But due to KKH's quantity of patients, I would rather go else where to give birth...

Happened not more than once. Due to KKH's nurses (boils down to individual) negligance, wrong dosage of meds were given to newborn bb's !!

Sure there is horror story that we hear from each hospital (be it pte / govt) hence we ourselves hv to be vigilant too .. But when it comes to doctor's turf (i.e. administring meds) should the doc's / nurse's be at least competent in that ??? Wouldn't it be worrying that I have to double check on my doc's / nurse's ?? Wat does that say abt the medical field in Spore ??

Starbabies, i faced exactly what you faced before in KKH too. Lyn and Gan knows my case. To me, KKH is just a tool to help me get pregnant. I no longer see them as people i can depend on. I will seek pte gynae for close monitoring of my pregnancy.

Its good you are trying out other places, be sure to let them know what KKH cant give you so that they know they have to do better than KKH.

JJ, yes we cannot double check our doctors but at least we must know what they are giving us then if we feel not sufficient/in doubt, we ask for opinions etc ... eg. for FET KKH gives twice daily inserts whereas NUH or SGH (cant rem which one) gives only 1 insert a day. So you see, if one is at NUH/SGH and feel the support may be low, then one can ask the doctor whether can get 2 inserts instead. Maybe doc will give or maybe he/she will explain why only need 1 dose then at least one can have peace of mind knowing the concerns were noted. Sometimes that extra care/support may be just what we needed to boost success. At the end of the day, it only benefits us to get all our doubts clarified.

JJ, i am sharing base on my past experience. I trusted my medical team too much in the end, i lost my baby. If i had been more kiasu, when suspect that support is inadequate and insist on doctor's attention, i may have saved my child.

Starbabies,

Why don't you transfer your embryos to NUH instead going through d fresh cycle again? Maybe you can go for accupuncture before ET coz according to some sisters here, accupuncture helps in d lining.

brownie,

I believe most docs will suggest natural FET if they find that you are ovulating every month coz it is less taxing for our body coz don't have all d jabs. It's just my point of view

For me, my doc suggested medicated FET coz he will be in control of my cycle even thou I wanted to go through natural, he should agree too. But after he explained to me d difference, I feel that medicated is more for me coz I get stressed quite easily and might affect d hormones.

Gan,
My AF reported this morn le. I'm gg to see Dr Tan tml morn already.. So scared.. My FET is starting soon..

I was initially also wondering how come I need to do so many test for my natural FET but some others didn't. I think I will check with Dr Tan if natural/ medicated FET is more suitable for me tml. I dun want her to do natural for me cos I asked her for it. I want her to plan the best for me..

Ladies, let's make sure that our posts here are harmless and do not hurt other feeling. We are free to voice our opinions and feelings so as to encourage and motivate each other as this forum is a support pillar for most ladies here ....

brownie - I agree with skies as it does not mean that we ovuluate even though we had our AF on a regular monthly basis ... I was an example as I also do not ovaluate every mth even though I had my AF regularly...I wld encourage you to try medicate FET on your next try

Most of the post here are encouragment, own experience .... except some ...

Oh well ... the forum is a place for everyone to come in, we can juz read wat we like to read.

My AF also regular & on the dot .. but the last time i did BT it showed that didn't Ovulate ... so AF being regular isn't a sure sign that one has ovulated ... making medicate FET a prefered choice ... even though its a harder journey to tide thru ..

Hope i dont offend you ladies, i just want to share base on my experience and dont wish anyone here to go thru the same misfortune i had which could have been prevented had i known more, known earlier and persisted in seeking more care/attention.

Hi Tickles, can i ask you some things? Later i PM you ok?

Tickles,

Jia you. Try to relax more and keep yourself happy during this time. Muz try to stay happy..

If you are going for medicated FET, try not to stress yourself over d jabs and try to take your medication on time (+/-1hr). Also, don't miss any of them. Hope I'm not stressing you.

Sunflower see - u where got offend the ladies here = )

I'm sure ladies here are willing to hear abt yr experience hence letting us know when we should voice out...

