hi Megan, i understand how u feel abt seeing different sonographers. I felt exactly the same during the initial TTC period. I did hear that LC Cheng is not bad too but i decided to go to PC Wong as my hubby's colleague had 2 successful ivf done by him.
Christopher Chen is well known too!

Thanks Renee,

You tried her acupuncture? is it good? my hair smells of smoke after the whole thing..When are you starting again?

Shaha, Mimi, moonfairy, are you trying acupuncture?

Megan,

I am with PC Wong,too. This will be my 2nd IVF. So far, I love his team and the support I get from them.As Mimi said, he will be the one doing all the scan. There will be a few nurses working with you very closely. The embryologist at NUH is pretty good ,too. I remembered she called me day after the ER to tell me the progress of my embroyos and my nurse called me to do follow up. I think you should give them a call and check it out, there might be a waiting list.

Winter1,

Yes, I do, I am going to EYS( Eu Yan Sen) at PS) Palza Singapura). Once a week for 6 weeks and also some herd to drink. ( 3x a day). I was told that my womb is cold.

GONG XI FA CAI ....

Any of you know of anyone who succeed though TCM after multiple failures in IVF and FET

Hope you can post/share the TCM particulars here.

Many thanks!

hi winter,
i only did 3 times of acupuncture ,and then prof wong told me once i start my jabs,i hv to stop (same instruction fm moonfairy's doc) .Thats why i stopped.Yr doc is ok with u doing it whilst u r on ivf ?

shasha,
r u still doing acupuncture and taking herbs? I stopped all of that coz prof wong told me i have to stop!

haha, moonfairy, know you couldn't resist the kampong chicken (how the bird flu situation in jakarta ?) but I agreed that the kampong chicken there is yummy

Potato chip, thanks for the info

Thks for the information. Shasha, when did u have your 1st IVF? Is there any procedural changes made by Dr Wong to imrpove your chances this time? Me feel that we are running out of time and want to start asap again. But want to ensure that my body esp. the ovaries are recharged 1st.
Maxx, I am going to Thong Chai (TCM) to get some medicine to "tiao" my body first. There have been previous newspaper articles on Thong Chai that they "produce" 1 baby per week. There were patients (who failed IVF) who succeeded getting pregnant after taking their chinese medicine for 6 mths.

Hi Moonfairy, Shasha, Mimi,

I'm also confused if I should stop acupuncture now (since kk is against it), but my chinese sinseh said my body rather weak, wants me to continue...and since it's my second attempt..decided to go ahead with it.

By the way, have your heard of blastocyst transfer? am thinking of doing that as heard success rate quite high.

Winter1,
Yap, PC Wong told me the same thing. He don't want me to take any TCM during IVF. I stopped the herd one day before superfacts.However, the TCM doctor say I can take her herd as long as it is two hours after the western medication. I don't feel like mixing, so I stick with Superfacts for now, but after ET, I will take some TCM.

Megan,
My 1st IVF was in Sept, 05.Yes, there is a change with my dosage. My 1st IVF, I don't have any spare embroyos.So this round, he will increase the GonalF. ( I think from 225 to 375) Hopefully, I will have more foliciles. Downside...OHSS..and more $$$ as GonalF is very expensive.

winter1,
I'll start acupunture these 2 days. Did it before but not for IVF purposr though. It was because my menses was so so painful, that she(the sinseh) suggested to poke me.ya the smoky smell can be very bad. no choice lah.

I juz went to KKH for my results. Though I'm a subsi-patient, was lucky to hv Dr SF Loh today! He read our results and said our results overall ok. My hormone levels are normal. Hubby side also ok. But I asked him then why cannot conceive, he said this kind of thing very hard to explain.

He said it is up to me whether I want to try SO-IUI or IVF or natural. The nurse had briefed me on the charges and the procedures already. He gave me his namecard and told me to email him once I decided. Wah! 1st time gynae ask me to email him.... So now, I've to discuss with my husband tonight lor...

<font color="0000ff">blurblur, tch,</font>
Are u with Dr SF Loh? How do u find him? Thks

ShaSha,

I'm sure u'll have more follicles. My case was even worse. 1st IVF was 350 of GonalF. 2nd was increased to 450! Can u imagine? Gynae said this is the max and she was quite confident that i won't have OHSS cos I don't really stimulate well with a large dosage. The 2nd time was better off with 11 eggs retrieved but still the embryos' grade wasn't that good, so end up with only 2 embryos.

Looks like i am the odd one out.I am starting on only 150 of GonalF as I told Prof that I occasionally get severe cramps,very sore boobs and breakout when I ovulate.So he is starting me on only 150 GonalF.

Megan,
wow..450 is 3times my dosage!!! How's yr reaction to it the first time on 350 ? Did u suffer much of those cramping n bloatedness ?

Has anyone ever get lucky on the first try of ivf/icsi? I am starting my cycle next week, getting very discourage, and having knew how it didn't work out for most couple on 1st try really make my heart sank.

