<font color="0077aa">baby
you also work and study ah... Me too... Part time study, so very tiring.... But i've been very zen with work lately.... All focus on students, other than that, i just do to the minimal.</font>

Had a bad experience with puregon when I started my 1st jab on Friday. I ended up warded at Tan Tock Seng due to head injury. After the jab, I felt slightly nauseous then a rush of blood draining from the head. I knew I was going to black out. However before I could react, I lost consciousness, hit my head on the chair, dropped to the floor and banged my head another time.

Doc said it could be my blood pressure dropped drastically when the new jab was introduced and hence the fainting. Fortunately everything is fine now. Head is better and the 2nd jab yesterday went without any problem.

So ladies....please make sure you eat something before jabbing esp if you know you're anemic or with low blood sugar count! Lesson learnt the hard way for me. May my experience be useful for others though.

syrah, Oh dear!! Are you ok now? You jab puregon without taking any meals and on empty stomach? I am going to administer my jabs in the morning in future, so will be before breakfast? erh, will I black out too since I got low blood pressure?

So the doc says your faint is due to anaemic and low blood sugar count?

Sesame, I was warded overnight for observation. TTS neuro doc wanted to do CT scan but I refused. I insisted on waiting till KKIVF opened and I could consult a doc there in case of adverse results. In any case, when morning came, my head was much better and so both docs agreed that there's no need for CT scan.

KK doc said that it could be the body's reaction to a new jab. Blood pressure hence dropped and leading to the reaction. If my 2nd jab had the same reaction, then will have to discuss if it's reaction to puregon. Luckily it's all ok now. After he explained that, I recalled my 1st lucrin jab. I did feel slightly nauseous after the jab and a slight light-headedness. However it was so slight and passed quickly that I didn't think much about it. On Friday with the puregon, half way through the jab, I had a bad feeling already. I usually have late dinner ard 9-10+ and then jab at 10.45pm. On that fateful day being a public hol, I had dinner 7pm and nothing before the jab. That is the most likely reason for the fainting. Also, both lucrin and puregon jabs had some blood after the jabbing. I've slight anemia and can have low blood sugar count. So after I added it all up, it's prob due to all these reasons.

U intend to jab on empty stomach? I won't advice that after my reaction. But again different bodies different reaction so I cant say for sure if it'll be fine for u.

Flowers,
No, not immediate fainting. After jab, I finished capping back the needle. After that then I blacked out. I know I can faint if I don't eat and draw blood as I fainted before abt 10 years ago while drawing blood on empty stomach. Also not immed faint. I actually walked away from the station and then faint about 10 steps away.

FYI, my dosage for puregon is only 200.

puregon one of the side effect was nausea &amp; bloatedness. I was lucky to escape this side effect during my iui, now suppression I'm also ok just occassionally I have mood swing

syrah, glad that everything is alright for you now. Thanks for the advice, guess I hv to monitor my blood pressure for the next few days and as I intend to jab in the morning, so definitely is on empty stomach due to time constraint.

I hope it will be a breeze for me. Will update u girls again...

syrah, is your hubby with you when u faint? My hubby will jab for me. If anything happens, he will be around for me. My puregon dosage is 250 iu. More than yours. Am worried

syrah, then you better take extra care when you jab. Are you very afraid of the jab, sometimes psychology also play a part. Have someone next to you when you jab next time and KK never say to reduce dosage ar?

sesame, yeah. seems like after doing lucrin, having slight breathlessness and heart burn or burping.

Syrah, You okie now?

I did ask the nurse before, she said the jabs can be done before or after food.

blurlet... u mean the injections will affect us emotionally?

baby... ya... only myself will know my situation best... i roughly know wat i should do but more time to think carefully...

syrah... glad things r alright for u now... phew...

<font color="0077aa">sesame,
i think ceraine is refering to dr loh gg away in dec, which i think most dr will be away during the dec cleaning up for kkivf.

syrah,
oh dear...looks like you have to make sure you take some biscuits before you jab. and make sure at all times, someone is beside you. this is scary.....</font>

sesame - I dunno issit me or the med cause me to have mood swing, was told the side effect will have hot flush too, but so far so good

Sesame,
No I was alone at home. So I figured prob unconscious for abt 5 mins or so. I was still thinking of A&amp;E on my own but HB insisted on rushing back and then bringing me there.

Flowers,
No, I'm not afraid of jabs or blood. Since the start, I've been jabbing myself without hb around. No prob with drawing blood too. I'm quite positive it's the blood sugar count and anemia at work here.

Since the 2nd jab was fine yday, I'm just continuing the same dosage for now. Definitely still observing and now HB will make sure he's at home when I'm jabbing just in case.

