Syrah: Yup yup..like so fast...Thanks dear..Hope u have a smooth journey too in Aug..take time to heal ur body...Everything will be fine...

Me just got back from GP..kena ulcer at tonsil..will get back my voice soon...At last...so lost without my voice..;-)

Nites to all Sistas...Take Care & Hugz to All..

TTCing,
Hehehe...believe it or not, my hubby loves confinement food. He's a great fan of ginger and vinegar. Basically he loves food. So we do end up going round quite a bit searching for food. I can't wait to clear these 2 weeks and go out and eat! Miss hawker fare!

Hi Lubna,

I have my acupuncture previously. I read from this forum 2 yrs back and went to try since I also want to boost my chance. Come to think of it, it's quite uncomfortable with the needles poking you but for the sake of wanting baby, will be going for acupuncture again before my FET. However, you may like to check with your dr as I did ask my dr for advice too and he gave me the green light.

Hi gracie, for us, the embroyologist came to discuss with us on which approach we would like. Not sure if this is the same at every centre. I think it largely depends on the number of eggs n the sperm quality, whether which method will have more fertilized eggs. I believe they also want us to have the best chances of having more fertilized eggs.

gracie, thanks for encouraging me! I hope to have success soon too!

Mel: you've got mail and your twin boys are sooo...cute! Maucks them! :p

Hi Lychee,

Is this your first IVF attempt? Have you been assigned to a particular nurse at TFC ?
I have already made my appointment to visit Dr Cheng to start my suppression on 25Jun.

This's my first IVF cycle. I've injected lucrine for 13 days but I haven't had my AF yet (late 3 days). Usually, I have AF every month.
I also got swollen & sore boobs (as premenstrual symptoms)
Please share with me your experience... I'm worried

It is my 1st IVF cycle. Did not hv any side effect at all during all the jabs. Did my ET on the 24th May . Now waiting for BT on nx Wed.

While resting at hm, I hv experienced gastric pain like that puts me in cold sweat. It was so terrible that I went back to KKH 24hrs womens clinic on 28th may after midnight n then was diagnosed with OHSS. Blood count was bad. Lungs has water. Was asked to admin but refused by me. Did not hv a good week still coz of the bloatness. Drinking lotsa water is important to hydrate urself n ur blood stream. Also I starts to hv cramps on off n getting more intense like signal me my menses is coming. It is the same type of feeling before my menses come. Hv sore breast during the 1st week n now subsided. No spotting.

Am getting a little worried now. With the above info, can someone advise me or drop me hints if my ET is successful based on ur experience.

Tk u in adv, Lynn

Balroggal,

U r hving all the symptoms of OHSS. It happened to me. Better go hospital to hv ur full blood count test n liver function test. If too serious will affect kidneys too. Don't delay.

The bright side is it will goes off within days or weeks depending on individual.

For those going for IVF, do read up a little more on Ovarian Hyperstimulation Syndrome.

good morning!

hi karen and gracie, only realised now that you have an older child too, and here i am thinking that it is unusual for someone to do ivf for #2 (even my mum seems to think I am mad to want to try ivf since i already have one).

hi tokkie, glad to find a friend with raffles too
I didn't know they have TCM leh. had made an appointment with the TCM at AMK this friday liow. is the service at raffles good? i am still considering btw kkh and raffles due to the cost issue.

does anyone here have thin lining? mine is borderline, and usually on the lower part of the borderline
so I am worried that if I go kkh, dunno if the doctors and nurses there be able to monitor the lining properly? i presume that it won't be dr loh doing the monitoring right? else, all will be for nothing.

Hi leeoh,

I'm with Sheila loh too, and just did my first ivf cycle under her care. am now 8 wks with singleton.
Actually I hv an older child that was conceived naturally, but had difficulty ttc for some time, and eventually had ivf. I also did accupuncture with ms jin at raffles. Found it convenient, since same location, and she's familiar with the drs' protocols, able to review their scans etc and time acupuncture with the whole cycle.

acupuncture is supposed to help with the womb lining also i think...

