calzz,Taking BCP is the suppresion stage and the the bcp will basically "shut down" our ovaries & suppress our pituitary glands.Once the entire course of BCP has been completed and when AF reports, that is when your RE will check to ensure that your ovaries are fully rested then you will start the stim. phase.

Also taking BCP prior to stim phase is the long protocol. For short protocol, there is no need for suppression phase and the ladies will start the stim phase immediately on CD2. Hope that helps ease your confusion.

syrah & calzz , Syrah got her analysis right. But probably let me try to explain a little more. Typically, Lucrin suppresses our pituitary glands. Based on your RE protocol where you are not given Lucrin jabs then mid of your stim phase where are some leading follicles of about >10mm+, then you should be given an extra suppressant jab (on top of your stim jab) to ensure that the leading follicle(s) do not release LH which will trigger Ovulation while the rest of the follicles are still catching up in growth.

calzz, Think your protocol should the same as mine
. Did u check with your Dr on the entire protocol ?

syrah, Try to take things easy.. its Day 3 of your stim phase. Stay Relax and let your happy hormones "encourage" your follicles GROWTH

day, oh ya... i remember her saying that after 5 days of jabs, will have an additional jab or something...

didn't really get to talk to my dr coz on my cd2 she was away... but luckily i called few days before my AF just to get her nurse to chk with her before she went away...

after reading this, i can put my mind at ease... looking forward to next mth!

calzz, I hope I have answered to your doubts. Don't worry about our protocols as compared to the rest. The concepts and results are the same though
..I am starting Gynera in 2 weeks time too. All the best for your stim phase!..

Day,
Hee don't worry. I've bounced back to my original self already. I just did the 3rd jab without any prob. Yup definitely keeping upbeat. Stay positive n keep smiling rt? *wink*

<font color="purple">hazel, flowersfruits, imp22, sesame_oil

KKIVF called with a BFN. I was oddly relieved that the hHCG level is < 1.5 as this would prob eliminate chances of ectopic.
I decided to take the HPT on Sun morn as I didnt want to find out any bad news in the office on Monday morn. Thought that was a wise move:S
Now I await AF.

Considering switching to SF Loh since K Loi is gone.
Also considering accupuncture. Is accupuncture any good if I dont take Chinese medicine?
Does anyone know the duration that the docs would recommend between FETs?

I told myself I have to let go of my desires and let the course of nature unfold. Maybe then each BFN is easier to accept and it'll prob be less straining on our relationship. However its hard. I constantly feel the need to make some adjustments/changes to improve my chances.

Ah I feel like escaping into a holiday...

JCX, hugs! I can totally understand your feeling now. May be u give urself a nice vocation then come back continue fight...

As switching doc, in fact u inform KKIVF nurse, think they'll arrange for u since dr Kelly already left

Hugs JCX! Take this time to tiao your body and perhaps you can try tcm. A short getaway will make you feel better. Do something happy to help you get over this bfn. You have tried your best.

Thanks mel_ocean and JCX! Time does fly once you start the jabs.

JCX, Keep up the fighting spirit. You'll get there! A short trip is a good idea. If i'm not wrong, they'll usually ask you to wait for 2 AF before embarking on FET.

Have u checked with your doc to ask what could have been the reason for this BFN? You can do acup without taking the med. It's supposed to help with the lining and also increase blood circulation to the uterus.

JCX, Huggggssss to you. I know hw you feel when you receive the call fr KK :s Can you control your emotions in the office? Hope you still can focus on work today. If not pls jus take leave and go off.

You have ectopic problem as well? I was told ala <1.5 there is no pregnancy at all.
Your 1st attempt? Go and pamper yourself, getaway or indulge.

For me the way to let go partially is have a good cry, alone. As I certainly do not want DH to be upset at my state too. Pls take care

Syrah, you really scare me when I was catching up on the posts. Did not occur to me puregon could be so overwhelming on u. luckily you are ok with the jabs now! phew. Your head ok, no bruise??

imp,

I didn't expect it to have that effect on me too. There's 2 bua-loo-kus on my head. Left arm and shoulder another 2 loo-kus. But otherwise ok lah.

Syrah, oh oh... sounds bad leh so many injuries.. so far any symptoms for you after puregon?
This is your 1st IVF huh? Good luck ya!

Imp,
Thanks. Yup 1st attempt. Hmm...symptoms...nothing. No bloated feeling too. In fact I get hungry quite easily.

Can I check for those who've gone thru it before when will the bloated feeling hit u?

Morning all! Have been missing over the long weekend..heehehe...

