Hi CWE & Lychee,
My only complaint is his long waiting time at his clinic at Level 1..

Lychee, Hows the waiting time at TFC ? Are you on TCM & acupunture as well ?

Daylesford - yes, Dr Cheng did advise me to transfer blast. They will actually monitor your embies each day starting from D3. If you have just a few to start with,they might suggest D3 transfer as they don't want to risk losing them if you wait longer. Usually D3 transfer they will transfer 3. If you have more embies, then they will suggest waiting another couple of days, so at D5 the blastocyst is of better quality and higher chances. Also with blast transfer, you can transfer fewer than 3 as the chances are higher.

TTCing - I did do ICSI (becos hubby's sperm not good quality). During my ER (back in Sept), I extracted 36 eggs, 28 were mature, 18 were fertilized and continued to grow. On D3, they froze all my embies because I had risk of OHSS, hence couldn't do fresh transfer. Did my first FET in Dec. I had 18 embies frozen, all ranging between 6-8 cells (with abt 2-3 which were 4 cells and 10 cells). TFC suggested I thaw 6 each time (so can do 3 FETs). I did AH as well, as they noticed that my shell was a little hard. For my first FET, thawed 6 on D3, all survived, but by D5, left with 3 (two grade BB and one grade C). Grade C is too low so they only transfered the two BB blasts. BFN.

Second FET in May, thawed 6, all survived. By D4, one had already become blast and was hatching, so they transfered that and the two closest embies to that stage (with more cells and grade better). The other 3 they monitored, but 2 out of those 3 also eventually stopped growing. D4 was too early to grade the blast, so there is no grading this time.

All in all, I would say (based on my experience), rate of reaching blast is about 50% (3 out of 6). Hope this helps you

Hi Daylesford,

I've only been to the Thomson Fertility center at level 6. Depends, I've had to wait over an hour before. But recently, it has been quite fast, less than half hour wait.

Nope I'm not on TCM / accupunture. Have tried both before but TCM doesn't seem to work on me.

CWE,

It will be better for you to see him earlier. Also, to see if you are comfy w him. He might want to monitor your cycle and do some test b4 proceeding to IVF.

Hi Twinkle_Belle,

I am also starting my Lucrin soon (this wed) and also under Dr SF Loh. Maybe we can be cycle buddies and help support each other along the way.

I was told to continue with Lucrin for 20 days and to report back to KKH after 20 days for Bloodtest. Is this the normal procedure? I thought we only need to jab Lucrin for 2 weeks?

Thanks working wife, that was useful info! I only have 11 embies, so can prob only go 2 rounds. Was also wondering how many will survive after thawing.

Workingwife, thanks for your inputs
This will definitely help when its my turn.

Lychee, I am now comtemplating if I should stop the TCM medication and just do acupunture prior ER.

Skies, Hello, which trimester are you now ? Are you still with Dr Cheng ?

Typo error. Is D2, was thinking if can request for D3 but Dr Zou says KK won't entertain that's y she was telling me NUH better in that sense.
Anyway with u gals BFP with KK, i'm sure this protocol definitely works. If GOD wanna grant u, no one can take away fr u.

Daylesford,

Think maybe your Chinese doc will be in a better position to advise you? TCM is actually very good, but somehow it messes up my system so i decided to stop. But that is just me.

Just Faith, i learnt something new from you today... i'm potentially 3 weeks preggy!

Rose, we're about the same timing...dun worry abt exerting yourself to clear bowels and bending to pick things up, so long as u dun feel strenous, it is no cause for worry. just continue to relax, ok...
let's jia you together, ok.

gan - heh.. dun wish for MS.. very tiring one.. the 'hungry often' should make you feel preggy liao mah..
enjoy your pregnancy.. you body is coping well with the hormones and the changes.. good!!

pinkaddict, pink destiny - your time will some soon..

leapgal - not sure if anyone answered you.. utrogestan is actually progesterone... is to help support the lining and make it happy to accept the implantation.. pregnyl is actually hcg.. that is why they usually stop the injections, 7 days before your BT... Stay happy!!! actually, you can start using now.. just wrap a towel around it, and place it on your womb.. the idea is to heat the general area a little, so as to encourage bloodflow, whch is believed to aid implantation and growth..

baby - not jialat is good.. lucky you also..