Hi chupchip, what is AF? i have also started my lucrin injection for 7 days now. Should have come my menses already but no sign yet. but the feeling of coming is already there with my boobs feeling swollen and cramp at my abdomen. Feeling tired throughout. then at night i feel warm. is that normal anyone?

Hi Gracie, thanks for the reply. Which place do you go for your acupuncture? Should i also ask my hubby to do since he got low sperm count?

Morning all.

Leeoh : yeah. I really like Raffles service, after what I had gone thru with TMC. The nurses at the Women Centre is very gd every time I go immediately they know what to do, whether is blood test or wat. Quite good. Urm.. to be its quite ok.

The TCM is on 13 floor, so I go weekly and during IVF twice weekly, 1 before ET, 1 before ET & 1 after ER.

The last failed IVF, Dr Thong email Ms Jin(TCM physician) to let her know why it failed. So usually they work together.

Just a gauge for you, my 1st IVF I spent abt $14.5K before CPF withdrawal, and my 2nd IVF including growth hormones and no ET is about $16K.

hi jbean. congrats! how long did you try before you decided to go ivf?

hi tokkie and jbean, does Ms Jin do for males? since my hubby would need to treat his varicocele? i am wondering if there needs to be acupuncture on his 'there' which would be awkward.

May I know what is ET?

Hi Lynn,
U mention that u hv alr done ET, u mean aft ET there is still a possibility of having OHSS. I thought OHSS is only during stimulation stage.
I'm also like u no symptoms at all. I'm currently in the stimulation stage. Check with TCM sinseh she says is better to hv some bloatedness which means u are producing more eggs. She can even console me by saying maybe my threshold of pain is higher than others n hence I'm nt sensitive to it. Kind of relieved upon hearing it but i guess no pt guessing n worrying myself, I can only pray for God's blessings.

Leeoh, the nurse will monitor the linning in a way that at various stages it makes sure it fits the requirements. For eg, bef stimulation should be ard range of 2-5mm, if u falls into the citeria then will let u proceed to the next stage. Correct me if i'm wrong. I'm currently in my 1st cycle too.

JBean : congrats!

Leeoh : yeah, Ms Jin does for both male and female. You can bring your report and test results and she will see, and decide what is best for you.

ET is embryo transfer

TTCingBaby,
do try to get confinement food. I had about 12 days of normal food cos i was down with sore throat etc. And i can feel that my body has weakened cos when the bathroom floor is wet after my DH bathes, my legs sometimes hurt.

Syrah,
wow, gd that your DH shares your love for food. Can you let us know which stall is the one at Lucky Plaza cos it's near Mount E? And what do u recommend from there?

lubna
Hi, i can't take milk too cos semi-lactose intolerant. But i eat pizza cos i can tahan mozz cheese, hard cheddar. You can also have Yakult. There is lactose-free milk in high-end supermkts but they are expensive!
More impt, if you've been stressed, it won't be easy trying to get preggy on 1st ivf try. I've gone thru that!! Try accupuncture, BOTH of u. Just the needles w/o any chinese meds 1st and see whether it can improve your DH's sperm count and also relax u. Hint, china-born TCM docs are usu more gentle with needles;)

ya i wanted to enquire abt that ...
while on lucrin, AF should report as normal or late by abit..

will the AF be same as normally (i.e 2 days heavy & 3 days light flow) ? or will it be like spotting

Thanks cupcake. I will try to be less stress now. Ok, will try acupuncture to make myself less relax. Any suggestion where i shall i go for the acupuncture?

syrah,
wah, seldom heard guys likes confinement food..
U r lucky!! I like those herbal soup or any types of soups.. every meal if have soup, it will be great

Cupcake,
The stall is at Lucky Plaza. If you go from Mt E, there's a side entrance (with a few steps heading down). Once inside, head towards the back behind the escalator and you can see a coffee shop. There's only 1 stall there that sells red wine chicken. You can choose to have it with rice, mee suan etc.

For vinegar pork trotters, according to hubby, there's 1 stall at the coffee shop opposite lavender market that sells it. That place is famous for its mixed pig's organs soup.

These 2 the only 2 confinement food that I can think of being sold outside. Anyone can think of anything else?

