Starbabies, you had m/c after your fresh cycle last year? How manyweeks were you?
i also had the same encounter, I m/c at 7 weeks. They just could not get any heartbeat though at 6 weeks they could detect it. It was so disappointing. I thought i could finally get my own baby in my arm. If things had turned out right, this month i would deliver the baby but sadly now No.
I am doing another cycle too. Perhaps this Apr. I am with NUH.

My menses after that was a bit off too. My 2nd menses so was about more than 2 weeks long. Dr suggested me to take a pill. I had no choice but to take it following his advice coz there was one point i think i bleed too much and i had fainting spell. Hubby was worried for me so I took the medication.

Gan,
I'm with CARE @ Paragon. You also had your fresh cycle last Dec right? I rem u and I do it abt the same period the last round. This round, we shall be cycle buddies again. Hopefully we strike tgt..

I predict my AF is gg to report on Sat. So I think I will start seeing my Dr on Monday le.. So excited.. I am seeing Dr Zou tml. Will check with her if I need to see her more often now.. Are u seeing Dr Zou more often now? Still taking her herbs? I stopped seeing her ard 2weeks le cos of CNY. So better dun be lazy le since FET coming.

Starbabies,
Glad to hear that your spotting is lighter le. I guess like what Gan say it might be implantation spotting. Stay positive.. BFP is coming soon.. If you are sad or negative, your natural progesterone level will drop leh. So positive positive k.. Think happy thoughts!

tickles, yes we can be cycle buddy. =)
No wonder u have alot of more checks than me before fet, i have no checks at all. So once af come will just start the process.

Starbabies yes be positive!

tickles i am seeing dr zou once a week now for accu, takes her med on off.
She did mention closer to my et she recommends i go for daily accu

Gan,
Haha! I also take her med on off too. Cos 2 weeks never see her le. So didnt buy the herbs too. But anyway, I will start to be more guai and take the herbs regularly. Actually I use to go to her for acu twice a week.. I shall see what she say.

Su_Yana, my pregnancy only lasted a while. I had early spotting n requested for early BT wif KKIVF. I thought I had lost the 2ww battle but to my surprise, the nurse called in the afternoon to deliver the gd news, my hcg was quite low then, at abt 48 on D13. I'm still feeling bitter abt it bcos the nurse at KK refused to give additional support, they jus asked me to lie on bed. I had to email Dr Loh who replied late at nite to ask me to go hospital immediately for injection n additional medication to sustain the pregnancy, but I only saw his email the nxt day, which was aldy too late, I was bleeding profusely n on the verge of fainting. Was hospitalized for the nxt 2 days n my hcg dropped drastically. I remembered I was very much in pain n crying on the hospital bed n somemore it was my on my birthday which doc announced that I'm losing the preganancy. I was do devastated n angry wif KKIVF nurse for not helping me to check wif doc then. I still believe if she cld hv helped to check wif the doc then, mayb I still cld sustain the preganancy n by now I shld b waiting for the baby's arrival. Haiz. Anyway, I will b going to nuh after this cycle.

My menses oso went haywire after the failed cycle n whenever I called KKIVF, they will jus ask me wait for full flow. It was only when I emailed Dr Loh that I cld get immediate attn n discovered that I had cyst growing on my ovary, thus affecting my menses. Therefore, in kk, I feel dat alot of thgs we hv to ask n request or take action ourselves, after u failed one cycle, the doc will still let u go thru the same momentum again w/o analysing what went wrong the last cycle.

Jus my thots n I hope thgs will get better when I trf to nuh

yes, NUH will be better, when i told the nurse i was bleeding, I was immediately asked to see Prof the next day, and given injection and duphaston, but unfortunately it still didn't sustain my pregnancy..

Juz to share my experience..
I had a very regular menstrual cycle (30-31 days).
I started on natural FET this month, but it has to be cancelled due to me not ovulating..
I regretted not doing medicated FET as Dr Loh didnt even give me any option to choose becoz probably he thought that i will be ovulating every month..
I wasted my time to and fro KKH for nothing this month..
I should have started straight away with medicated FET as the chance of aborting the ET is very unlikely..

I'm starting on medicated FET my next cycle and now am waiting for my AF to come..
I was given Progynova to start on Day 4..

For those whom thinking of doing FET soon, i would suggest you op for medicated FET instead of natural FET unless you are confident that you will ovulating that month..

Lyn, for my fresh cycle, I was given only Utrogestan. For both my medicated cycles, I was given Cyclogest as well as Progynova to be taken orally. Are these enough? I suspect that I am not reacting well to Cyclogest as it has given me lots of cramping for both my FET.

