I did my ovum pick-up yesterday. Good news is Dr Loh retrieved a total of 38 follicles! I was awfully surprised at the number.
After the procedure, the GA wore off and I began to feel this terrible soreness in my tummy area. It feels as though a hundred punches had landed on my abdomen area.
Feeling utterly miserable now. Now my tummy is so bloated and I have put on a few kg. I look like 5 months pregnant.
I called KKIVF earlier cos I wanted to know how the embryos are doing but they told me the results would be released when I go for the transfer tomorrow.
Trying to drink as much water to counteract the effects of OHSS but it's tough especially when the stomach is already super bloated.
Feel like exploding!
For those who experienced OHSS, how long would the bloating last???

JJ,
U r very detail leh.
Since I'm 1 wk later than u, then my ER will be ard 26Aug?

Any1 of u mentioned abt yr IVF to yr lunch kakis? My lunch kakis r my colleagues fr other dept...I'm stil hestitating whether to tell them or not. Coz the more ppl i tell, the more will wan to know the outcome which will make me very stressful. And during the days of gg for scan, they will start to wonder oso.... how? In my heart, I dun wish to tell them leh.

twinkle belle...u can take egg whites as raw as u can...or order immunocal...both will ease the bloating by reducing water retention caused by ohss..

Twinkle
Thats a good number! Seems like many ladies are retrieving more than 30 eggs.
Looks like all must share your diet in getting so many eggs.
Other than consuming
eggs
ensure/annum/Immunocal
folic acid
...anymore to add?

If i take the Conceive well supplement, i can actually star taking now? about 3-4 mths before ivf hor? Then i no need take folic acid anymore right?

Can we consume cranberry/ blueberry/ mulberry juices when doing ivf...and even preg?

PandaWife,
does it mean if taking Immunocal, wont need to take egg whites? Was reading the archived threads, a lady took abt 6 raw eggwhites and her embbies are sticky, even when she bleed, also sticky.....

I also read, alternative, we place egg white into a glass, then pour in hot milo or milk into the glass, and drink it immediately. hee...used to have eggs n milo together when i was younger...

Panda Wife,
Thanks for your recommendation. I am taking at least 3 egg whites a day and eating the Brazil nuts cos they are good source of protein. Also taking Protein Shake drink from GNC.
Is constipation normal?
After the procedure, I was passing a lot of gas. The nurses told me they inserted a painkiller into the anus.
For all the discomfort I'm going through, I hope the ER tomorrow morning will produce good results.

miracle..yes..immunocal can replace egg whites...
i started immunocal 2 mths b4 my cycle ...

twinkle belle..u can increase ur egg whites dosage if v bloated...its the fastest way to ease the bloating...ie. 3 times a day...

hmmmm...nt sure abt constipation at this stage...

Poppy: I'm shocked by your post. Even more shocked about being teased by CARE nurses, not very professional. Your post affects me alot...

Let's hope it's just the nurses who happen to read this thread & not any CARE ladies here who revealed anything. If it's the latter, pls don't do it again....

Ineedmiracle:
I have no special diet. At the earlier scan, the doctor estimated that 14 eggs would be retrieved. However, over a period of 3 days, more follicles grew.
You need to take folic acid. It's a compulsory supplement for any woman trying to get pregnant. Don't stop it.
Which stage are you at now?

Poppy:
I am not from CARE but I find it disturbing that what you have posted here has become public secret. How did they trace the posts to you when you have been using a nickname all this while?

Twinkle Belle: I've thought about it, it's not hard to trace who are the actual patients' names cos ER, ET & preg bt dates are mostly revealed here.. So just need to trace back to the appointment schedule will be easy.

ineedmiracle: u booked for cycle in sep? which hosp u in? i m going for 2nd round of fresh cycle in sep too :)

Hi poppy: sorry to hear that but do be rest assured I have not told care abt yr happenings .. In fact till this day I don't even know yr real name ;)

Suddeny the forum is working again ... Hope it stays this way ;)

I'm starting my medicated FET, currently on Lucrin and likely to have my first scan next Fri/Sat. Just wondering if there's any side effects on Lucrin, coz I've been feeling tired lately and had a very bad headache. Today is my 4th day on Lucrin.