Val : Think you were asking abt the growth hormones for improving the eggs quality? Yeap its a relatively new kind of medication and not many doc in singapore has/ are willing to use it as from what I understand so far only 1 paper was written on it in the US.. I was on that protocol 1 mth b4 my actual cycle on jabs every 3 days and when cycle starts every alt day. As I'm PCOS and had only 3 average embbryos to transfer and none to freeze in my 1st fresh cycle, my doc decided that we try the hormones, and we managed to freeze 16 grade 1-2s in our cycle. Having said that we are not to sure how much can be attributed to the hormones as between the 2 cycles I took 7 mths to tiao my body and started on organic food...

If I'm not wrong I think CARE also use the growth hormones...

Syah : Do take care!!

JCX : Hugs!!
Yes do go for a short holis... it does help... if you want you can take some time off TTC and tiao your body first... as to when you can do the next round of FET, if yours is a natural FET, not wrong, you can do the next round the following mth... coz its based on your natural cycle and no medication is involved, if medicated, usually will have to rest 1-2 cycles.. for me I rested for 1 cycle.

Quick update on my cycle : After review last Thurs, doc decided to try to follow my cycle of 33days, and plan for ET nearer to my natural ovulation period.. instead following the lining growth as per my last FET cycle, as she reckons D12 transfer previously may be too early and my body is not ready... so will be gg for another review this thurs to plan for ET... so hopefully will have gd news this cycle...

err. ask you guys 1 question ah. Wanna check for lucrin do we inject 1 side or alternate sides ah. I dun remember the nurse telling me to alternate but one of my friend was telling me hers is 2 side so i am confused.

Burlet, jab 3 fingers beside bellybutton daily and switch sides. Today jab right, tomorrow jab left and so on.. Lucky jab done by DH, I begin to feel the effects of lucrin recently. I'm having period like cramps, fast heartbeat, easily agitated and frustrated for nothing.. Still have 2wks to go.. I wonder how survive!!

Syrah, omg tat was a bad fall.. Hope u are alright now!

Syrah, my symptoms started only ard D5 onwards with frequent burping, eat little bit then feel very full. It worsen as days go by, but not to extent that I will feel damn sick.

Blurlet, I usually alternate my lucrin leh, cos dont wan the same side to jab twice, so can "rest" 1 side. haha..

Tokkie, what is the hormones name? So this hormones is jab every 3days b4 the cycle? Your fertilisation rate improves alot! I also have low fertilisation rate, 3 outa 24 eggs fertilised only.

Imp22 : The name its Saizen.. It depends coz I heard some ppl jab abt 3 mths before cycle.. for me coz my doc let me choose to either start 1 mth before or concurrent... coz the medication is quite ex... but according to the doc start earlier is better so we chose to start 1 mth before hand...

If not wrong in KK, Dr Loh does use DHEA...

Imp, did the doc say anything about the low fertilisation rate?

Minako/Imp, i called kkivf, they said need to alternative else the injected side will feel hard and painful. sigh.. how come the nurse teaching the injection never tell me this. >.<

Blurlet... jab alternate sides is better. I asked Dr Zou de.

Syrah... u take good care neh. After reading wat you wrote... I got really scared. My AF juz arrived this morning and tomoro going for scan. Think will start puregon soon... I getting more and more scare now...

Burlet, not too late to know now... Better late than never. Today is 6th day right? Juz switch side tomorrow.. for puregon stage also must switch sides but both sides will be jab daily *ouch*

Tokkie, does this Saizen/DHEA increases your # of eggs? I worry about getting more eggs and OHSS.
Does it mean you start 1mth b4, then once lucrin starts you can stop or have to do concurrently? if so means max of 3 jabs on a day lor - lucrin, puregon, saizen?

Blurlet, its ok if you can manage on jabbing on same side. I asked 1 nurse she said to alternate, the other nurse told me no need, up to you to manage. So they have no standard protocol it seems. Ala you jab the lucrin daily is more important.
For me is I scare pain, alternating helps me "think" I can rest the other side for tmr's jab.

Dr Loh did not say anything, he say could be due to poor egg quality, and immediately asked me if I am taking TCM? I said no. Dont know why his TCM question though. Feel veri bad upon hearing this, felt like I let hubby down.

<font color="0077aa">blurlet
yah must alternate. Nurse sara did tell me when i went for briefing.. =)
Still not too late... but remember puregon must alternate else wait one side more follicles than the other...</font>

Hi gals- was catching up on the threads over weekend. ;)

Syrah- m shocked to hear that puregon has such effects. U take good care that make sure hb is always there when u jab. Dun play play man.. Sounds quite dangerous.

