's stopped by the time i woke up

now i feel some discomfort on my tummy...been using a lot of cajuput oil to keep it warm