I have been in this forum since 2008 and this is my third attempt doing a fresh ivf. My first was with KKH, 2nd was with raffles and 3rd is now with NUH. I am here to share my 3 experiences with you. Now I am currently on my day 3 of injections ( short protocol). These are all my own opinions so please just read through them for reference.

first a short history. Hubby went through 2 operations before we were married. He does not produce testosterone on his own so we knew before we were married that should we want children we would have to go through ivf.... but little did i know, that it was more diffcult than i thought. Just to highlight, we found out on our 2nd appointment with Dr Loh at KKH that hubby doesn't produce his own sperm.. Dr Loh suggested starting hubby on pregnyl to get sperm and slowing add in puregon to mature the sperm... so we did that and 6 mths later, we were ready for round one of IVF

In the 6 mths we were with KKH , Dr Loh was a very relaxed and patient doctor, during the course of the 6 mths, gov announced the ivf grant.. so when i started my ivf, dr loh was starting to get really busy. I did acupuncture, took chinese meds, chicken essence and egg whites. Each wait at KKH was about 1.5 hrs, and each time i see him, i spoke to him about max 15 mins.. we started on the first long protocol. During which all scannings and dosage increment was done by a junior doctor. Throughout the whole process, I saw Dr Loh only during ER and ET. I had 4 days of 200iu puregon, followed by 3 days of 300iu followed by 5 days of 400iu... On ER day I only had 4 eggs and by ET only 1 fertilized. This cycle failed. Dr blamed it on hubby's poor sperm ... what surprised me was he just simply said to me, next round we will start you on 400iu right away. I think you have low ovarian reserve. I was surprised at his assumptions without doing any back up test. I was disappointed but I did understand that he was really too busy, running from room to room for consultation. But when i told him I was likely to go over to raffles for my 2nd ivf, he commented about how it is ok to go try... I was not too comfortable with his remarks...

Zaza n JJ, this forum is not only a pillar of support for all of us, it is also a very gd source of info for most of us through the sharings
JJ is right to say that readers of the forum can exercise their own judgement n form their own conclusion. It is really not necessary to go all the way out to prove what we said is true. I'm sure as adults, we should be able to ascertain n digest certain info ourselves. We shld not digress too much on what some of us has written, ok?

Dr Loh also blamed my failure on "i think you have low ovarian reserve".
2nd round with Raffles,
Hubby continued to take his injections. he could not stop as if he did, we would have to start from scratch again. We saw Dr Thong Pao Wen as recommended by our friend. She is a very patient and caring gyne, did the full panel of bloodwork on me. She decided I would go on the short protocol. Going on contraceptive pills for one cycle and start gonal F. My dosage was 325 for 7 days, 525 iu with 75 iu luveris for 5 days. I had 8 beautiful eggs ( she said it not me ) . What happened was hubby's sperm not good enough, out of 8 eggs, only 2 fertilized. The two were put back in , but this cycle failed too. Dr Thong told us that she overlooked testing husband's sperm and the next round she would make sure this issue was addressed. She did manage to get the 8 eggs out of me which was good. But the down side, for some reason , she took 1.5 hours for my ET.!! that was a horrible experience, lying down for 1.5 hrs on a full bladder
but on the hindsight, everyone with me in the OT was very nice, friendly and even help drain some liquid out when i was complaining.. sorry TMI... The whole process with raffles was a pleasant one... in fact, i will go back to her should i become pregnant. I was very comfortable with Dr Thong.

Hi Jas, I remember u as I followed ur encounters as a silent reader then. My heart goes out to u. N let's hope things will get better n all of us will soon graduate from this forum.

hellooo zaza,
i am on my 3rd and final ivf.. after this, we will look to adoption. this is my last shot... and congrats on your babies !!

Oh ... Hi Jas, u born in 1982 ?? that's young .. Me 1981 ...

My situation is same as yrs .. my dh has a genetic defect that his testes does not produce sperm (at all) so didn't even take any meds. If want Dr Loh said he can perform a biopsy on DH to try to find sperms but likelihood is very low.

Hence we went ahead to purchase donor sperms from USA already. Its now sitting in the kkh's sperm bank. And I will start my so-iui with the onset of April's AF (most likely 1st week of Apr)

Sunflower, I m grateful for ur empathy n I dun tink ur posts r offensive

Where r u doing ur cycle now? At NUH?

Some of you will wonder why I react so slowly to the ivf drugs esp gonal F.... this is my account so far in NUH...
finally for my 3rd attempt, we decided to go NUH for the grant cause raffles was a little too costly ( my whole cycle was about $28k)....
I saw Prof Wong, and my first impression was a good one, he asked on my past few ivfs and told me...he will redo all test and bloodwork and he wants to cover all grounds before embarking on my ivf with me... he explained the possible causes of failure and all.. i had to do bloodwork, hubby had to do bloodwork and SA. I did a HSG and a AMH to see the ovarian reserve.. as it turns out, Dr Loh was right, I do have low ovarian reserve so I will never get OHSS. my tubes were clear no problems, cervix is fine .. so here i am on my third attempt. Prof Wong's highest dosage is 450iu of gonal F, he personally believes if you do not react with this dose, IVF will not work well. So here I am started with 20 days of contraceptive pills and day 3 of my short protocol ( comparing kkh and raffles ) raffles worked better. My dosage is 450iu gonal F and 75 iu of luveris. *fingers crossed *

* just a note, in raffles and NUH, Dr Thong and Prof Wong personally scans and do the medication and dosage prescription for me * I prefer that...

