Tickles,

How many you putting in this time?

Yesterday, I asked my dh how many he wants to put in. He said all. I said "you siao huh? all put in means all 6 leh." Then he said 3. I also think so. Me already 36 years old this year, so dun care so much liao..just put in 3 & see how..hahaha

I am new to here and I am currently in my first fresh cycle of IVF with Doctor Stephen Chew at NUH.

Completed Suprefact for two weeks and today is my fifth day of Gonal-F + suprefact. This morning rushed down to NUH for scan and BT. Was late for almost 45min as hubby not in town and had to get my boy to childcare before I am able to drive down from the East to NUH. Plus all the morning traffic. Luckily doctor was so nice to wait and was still very understanding.

Anyway, the scan can so far detect 6 follicles on the left at 9mm each. There are follicles on the right but then Dr Chew said it is not very clear from the scan how many there are and their sizes. So he will not record them yet until next scan. Will be going back on Monday for another round of scan and BT. Dosage of Gonal-F will remain at 3oo units for me according to doc. No change. Really praying for more good follicles. THe more the merrier. Hope to hear some of your expereinces as I am very new to the treatment and not sure what all these numbers imply. Good, bad or moderate. Doctor seems happy so far.

BTW, issit ok to go for foor reflexology at this point? Anyone has any experience to share?

Ladies who are going to do FET in KKIVF, do we have to queue to do FET? Learnt from here that some ladies need to wait 4 months to do IVF.

The next appt I have with Dr SF Loh is in Jul but I plan to do FET in May/ Jun. So do I need to call the nurse to rearrange the appt? Please advise. Thanks.

Prayhard,
I intend to put in 3. But Dr says depending on the thaw, they will thaw 3 only. If all 3 survive, we will put 3, if 2 survive, we will put 2, but if only 1 survive, they will thaw 2 more.. Cos the lab freeze the eggs in 3s, 2s, and 1s.. She say dun wanna waste the eggs..

Prayhard,
I'm doing natural. Its quite easy leh. Then doc say if (choy choy choy) fail hor, next month can do agaiin le. Cos this time round, no stimulation by medication at all.

Tickles,

Wow..the doc said like very easy like that leh..where got so many embryos to waste?

I intend to try natural also..hope I am ovulating every month..pray hard hard

jinnous - I'm doing soiui with kkivf. est cost adv to me was 1.7K. Mine is the clomid + puregon injects procedure.

My doc - Dr Loh, adv not to touch the govt grant & save it for use on IVF as ivf is more costly then soiui.

Wat's Thomson Fertility Clinic's prodedure for soiui ?? maybe can share more with me ?

Prayhard,
Yalor. Cos she dun wanna waste my eggs. So she say just thaw 3 and see their survival. Cos I know that some places, I forgot where I read le, they straight away thaw 5. Then if all survive and transfer 3, the rest will be wasted le

Prayhard,
If u intend to do natural, my doc tested me and scan me to cfm I will ovulate on my own the month b4. Maybe you can ask your doc to do the same. Then try to do the same things for both months. Eg: Exercise, or eat the same food, TCM etc. Dun do anything new.. You get wat I mean? Cos last month my doc tested and cfm I ovulated. So she told me this month b4 I start to do the same as what I did last month, dun try out new things.

Prayhard,
If u intend to do natural, my doc tested me and scan me to cfm I will ovulate on my own the month b4. Maybe you can ask your doc to do the same. Then try to do the same things for both months. Eg: Exercise, or eat the same food, TCM etc. Dun do anything new.. You get wat I mean? Cos last month my doc tested and cfm I ovulated. So she told me this month b4 I start to do the same as what I did last month, dun try out new things.

nancy - you really have gone through a lot... hugs Hope you'll succeed.
Very tough jouney for us all. Got to just bear with it. Most importantly, DH must be very supportive.
Regarding your holiday, like Tickles agree that you should really rest at least 4 days after ET. Just my 2cts worth...

Prayhard & Tickles
Jus my thinking...think its not safe to travel during 2ww, as we have come a long way to this stage and somemore we need to c doc during the 2ww & need to bring med which need to put in the refrig when travelling which can be quite “ma-fan”...I also bought airticket to Aussie, travelling period betw Apr to Oct and I’ll be doing my cycle soon..if successful think will call airline to ext the travelling period...All the best to u! Jia You!

I prepare to forgo the trip if necessary..think playing safe is more impt as I have spent so much time, effort, money, tears in this IVF journey...thanks for all your few cents advises

Prayhard,

Hi Mabel, welcome! FYI, there r some useful tips of "dos & don'ts" for the IVF process posted earlier. U may refer to them. All the best to u!!! Hope u can strike BFP 1st time!

Prayhard,

wah put 3? Are u ready for triplets? Dr Loh told me to put 3 coz he thinks I can carry triplets without problem as I am tall. Dh also agreed. Lucky didn't listen to these men. Put 2 kena 2 :p

Btw mine is Natural. Dun think hv to queue but I had to clear 2 cycles of AF as I hv just stopped breastfeeding at that time. Eventually I did FET after 3 cycles of AF as I was busy.