Jcx- *hugs* to u... Crying out would make u feel better.

Not sure if u gals believe in fengshui- when I last consulted one, the fs told me not go waste time and money in certain months. And told me which months are better. I have yet to confirm if it helps but my fren did the same and it sure helped her.

Blurlet- if you are on lucrin only now, must alternate. Later when u start puregon, u also need to swop the sides everyday.

Imp22: when I first see dr Loh, I also ask him if need to take TCM during ivf. He says not necessary and also ask me who I normally see. I m also seeing dr Zou. He says that TCM is not necessary cos he says does not know what herbs she mix and he had cases whereby follicles are very little or he thinks it's affected by TCM. But also not sure if due to TCM. Anyway, I feel that TCM is good to tiao body till optimal. Then I stopped for a few months before I start another fresh ivf cycle. But I did not take TCM medi. Only do accu 5 days consecutively till day of ER. now m 2ww, I started taking medi after ET.

Hope everyone have a nice weekend...

JCX - Hugs hugs... sorry to hear that, have a good rest and recharge yourself. stay positive...

think I read about you all mentioning switch side to jab... my dr told me before no diff even all jab on one side.. I did ask before then will the side I jab more have more follicles? she said no... cause I continously jab lucrin and puregon on my right side for a few days cause my left tummy got a big blue black.

Imp22 : Im not sure abt DHEA. As I'm on the short protocol, meaning stimulation rite after OCP-cycle, I didn't need to take Lucrin. My numbers did increase... but most imptly is the quality.. my doc was also looking for quality rather than qty. My jabs was Saizen alt days, daily was Gona-F till mid cycle, was also given cetrotide n Luveris... so my record was up to 4 jabs a day if I have to take Saizen on that day...

tokkie: wah.. lagi pin cushion.

imp: did u put all 3 in?

susan, ah. thanks for the info. Good to know no damage done to myself. ^^"

goofie, I feel Dr Loh very anti TCM. Anyway, My aunt was telling me just take diy chicken essence with cordyceps reddates and wolf berries gao liao.

Burlet : hehee... yah... at that time was telling hb I shld get a T-shirt printed 'pin cushion here' pointing to my tummy... hahaha... but its over le.. hope I dun have to go thru that again..

Val/Imp,

Would also like to share my experience with using Saizen. similar to tokkie, my 1st fresh cycle had very low fertilisation rate. out of 20+ eggs, only 1 embryo.

2nd cycle, CARE did some investigations. For myself, my growth hormone level was low. HB's sperm although count is gd enuff ..but there was DNA fragmentation. I was thus given Saizen, which started 2 mths before the cycle on daily basis.. and thru out the cycle with increased dosage..also daily. hb was prescribe immunocal + coq10 daily 2 mths before cycle too.

for the 2nd cycle, the dosage of puregon used was reduced, and i had about the same number of eggs..also 20+... out of which we had 9 fertilised embryos... ;)

Pandawife... always happy to see u drop by...hehehe... juz duno why I feel very comfortable to see u here... mayb u make me feel positive...kekeke... juz a little update of myself. AF reported today and tmr going for scanning. Not sure can start puregon already or not...hehe...cross my fingers

pinkaddict, hehe.. i m still following the thread...but smtimes very confused coz so many new sisters joining.. i lost track already.

glad to pass lotsa positive energies to u!! all will be fine, just need to relax... before u know it.. u will be sharing BFP news!

Miracle and Winnie.... how are both of u? Me no time to follow this thread last week coz my mil came down fm Penang for 1 week. Very busy with her..haha...Hope everyone are doing fine.

JCX... sorry to hear that... u take good care and start "fighting" again when you are ready for next round.

Pandawife... this is all I need from u. Your "ai xin" jab for me is very crucial...hahaha... muz drop by to jab me sometimes when u are free.

Me usually peep in during lunch time when there are lesser pple around...kekeke...

U oso muz take good care of yourself and the three 3 little cute ones... woo yoo...thinking your 3 little ones make me so happy for you...hahaha

pinkaddict, u r so cute! hahaha... i m quite free.. just let me know anytime u need the jab..i will just pop by..

me n the 3 little tigers will be cheering for all the soon to be mummies here!

Today is my d12 after et, so sad jus now went to ladies &amp; saw some brown/pink discharge, seem like my af coming... Think mine gone case...

Pandawife...oh yours is three little tigers ah? soooo cute... I really hope to BFP like you...kekeke...

Btw... old pple said if hv 3 little pigs or 3 little goats or 3 little tigers in a family, then your family will be very very very good leh. Wah... you will be very "wang" from next year onwards... so good neh...wow!!