blissful2010 - the ivf protocol for me should be long one... some call it fresh protocol.

Based on what i can remember (correct me if wrong)
D1 of AF (full pad type) call kkivf. then D21 start lucrin for abt 4 weeks then 2 weeks of gonal f / puregon then inject HSG then ER & ET then 2ww

est duration of whole protocol abt 1.5 to 2 mths, this was what was briefed to me.

I suppose D2 can collect everything like injects, meds etc

blissful: the lucrin jab is a fine needle type.. not painful if you jab at 90 degree... sit down when u jab will be easier..
.. after 1 -2 jabs, thennot scary liow... nowi worri is puregon jab... seen some post tat is more painful... i wonder how thick will the needle be.. cos from the picture kkivf give doesn't show the needle only the pen... hee

Faith, my 1st scan was done in d7 followed by 2days interval. I dun really feel bloated but abit uncomfortable at lower ab. Only my tummy showed a sign of bloating n it starts fr a later stage of puregon...=P

karen - I inject puregon b4 with the pen ... its very similar to gonal f .. also very fine needle.

ant bite pain lor .. I more worried abt those meds we hv to mix ourselves or those bottle type injects ...

I had quite a good response with puregon (50iu's) don't knw if kkivf will still prescribe me with puregon or gonal f ...

puregon serves the same function as gonal f... now i learn more... hee

50 iu, good response... wow.. how old were u when u jab? u can choose not to reply ur age...

Thanks nm! At least I feel I'm normal, haha...
Waiting for my scan on Thurs

NM, enzyme plex should be something healthy right? U mean is nt adviseable to take? I hv been taking daily.

Karen, the ginger drink is suppose to help ppl with nauseous n bloatness. Maybe can take some sour plum which I personally feels it helps, but there's more of a unhealthy source cos of the high salt content.

hi blissful... i ask my hubby to help me see if i jab the correct amount... then after a few jabs, i'm on my own... u can try this method.. :0)

hi sistas... i gotta go.. need to go ftech my gal from childcare... see uall again... tks for sharing... cheers! hv a nice evening...

tickles:
thanks for ur feedback. I called Natal Essentials earlier this morning cos i was worried that we don't have a cheque book but they were quite nice and said can pay in cash. Even offered to deliver tonight!! Alamak, I told them to come 2mro instead. Give u my feedback i've tried all their dishes.

mel
Will do. Thanks!

gan
No prob. I know you've had a rough past few weeks.

Pandawife, nm and Gan,

May i ask what is your dosage at stimulation stage huh? Did you all use gonalF?

Last time, when i use puregon ... was prescribed 200iu... now have to take 300iu( gonalF)... nurse says that i am not young... so the doasge have to be high...got thhis kinds of things meh?

I heard from dr zou that gonalF is more concentrated... I am wondering whether i am putting abt 400iu of purgeon equivalent into my body....

the visit to hopsital is really time consuming.... lucky i am off work now

Pandawife, how i wish to be like you to have da bao, er bao and san bao...btw..... what is TFC....Is it Thomson Fetility Centre ?

its ok ... i'm 28yrs old when injecting puregon, now 29 yrs cos just pass my bday haha = p

total abt 9 eggs (sizes above 10, 2 eggs were sized 17 & 16.5) i didn't note down those that were smaller then 10 ...

but alas .. soiui failed hence didn't want to waste anymore time & jump straight to ivf.

Judebabe, don't worry too much about the gonalF. It more can give better result, why not rite

So is your ER this week?
Your 2ww will be earlier than me.

JJ & Blissful: we gonna be cycle buddies..but I maybe starting alittle earlier..kena spotting in May..so when I went to see Dr Sadhana..She gave medroxyprogestron to eat liao..Just finished the pills yesterday..AF shld come by end of this week or so..I also have bought the microgyn to be consume in D2..but still need to report to IVF once D1 heavy flow comes in...