All the best to u!

Jinnous, yesterday I tabulate the total cost for my so-iui in kkh. I'm doing puregon injection & cost is 1.3k in total. The nurse told me estimate cost 1.5k+ depends on how much injection needed. Hope this helps!!

Tickles,

Let's see whether I understand what you are trying to tell me..

I am currently taking these:

Everyday :-
Before breakfast: one pill of omega-3 fish oil
After breakfast: Dr Zou's medicine
After lunch: Conceive Well Gold
After Dinner: Dr Zou's medicine

Every weekend:-
A bowl of self-brew bird's nest
Mop the floor
Wash clothing

Every week:-
Go for acu twice weekly

Do simple exercises at home as and when I remember or feel like doing..heehee

So you mean continue to do all these & dun add new things if I tested +ve ovulation in the month b4 the actual FET?

Singapoh,

I am small build leh..but cos I am old liao..so dun care so much just put in 3 to increase the chances...my dh also worry that if strike all 3 how..but I think we just have to take the risk..actually huh..I hope to have twins like yours, one boy & one girl, so perfect! Pray hard hard..

Hi Bing, thanks for ur info! Wow, ur hb is so gd... Read up abt ivf... My hb dun do that..

Hi babychloe, I'm back! Embryologist said she managed to freeze 1 more embryo, so nw I've 5... She can't cfm how many straws they r stored in... Said if I wan, I nid to fill up form n she can den go n check for... I didnt do so... She said they shld b stored 2-2-1...

hi Singapoh , my mum has passed me her thermal pot.. wanted to find out from u if u got any receipes for me to try out using the pot

Prayhard,

I am 37 this year. I m tall but already feel tired carrying twins. My MIL is big and tall. She had triplets without problem. She ate for 4 and expect me to eat for 3. Keke...

Hi Prayhard,
Thanks for the details.
Dr Loh who would like to check my uterus condition, so he scheduled mi for the scan.
I've not done any HSG or uterus scan b4...

JJ,

so far only make soup and barley water with the pot. Very good lor. Just boil the inner pot over the stove for 10 mins and it's ready in 2 hrs. Save gas and electricity.

I gave 1 small pot to my mum that comes with a recipe book. She's searching for it. Hopefully can find.

Hi LK,

No worries...we all share info in this forum. If you want to know any other things, please feel free to ask, I will ans if I know or other sisters here will help also..

Actually hor..Dr Loh didn't schedule me for this scan, it was bcos I worry about my lining thickness and uterus condition as I failed my IVF in Dec'09 so he thought since I am so concern on this so go for the scan and see the result lah..so ended up he scheduled me for the scan..but also good lah..if the result is ok, at least I have one thing less to worry about..think positively

Dun worry for this scan, it is painless but you will feel a little bit discomfort when the doc insert the instrument to open your vagina. the rest is painless..and the nurse has scheduled a female doc for me without me asking for one..so nice..

Welcome Mabel Tan!
I'm doing IVF at KKivf. My 1st cycle failed so waiting to do FET in MAY.
Collected 12 eggs but ended with 6 usable embryos. ET 2, now left with 4 frozen embryos.
Good luck ya ; )

Prayhard - when I failed my 1st cycle in FEB, email Dr Loh & he replied can call the nurses when I come AF APR/MAY. So don't think have to wait/queue for too long.
Found out also if we are much 'older', they'll schedule us earlier too.

Singapoh,

I am that kind eat a bit more will grow fat type, can't imagine if I really preg and have to eat more plus can't exercise much..my dh always say I will look like a ball, short and fat, if I preg..

BabyChloe,

Heehee..really? They will schedule us earlier if we are older? So the nurse scheduled me to see Dr Loh in Jul, consider young or old huh?

Tickles, Gan,

I found that my EQ and mood is much better after the long rest leh..now, no matter how my boss shows his black face to me, I also bochap liao. Last time, I would take it quite personnal..maybe bcos I keep telling myself to relax & take things easy..work is just work...so I think this self-psyco works leh..I see things in different light liao...

And after the failed IVF, I become stronger..now I go for all appt and scans alone...not scare or worry like last time..so to conclude, I learnt a lot along this IVF journey...so let's jia you, all ladies

PrayHard - Hmmm... you are younger than me mah, that's why Dr ask me to start in MAY ; ) During my 1st consultation with Dr Loh, that's what he told me... no time to waste cos of age.

BabyChloe,

Aiyo, I am only one year younger than you? Me also not that young liao...Actually I told Dr Loh I would like to do the FET in May/ Jun but bcos I need to go for the further scan so he said wait for the scan result first then schedule for FET..so I plan to call the nurse for an update next week...

And also, I told Dr Loh I want to put in 3 this time, he also didn't object..think he also think I am old liao might as well put more..heehee

waaaa the thread is so active...reading them now during lunch.