Thanks miracle, I tot he is going away in Oct again...I got a shock!

winniepooh, I will know when I start in a few days soon. Hee..

syrah, you mean you wake up on your own after 5 mins?? Oh dear, this is v scary indeed. In future, do ensure someone is beside you, don't do it alone.

happybb yup.. Mood swings! We are injecting hormones, each person will react differently, basically depending on the body build up and health conditions also.

baby &amp; miracle... can understand wat u r gg thru... work &amp; studies cos i was guo lai ren... glad tat it's all in the past...

but both of u r gg thru ivf on top of tat... pei fu...

for me work &amp; ivf already too much... haha...

Oh yes, one more thing, sit on the bed or sofa or at least some place cushy when jabbing. Don't be like me sit at dining table and when faint, ended up banging on wooden chair and dropping onto the hard floor.

ineedmiracle,
yeah now I'll start my milo/milk with egg whites just before puregon. That first time I intended to drink only after jabbing. So now I reverse the schedule. Drink then jab to ensure full stomach!

winnie,
mood swings can be a side effect. For me, at the beginning of lucrin, it was just insomnia and slightly increase heart rate for me. Then abt 10 days, hot flushes came. Towards the 20th day, I started feeling slightly more mood swings happening.

sesame,
I really didn't think so much abt jabbing on my own. My hb works late night. So it was never a question for me to jab on my own. However this exp did shake me a little. I'm making sure he's ard before I jab these few days for sure. Fortunately puregon is just for a short period. But seriously, I find puregon very hard to press! it just doesn't go in straight like lucrin. That knob is really irritating!

Syrah,

Thank God everything is well. Must take care yah. Don't get up immediately after u jab. Rest for 5 mins then get up yah.

Miracle,

U oso doing unisim issit? very seong hor. got assignments due. Some more i tchg 2 classes of P6 this yr. marking oso siao man

<font color="0077aa">baby
i'm taking my masters. If I bfp, I will request for non-graduating classes next year. else sure stress.
Wah P6, stress sial....but will be over soon, before you start your jabs, so at least a good thing.</font>

hi ladies... i've started my ivf journey... started taking gynera ytdy...

can i check with u gals on the protocol for ivf? mine seems abit diff from what i've read here, so just wanna find out more...

i was told to take gynera(contraceptives) for 21 days, then will only start injecting from next cd2 onwards then followed by ER &amp; ET... hmm... i thot usually ppl will start injections from cd21 of the cycle before ER? so confused...

Thank you all. I have no doubt that I'll get through the whole process. I'll still continuing to jab on my own and all even if HB cant be around. Just have to ensure all precautions in place that's all.
BFP BFP BFP!!!!

calzz, different clinics has different protocols. And also depending whether u r on short or long protocol? Sorry, can't advise you much as I only know about long protocol.

syrah, u remind me of how i felt when i jab myself for so-iui... i remember my first jab, i told my hubby i wanna faint... end up i had to lie down for awhile after jabbing... but slowly, u will get used to it too... jiayou!

<font color="0077aa">sesame
plan to have bb after study finish...but decided not to wait le...else i will be old mummy le.
so everything can wait. promotion, bonus, everything can wait, but not my baby....mummy instinct clock is ticking le... lolz</font>

Thanks caizz!
You must jiayou too! Are you with TFC? If I'm not wrong, your protocol sounds like the same as daylesford. She's with Dr Cheng at TFC. From cd2 onwards, you'll start with gonal F. Scan will start 5 scans into gonal F. After which, you'll need a suppression needle tog with the gonal F at some point before ER then ET.

sesame_oil, oh got short and long protocol ah? then i think when i went for the counselling, i was briefed the long one... but its diff from wat my gynae told me...

syrah, nope i'm with dr ann tan... so this is considered short protocol?

i wonder wat are the differences... in terms of success rates

calzz, once you start already, dun hv those nagging thoughts in your mind. You won't feel at ease. Anything unsure, ask the doc or nurses. They will know best. Good luck!

<font color="0077aa">flowers
life is short mah...so all must chop chop...
thank god i have mil and mummy who are willing to look after my baby if i ever bfp. so while they are young, i must quick quick...else drag few more years i sure head big big</font>

Caizz, I'm not sure if this is considered long or short protocol. I only understand that instead of using lucrin as suppression, you're given the ocp to eat. For us, it's suppressed with lucrin then stimulate with puregon/gonal F. After that the stopping of the lucrin needle somewhere in bet the puregon jabs. Yours is reverse. Start injecting for stimulation and then add on injections to suppress so that the large follicle won't start to ovulate before ER.

I dunno about the success rates. Daylesford should be able to tell u more when she comes online.

Ahhh..there she is. Day, think u can answer Caizz's question better than me

Head still a little tender where the bumps are but otherwise functioning. I actually went back to work today although given 3 days HL leave.