didi, just called them and they also don't know if can deduct half half or not. Anyway I ask her to check and get back to me.

WanBB,

You are with which doc at Gleneagles? Is quite ex at GE compared to KK. If u do not hv enough medisave than u will need to top up with quite alot of cash. Be prepared so that u will not be stress with $$ issue later ok? The cost will depend alot on yr medication and if i am not wrong, for the same medication is double the price at GE.

Did yr doc. gave u an estimation of the total cost? I finally paid 2K more because i needed higher dosage of injection.

WanBB,

I forgot! Inc. in yr budget another few hundred dollars for insurance. The nurse only tell me abt it before ER. I think is $400 plus for my case as i need to put in 3 embroys. Check with yr clinic.

BB, I'm with Dr Foong at gleneagles. He say the estimate cost is abt 10k for each fresh cycle. And 1.8k for frozen embryo transfer. I have prepared the cash but if can pay by medisave it will be better. I wanna save up more cash for the 'babies' if I manage to conceive. I know abt the insurance but not sure how much my clinic charged. So many unforeseen expenses.

WanBB,

We are from the same clinic but diff doc. Heard Dr Foong is good and his buz. seems to be very good compared to the other 2 docs. His nurse is the most busy. U are in good hands. May i ask how old are you? must be young la... you don't hv enough medisave mah! My doc.est $12k, wonder if they charge differently but don't think so since they are under same clinic's name. Or maybe mine is a Prof. so more senior so charge more. My frozen est. is $2.5k. But if we are lucky to be pregnant is all worth it.

Ya lor so many unforseen expenses. During IVF i go for accuputure too so $$ again. For some personal reason i did not use medisave at all so big hole in the pocket. Me same like you do not want to wait for months at KK.

Is good u hv prepared the cash so just relax now and think abt saving for baby later. Ppl with no money also can bring up children right. BTW what is yr reason for IVF?

I wish you lots of luck!!!!!

WanBB, BB, the insurance for 3 embryos is around S$698/- plus, yep you need to have additional spare cash as sometimes you may need more medications like puregon (which costs a bomb at pte clinics).

BB, I have blocked tubes and after surgery I did a IUI but it doesn't work even though it's good timing and 2 eggs. So I think it's time for me to advance to another stage. Prof Ng also seems to have alot of customer. Heard his twin boys is also from IVF and his wife went through 8 times before conceiving twins. Wonder how true izzit... I'm only 25 this year so I only work for 2 years after that got married and stop working. So when you starting your IVF cycle?

Didi, $698 is the standard price? If we put only 2 embryo how much will it cost? Cos i don't wan triplet. I scared I cannot cope.

WanBB

You are only 25 so they will not put 3 embroys. Your insurance should be cheaper.

Can u not do another IUI since u already had surgery to solve yr tube problem? Some ladies do many IUI before to do IVF. Also many pregnant after IUI. I feel u r still young and can afford to be more patient. Is it the recommendation of yr doc or because u kan cheong? I do not want to discourage u but IVF not sure strike one also.

Did you join the other forums on IUI discussion. maybe can get more info there. Mine is male infertility so can't advice you. I did my 1st IVF in July but failed so will do my FET in Oct hopefully.

BB, I don't wanna waste my time with IUI since I already went for one which cost me $1k. I go for the surgery cos it will help in my IVF. My blocked tubes trap alot of liquid inside and if I do IVF without having the surgery, the liquid will affect the embryos implantation. My dr also advice me to go for IVF cos my tubes is very bloated and swollen when he operate on me. He suspect the damage in the tube is very bad. Must bypass the tubes by doing IVF. Anyway I already need injection to ovulate so might as well do ivf.

My dr says even if I conceive by IUI this cycle, my tubes will close back again soon. Then if i wan more babies, I need to go for IVF. If i go for it now, I can save the remaining embryo for future use. And the best part is that the embryo will stay at 25 years old rather than when I'm 30 then go for IVF then embryo won't be so good.

Think we will be doing the transfer at abt the same time. me will be having my ET in mid Oct. Haven't decide whether wanna have a 3 day ET or 5 day... heard 5 day transfer has a implantation chance of 80%!

WanBB,

I see. Is true your embryo will always remain at age 25, I envy you.

Prof told me that they find out D3 or D5 no diff so he wanted to use D3. Maybe Dr Fong hv diff. opinion. I read somewhere that there might be a chance that none of the embryos will survive if we wait till D5. Meaning they might die on D4 or D5 than we hv no embryos to put back. Is a risk!

Does that mean that if we use D3 they will still die inside?? If D5 hv better chance than nobody will use D3 hor. Mine was not implanted, yesterday went to doc. to discuss and he gave me some folic acid. Aiyo, should gv me before mah. Maybe u can start taking folic acid?

You still young so don't worry. Do you intend to seek help with CHinese herbs or accupunture? If yes better do it soon cos during injections not advisable to take herbs.

BB,

some dr find that D5 embryo is better becos it sorts of prove that they are stronger than D3, therefore have better chances of surviving when put back to our body, I have 5 frozen embryos, 2 D7 and 3 D5.