Brownie, thanks! And I hope everything goes well for your next cycle too. Jus to let you know, medicated FET cycle may be aborted too if the lining is not good.

Dr Loh wanted to abort my current medicated FET as my lining is only 6mm and quality not good, but I refused to abort and requested for him to go ahead with the ET. That's why I do not think I will be successful with this cycle. I just wanted to finish up whatever embryos I have at KK before switching to NUH.

I'm just wondering shouldn't there be further checks on whether we are ovulating properly before deciding on whether we should go for a natural or medicated cycle? Anyone can advise, please?

There must be a certain criteria to justify why we are given natural or medicated cycle right? So far, I have been given medicated cycles only although I also used to have very regular cycle. Before I did my IVF, I also ovulated every month.

StarBabies,

I was also thinking of switching to NUH with my fren's recomendation..
I only left with 3 frozen embies and the storage due in May this yr so i had to fifnish them all 1st before i move to NUH..

I realise in KKH they dun do any investigation at all before we embark to anything..
I realised that they just based on what we say only...

When i failed my 1st fresh cycle, Dr Loh didnt even ask me anything, we didnt even have to do any investigation to find out what went wrong..

That made me feel that they dun care..

starbabies i also wonder if any test shld be carried out for us before deciding the type of fet. Can sisters with other hospitals share with us what tests u carried out before fet?
I know tickles went for scans and bt and she is with CARE.
For my case, dr loh initially suggested natural becoz he tot my menses regular, so i told him no more regular menses, so my fet becomes medicated

Brownie, u r right. They simply juz base on wat u say and go ahead with the procesure that u request and simply dun bother to ask u do any test.. I felt we all juz being swept across and see who will survive and who will not...

Starb, how many follicles u retrieved during fresh cycle? Y some ppl r given daily progesterone jab but some r not...? I m not sure too .. I noticed some ppl under pte is given more support eg inserts and oral progsterone..

Brownie, sorry to know u have to cancel ur fet.. i feel that kk is not feeling for their pts enuff coz they feel that one can always do next cycle, no big deal... but they have never consider to take care of our emotional expectation during a cycle. To them its so common to abort our cycle but to us we juz feel so sad and loss whenever such thing happen... it happened to me before and i know how it feels and coz of the incident i need mths to pick up my courage to try a new cycle coz always have the impact in me that same thing will happen again so its simply bring down our self esteem... Again this is my personal view and no offence or bias to anyone ...

Brownie, I can understand how you feel cause that's how I felt too. But, I think this could be due to a big influx of pple going to KKH for fertility treatments, especially with the govt subsidy. KKH offers the cheapest rate among all other govt hospital.

Anyway, upon one of the sisters recommendation, I have already seen Prof from NUH and to be truthful, both me and my hubby are really confident with him. Our first session with him was more than 30 minutes consultation, which doesn't happen with Dr Loh, if u know what I mean :p Prof gave me the feeling that he cares and really wanted to help to find out what's wrong.

Lyn, 27 follicles were retrieved for my fresh cycle and only 9 fertilised. I had OHSS after the ER. I have heard that if above a certain number of follicles retrieved, you will not be given jabs as it will worsen OHSS. Anyway, for my current medicated FET, I had requested for the daily progesterone jab but the nurses refused to give me, citing that efficacy rate is the same and so on...

Actually, all the tests done at KKH b4 start if ivf cycle is valid for one year. Including, d2/3 and d21/22 tests, HIV, hep B, etc. Only if they exceeded 1 yr then will retest. D21/22 test to ensure ovulation has taken place. So if the test shows we ovulate then is valid for 1 yr.

Just like when we do annual pap smear. Cleared the pap smear does not mean within that yr wun get cervical cancer. Just Like pp who do annual health checks also get sudden cancer or other chronic illness. Only when tt happens then they know.. But annual health checks nc seem to detect

we ovulate this mth does not mean we will ovulate next mth. No one knows for sure coz hormones can be disrupted by stress or when we r sick, medication, etc. A doc cannot be testing every mth on us right?

Thus, I really dun think is the hospital's fault. Coz test annually is a reasonable time line.

As for doc's failure to explain why a cycle fails, most of the times, docs can't explain either. If Embyros r gd, lining is gd n the womb's is healthy, etc, docs wun know wat else went wrong. At least in current medical science they can't explain. They r many factors to a successful pregnancy but not all factors are known. So, my personal view is shld not Blame on the doc at all. Maybe KKH docs do not appear to be as caring n concern as pte docs thus perceived as they dun bother to explain.