These are my experiences thus far and this is just FYI.
hope they help... I personally believe my 3 doctors are all good doctors. Just that when one is overworked, the compassion bit lacks.

Hi JJ,
yup i am born in 1982. Oh hubby's not genetic defect, for him his pituitary gland is permanently damage cause it bleed for unknown reasons . Had to operate twice...
Good luck for your so-iui

tickles, dun be scared abt the fet, check with the dr, based on all the tests u have carried out, i am sure she can recommend the right fet. All the best! Jia you!
I am still waiting for af, tomorrow will go dr zou for poking session,

Gan, I just spoke to the nurse at KKIVF while doing my BT rgding my intense cramps this fet n previous fet. She mentioned that the progynova medication can cause the cramps that I experienced. She asked me if I've informed my doc b4 I did this cycle, which I told her I did, however, Dr Loh didn't think anythg abt it. She told me dat besides me, another patient had also complained abt the intense cramp, which ended up as ectopic pregnancy.

Singapoh,
Thanks for the encouragement. How time flies.. Last Dec I just went thru my fresh cycle and now I'm starting on FET soon again.. Nervous.. But I know I have to stay positive and trust my doc and myself.

starbabies, thanks for the info, so there shld be alt med beside progynova?
All the best to ur BT, want to catch babydust from u. =) in that case u have to ask for alt support when preggy coz i heard some sisters continue with progynova

After hearing u and lyn, i think i will ask for a scan to check if i got cyst. Will be D2 right? I have not had any scan since soiui but cyst cld cause irregular menses, so i jUst want to rule out that cyst was the cause of my irregular menses since soiui

Sunflower seed,
I replied u le..

Skies,
Still not sure if I'm ding natural/ medicated. But I think most likely will be natural as doc did some test for me and I ovulated last cycle and my progestrone level and lining was good. Shall ask her tml when I see her.

Gan,
I'm supposed to go for poking tonight. BUt guess I cant poke le cos AF reported. BUt nevertheless, I will still see her and tell her I am starting on FET soon so that she can tell me how many time acu shld I do per week.

tickles u all are so young! I shld be the oldest here! U transferring how many embbies, i intend to transfer 3. =)

Gan,
I intend to do 3 too.. Dr Tan agreed. But she say she will only ask CARE to thaw 3, if 3 survived the thaw, she'll transfer 3, if 2 survived, she'll do 2, if 1 survive, she ask CARE to thaw 2 more. So min is 2 for me. I think she also scared cos I'm quite young for IVF.

BUt the last round, I transferred 2 blastocyst and my lining is at 11.5cm, with my age, it didnt work too. So when we request to do 3, she agreed. But then the insurance for 2 embryos and 3 is alot of diff leh. 2 is only $100 something. 3 is $700 something. Paiseh, cant rem the actual amt..

Hazel, maybe u can try by being less agressive in phrasing your words.

like when u said "If u say HIV test is valid only for 1/2 a yr. Then is the hospital protocol tt is wrong!"

looking back at what u said, i guess ur problem is that u r v complacent now that u're preg and always have so much LUCK on ur side that u become harsh abt ur comments. And to add insult to injury, u r in fact wrong.

NUH protocol is that HIV test is valid for 1/2 yr.

Jas
U are so strong to go thru to the 3 round. Stay postitive
Jia you

Gan
Hee....tickles and a few are so young. Maybe i am the oldest here. Me at 37 already

thanks nancy... this will be my final round...

Good luck to you too....
Ladies, to get the grant , the max you can transfer during a fresh cycle is 2...

Just to add - at KKH sometimes Dr Loh is so busy that even the ET is not done by him. Hence unable to depand on his 'lucky' hands.

Hi Sisters,

No time no talk
How have you all been. I "see" some familiar faces and some new brave sisters. Jia you everyone. For me, the status is that I am just trying naturally as I believe I am happier with life for now by trying naturally first.

Meanwhile, I followed the page of posting and can I see something from the bottom of my heart and hear me out if you have time. I see that many sisters here have had bad experience with kkh and would never want to go back there again. I also see that some sisters were very lucky to have strike the first time and is speaking up for kkh and their belief in the merits of the hospital.

I personally believe that everyone is entitled to their opinions and that is the right that all us are luckily to have been born with. Its great to take the stance of having the courage to express our opinions. In addition, life would be very beautiful if we can belief/support our views and at the same time, respect that of others due to everyone’s so unique circumstances.