Rose - welcome!! AF = Aunt Flow(mense), MC = miscarriage, ER = Embryo Retrival.. dun worry abt the orgasm.. orgasm is actually helping the embies.. it promotes blood flow for implantation, and the muscle contractions are thought to help the embies flow to or stay in the correct place to encourage implantation..

judebabe - good luck on your ER on monday!

Gloria - how are you?? long time no see leh..
stay positive in your 2WW, K.. we will get thru this... together!!

working wife - congrats!!!
dun worry abt the twin 2.. the heartbeat will catch up!!have faith!!

nm - whoooaaa, your hubby very nice hor..

tzac - hihi.. i'm on my fet...

daylesford - heh.. thanks.. i also want good news... am staying positive.. actually, the truth is.. i'm just trying not to think too much.. sometimes i think i am not being quite fair to the two little embies in me now.. cos i have not been resting much... haiz.. let's see how lah.. dun worry abt the embies at what stage portion.. there are some that believe that a blast is more natural.. cos in actual cycle, the embie will actually reach the womb for implantation at abt D6.. some believe that if we dump early embies(D3) in the womb.. they simply float around, and might 'miss the boat'... it all depends on the school of thought that you believe in.. k?? just relax a bit lah..

pink destiny - the E2/progesterone/HcG levels are just indication of the hormones in your body.. it is generally believed that the presence of the hormones at the optimal levels are impt to encourage the implanation and the growth.. it is a case of 'preparing the bosy to be in pristine condition, and the rest is up to fate' type of test..

pandawife - well.. once your hcg peaks, and stablises.. it is a waiting game for your body to get used to the hormones.. take heart.. you'll get better soon..
my hubby used to ask me what i want for dinner too.. but he is definately not as nice as your hubby.. mine goes.. 'so hun.. what do you want to puke today..'.. haiz.. faintz...

faith - excited for you.. good luck on your ER!!

twinkle belle - hihi, welcome..

Hi Tokkie, I'm deciding btw a natural vs medicated FET. Can u share on the number of scans required for natural, and which days u scanned on? Is it true that med FET requires fewer scans and visits back to clinic? Thanks

Hi Jcxuan, I'm not too sure how many scans are required for natural, so far I've scanned on D10, D13, and tomorrow will be gg for D16 scan. I'm put on natural FET by my doc, we didn't choose. What I understand is medicated is more controlled as compared to natural, as according to my doc, if there's any part of the cycle is not up to mark, she will stop and cancel the cycle, so as not to waste the embryos.

You may want to check if your doc to see which is best for you.

Hi tokkie, thanks for e info. You r a night owl
I'm w kkivf and they told me to go for ovulation test one month earlier. If I'm ovulating naturally, then do natural FET. Otherwise, do medicated. I travel often for my work, so I'm concerned about going back for frequent scans. Is there anyone out there who has been thru med FET and recalls the scan days? Cheers

Hi Kitty Chan,

Glad to have found a IVF buddy here. I just started my jab on 2 June. First jab at the clinic did not draw out any blood BUT when I did it at home, I kept bursting blood vessels. I learnt a trick though; pinching the fats around my abdomen area really hard does help to prevent blood from oozing out when the needle plunges into the skin.
I'm going back to KKH on 17 June to run a blood test to see if the hormones are sufficiently suppressed before I proceed to the next stage.

Thanks all for the warm welcome.

This IVF journey is fraught with so many uncertainties and anxieties. Glad to know I'm not alone...

Baby Dust to all!

May I ask if anyone has made a decision to transfer only 1 embryo instead of 2?
I know implanting 2 makes more mathematical sense but I am really not sure about multiple births...

workingwife,
Thanks for the useful info.. may I noe if your 1st & 2nd FET are natural or medicated and what is the process till they do ET for you? How many times do u need to visit Dr Cheng? any info on fet will be very much appreciated

When is your next scan?