TTCing,
Yup! Herbal soup really nice. Remember reading from here abt making black chicken essence and got my hb to try cook for me. It's so nice! I cant tolerate the taste of normal chicken essence. But this black chicken essence taste more like thick chicken soup. Dunno if we did it correctly but it's ok cos it's just so tasty!

Pinkaddict, I have sent you an email with photos how to prepare the bai feng wan. Please check.

AP, can give me your email address? I will send you the pictures and instructions.

Gracie, ya! You are right! Can add meat also. But because on the 15th day, I am on vegetarian, hence I didn’t add meat

Leapgal, yes! Don’t worry about follicle numbers. If GOD really wants to let you have a baby, you can also strike with one embies. Too stressed is not good for your follicle growth. Trust me!!

Phoenix, my earlier dosage was only 100iu for puregon. But was later doubled to 200iu from Day 5 onwards cause eggs were not growing at all.  And when eggs finally grew from 3.5mm, I reduced dosage to 150iu.

During 2ww, I was only given antibiotics (green and black capsules), duphaston and every 3 to 4 days pregynl jab for support. I understand from KKIVF because mine was converted from SOIUI to IVF, I was given antibiotics later. I only have 13 eggs retrieved, hence I dun have additional progesterone support like the pressary insert.

Frankly, most of the ladies here, including myself, very kiasu. We stayed at home during 2ww where possible. Unless really required to be around at work, I also suggest that you stay at home. I try to minimize walking. Just lie all day in bed and watch TV. Only occasionally, go out to run urgent errands. We spent so much time and money on this IVF process, really not worth taking any risk.

In KK, Grade 5 is considered the best, followed by 4, 3, 2, 1… I am not sure if it is the same protocol as those private hospitals. I still have 3 frozen embies. But only Grade 3 nia. But will go for medicated FET after I pop. Just want to give all eggs a chance to stick with me… since all 5 fought so hard to help me to convert to IVF. They are good fighting warriors!!

Mel Wong, just want to say “HI”. And all the best to your ET today. Lota baby dusts to you. I also hope to transfer 3 embies when I do FET nx year.

Winnepooh, stay positive. DH and yourself must stay relaxed. BD every alternate two days if you can, to increase your chances.

JJ/Karen, I have 13 eggs collected. Was told by the embryologist that they fertilized through ICSI. No natural for me cause they don’t want to risk of wasting the eggs in case it doesn’t get fertilized naturally.

Faith, better be thankful that you are not having any symptoms now… hehe. I started to feel bloated when my puregon was increased to 200iu. Think it was from Day 5 onwards bah…

Judebabe, I am now 35. I was on puregon for two soiui cycle. I understand puregon and gonal f are two different brands. Dun think one is concentrated than the other. I responded well to puregon during my first cycle. So for second cycle, I continue with Puregon.

Nadia, please take lota water. Please do not fall sick during this time.

Thanks BB Rabit! I thought Lucrine suppress hormones and AF should be earlier

Hi Lubna,
AF = Aunt Flow = menses
I started Lucrine 6days earlier than you. We'd be IVF-cycle buddies
. Btw, who's your doctor?

I got abdomen cramp 2 times at 2 nights after I ate papaya. I dont know if any relation between the paint and papaya
Since taking Lucrine, I've woken up at 4am for a while, then sleep again.

Just Faith: Tanks for the info dear...Really useful...ya trying hard to get well..now much better after seeing GP yesterday..gonna eat well and get my flu jab soon...and not forgetting to go and get my Vit C...U take care too...

This is the 2nd time i got badly sick..1st was during CNY..bad flu..this time throat infection..So now I will try to be more careful..;-) Thanks for the advise..HUGZ..HUGZ..

Just Faith,
Seems that u are responding very well. Mine is on 200iu as well. Today D7 le, still the same. Guess I'm nt gg to read into much into symptoms, stressing myself with it. Last night suddenly wake up cos I dreamt my IVF process didn't go well. Keep telling myself to hv +ve thoughts, is hard but diverting my attention fr it.