Hi Tzac, I'm with Raffles TCM, Ms Jin,since my 2nd SO-IUI, Apr last year, so far so gd no complain as yet.

tzac,
are u planning to do yr fresh cycle at raffles? i'm with raffles but didn't do tcm there. didn't do any tcm at all. but i heard is good to do the tcm there if u're doing ivf there cos the information is shared freely among the tcm dr and the ivf dr and the tcm dr can complement her treatment with the ivf dr. heard it's mainly a Dr Jin that's doing ivf tcm.

Tokkie: thanks for your feedback. U doing acupuncture? How’s the session like and how long? Sorry for the many qns as never been to tcm. U r with raffles for the SOIUI?

I m considering raffles tcm n Dr Zou. Don’t knw which one to go. From the forum, understand tat Dr Zou is v popular.

Tokkie:
Migraine or bad headache is definitely one of the side effects of Lucrin jabs. I had the same problem. Found that it helped when I took coffee.

Grumpus: nope, still will be with kkivf to enjoy the govt grant.

Am thinking of going for tcm to boost my success factor since like many of you do tat when doing ivf.

Nm: glad to hear tat. do take care n rest well.

Ladies, does cyclogest affect pregnancy result? I got very very faint HPT result. I'm currently under natural FET and today is my 12 dpt

Twinkle,
sad to say, i'm not at any stage yet.....or should i say, now at waiting stage, waiting for ivf to commence...

tzac
currently with kkh, i yet to cfm my ivf, and select gynae..
that is why i'm worried. cos I wana start jab ard late sept or earli oct, but scared no slots le...cos my stuffs not yet finalised...haiz...

Tzac : The accupunture is about 45 mins. SO-IUI didn't work. Had to do IVF, but due to high E2, was not able to do ET, so embarking on medicated FET this month. Yeah, I'm with Raffles doing IVF, so that my doc and TCM physician can communicate, and try to complement each other.
So far I quite like the arrangement. Coz for ET, usually will go for Acupunture, than ET, then 1 more session of Acupunture after ET.

Twinkle belle : Thanks! Ever since I started my IVF, I've tried to avoid coffee due to the caffine . Hee Hee... maybe a good excuse to have some...

tzac
which gynae are you with?
so still have slots for ivf on sept?
now waiting to finish my d2 BT and the scan, and get reviewed by gynae, then will probably choose gynae n convert to pte patient at kkh....

tokkie,
i read in an article online, those doing ivf and tcm, normally encourage to have a session of accupucture straight after ET, and this increase the success rate. Can share how much spent doing IVF in Raffles? no govt subsidies i presume since not govt hospital?

Tzac : when u starting IVF? Coz frm what I understand its best to start TCM abt 2-3 mths before the cycle.

For me, after my failed fresh cycle, last Jul, I had to "tiao" my body for about 1/2 year before the physician gave me the go ahead to do my 2nd fresh cycle, which I did in Apr this year.

So not sure what had really helped, as I did yield better quality & quantity eggs.

Tzac, I too just failed my cycle yesterday.
Do you know why yours failed?
Mine, Prof had no idea. Just did not implant. He commented that my this cycle was better than my first. It's just meant for me.
SO you are doing yours again soon? When?

ineedmiracle : yeap, that's what Raffles does, they usually encouage IVF patients to do TCM too, and they will arrange for accupunture & ET appts.

My 1st cycle is about 14.5K, before Medisave deduction.

2nd cycle, with growth hormones and increase Gonal-F dosage is about 16k before medisave deduction, without ET.

The IVF fees excludes TCM. TCM is about $350 for 5 sessions.

Yeah got not subsidies & grant, but can make the medisave withdrawals, 6k, 5k, and lastly 4k.

Hi Sistas..

Just got back from KKH...Veri hepi to say: I have poke myself..an achievement with loads of fear..the nurse who taught me was veri patient and encouraging..I was trembling and my heart is like pumping so fast...But I manage to do it..Thanks to the nurse..Unfortunately I forgot her full name..

So D1 of Lucrin is a success..Need to remember the steps taught and tomolo will be another day of jab..Gg back KKH on 14/07 for blood test & scan...

Hope all of u have a good day...do take care...

Blissful2010:
The mood swings are triggered by the hormonal changes. My dh noticed that I erupted more often than usual. I didn't notice the difference though.