Twinkle Belle,
usually doc will based on your age to decide how many embbies to transfer..seldom will implant one embryo..unless u specifically requested to transfer just one..perhaps u should discuss this over with your hubby & doc to come to a conclusion.. for me, twins are ok...

Hi twinkle belle. From wat ive learnt from our snr sistas, brazil nuts contains selenium wh helps in implantation. Eggwhite is high in protein wh can help to reduce bloatedness at any stage of ivf. Some ppl start to feel bloated at lucrin/ suprefact stage so its good to start early. N ensure milk is very nutritious, rich in vit c, vit e + selenium n many oth vits required during ttc. Not forgetting, water intake is very impt to avoid ohss n promotes growing cells to our embies/ follies. Hope this helps.

Girls - for those that are just after ER, and need eat egg white, yet, worried abt implantation.. in the supermarts.. there is a type of egg that contains selerium...
perhaps you girls wanna try that egg... kill two birds with 1 stone, so as to speak..

jcxuan, i did medicated fet with kkivf. U r required to take progynova to build ur lining and not worry abt ovulation. Once lining reached min 8mm u can go for transfer. 1st scan on d14. For my fet, my lining didn't grow to 8mm though they increased my dosage for progynova. Went for total 3 scans when the lining finally reached 8.
If ur hormones r good, 1st scan shows good lining, u can go for embryo transfer le. All the best.

Mel,
Your boys are definintely robbing you of your rest. But stay positive ;). Mine is still 2 months away but sometimes I can't help feeling a little excited. 1st cycle = New Hope though my Dr still requested us to work hard naturally before we start. Suppose you are on medicated FET as well ? Your DH asked you what you wanted to puke out for dinner - OMG!..haha.

mel..yes..its a waitung game...angela says my hcg is tappering..bt still going up...i m feeling worse by the days..yest dinner n this morning bf i perform merlion...

my whole tummy feels strange...on n off aching pains here n there...dr paul says its normal coz expanding...bt v uncomfortable..cant sleep well..

Elo Gd Morning Sistas....

Lots of newcomers...Welcome to the club....Glad all can share their experiences and clear ur doubts..

Just wan to share a HAPPY news...I'm gonna be an AUNT soon...Weeeee...Gleaming with joy...Such gd news on Monday...and it really give me a boost and positiveness in my IVF journey soon...

I'm glad my sis is able to conceive naturally and not go tru wat I'm gg tru...Thanks to HIM...

To all Sistas..take care in ur IVF stages..Dun worry so much on the dos n donts..if u didn't manage to follow tru them thoroughly...Tink positve...Talk to babies..Like wat other Sistas says...2ww is considered PREGNANT liao...HUGZ..HUGZ..to all..;-)

daylesford - you know lah.. my hubby crap one...
yup medicated.. or regulated fet...

pandawife - yup.. there will be lots of strange sensations on your general area.. i was always afraid that something will happened.. i used to have sudden sharp pains, every now and then.. so.. just relax.. k?

Dear sisters,

thank you so much for the invaluable advices and also tips. Now is just to fit work schedule and get things ready.

Daylesford, what is super ovulation? Is it different from IVF? What do you do then? My understanding of IVF is to inject the hormones, get more eggs and then fertilise. So what is the difference?

mel..same here..oso scared smthing will happen...cox i cant tell whts normal n whats nt..everytime go care..i ask angela or ning the same qns...hee...

trying to relax... did u take any med to relieve ur ms huh? i was given some..bt i thot best no need to rely on them.....

hi sistas...

received some sad news frm angela and dr paul last sat...both said that i will need to do an op again bef i can start on ivf
this would mean my third op to remove my endo

feel so sad but then angela mentioned that its not worth doing the ivf without the op....

Hi yenyen63,
Thanks for your reply. I was told during the counselling session to opt for 2 embryos to increase the chances of a viable pregnancy. It's not that I'm against the idea of twins but multiple pregnancies carry known risks. But having said that, it does not mean that the two embryos will take off. At the end of the day, it might be a singleton still.