For now..I have lost my voice..due to throat infection...hehehe...So lost without my VOICE..Sob!! Sob!!

To all Sistas..Take Care...Nice to see alot of new Sistas joining in the thread...

Thxs all for ur valuable advice n assurance. Maybe been too parnoid but u gals kn we can't help it at times. Will learn to relax. Hee... Alr told DH to rent me comedy shows to standby aft ET, wahaha...

Karen, the puregon needles n lucrin is abt the same also fine needle, dun worry! We are all BRAVE MTB!!! Initially I was also very terrified but the pain turn out to be bearable, more like ant bite. Everything will be worth it when we c our bundle of joy.

Mel, ur boys seems alike in a way. So adorable.

judebabe i was on gonal f, quite high dosage 375. When i first went for consultation, was original told 400 puregon. I was 37 when i did fresh last yr. But i think dosage not just based on age. But i think i was alittle oversimulated, had 31 eggs retrieved.

faith,
In fact i feel bloated ard 1wk+ after Lucrin. As in, I feel my abdomen very heavy..I eat abit food only I can't eat le, yet I gain weight..I become more bloated after ard 2 days of puregon..btw, my scan is at day 8 of puregon and day 8 n 9 i continue with puregon..

cupcake..i was w dr fong yang..his clinic @ paragon too..bt ivf done at mt e

mel...aiyoh.....ur boys sooooo cute...may tis rd strike two princesses..hee...

judebabe...i hv 3 times the worry too...everytime go for scan i hold my breath 3 times! cos dr need to check for heartbeat one by one...

judebabe..i was on 200 iu puregon for a few days..after tht reduce to 150..but add 75iu of menogon to speed up the growth of the smaller sized eggs...

Pandawife,
oh, i didn't know that docs not stationed w/in Mount E can do ivf there too. That's gd. But after seeing the recent hospital bill, i realise Mount E is the most expensive place to be at!

Wow! the thread is moving so super fast today!

Lee Oh : I'm also with Raffles, but is with Dr Thong. You can still use the Medisave withdrawal of 6k,5k,4k. The difference with the public hospital is that no grant is given.

Judebabe : dun worry about the Gonal-F dosage, it is usually coz the response from our body. I'm 29, with PCOS, I was not responsive at 275 & 300iu, resulting that I used 375iu in my last cycle.

Today I went for my D10 scan for natural FET, and was very disappointed. The doc couldn't find any follicle, meaning no eggs, so may cancel the cycle if there is still no improvement on Fri. Cross fingers, and pray hard that miracle will happen and i can continue for the cycle..
If not then I will have to postpone to next cycle and do a medicated FET.

At least the good thing today is I managed to check out the quality of my frozen embryos. 3 grade 1-2 (which will be used for my 1st FET) and the balance 13 are grade 2.
Hope they will survive the thaw, should I be able to proceed with ET.

I'm starting my injections at KKHIVF next wk. Can anybody tell me if I can continue to take collagen pills during this time? I hv eczema and collagen really helps but am worried that I shld not be taking it

Blissful: Hopefully Hopefully...I wish and pray for all Sistas...we can BFP together....

Now wan to make sure I get well fast..Off to GP later...;-)

Thanks all for your feedback,

now that i know, age is NOT the only factor that determines dosage...

Gan,

did you say that you put in 3 embie huh ... ? I tot kk (govt hospitial) can only do max of 2...

Pandawife,
CARE is really good... they even give medicine to let slower eggs catch up leh...i thnk govt hospital dun have...

Su_yanna,
Met Prof today... he says that my ER can be on next monday when he is around..hahha...
today i got 12 eggs..

tokkie,

You are with Dr thong isit ? I heard she is not bad.... shelila loh also good..RH has tcm unit .... did you do accup with them ?

judebabe i put in 3 embbies for my FET. But for fresh i put in 2 embbies. U can put in 3 embbies if u want for fresh cycle but in that case u can't get the govt grant for govt hospital.