Ineedmiracle: not too sure whether there is anymore slot for Sep. Why don’t u book your place first? When I did my first fresh cycle, I hv to wait for 4 mths. I m with dr sf loh.

Tokkie: I m planning to doing another round in sept10 so if I start tcm now, mayb it will be juz in time :) Will it be ok if I m doing my ivf in kkivf?

Su-yana: doc not able to tell me y I failed for 2 rounds. Yup, will be hving one more shot. Planning to do in sep. Hope tis time round will yield more eggs. R u doing tcm?

Leader Nadia - u have started the ball rolling for the June batch of ladies ... Yeah ...

So u will be poking same timing everyday ??
I planning to poke at 10pm

Tzac, my first 2 cycle I did not do TCM.
I am not too sure if I want to do another round. Feel very drained. If i were to do another round, I am not too sure if I will try TCM.
BTW, have you menses come? I am waiting for it to come. So far just spotting.

Nadia,
Gd job! pain or not huh? I had been thru' SO-IUI, injecting puregon. If its the same, then I'm not so scared. hehe

Twinkle,
These few days I've been stressed up wif work & I cry easily. I'm afraid I'll get easily get emotional.

Tzac : Its ok, they have lots of patients who are from hospitals too. I'm with Ms Jin, in fact if you have your medical records and test results, you can show her, she knows how to see them and usually will tell you what food to avoid and all the things that you should eat.

JJ: dun call me Leader leh,...veri paiseh...Yup me too will poke myself at 10pm everyday...only today was just now in the clinic mah....

They actually gave ice pack with Lucrin for u to bring home...heheh...The pharmicist also very sweet and kind...Old uncle...but very nice..hehheh

Su-yana: yeah can understand wat u mean. Its really draining especially waiting for the BT day. For my fresh cycle, af reported even before BT. For my 2nd try, it came 3 days after my BT and I was thinking I may strike. This time round, I m thinking mayb rest for 3 mths before starting on fresh cycle again . Do take care of yourself.

Anyone knw wats the difference btw gonal-F and puerogon? I used to be on gonal-F n actually doc plan to change to peurogen but when I qn him, he switched back to gonal-F again…Makes me wonder why?? Which is supposed to yield more follicles?

Blissful: U have done puregon before..then it will be k mah for u..i have phobia of needles..especially when it's poking me..so that' y i had a hard time of convincing myself..no pain..just a pinch only..after that k liao...heheheh

Tokkie: ic but I dun really hv much tests done leh. Only fsh I think. Ok, will bring that down. Is the waiting time long? Which stage r u now?

Think its like puregon needles (short n fine) except the solution has to be retrived from a bottle ...

I also ask other sisters here ... seems like even though we have accidently included air in the needle injection, its ok as its injected into fatty tissue (i.e. my tyre tummy)

Nadia ... ok don't call u leader ... call u No. 1 ! ... I'm No. 2 ... blissful No. 3 ! haha ...

kkivf will give ice pack with ice ... I also will bring my own cooler bag (bought from daiso!) and ice pack too ...

Strawberry: I don't mind to share as I intend to continue consume till delivery. Best to find at least 3 to share as (buy 10 get 1 box free, each box end up is $90.91) Once get enough person I can call the supplier as I have already ordered 2 times from them.

Pink, yes i have one frozen to D5 for my 2nd attempt. you are with NUH too right? Sorry too many ppl here that i can't remember.
I am trying my best to move on. Just need some more time. My first no frozen.
Prof told me that when comparing this is my better one since I even can freeze one which i had none before.

When is your BT?

tzac : ICIC, coz whenever I had my bloodtest done, I will request for a copy and show her. The waiting time is quite ok, usually about 5-15mins, depending on timing. Nowadays, I usually go about 2 - 2.30 not so crowded. Its usually very crowded in the morning and evening.

I'm gg for my medicated FET. Currently on OCP till Sun and Lucrin, likely to go for my D2 scan next fri.
Hopefully will strike this cycle.
crossing fingers.

JJ: kekek..No.1..gd idea..hehehe

I nvr thot got ice pack..i thot just bring home like that...When I saw the ice pack..I was like Woah...hehehe...

Wah u gonna bring cooler bag...heheh gd idea too...at least not need to rush so much mah...is ur cooler bag big? thinking of getting one...but my area no daiso leh...hmm..