And the latter statement is very difficult to attain unless one traveled that very difficult path of ups and downs, rock and bottom. Personally, in these two years, I went from a person who can conceive easily to one who has been through multiple mcs to one who has problem conceiving. And I find that at each stage, my view on life changes significantly. When I could conceive easily, frankly, the threads that I would visit is where to find the most beautiful maternity clothes. To me, having the problem of conception can only happen to other people. Its afterall 1 out of 10. I shared the joy of my pregnancy with friends who have kids and also fall under the 9 majority category. It did not cross my mind much that I will need to face so many challenges. Also, then, mc was alien to me as I hardly know anyone who has suffered mcs (now I know its that people who suffered mcs don’t talk to people who don’t understand mc). I still have friends who think that people who have mcs are fools who do not know how to take care of themselves and I don’t blame them personally as it takes one to know one.

Next, I have mcs, then, I started to visit sites on reasons for miscarriages. No longer do I look at maternity clothes or the best brand of DHA milk powder. I started to know friends who have miscarriages and find that miscarriages are so so common. Statistic showed for every four woman we know, one might have a mc. I became very sympathetic and understanding to those who have mcs as I have experienced that firsthand, no fun at all, full of sadness and regrets but somehow, my world is enlarged to a large extent in that I experience, saw and knew true sufferings. And also gained lots of insights from comrades who also mced.

After I have difficulties conceiving, I started looking at ivf and tcm and acu. I stopped looking at reasons for miscarriages as I know that so well now. And the 1 out of 10 couple with problem conceiving is no long alien. I now have friends who have been through the same journey and we really treasure each other. My world grew larger yet again. This time, injected with elements of struggles with getting that positive on the hpt and at the same time, I grew more worldly, that in this world, we cannot take for granted that there are imperfections. Ironically, from been imperfect, I became a better and more complete person, no long a mountain tortoise. Also, I got to know people who have gone through even far more from these forums.

Again, when I am with friends who have never and will never walk such a road, I refrained from talking about infertility, mcs and such as we would probably end up fighting as they cannot understand me, I understand where they are coming from (been there) but still, they cannot understand me. So I will avoid the potential landmines. Are they still my friends, yes, but not the full spectrum as there is an important part of my life that they don’t understand. Do I blame them, no if they try to respect me but I know its tough as they have not gone through that. If no choice they come to know that I belong to the 1 out of 10, I will stand up for myself and tell them in this world, they are people like me. While they still be my friends, yes, if they stop giving me that funny stares at less in front of me but I don’t care and don’t have the capacity to care what they think.

So here I am, from been someone who has easily conceived to someone believes in the merits of ivf and done ivf myself and has lucky or unlucky, made to go through the whole cycle of in heaven and hell. Do I pity myself, no longer as I lost (babies and the ease of conception) and yet gained knowledge, sympathy, so many things that can be within our control are no longer by some reasons that even the most modern science cannot explain and a whole new spectrum about what really goes on in real life and I also make new friends.

I see my experience of two years as been very relevant to the debate on kkh. For sisters have lousy experience with kkh, and vowed never to go back, they are made to go through the whole cycle of hope and failure and many logistics issues. Its like the me who have gone through these ups and downs. For sisters, who have strike the first time and may or may not experienced the logistic issues (to be fair, sisters who have strike the first time have been through issues too in some way or other), its like a hypothetical me who has been through one mc and then have a good pregnancy and graduated and can move on into another important new role in life.

So I believe that the result of these two camps is really due to life experiences and circumstances that one is made to go through by the higher forces. For the sisters who are made to go through ups and downs again and again, hang in there and I am sure we will gain something along the way. For the sisters who strike the first time and on the way to motherhood, I envy you all and think you all have done a lot, being through a lot to be where you are too. Your success is well deserved too. In the meantime, please bear with us, the repeated students who kept failing under the system and would like to share the reasons why they believe their failed under kkh, and be more patient with us as we need the patience and lots of tender loving care really to make up for more trying trials ahead.

And lets all shake hands and be friends again k as this road is already so tough, full of hateful rocks and stones. Trust me, there will be now other forum participates who are talking about where to buy the sexiest maternity clothes thinking that participates in this ivf support group are all people not from these earth. All the more we must help and support each other to make this thread feel like coming home too k. I am sure we all can do it, given our similar experience of having conception difficulties and later doing ivf.

Another thing I want to recommend is that for sisters who are going to do their cycles at NUH, do consider asking for two progesterone inserts, one to be used in the morning and one to be used in the evening. They usually give one only but to ensure our backside is more covered..can ask for two to provide more support during the 2WW.