Our body condition and lab condition is different, embryos are suppose to grow inside our body condition so some advised that it is better to put it in asap, when it is D3 we already can tell which are the stronger ones, like you mentioned, some after D3 might dies off after D4 or D5 or become bad, so they need to replace it to your body asap, but if you have lot of good embryos, they can afford to wait till D5 to put it in. But then again, renee mentioned to me before that sometimes when the embryos has been in the lab condition for longer period, it might not get used to body condition anymore so will be difficult to get implant. Whether it is D3, D5, I am sure the dr and embryologist knows best when to replace it in for us, so just trust them to know lor, in fact, having good grade embryos does not mean you will get pregnant, similarly some gets pregnant with average embryos, heng sway issue. Relax and and keep your mood constant at all time, will help implantation.

BTW you have to tell Dr Xia Rong when you doing your FET, she will need to change the medicine and do different accup. on you when you are going to start.

Yvonne,

Wa you even hv frozen embroys of D7!! Very good. All mine are D3 and 2 are good and the other one only so so. Prof already told me they will frezze D3 even before ET so no chance for me to know if they can make it to D5.

Dr Xia only coming back early Oct if i am not wrong, hope our timing will be just nice. Yvonne for a few few days already i hv lots of wind in my stomach, i wonder if is due to her medicine. Did u hv this problem?

hey babes,

i just started work yesterday...so bored...alomost die of boredom and worse cannot come to forum cos the IT dept will monitor the website that we visit....so sian.

Didi, so fast ER oredi...how's everything? So ur ET on sun or mon?

BB & WanBB, will probably do mine in Oct too...going to start jab in mid sep, same protocal as WanBB

blurblur, my ET on monday, can't wait
, huh your new workplace so strict

Didi,

Hope u will gv us good news 2 weeks later and spread your luck to us! U put 3 embroys? remember to eat well, rest well and enjoy! I can't wait to have my FET lei.

Renee, thanks for the good luck, I have about 11 eggs, no cramps and no bloated so far yet.

BB, thanks for the good luck, I will put in 3 embryos. I will try to eat well and good luck for your FET too.

BB, I took folic acid for 2 years already. Since I started TTC. I heard D5 have a better chance of implantation but most of the embryo doesn't survive until D5. So most Dr prefer to have a D3 transfer.

Blur blur, how much is your estimated cost for the IVF? me starting my first jab on 20th sept. you? Seems like we will be doing the transfer abt the same time and having 2 weeks wait together.

WanBB,

You are young so stand good chance, guess all u need now is just a little "luck". Just rec a news that someone fr my hubby office is pregnant at age 42, 4th IVF attempt!! So happy for her and is an encouragement.

Jia you didi, we are all behind

WanBB, think it should ard 8 to 9k. The last time I did was a different protocol, cost me ard tat amount. But my puregon (400mg) was quite quit high so cost more.

Me starting my lucrin on 16 sep, so should be ard the same time

hi, i haven't been on this forum sometime already, since my last failed so-iui in June.
couldn't bring myself to read about babies and all..

starting ivf today, mense jus came yesterday, and doc gave me Lucrin to jab for a week before another scan.

any tips on wat to do, wat not to do, wat to eat wat not to eat and stuff? anything to boost the chances?

babydust to all!

BB, you so kind hearted. When someone around me is preggie, I will feel sad. Don't know why.. Maybe i'm just jealous. I try to avoid visiting of relative with babies.
I may be young but i'm not so lucky. Therefore fail my IUI.

Blue blue, what is the different protocol? how does it goes abt? I don't know there is different protocol for IVF. what's the diff for these 2 protocol?

Mooch, I'm worst than you. I avoid almost everything abt babies. From relative house to public places related to babies and kids.

BlurBlur, thanks for the good wishes I really needed it

WanBB, If I am not wrong in KKH they only do D3 transfer as Dr Loh says that there is no diff ? Maybe your doc will decide the best for you.

didi, my dr also prefer D3 transfer cos he believe it's better for the embryo to be inside the body rather than in the lab. So you done your ET already? Super good luck to you!!

wanbb,
Long protocol has supression stage(Lucrin) before stimulation(puregon).BUt I think gleneagles using different med from puregon and lucrin.

Short protocol is wtout lucrin. And start stimulation on DC2 or 3.

My 1st ivf was long proto. then 2nd ivf was short proto. According to the nurse short proto is to have less eggs. Normally 1s timer will be given long proto.

Renee, thanks for the explanation! My Dr also use puregon. But I'm not sure if he use lucrin. will know very soon. I still have abt 200cc of puregon left in my fridge. Can be used for my IVF.

BTW, is Lucrin jab painful?