Hi Megan,

Your case is quite similar to mine.

I also hd 2 abandon cycle b4 reaching to Embryo Transfer ( as not enough follicles so gotto give up half way )

Later went though 2 IVF cycle but Embryo also not much and quality is poor.

So failed as well with no Frozen Embryo.

Perhaps like our case we should get help on how to improve our quantity or quality of embryo before moving further......

What do u say?

I am at a lost already..............

hi Renee ,Winter ,Shasha

Can i ask u if your acupuncurist wear gloves when they r inserting the needle into u?
Mine does not and my hubby is worried that there is risk of infection .But their reason is if they wear gloves,they cannot feel u properly.
Pls advise!

Happy REN RI to all sisters here.

I'm into my 12th day of lucrin injection already... due to go for my scanning on Mon...hopefully everything is going smoothly and I can start puregon next week...

My DH injected me and burst a blood vessel on my tummy, now got an ugly big blue black...

Megan,

I have to agree with Miko2006. I believe that it will be better if sometime is given to seek for alternative medication to increase the qty and quality of the embroyos b4 going for another treatment. My friend took 6 mth to really watch what she eats and change to a healthier lifestyle and her result was great. ( ER, 14 &amp; 8 fertilised embroys, ET 3 and forzen 5)

Mimi,

Does he or she only attend to you or a few people at the same time? Does he or she washes the hand before and after each person? I think if they wash their hand after attending every last one. Then I don't mind if no gloves were worn. Just my thought.

t111,

There is a sister hits jackpot last month, 1st IVF with triple. and someone have a twins. Don't worry, take it as finding out what need to be done to impove yourself. Be strong.

Hi Blue_rabbit

All the best on monday scanning

For bucrin injection, is it taken for 2wks? How abt puregon? At this stage, are all the scanning done thr V?

I'm a coffee lover and taking a cup or 2 daily. Should i cut down cafe drink before i kick off my ivf program?

I'm heartened to know that many of us here are starting their cycle this month! Don't worry about the jabs coz after a day or two, everything will be a breeze.

I'll be doing my ER probably next wed or thurs. Any tips? Will it hurt? I mean, i was told that there will be a needle at the tip of the ultrasound and that kinda freaked me a little.

Hi Summer,

I was on lucrin and am still on it eventhough this is my 8th day of puregon. I will be on puregon (stim) for 2 more days and I think they will only stop your lucrin dosage when it is time to trigger the eggs with HCG. And yes, all the scannings are done via the V. But dont worry, it is a little uncomfortable, but not painful and usually lasts for like 5-10 mins. For me, I prefer the ultasounds than the blood tests!

hi blue rabbit

good luck with yr scan !how do u feel after these 12 days of jabs ?

Moonfairy , r u going to be here by yrself for stage 2 jabs ? Anyone looking after u ? I am the other way round .My hubby will b away when i start my first round of jabs but for second stage i told him to try n be home ....(i am afraid i react adversely to the follicle stimulation)

Mrs Z,
How is yr experience with puregon so far as compared to the initial stage of lucrin?(i understand puregon can cause quite alot of side effects?) I am on a different medication.Starting with superfact n then GonalF but I guess its the same effect.

hi every one

I been reading this site since two month ago.
everyone here will so supportive.

Hi curious
I with Dr SF Loh and i had success with 1 IVF.
He was the best in KKH as my friend working in KKH as a nurse. I tell her to check for me her answer was he was the best and his success rate is high but important is depend on your body.

My friend told me to relax after ET and rest more.

Hi mimi,
I think moonfairy had answered for me already. the sinseh can't wear gloves, cause he or she won't be able to feel the right spots to prick. the sinseh will use alcohol wipe as well.and the needles are new from the pack,he won't touch the needle part that will goes into out skin.so nothing to worry la. Just did it yesterday. smell like a smoked fish!!

thks Renee...i guess so..my hubby is just paranoid! Can i ask u how much u pay per session and how long is each session? U r at the mei ling st one rite? I ve been there to see the lady physician before but at that time she said i need not do acupuncture.

Hi mimi,

I must say that lucrin was easier. Puregon stings me a little but the pain was worse if you do it without the puregon pen. I just had a jab this morning without the pen and it hurts a little for about 15 mins or so. The nurse will teach you how to use the pen. I don't get any real side effects though, only my tummy seems to bulge a little more. I'm sure you'll do just fine! Don't worry about it. Anyway, it's only for a week or so. Your hubby will be so proud of you when he knows you auto-piloted your second stage!

haha...he sure will be relieved coz I hv psyched him into believing my 2nd stage will be bad!
I am just paranoid abt OHSS etcetc due to my normal response every cycle.Thats why my doc is starting me on only 150 of gonalf. Hmmm...now i wonder if thats too low !? Maybe I shd go consult him again!!

mimi,

I've never had any experience with GonalF. My first try was also with Puregon but I did not respond too well. At day 8 of stim, my follies were small, only btwn 5mm - 10mm. This time round I am on 200 units and the results are better. Today's scan (day 8) showed a few follies at 14 &amp; 15mm. So I guess, your doctor has to identify your needs and previous responses to determine how much you should start with. Yup, do consult him again.