Sorry for the long post k..

Hi babygalore - Nice to hear from you again .. ever so good in yr words ...

How have u been ?

Peace everyone - I think the war has ended ...

Babygalore
Yes couldnt agree more. THis forum is a place where everyone can pour out their disappointment or share their joys.

Ladies, let's put all these behind us and move on. Remember that we are all here to support each other. We share the SAME goal -- To have a our own baby in our arms at the end of the day. Jia you !!!

Gan
U win haha ...just joking. As long as we are not in menopause we still have a chance. Ling Qing Hsia gave birth at 46 !! We are not old la....Heehee

Juju, I m not complacent at all. Like wat I said I continue to pray very hard for divine grace. Getting pregnant is just the first step. Aything can happen in the 40 wks n at delivery. Pp just cldnt accept that at least 60% is luck based on ivf success rate. the style Of My posts now n earlier b4 ivf process n getting pregnant Is the same.

This is a public forum. Everyone Is free to write way they wan. Though at times pp get upset n they r slapped with the hard facts. If so, best way is dun read. I dun pain beautiful pictures that r not reality

woah woah ladies hold your horses and fire...haha.. I am an old bird here like Jas who has been trying since the year 2008... it has been a tiring and wasted time for me cause by doing this procedures for 1.5 years and 3 attemps, I lost my job plus was totally drain out emotinally, physcally and financially.

I truly understand what Lyn and the rest are going through. I understand that we are all educated people but no doubts about that. But if we can read and advise the doctors on what they can do for us, then must as well we are called "doctors" and they are call "patients". Why should we then give so much money and spend so long hours waiting to consult them.

I think the old birds here know the pain I went through for the last 3 cycles and the experience was horrifying...needless for me to mention the doctor's name and I guess most people would have guessed it. I am with KKH.

I was tested positive during my second cycle and I had spotting... no support given cause 24 hours mentioned Dr say dun need and tell me that if I bleed more then too bad. yeah which in the end I bleed until I nearly fainted and from postive become negative...

Suprising there are a lot of test that can be done before steping into the ivf process which was not done in KKH. Even it is a govt funded hospital, they should let the patients know about these test and if we are going this far, I am sure we would not mind paying the extra or in the first place, the doc there are not aware of such test and have least knowledge of it or what I can say... cannot be bothered...

My first cycle was terminated by the African doc but when I check with my doc, he mentioned I should have continue the purgeon a few more days and it would grow..I am speechless.

My second cycle, was tested postive, then got bad cramps, spotting wetn to 24 hrs but was not given support, bleed till become negative...I went back to the doc to check after 2.5 hours of wait to check what kind of test I can do before I proceed for a last ivf try.. guess what's the answer I got... "Just too bad" and then out the door you go.

My final cycle my doc say since the last 2 cycle you did nto react that well let's go to the max of 700IU of purgeon..my body was reacting bad to the high dosage, eyes start to blurr of, pelvic bone and knee joints start to become painful and sore.. and after Doc put in the embryo (with a 2 cell seperation, grade 3) he told me.. the chances is only 0.1%.. I was about to burst!!! he should have told me then I would not even opt to go through the 2ww...after failed 3rd cycle, I did not bother to go back to KKH to check... as I am not about to accept any more insulting remarks as I am human not a guinea pig...

Hazel, I do know that sometimes we also have to depend a little a bit of luck and fate but I guess the main aim they are trying to get across is about the medical ethics plus professionalism of the doctors are KKH. If they cannot handle that many, they should get more doctors or control the number of patients. What si the point of getting more patients and then failing the process and cause pain to the poor patients.

Like what I say if we have to advise the doctor what they can do for us, then why do I even want to go see the doctor? I must as well just walk into a private clinic and tell them what I want and straight away I get pregnant.

Ok I guess there is enough of argument here.. so whichever hospital one is in, I guess most important is that you know what you are going through, the doctor who is looking after you have to hold your hand and guide you through the process and let you know what is happening and most importatntly, emotionally supporting you and explaining to you through the cycle so in case you fail, you know what's next...

No offence, just my 2 cents worth.. my take is that I will never want to do IVF or any of such sort with KKH ever again...I am happy many of my sisters who did it there not under him and some under are successful. God bless.

Hey Baby Galore,

How are things with you.. I am now more relax and happier trying natural
At least my body is recuperating well after all the medicated damages...let's try together naturally and I believe the stock will fly pass our house soon and drop the bundle to us

Now I am super busy with my job.. lucky I found a good job after I lost the one during my IVF...Do take care and stay in touch...