BB,

did you mix the powder with alots of water and drink? I always eat alot so my stomach kinda of bloated when I eat alot so I dunno when it is bloated and when it is not except early in the morning when it is flat :) the herbs are all natural, so be okay, you can check with EYS too and ask for Tang Yue, she do accup. for Xia Rong patient and even when Xia Rong is not around, you can let tang Yue knows about your FET, she can change the medicine for you and do different accu. for you too.

didi,

good luck to you on monday, remember the joke about drinking too much water :) just drink enough and dun over drink else torture meh. You are with KKH?

mooch,

eat everything in moderation, avoid raw food, keep your mood constant, relax, drink lots of water, dun eat too salty food, if you want, go for accup. on the 7th day of your menses till ER or all the way even till after 2WW.

Best method, keep your mood constant and relax. Dun do strenous exercise but maintain your lifestyle, take it as a holiday during the 2WW, and go for movie, high tea, shopping. etc... My dr told me to do that only after 1 week later during my 2ww and before that, I was cropped in the hse all the time, so uncomfortable. Next time, after FET, I am going to back to work straight and work halfday and play the other half day :)

WanBB, think renee has explained to you oredi. For my last attempt, I was given a jab to supress for 3 months then at the end of the 3 months go straight to puregon.

No problem didi
Just relax and everything will turn out well.

By the way WanBB, I have not use lucrin b4 but heard from the fellow sisters here that it is not too bad, in fact less painful than puregon. So if you managed puregon then lucrin should be a breeze.

Yvonne, thanks o....k I will take note. The nurse just told me to drink 1 glass (ie 250ml) water b4 leaving home.

mooch, yvonne is rite...don't give urself unnessary stress. I know it is tough not to think abt it cos we all have been there too but just try to keep urself occupied by doing things that u like.

for now, perhaps can look into having a healthier lifestyle and eating habit...doing low impact excerise, eating things like with high zinc content. Hubbies should also cooperate to improve their spermies

Blur blur, Supress for 3 months? You mean you jab for 3 motnhs? Won't that be very expensive? I don't know how long I need to do the supression. Lucky I find puregon painless. So now less fear of lucrin. Only the HCG jab, I still got phobia.

wanbb,
in fact lucrin is as painful or as not painfull as puregon. They are about the same needle size.Though puregon is a little more sting then lucrin. But you just have to take the puregon out from the fridge may be 10 mins before you wanna do the jab. That will reduce the sting sesation. Just don keep giving yourself the thought which is more painfull. The stress of us going through this ivf is the greatest pain af all. So I would say the jab part is peanut compare to the anxiety that we are having.

WanBB, yup a jab for 3 months and quite expensive, $600plus.

I heard normal suppression is between 14 to 21 days, varies from pple. After that then proceed to puregon and the same time still must take lucrin.

Don't stress abt the jabs

WanBB,

I use Lucrin before Puregon, i find it less less uncomfortable than Puregon. 1 small bottle lasted the whole IVF. Opened Puregon must not be used after 28 days, if i am not wrong. Check the date.

I still visit my friend that just given birth! No jealousy la. See their baby will make me happy. Just don't like ppl that always ask when is my turn.

Renee, I didn't know that must take out from the fridge for 10 mins first. The nurse nv teach me that. Maybe I can try the next time I do the jab.

Blurblur, you very poor thing.. have to jab for 3 months. why you have to jab for so long?

BB, my dr say it's okay to use the puregon but it won't be as effective. Anyway it's only abt 2 jabs left. The rest of the puregon jabs will be fresh.
It's not that I don't like babies but after all not mine. I feel very sad when I see babies. Hopefully can have our own soon.

wanbb,
It's not a must to take out 10mins before you jab. BUt by doing that you will not feel so sting taking the jab.
Nurse at KK tought this actually.

hi yvonne,
tried pm u but yr pm is not activated. i have some info which you u might need.

wanbb,

both blur blur and renee have to take 1 jab for suppression for 3 mths before they go into IVF, not jabs for everyday for 3 mths :) I used to thougth they jab for everyday for 3 mths too, very scary hor:) but nope, it is just one jab to suppress for 3 mths.

I agreed with Renee that it is better to take it out from the fridge and wait for a while before you inject cos if the liquid is cold, it is more painful, I know that cos I experience with that already. The jab is not as pain as what one thougth it to be, if you hesitate and want to jab in and dun want to jab in, then it is painful, but if you dun hesitate at all and be more daring, just one swipe action, push the needle in, actually no pain at all, only a bit stinging pain when you push the liquid in. Dun worry, the needle is very fine, so not pain, ask your hb for help to jab if you can. The key pt here is when you doing jab, never hesitate, just poke in and surprise, no pain!

Yvonne and Renee, when I was having the Puregon jabs I didn't take it out beforehand, when I took out from the fridge, I straightaway inject, I felt it is ok, even if there is pain at times, it is bearable.....

Yvonne,
NOt yet. aft came back from hk have a lot things to do. Today before I went for yoga I baked the japanese cheese cake. turned out very well. hb just went off for a week trip again yesterday, and today just went for hair cut. Hair was too long to habdle already. Tomorrow got to go vacuum cleaning and acup. now have to be very on. will go 2 times a week till ER. And also will go during 2ww.