Babychloe for medicated, u need to take progynova from D4 of ur menses and d10 start to go for scan till ur lining is at least 8mm for et. My menses has not been regular since last june, so doing medicated. Haizzz like now no menses in feb..... I did my fresh in dec. Dr loh said can start fet using feb menses

Prayhard, looks like my et will be in april! I also booked a trip to penang end may last year during my fresh cycle. tot i will strike so cal in may i am in 2nd trimester can travel. =p unfortunately never strike. Will see how i am in may. Worst come to worst forgo the trip.

Jinnous, so iui no govt grant but can use medisave.

prayhard, dr loh was the one who suggested put in 3 embbies for me to maximise the chance.
dr loh wrote a memo for me attn to kkivf when i see him in early jan. And in the memo he wrote, start fet using feb menses and thaw 3 to put in
I have pass the memo to the nurse last week and she told me to call them on D1 of my menses

This is wat I saw in an earlier post from another forummer... I copied out so I have an idea.

"For SO-IUI, it costs S$1600
S$600 for Gonal F injections (2 ampoule; 75IU/day)
S$250 for IUI procedure
S$150 for sperm wash-up procedure
S$160 for Pregnyl injections (3x times)
S$400 for Consultation & USG (3x times) "

Is this similar as KKIVF?

Gan,

Now, I need Dr Loh to write me that piece of memo so that I can proceed with FET if my scan result is ok. Think I need to follow up with the nurse next week.

Next month is already Apr, so if I do it in May, I need to monitor my ovulation in Apr. And if I do it in Jun, I can monitor my ovulation in Apr & May...think to play safe, I do it in Jun better...

jinnous will check my bill when i am home, the sperm washing and iui cost looks similar.
I was on puregon, 50 units. Heard gonal f more ex than puregon. Tot hcg jab was lower at $30 plus

So means SO-IUI can claim from Medisave.

IVF grant only applicable to government hospitals. 3k per treatment?

jinnous yes..but as soiui as the cost is lower, dun claim from medisave. *touch wood* in case u want to do ivf, ivf is between 6k to 10k at govt hospital *double touch wood* that was what kkivf nurse advise me when i did my soiui last year. Govt grant only for ivf at govt hospital. $3k.

Jinnous,

Both SO-IUI and IVF can use Medisave. But in total, we can only use Medisave for 3 treatments, regardless whether is SO-IUI or IVF.

Normally, nurse/ doc will suggest to use Medisave when doing IVF cos IVF charges are much higher (more than S$7K normally) whereas SO-IUI is only about $1k plus. So they will suggest to "reserve" the chances of using Medisave for IVF.

As for Govt grant, yes, it is meant for IVF fresh cycle only, not meant for FET. And can transfer max 2 embryos. More than 2, can't get the govt grant.

But actually, you can keep all the receipts while doing your SO-IUI, if strike, can present all your receipts and claim Medisave.

Hope this has clear your doubts.

prayhard, yup get the memo from dr loh. also take it easy at work, i think work stress affect our body hormones. I have been very busy lately, so suspect 1 reason for the longer delay in my menses. Must have more work life balance ok!

Jinnous, 3k govt grant per treatment and 3x medisave deductible (6k, 5k, 4k). But not sure is it the same for private hospital. Doc suggest to keep it for future ivf treatment becos more costly.

My so-iui in kkh total cost <1.3k. Maybe different protocol so different price.

ultrasound+consultation = $400+
puregon x 2 (75iu/day)= $500+
pregnyl x 1 = $20+
ovulation tests x 5 = $70+
IUI+sperm preparation = $300+

Gan,

Fully agreed. In the past, I worked till 9pm daily then went home. Plus, working from home during weekends.

Starting from this year, I go back home the latest at 7pm, no more office work for me during weekends.

But becos of this "work attitude" differences, recently my work performance grading has dropped from A to B...sian...but I take it positively, there are gains and losses we need to take..so B performance grading also never mind lor...Me no longer young..how much time I can waste? So at this moment, stay happy and stressless is more impt than anything else...me see very "open", rite?

PrayHard - 1 year got diff. leh ; ) We swop age lah. he3!

As for me, Dr Loh suggest I start FET APRIL AF. But think it's too soon &amp; I'm not ready for it mentally since failed in FEB. Decided to start in MAY. Wish that age is on my side... given a choice would take 1/2 to a year break for TCM.

Hope your scan result will be ok then can start FET MAY/JUNE.

Prayhard - Just spoke to KKH Nurse Sarah, told her I'm thinking of doing medicated FET. Can't afford to keep going clinic for scan -natural FET. Wherelse for medicated its more or less 'controlled'. Don't want to have to abandon the cycle.

Insurance for 3 ET is $711 compared to 2 ET $107. But same here gonna transfer 3 this time round.

Gan - thank you for enlightening me on the medicated FET. So it's the same for both of us, Dr Loh recommending that we start FET using 2nd AF.

Did you go for a consultation with Dr Loh after your failed attempt?

Any idea whether I should start taking DOM at night &amp; wolfberries, longan and dried dates drink now? Read about it but not too sure. Thank you.

I was reading through the post, and have some questions...hope all can help.

Anyone, who DH diagnose of ZERO sperm, and still can go through IVF?