Hi 30s, Bluerabbit,
Dr SF Loh seems to be fully 'booked'...I got my earliest appt with him only early next mth :-( I thought I can start my program next mth...however I counted my cycle, My AF juz over if I see him early next mth...so sad. Think my program can only start in Apr
:::::::

Now waiting for my Rubella blood test. Haven't done the HIV blood test. Nurse told me HIV blood test results only valid for 6 mths....

hi missmoon and blurblur..thanks for the info...need to get ourselves prepared on the upfront cash we hv to spend....in ttl...+ delivery.

Miko,

Ya... Guess we are quite similar. Sob Sob. I agree with u, I didn't waste time. Have gone to Thong Chai last Saturday for TCM and hope that my body will be rebuilt before my next attempt. Time is running out. I still remember when i was in my 20s, i hv always said that i wanted to be a mother before 30. But it just didn't happen and a lot of my younger friends are already mothers or pregnant now. Of course, I am happy for them but at the same time i feel jealousy and disappointment. Hope i have not dampen anyone's mood, I just need an avenue to vent out my sadness. I sometimes feel i am emotionally and psychologically imbalanced...We should support each other. When was your last IVF attempt? N wat are u doing now to improve your body?

Blur Blur, Shasha
Thanks for your encouragement. Ya, definitely we will continue to try and not give up.

Mimi

Yes, bloatedness esp. towards the last few days before ER. The stomache feels so streteched. After ET, bloatedness continues and just a few munches of food and I felt super full. But no OHSS so still bearable.

30s, no worries

we are here to share info and support each other.

curious, I am also seeing my dr in mar, so my FET will be in Apr...have partner liao

megan, I share ur feeling too...feel disappointed and sad but must press on and we will see light at the end of the tunnel...

I will be starting my program next cycle but instead of doing IVF, i will be doing GIFT. Will be going down to sign the consent letter this saturday.

i am still considering whether or not to go for ivf in the coming cycle. as u know, march will be the last bus for 2006 babies. my aunty told me, she has a friend's daughter who get pregnant thru a TCM dr. and the dr. guarantee results within 4 months. but, i have to travel to kuala lumpur in order to visit the dr... so, i am in dilemna now...

Hi blurblur,
I'm still contemplating to do SO-IUI or IVF. Dr Loh said I'm 'open' for all choices...he said I can continue to try naturally (if I want)...or try SO-IUI or IVF. I told him I've been trying naturally for more than 1 yr liao.... So now still thinking lor...but the nurse already booked an appt for me to see Dr Loh in early Mar for the IVF program. She said if I decided not to do IVF, juz call her and she will cancel my appt. She said if I decided to do SO-IUI can also call her and she will advise me on what to do.

Hi Hopeformiracle,
May I know what's the difference between IVF and GIFT? Thanks

Hi biscuit, the TCM doc that you mentioned in KL, how often do we have to see him ? and the charges how ? Thanks

curious, then you have to think abt it and discuss with your hubby. As for me, have try for abt a year and I am not very young liao and I have endo so doc recommended ivf and we went ahead.

since he gave you the options then you can consider, the success rate of ivf is better than so-iui.

well, now I am looking forward to my upcoming FET. Hope to start in mar or latest by apr, depending on when my period starts. now still not too sure abt my cycle since my loss. need to monitor. Mine used to be very accurate so hopefully my body get back on track soon.

hi blurblur,
ya lor...now hv to think and discuss abt it with my hubby. but when I ask him, he said up to me. I'm very sian with his answer...cos he seems like no opinion in this issue. To him, having 1 child is good enough already....as for 2nd child, he said have good, don't hv never mind.

I also hv endo, juz removed them & gynae at Mt E suggested to do SO-IUI to increase the chances of conception. This gynae very kan cheong type...told me don't wait too long cos juz done surgery, inside rather 'clean' lor... I think he is right in 1 way. However, I went to KK instead cos Mt E too expensive.

I'm thinking that b4 my endo returns, I want to try to conceive...I don't want to wait till the endo came back, then the condition not optimum even for assisted procedures...by then I'll cry!! I'll have to talk to my hubby again tonight.

I wish u best of luck in the coming FET!!!

Dear Megan,

I visited the AMK hospital and did acupuncture there. i don't know whether it has any help anot. NO result so far from my last failed IVF few months back.

What did you do in Tong Chai? They give you medicine or acupuncture?

Dear Shasha,

Can you help to check WHAT'S ur friend diet (what she normally eat) and do to improve her health?

What are the changes she had on her lifestyle? Pls share.....

Many thanks.

Hi Curious,

I have endo like you too. Better to listen to your gynae's advise and to conceive as soon as possible. I had a relapse shortly after my 1st op and so far, have done 3 op liao.

IVF and GIFT is almost similar except the sperm and egg is fertilise naturally under GIFT program. My gynae do not want me to go thru IVF cos he said no guarantee child born will have any birth defects or not. He did told me that study show that child born thru IVF started to develop some problems therefore it is safer to do GIFT again. GIFT started in early 80s and have higher sucess rate.

curious, my dr also rush me into the prg after my op...i had my fibroid removed...he said it will come back quite soon...like a few mths kind of thing...which also make me quite stress out...although i'm old but i am still considering whether shld i go to the prg now....my husband would like to try naturally for a while 1st (we try 5 yrs) he tot fibroid and thyroid cld be the reason we are not successful...