I recently did a scan at Camden. The prof told me success rate for ivf is close to 40% but only 20% of the 40% will result in a successful pregnancy. Thus, he told me women like me who strike at first time is very lucky.. He spent close to an hr talking n explaining to me but KKH only send 20mins with me. So, in our eyes KKH is lousy n not caring.. But u can't blame them for behaving tt way either.. I did not hv to wait to see prof at Camden. But I hv to wait 2hrs to see dr loh fir just 5 mins!! But wat to do, The no of patients KKH docs see is many times more than pte docs n also dr at nuh n sgh... KKH docs are all stretched n tired.. Do we still bother to chit chat if we r tired n shack? if we wun, they wun also..

So, we hv to be fair to KKH also

Usually dr will propose natural FET if earlier tests look good n womb looks ok also. Coz too much of these hormone injections are really bad for our bodies. At times, cyst n fibroids can be formed coz of high level of hormones..

Camden prof asked if dr loh explained all these to me at start.. But dr loh where got time right? We want to be mothers ivf will be the last resort... prof told me not to do another fresh cycle again coz is very bad for the body n he reminded me tt I can die from ohss.. He said women who get ohss can only pray n there is no cure.. Tapping is just to relief the pain n discomfort. He asked me to try naturally for no 2 6 mths after delivery. He said if not sucessful then do natural FET... He said no more hormones injections n stimulation again...

So, from this incident, it seems tt prof cares but dr loh can't be bothered...but is tt true?

Individual person and indivdual doc have each and individual thinking and sets of belief but wat matters most is the medical professionalism and atitude... If a doc cause a person to die can he give excuses of being busy? Or rather does the court accept being busy as a reason for neglience??

Hi Hazel, I think you need to understand that we are not as lucky and blessed as you to have striked on the first try. Much as we have tried our best and failed in every cycle, it is a natural instinct that we would appreciate our doctor analysing for us what could have gone wrong and propose for an alternative way.

So, please be sensitive to our feelings. We are not saying that Dr Loh is not good or whatsoever but I think the purpose of this forum is to share our experiences with one another. If really KKH can't help 'problematic' people like us, then shouldn't we be entitled to seek better treatments elsewhere?

What I'm trying to say here is, different experiences encountered by individual will result in the kind of perceptions we have on various hospitals and docs. I'm sure while some of the unlucky ones like me had bad experiences at KKH, there are also other sisters who had good experiences and perceptions with KKH too, like you. Therefore, much as I do respect you for your wealth of knowledge, please also allow us entitlement to our own opinions.

Not trying to be offensive to anyone here, please.

Starb, totally agreed with wat u had said.... this forum is for ppl to share our own experiences during this difficult journey and we r all here to give each and other support and not some1 to bring us down further.. I think we had enough of unsensitive remarks from ppl who dun understand abt we r gtg thru and thats the least that we would expect to be receiving here...

I feel we r free to voice out our happiness/unhappiness with certain doc or certain service that we r receiving... so please do not keep painting some kind of a nice picture of a certain subject i will juz make ppl more confused and unagreeable to the topic

If after a failed cycle dr cant even or rather dun even bother to explain or find way to assess on factors that may cause a failed pregnancy then wats the point of gtg back for review?? Its so fun to go back to wait for 2 hrs, pay consultation and wat we get in return is sorry u failed because u r unlucky........?

Hi gan, i think some pte drs practice scanning to make sure no functional cyst before fet therefore for some centres its compulsory to take BCP to supress any potiential corpus letum cysts....

Gan,

I had 21 eggs retrieved and 13 fertilized. Given daily oil progestrone jab. Very painful. Can't walk and zzz well. That's the worst part of treatment for me.

I m not protecting anyone. I m expressing my personal views also just like everyone else. Reality is afterall reality even if it is tough to accept. Ivf process basically just timed the fertilisation process to ensure tt it happens to increase the chance of getting pregnant unlike we try on our own where we leave it to chance. Once tt happen, the rest Is in the hand of god. No doctor can make implantation happens or ensure pregnancy continues. Drs can only give support like in any natural pregnancy. Luck n fate play a very impt role be in ivf or natural process.

I hv gfs with other pte dr like Sheila loh at raffles. Some strick every attempt but some fail more than onces. She is a very patient n nice dr who spend time with her patients. But still?

No matter which hospital or which dr u go to probability rate of BFP is 40% at most for fresh cycle n out of that only 20% will hv successful pregnancy. So for healthy women, luck n fate already amounted to at least 60%! The odds r higher on fact. If women have underlying prob then the odds r even higher.

Thus, skills of doc in ER n ET are impt. But end of the day luck n fate play an even impt role.