Judebabe : yeah I'm with Dr Thong. I'm also with the TCM there, under Ms Jin. Easier to have everything under 1 roof, coz they communicate with each other, so 1 knows what the other is doing.

Judebabe,
i hv not seen any other ladies using menogon except those from care.... even in my previous cycle, the doc also did not use this drug..i ended up with eggs of very varied sizes...quite a number wasted coz not mature enuff.

Hi! *Waves* Wow...so many new sisters around! Nice to meet everyone. This thread is really blazing off.

Went for my follow up with Dr Loh today. He shard with me that it's a really gd thing that the tubes were both removed. The 'insides' of it was really BAD, esp for IVF. There was also a small polyps and he removed that for me too. It's only when I left the clinic and really read through the report that I realised there's even a cyst found in one of the tubes. *Faint* Luckily it's benign. I'm still trying to digest all the information of how terrible condition tubes can be in. In any case, it's all behind me. Have to look forward to IVF with a fresh clean slate!

Mel:
Your twins are adorable!!! I want twins too!!!
)))) I can totally understand your feelings. We tried for many years before getting an ectopic too. On hindsight, I think the ectopic was a blessing in disguise. Otherwise we wouldn't have found out abt the conditions of my tubes and blindly just continue with TCM. Hopefully can have twins like you soon too!

Cupcake:
I tried newbaby previously for my 2-weeks 'confinement'. I did enjoy the dishes, not so much the soup (which was kinda diluted in my opinion) As I specified no eggs and chicken, they were very obliging. The uncle who did the delivery is very nice. Always prompt and he even tried his best to accommodate a timing as I had to go for doc's appt. Found out that it's run by a family business. I like their consideration especially. When the uncle realised that it's just my mum and me at home, subsequently the amount of food and rice seemed just a little bit more than the very first initial portion delivered. He figured my mum would be sharing some of the food with me and did it out of goodwill.

gals,
nt sure if u all hv this problem.my stomach was really bloated. i cleared bowels 5x today, all not smooth de..when i want to wash, my stomach super pain n hard time washin shole lo..i can feel tht my stomach is super big, heavy and tight..is it normal?

Nadia:
Read that you're starting on your IVF journey anytime now. Wishing you all the best!!!

Lee:
Dr Loh is a really experienced doctor. I really enjoy talking to him. Yes, he's direct but I find him really chatty and amiable. He's really funny and even asked if I wanted to watch video of blocked tubes on this foreign lady with similar situation as I have which he happened to be doing a lecture on. He whipped out this thumbdrive and was like so eager to show off. Haha! But pity the computer couldn't seem to read the video. Maybe cos I expressed my concerns and thus he shared more on his past experiences. All in all, I'm really glad that I'm under him now.

syrah,
feedback for all the confinement companies seem mixed leh. Never mind, i try Natal tomorrow and see how. My mum very funny, never knew got companies that cater confinement food so when she found out from her maid who prepares some of my meals that i don't need food for 7 days, she panic and worry i kena cheated by 'pretend' confinement caterers. I had to reassure her over the phone that there are such businesses.

You went thru 2 laps? You better rest more. I went for one and hope my endo doesn't come back.
Do take care okay?

Cupcake,
I'm already eating outside food..no confinement food for me le...is it ok? just drinking chicken essence & red date longan drink and Dr Zou's medicine..

Mel,
your sons are so adorable.. they will be a pair of handsome twins when they grow up

Hi mel,
Your boys are 1 yr plus? So cute of them. You going to transferred 3 so total 5! Really admire you. there are times when I can't even handle my boy but then it is a blessing to have him.