Hi 30s,
is this the first time u had yr fibroid removed ? I had a frd who had hers removed and she did conceive naturally after that!

Like u,I hv been trying for nearly 5 yrs but problem was mainly my hubby side. It took me 1 year plus to decide to go ahead with ivf.I had my first injection today which was pretty easy!!
I feel that sometimes thinking too hard abt it doesnt help(which was what happened to me ) In the end it became more stressful ,trying month after month and failing each time. So I was ready to go ahead with the program and move on from there. I empathise with what u going through as I ve been thru it b4. Dont be too stressed abt it coz I think when the time comes that u r ready for ivf,u will naturally go ahead n do it . Good luck!

Hi curious

ya Dr SF Loh is so busy, for me my babies is about two month. I try to get him today due to light blown spotting. but the private suite nurse told me the early one i can get him is on wed evening time, as i thought i pay more as in the private suite but still had to wait till he got time. Made me so worry.

Now from light blown to drak blown make me more worry. lucky is i don't had any pain. i had to monitor myself lor. Before i see him on wed evening.

Hi AH/moonfairysgp/summer/mini yap

Thanks for your well wishes.
Went thru the blood test n v-scan this morning, call up KKIVF at 4pm. The nurse told me that I hv to contiue with lucrin, for a few sec, my heart was going down... until I heard that I hv to go back on Thu with DH so that they can teach me how to inject puregon...so happy...hopefully everything will go smoothly....Feel really tired these 2 weeks and bloated too.

hi summer,

I was also a coffee drinker until I started lucrin... hv stop taking coffee ever since. I read it somewhere that it's better to refrain from taking caffeine while on IVF treatment.

I had my day 10 scan this morning. Glad that 9 follies seem to be right for pick up this wednesday. Nervous, anxious, so many mixed feeling. Also had the pregnyl jab and goodness, its nothing like Lucrin or Puregon! Just glad that I got through it anyway.

How is the ER going to be like? Has anyone here done it before and would like to share a little?

Miko2006,

My friend is also living next door. She is a proud mother of a beautiful 14mths girl. She likes to call her " my special baby". From what I know, her 1st IVF result in only 2 average grade embroys. She knew that she needs to prepare herself. She stopped all night life and get minimun 8 hrs of sleep. No drinking and stay away from smoking and claimed that she exercised ( 4 times a week of swimming). She had eggs almost everyday. Lots of veggie and fruits ( 2 serving of each per meal). Eat rice only for dinner. Each day, she took folic acid and multi- vat. Try to eat less of take out food but prepare more home cook so that she can control oil, grease, and also salt. Drink alots of water everyday. After six months, she lost a few kilos. She told me that key is to relax and treat it asif you are preggie. Watch what you eat. She cuts down to no junk food for the last two month.

Mrs Z.

Happy to hear the good news. ER will be much easier. You will be under GA,so you don't feel a thing.Just relax. All the best this Wednesday.

kao_babydust2.gif

Hi Shasha,
Thats motivation indeed..makes me feel so guilty now after my Macdonald's dinner....hmmmmmm!!!
How r u getting on with yr suprefact jabs? Had my first one today.Cant complain but did feel abit bloated and headache...not sure its the effect of the jab or the food I ate!

Mrs Z,
Hang in there!!!! What is the pregnyl jab for ?

hi shasha

agreed with mimi, yr reply is so motivating. seems like having a healthy life style is the answer to prepare ourselves.
Must start to do some warm up exercise now liao.

hi hopeformiracle

is GIFT program requires as much injection as ivf? can shed more light on GIFT?

hi mimi, all the best to you. yes, that was the 1st time i had my fibroid removed. My appt is coming soon and we are still considering pushing our ivf appt to mar. Did yr fren get conceive immediately after having her fibroid removed?

hi JJ, there shld be an emergency# u can call yr gynae right? some of my frens have their gynae's hp# so that they can contact him if there is an emergency....

Hi JJ,
Aiyoh...that's right...shld be an emergency case right? U can go 24 hr KK and see the doctor there. Wah...I also thot if booked Dr SF Loh then if preggi can see him at once...but looks like still gotta wait!! Unlike private gynae...anything, 1 call, we can go down and see him liao. Why KK like that hah??

Hi 30s,
I also same like u...very stressed after the lap. Keep worrying when will the cyst grow back! Did your gynae asked u to go for GnRH jabs?

Hopeformiracle,
Can u pls share where u do the GIFT? I don't think KK has it leh...

Hi blurblur,
I emailed to Dr SF Loh and he replied! I asked him with my endo condition SO-IUI or IVF better. He said IVF will offer a better chance. But still can try SO-IUI for 1-2 cycles.