Faith,

Dunno leh... I always suspect I m over sensitive because I have PCOS... PCOS patients have higher risk of OHSS.. Was so worried that I have OHSS. I very kiasi, I drank alot alot alot of water everyday during stimulation stage. Cos I scared of falling sick, and also worry of UTI.

I really think water is the best medicine.

is 200iu puregon a normal standard dosage? I saw my doc wrote that on a memo to pass to IVF nurses. btw what is puregon for? how do the docs decide when to increase or reduce dosage?

Daylesford,

Yup this is my first IVF attempt although no ET this time. Will do FET in August. I'm not sure if they assign nurses but usually we are attended to by Shamsia (whoops not sure how to spell) and she is very good. Gives us a lot of tips and very patient in answering questions

The nurse have told me to drink ginger and longan water, which helps reduce bloatedness and prevent OHSS (anyone please correct me if I am wrong).

I also have risk of OHSS, that is why the nurse advised to drink ginger and longan water for 10 days from day of ET. And must drink a lot and ensure that when u pee, it is colourless. So far, it is working for me.

syrah, puregon is to simulate the growth of the follicles so that u have more eggs during ER. I guess there r many factors in deciding the dosage. Mine was 400 puregon but when i start simulation the nurse said dr loh said changed to gonal f, i think those who did ivf in kkivf under dr loh in nov/dec were using gonal f instead of puregon.

Thanks Gan.

Also, when AF arrive, does the injection starts immediately? Yday, I visited Dr Zhou for the first time. She was saying injections will only start 29 days after AF reports? Kinda confused now. I assume puregon is the first injection?

Gan, is it gonal f better than puregon? Cos fr wat i kn gonal f more ex.

Just Faith, I'm a gd 'drinker' of water since younger. No other drinks except water but I must hv my cup of milk tea in the morn, still sticking to this routine but only 1 cup everyday. Anyway gg for scan tomorrow. Wish me luck with lots of EGGS! Oops... nv take eggs today, later go buy. Hee...

Syrah, I think for the 1st time then will start at 200iu, of cos they will also base on age ba. They will increase n decrease d dosage when they c the scan.

faith puregon and gonal f are both for simulation, can't say which is better but yes heard gonal f more ex. Sisters at nuh are using gonal f. Kkivf used puregon but there were some using gonal f like myself and some sisters who did ivf last year nov/dec. not sure abt now

Syrah, if ur cycle is regular, u start lucrin injection on D21, after 2 weeks of lucrin go for blood test and scan to check if u r sufficiently suppressed. If yes, u can go on to simulation, i.e. Puregon or gonal f. But if ur cycle not regular, u take microgynon i think on d2 and start lucrin on d16.

Lychee,
I think only private embroyologist ask as I was not being asked by KK. In fact, I dun get to see the embroyologist much. Think that's the personalised treatment in private sector.

Leeoh,
You can try acupuncture if you are worry abt the lining. Dr Loh is not the one doing the monitoring. But he will be the one doing the transfer of embryos.

Lubna,
I did my acupuncture at paragon Eu Yan Seng. The clinic there is known for fertility and the docs are from China. I think it's the same level as Care if I rem correctly.

My husband had his acupuncture with me before my ER. My husband was also taking Vit B, zinc & chinese medicine to help improve his sperm count.

hi gracie

for kkh, do they even tell you the quality of the embroyos? who would recommend which ones to use?

yep, exploring TCM to help with the lining. but haven't seen a TCM doctor yet.

Is it normal not to have menses when using Lucrin? Coz mine havent come since injecting the lucrin. Mine normally come at day 25 but today already day 27.

Ladies with kkh, to get the govt grant, do i need to get a referral from polyclinic first before making appointment with Dr sf loh? may i also know the normal time lag between seeing him and the actual ivf procedure?

Hi skies,

sorry wasn't following this thread! It moves really fast!

Did u manage to find your bills for your IVF at TMC with Dr. Cheng?

leeoh, i didn't go thru the polyclinic route, i made appt directly to see dr loh.
As long u do ivf in govt hospital and transfer max 2 embbies u r entitled to govt co fund.

Lubna when i went briefing by nurse last yr, i am expected to see my af once during lucrin stage.