If u say HIV test is valid only for 1/2 a yr. Then is the hospital protocol tt is wrong! Like currently, KKH scan pregnant ladies too early for anetanal check, resulting in alot of unhappiness n false alarm. Such tt they just go pte to scan.

No matter how gd Dr loh is, luck is the determining factors b4.. I made a no of blunder along the way if u read my earlier posting.. I missed my lucrin jabs for a few days until I had breaking bleeding.. Dr n I thought gone case Leow n I cld hv ovulated on my own! I hv to do urgent BT to see if I ovulated which I did not. The bleeding just stopped miraclly. My cervix Was infected at ET... But GOD is watching n protecting me.. N luck was on my side.. Tt is the only explanation I hv.. Btw, am not a Christian. Now, whenever I step into church to pray for the saftety of my bb weekly, I dun feel gd.. I relate to tt my bb knows am in church praying for her saftety. Even Camden doc told me so. He was One of the pioneer who brought ivf into spore. He works on nuh for 20 over yrs b4 joinng pte practice.

Anyhow, always choose a dr u r comfortable n happy with. But end of the day, reality is luck n fate over weighs other factors.

Good luck to all who r in 2ww or starting the process.

KKH has nvr been known for its short waiting time or long consultation with the doctor.

If I have the money I would def choose TFC. But seeing as I don't, my only choice is KKH followed by NUH.

But btw the 2 KKH is the nearest, hence thru a series of elimination KKH was choosen. I've not gone thru what some ladies here have. Hence I won't comment on tat portion. I can only take note of the issues being pointed out & voice them to the nurse when its my turn to face that situation.

All in the forum are entitled to their opinions, hazel inclueded, however we can choose what we like to read ... hence cool down ... cheer up & let's continue onto supporting each other & sharing of experience & knowledge.
= )

StarBabies, Lyn, I'm sorry to hear your plight. I'm aso 1 of the lucky one to make it during my 1st attempt with Dr Loh at KKH too. Regardless of the Dr and svs, just choose someone/hosp that you are comfortable and confident with, coz with that, I believe you are set in a more positive envt to succeed. Personally, I believe being positive is 1 impt element for success. So, please don't bring ur unhappiness from your previous attempt to your next attempt.....don't give up hope! 8)

hazel it is good to be frank but to the extent of being insensitive to others feelings.
The way u bring ur message across seems to say ' stop blaming anyone u ungrateful brat! It's ur BAD LUCK!'
I dun anyone is blaming the doc or hospital, we r just voicing out our exp.
plse be kinder and more encouraging after all ivf is an emotionally and physically draining process
Peace!

Soon-to-be, thanks for your words of advice and encouragement. I started off confident and comfortable with KKH, but to have gone through so many procedures to find myself achieving nothing really has an impact on how I determine my next best doctor. And don't worry, I will not bring my unhappiness to the next hospital. It is a new beginning to me

But that's the way hazel is .... I'm sure the more senior one's here would know ... I've butted heads with her too ...

StarBabies, that's the spirit! I m v v glad that b4 I started my attempt in last Jul, my gf has aso given me a lot of encouragements and asked me to be positive, stress-free and happy.....so I hope to share this non-scientific proven success factor w those who are still trying or going to try..8)

I think the issue here is not whether its long waiting time / short consultation ... Its more of the why no conculsion to the failure.

A feeling of shouldn't my failure be explained to me so that I can better improve for the nxt cycle.

We all know the percentage & that luck has a part of it (we are well-informed individuals)... but paying that amt of $$, going thru the injections, the wait ... An expectation of at least a simple medical explanation is still needed, be it telling us all conditions are ok but still no implantation (then its really luck).

Rather then no explanation, being brushed off, then asking when u want to start yr nxt cycle ?

hi ladies, slight side track ... whether its KKH or NUH or SGH or anywhere else, can i advise dont ever have a complacent attitude with your doctors no matter how comfortable you are with him/her. Dont just sit back and relax and dont care about things like lining, progesterone level etc and just let the doctors lead every step becos every doctor has their limits and areas of oversight ... so it will help if you do your basic research on what are the protocols and what to look out for so that if your doctor missed out, you can highlight/question. Like JJ say, learn from others' experiences then voice it out to your doctors if you feel you share the same concerns.

I know some sisters here will say 'know/think too much will only stress you out, just trust your doctor and go with the flow' but then again, you spend so much money and hopes on this project, dont you want to know how to maximise your chances? Then things like lining, progesterone support wont you want to know if you are getting enough? Then if you feel even a slightest inkling that you are not receiving enough attention/support; eg. low progesterone support, shout for it from your doctors. If your doctors dont entertain you, get attention from another doctor. Do whatever you can to make sure you get the best support you need.