Did a stupid thing this morning. Left home without taking my lucrin jab. Only realised it when I was on the road but it was too late to turn back. Getting hubby to pick up the stuff during lunch so that I can complete the injection for today. So angry with myself!

pandawife - enjoy the worrying.. heh.. it's a part of the pregnancy.. even the worrying..
nope.. didn't take meds.. din want to load my body with more chemicals, unless absolutely necessary.. just try different foodstuff to help deal with MS.. and relax..
heh..

hoping - dun be sad.. think of the bright side.. this means that you have a higher chance of success..
when you get your baby(ies) in your arms, you will cherish them much more than any one else, cos you alone, knows how much you went thru just to get the little miracle(s).. trust me.. take heart and have faith!!

twinkle belle - dun get angry.. so long as you complete the jab.. hooray!!

Hi gloria,

Yes, lets jia you together! When is your blood test for pregnancy? U oso with kkivf? So far, you notice any preganancy symptoms? I realised that when I am sleeping at night, my tummy not so bloated only when I wake up in the morning, I will feel my bloated tummy. And also a lot of gas lately. Have the feeling that my bloated stomach is only gas...hahaha...I noe I should rest and relax, but nothing to do also very bored. Watched online videos and surf net...cant even do my fav sports...but of course, its all for my own good. Just hope that sat will come faster, dun enjoy such anticipation...

Mel, you pregnant?

twinkle belle- cool it ok...doesnt help to be angry. Maybe next time u can set an alarm so u can remind urself and jab urself at the same time daily?

hoping: Trust Angela and Dr Paul. This op mus be necessary coz IVF is so daunting and exp...they would want to clear every possible impediments for you. I know it means more waiting but gd things are worth the wait? Plus, at least u know now IVF is sthg u r moving fwd to, so its gd to be all sure! Jiayou!

Twinkle, dun get upset over later jab timing. As long as its within the day, its fine.

I used to jab at night after work, more flexible timing.

Rose - me preggy now? if you consider 5 days after ET as preggy.. hehehhh.. yeah.. i should think positive and believe now that i am 19 days or 2.5 wks pregnant..
i 'm doing my fet now.. had twins from my first ivf..

Hi Leapgal,

Thank you for being my unofficial nutritionist.
I know this sounds silly but how do you eat the egg white? Remove the egg yolk and then???

Mel,
oh...wow, twins! How old are they already? Was it you first IVF then? Its my first IVF. Do you have any specific symptoms during your 2ww?

thanks mel and pink destiny

i was actually hesitant in wanting to do anymore op coz i hav done lap twice. However as i badly want to be a mummy and want to be able to hold my babies...i will go tru everything n anything to make it a dream come true

mel: i m imaginging myself with twins now to give me motivation to move forward and look on the bright side to all this....hehe...i pray and hope u will bfp...oh that goes to u too pink! then u can all spread baby dust to me

hoping: we are all in this tog. One sister said before, we would all be mommies one day! So out turn will come.

Hubby told me a week ago he dreamt we had a baby boy. One chuby fat boy which we carried. I was overjoyed. Although I am not superstitious, it sounded like some encouragement. Either that, he must be thinking too much of wanting to be a daddy! ;p

oh pink...ya we would surely be mummies one day soon! good to have some encouragement...think of that little chubby boy whenever u r going tru all ur jabs

i am constantly thinking of twins now to make me overcome the fear of the op.

I'm with Dr Marianne Hendricks at KKIVF.
You too!!! Hopefully we are all blessed with a BFP!!!! :D Today is my 5th jab, I had sleepless nites before the jab as I was really nervous to think of the 21days self-jab thingy but I think I am slowly taking it well...

pink: m still sorting out work and all..mite be ard end of tis month or if not will be next mth...guess beta get it done n over wit so i can go on to ivf aft tis

Hi pink, are you with kk too? im going to kk this thursday for scanning. My period was very light compared to use to be. maybe due to lucrin injection. I also having hot flush now and then until my throat feel itchy already. trying to drink more water. hope every thing goes well.

My hubby also had dream that im pregnant. Even my close fren also dreamt of that and called me early in the morning asking me is it true. Hehe... Hopefully it really come true.