Hi Lychee,
Can we have our choice of ICSI or normal? I was told my 1st was ICSI but is unsure whether the frozen ones are ICSI too. I did ask them before why mine is ICSI and was told higher chance for fertilisation. They didn't ask for my choice and I also blur blur. Had I known earlier, think can try with half half like you. I called KKIVF but was told only the embroyologist knows.

pink-destiny,
I was 26 when I had my 1st IVF. I decided to go straight to IVF after my consulation with Care, angela due to my hubby's low sperm count. Ever since then, I nv regret as I striked the 1st time. I think age plays a role and of course our body. So do take care and wish you with a BFP soon

Hi hoping (hopeforamiracle)
Your nick is hope for miracle so I'm sure miracle will happen to you soon. I can understand how you feel cos during that time, my sister-in-law is having 2 kids but I have none. Failed iuis doesn't mean no hope. All the best to you in IVF

Cupcake,
Yes, this is 2nd lap and had both tubes removed. 1st lap was ectopic and tubes were left intact. With confinement catering, I'd say it's prob the same as normal catering, there'll always be mixed reviews. With your maid cooking too, you'll end up with loads to eat! The portions are not small and the soup is a whole container full which we can never finish. In any case, eat whatever you can now. Your body needs it.

TTCing,
Do try to eat some sort of confinement food, even if bought from outside. There are food stalls that sells confinement related food like "ang zhao" chicken which is red wine chicken and vinegar pork trotters. I remember Crystal Jade sells this dish. Red wine chicken harder to find. There's a stall at Lucky Plaza coffee shop, one stall near the 'shi ma lu' temple and my favourite is near mosque street area.

lee oh (leeoh),
I was initally with Care but moved to Dr Loh at KKIVF due to the co-funding as only public hospitals applies. Partly also becos of Dr Loh of his magic hand. Thou my charges are abit higher since he is the senior doc but co-fund is still applicable. I think it really depends on each individual.

I just seen Dr Loh last week and he advised me to go for 2 embbies for higher chance. But me & hubby are not ready for twins on top on my 1yr old boy, hence we decided to try for 1 first. My another consideration is since I have 14 frozen can afford to try 1 first (though not all can last the thawing part). If unsuccessful, then I will decide again. Though it is unusual to transfer 1 but we think of the fact that we can't handle 3 right now. I think this depend on whether you and your husband is ready for twins.

In fact, I have 2 embbies but conceived singleton, like what Gan said, it's all 缘份 lor.

To me, KKIVF beside seeing Dr Loh takes me half a day of waiting time usually. The rest are quite fast like max 1 hr waiting time.

syrah,
wah..u know quite a few places selling confinement food ya.. thanks alot for the recommendation.. will go try it during wkend..

Poppy,
Hello, guess you are from CARE as well ?

Mel,
This thread is moving too fast for me to catch up. I was damn busy at work this whole afternoon. There are a couple of gals here from CARE. I did have wavering thoughts of changing from TFC to CARE. But again like you said..baby game is not easy play. Requires lots of luck too.

I will stick with my initial decision – Dr Cheng as TFC’s protocol is simplified. I am quite worried on the jabs though… TFC will use BCPills instead of jabs.

Cheer up and all the best for your ET tomorrow. .. you are our role model.. Twins and going for your No#3-4-5
Your boys are very adorable

You are travelling to HK for a holiday during your 2WW..bringing your boys along too ?

Lychee & TTcingBB ,
Lychee: Thanks for that we may see each other if your FET is in Aug ;).. TTcingBB is also planning for her FET in Aug/Sep period as well… Best of luck to both of you all.

Hi, i have been married for almost two years now and trying to conceive but failed due to my hubby's low sperm count. Now i am in the process of IVF treatment. I just started my first stage of the cycle last Thursday. Anything should i do and dont for this first stage? i really hoping that i can be successfully pregnant after 1 cycle of IVf coz not be able to get pregnant fast has been stressful for me since everyone is pointing fingers at me. Now i am wondering, should i try acupuncture too to boost my chances. I am 31 this year and i cant drink milk coz it make me going toilet after that. Please anyone, give me ur advice. Btw, im doing my ivf at kk.