Hazel, seems like whichever thread you go, you will butt heads with people there.

Gan, thanks for the feedback. At times too frank ends up being insensitive. We started the journey together last yr, u know the blunders I made n the low bhcg level I had where odds were against me. U know luck n fate were on my side. That is the only explanation I had. But I hv been faithfully praying a few times a day even till now. Maybe GOD has mercy on me.

Every dr hv successful n unsuccessful cases. N every hospital protocols r different. When we succeed we thanks the dr, when we fail, we Blame them. Is that fair? Is drs the only determing factor for a successful process. We all r educated. We all are knowledgable to read the website on wat contributes to a success ivf process. Dr is just a faciliator, they r not GOD.

JJ was right. If money is not a concern, anyone of us wld hv paid for the top notch dr of our choice. Just like u, u wld hv stayed in tmc. But being realistic we went to KKH. We all know kkhivf is Like a pdtn line. If we dunno n we go, then blame it on ourselves tt we nv find out b4 hand.

We know KKH queues r long. Waiting time is super long n end of the day, drs only talk to us for 5 mins! I m frustrated too. But I hv to accept tt KKH drs hv no time to talk or explain to me. Is not dr specific. If we wan attention then KKH is not a choice. But if we make the choice then dun complain drs dun bother to bother to spend time n explain to us. That is a reality in KKH in general. Either take it or leave it.

Dun like then go to another hospital u like n comfortable with. But if u chose KKH then dun complain how things r done there. KKH is like a pdtn line. It wun hv time for us. This is reality n if tt hurts n deems as insensitive, then too bad.

Another sis n I were just talking abt u offline the other day. We both hope u hv more luck this round n succeed coz we know u dun hv any major underlying problems. We also hope for all to be successful. But the fact is no one can control the final outcome n know wat factors result in a successful outcomes.

Sisters,
I double n triple confirmed that HIV test b4 IVF is only valid for six (6) months period throughout in S'pore....

We are here to give support and encouragement to each other, we are not here to argue over certain topics...So pls pls someone be sensitive to everyone feeling...not everyone here is as lucky as you.....Agreed with what Lyn had said, the doc's medical professionalism and atitude is very important for us (I had a very bad experience with KK b4)....

Me ... you guys were talking abt me ? Or Gan ?? = ) ... ahh (being shameless)

Aniwei ... I also believe in lots of luck, lots of positive-ness !!

Will max my chances by going TCM, not drinking cold drink, etc etc (will try to follow the graduate's food list during 2WW)

When failure does happen, it is only natural to blame everyone (be it doc, yrself, regligon etc) ITs human to do so ... but as wat soon-to-be said don't carry it forward ...

Seed, it does not bother me. CoZ I said the reality n pp just can't accept reality. Maybe the way I put it is not as nice as u. But I totally agreed with ur posting.

These drs hv been around for yrs. We wld hv read up n find out more b4 going to them. There r always many complains with KKH. N drs overlooking this n that. My previous gynae at KKH did too for my mum's case. I was vigilant n pointed out to him n save my mum from having to remove her entire womb! I read up. I want to know n I challenge the dr in case they made the wrong decision coz they too biz.

Even sgh, the bone specialist nearly made the wrong decision on my sister broken arm a few yrs back. I questioned him n saved my sister from having to insert screws on her arm. She recovered in 1 mth without side effects n without surgery.

Drs r Human. They can make mistakes. They can make wrong judgment. The only person we trust shld be ourselves to make informed decision n to question them if we think they r wrong or their decision is not gd.

I hv problems like crooked spine. My wound dun heal well n always ends up in keloids. I hv to tell my doc b4 I deliver to confirm with him if I can take epidural, whether c section is better coz I rather hv keloid on my tummy then down there. U think my dr will bother to check my spine b4 injection?? No he wun. If anything happen thereafter, is my prob not the Doc or KKH

Missed this page for a few days as I was complaining my menses didnt come after Lucrin...

Well went for another bloodtest on Wednesday.

I am not pregant so still going this cycle of IVF. Lucrin jabs have indeed caused my menses to delay and it is still not here yet... arghhhhh

My first bottle of Lucrin finished and was made to purchase another... Marriane had informed just continue till your menses come and then can proceed to Puregon...

Anyway yes I do agree in KKH the HIV bloodtest in 6 months period coz me and my hubby had it done 2x as we lapse the timing last year. We had ours taken in July09 and again in Feb10.. coz 6months had passed...

Cheers.