The deal with our husbands...yes, dont we all want them to be a little paranoid! I tend to exagerate a little too just to get my hubby a little kan-chiong. Afterall, in IVF, hubbies only need to produce sperms while the wifeys become pin-cushions! So you go girl! I just hope that my hubby don't kaypoh in this thread...haha! Then the cat will be out of the bag!

hahaha mrs z ....men!!! they r all the same arent they ? initially i was really unhappy with my hubby coz he thinks its all a breeze without even knowing what it is all abt !! Promised me he will read up all abt it..but of coz he has yet to !! It was quite a mental struggle but I am glad Ive past it and I am really glad I found all of you to talk to. It is a huge, huge moral support.I 'm so thankful indeed !

Glad to hear u r responding better this time.Pls do keep us updated on yr progress. Normally,when i do my routine ultrasound scan on day 11, my follicle is ard 15-18mm. So im not sure how when i do ivf. Yes..think I shd go hv a chat with my doc !!

Renee, Mimi

I went for the acupuncture yesterday...and I noticed she used alcohol wipe to wipe her hand first, guess should be alright. And I smell like a smoked fish too..

She told me she is treating another patient who is currently undergoing the IVF process...could it be you, Renee? She said my womb is still weak and need to do acu every 2 days..but yesterday's acu was very painful, I screamed...haha. Not sure if I have the courage to go back so often.
But she's a very nice lady, actually hav seen her few years back, now going back to her..hoping she can help me this time round.

hi megan, miko &amp; tlll

don't despair, there are a lot of sisters here who are sucessful (though not necessary the 1st attempt)...I guess it doesn't matter as long as you are sucessful rite.

Though I am not exactly in the best position to advise, I am very sure we will be successful soon...must have faith ya

now I am looking forward to my FET,most likely in mar or apr.

hi summer, not too sure abt lucrin. As for Puregon, it does sting a little but no worries. It is not that bad. Yes all scans are done thru the vaginal...you may want to cut down on the caffine intake during this period. Caffine is not very good...there is a list of things to avoid in one of the earlier postings. Do check it out

moonfairysgp, don't worry abt the jab, it is not as bad, really. Don't stress urself out okie...

bluerabbit, do update us on ur scan...sure can proceed successfully

did &amp; mimi,
yes I'm with the mei ling street sinseh.the sission is about 1 an a half hrs. she charge me may be less than normal patients. we are long time family frens....

winter 1,
yes that should be me. i can take pain quite well actually. Though I could feel a little pain went the needles went in, But to mee is still bearable. yup, she's very nice and sincere lady. she always wnat the result to be good. just that before I start IVF i did not go to see her as often as it should be.so now, better be guai guai. hopefully can see miracle happen this time round.

blurblur,
I'll be going for my 2nd acuptr tom. see the next one can go on sat. then we can go together gether...

blurblur,
I'll be going for my 2nd acuptr tom. see the next one can go on sat. then we can go together gether...

Hi, new to this chain...i will be having my appt for ivf at kk this month but still thinking if i shld go ahead...i am 37yrs and the successful rate will be lower..can we choose the sex of the baby for ivf..also wanna know that for those who has tried ivf and succeed, how much is the est bill spend so far and how much do we need to fork out cash? Tks for your advise.

Hi 30s,
Good day to you!! Wah you're so early! Nice to 'meet' you here!

Hi blue rabbit, JJ, Blurblur,
Thank you for sharing :)

Hi JJ,
Congrats to U! How big is your baby now? Did Dr SF Loh do all the scannings? Or like 1 lady who mentioned earlier, that it is the sonographer on duty to scan for us? Thanks...

Hi Blue rabbit &amp; blurblur,
JIA YOU, JIA YOU!!

hi curious, gd am 2 u...u r early too...my hm pc is down so can only use off pc....:p

hi everyone, long time no "see". hope everyone had a good CNY break!

hi 30s, not sure about the succcess rate being lower for that age but i have known couples in that age group who have succeeded in their attempt. in singapore, you're not allowed to choose the sex of the baby.

i went to gleneagles and am under prof chen. i was lucky that i succeeded in my first attempt, and for just this ivf/icsi program alone, we spent around $15K

thanks curious, I definitely will.

hi 30s, welcome to this big family

like what missmoon said, cannot choose gender of the baby. as for success rate, you may want to check with ur doctor. I am wif kkh too...the cost is abt 7 to 8k on average but the cost will depends on how well you react to the medicine. Cash will be abt 2 or 3k cos you can claim up to a max of 6k for 1st attempt. Hope it helps.