But that day I saw him, he didn't say like that....that day I'm very alert and awake mah...remembered clearly that he said I can try either one or even naturally. But why now tell me IVF better chance for me. So makes me very confused now. Furthermore he said 1-2cycles SO-IUI is ok? Don't know what he meant by 'OK'.

My hubby said then juz try SO-IUI for 1-2 cycles 1st and see what's the results. Now I'm so confused.

Hi Blue rabbit,

Good luck to you. I am going to do it at GlenE. GIFT is slight cheaper then IVF but if I am to do it at GlenE and compare to KKH, of course the IVF at KKH is cheaper then the GIFT at GlenE lah. I am quite skeptical too, why my Gynae insist I do GIFT instead of doing IVF like everyone. But I trust his instinct lor and listen to whatever he says that he think is right for me.

Hi Summer,
I haven't went thru the GIFT program yet but my gynae said is the same as IVF except the fertilisation part is difference. The semen and the egg will be mixed together and put back in the tube for fertilisation to occur naturally.

Hi Curious,
You can check with your gynae whether KK has it or not and ask for his opinion.

hi 30s

sori not too sure how long she took to conceive but she did!! Actually there is no harm going for the ivf apptment n talking to the doctor.At least u get a clearer idea .Think I went to abt 4 or 5 consultations b4 i finally decided!!! Good luck!

Mimi,

I guess I got use to it by now. If thing goes to plan, I will have my ER on 23rd and ET on the 25th. Yes,the first a few jab will be diffcult but you will get the hang of after the 3rd jab. Just don't give up and deal with it one step at a time.

Hi Curious

Yeah lor! My hubby is a kan chong spider so once he came back and i told him about it he then immediately bring me to kk 24 hrs. after scan and check (both ok). So now on MC stay at home and rest lor.

curious, my doc also advised me to go for ivf for better chance. Think also depends on how severe is ur endo.

in terms of statistics, ivf offers better chances but there are also pple who succeed with so-iui or naturally, I guess it depends on our body.

so now, it is ur choice on what u want to do. you may want to read up more abt these 2 procedures then decide.

hi curious, he didnt ask me to go for any injection leh.

mimi, nvm now as just talked to my husband, he has asked me to push the appt to mar...though abit sian but let him decide lah..cos i cant think properly now oso....

Hi Ladies - just wanted to share and tell you girls not to give up but be positive. I finally conceived after my 2nd ivf attempt and 6yrs of marriage - after alot of prayers, careful diet and exercise. all the best to all of you.

Miko,
The sinseh gave me herbs and asked me to chart my BBT. They believe that the BBT will enable them to find any possible problems and treat accordingly.

Shasha,
Your friend is very disciplined! I am not sure whether i can follow this type of strict diet! But will try my best.

Hope all ladies who are in the midst of the IVF progam now will have their wishes come true soon!

Joy,
Congrats to u & my best wishes to you & your family!! Thank you too for your encouragement!

Hi 30s,
Indeed our mind is like quite blank and confused now. Me too cannot think properly now....no wonder the nurses in KK insist that we hv to go counselling 1st shld we go for IVF.

Hi blurblur,
Ya lor...decision is still up to me...that's why I confused. My husband said doctors can only tell me which is better or suitable. But doctors cannot guarantee that is 100% successful. So it is up to me to decide. Last nite discussed with him...he also said up to me. I hate to make such decisions.

Curious,

When Dr SF Loh told u that can try 1-2 cycles of IUI... it's good leh. Last yr, When I asked him whether I can try IUI or not, he said chances not high with my DH's condition. Might as well not waste $$$.

blue rabbit,
thanks...hope it's really good. you also don't give up. at least he still said that you can do IVF. Pls don't get me wrong. I mean at least our gynaes still hv options like SO-IUI or IVF for us....it means there's still HOPE FOR US!! :) Btw, hv u gone for the counselling session?

probably tonite gotta have a discussion with my DH again.

hi 30s

just relax fm now till march n try naturally...u still hv chance to conceive since u hv removed yr fibroids!!! dont be too stressed..good luck!!

hi joy

Congrats!!! thks for the encouragement!What exercises did u do ? I am not one who exercise but wud like to start now.Just wondering what type of exercise is ok for us who are on ivf programs?

hi moonfairy

yesterday was my first jab n the nurse taught me how to do it but this mrng, i had no confidence ,so went back to see her to do it .Hopefully tom mrng I will be more confident. haha. My hubby is outstationed so he has yet to witness it !! By the time he is back,I am sure I will be seasoned at it already !!! Lucky for him!

I am also thinking of starting yoga. Yesterday i went for a half hour walk. But not sure if walking is good enuff huh ?

curious, so you are like my case already have 1 child already? I initally see Dr Sheila Loh. However due to the extremely long waiting time and a few unsuccessful attempt to see her, I switched to Dr SF Loh. He is very responsive to email.

I didn't read all previous posts but gathered that since Dr Loh suggested for you to try SO-IUI, yours is not a male infertility problem. For my case, both the Loh's immediately recommended IVF as it's a MI problem.

And like what you said, Dr SF Loh indeed did say that decision is up to us as we already have 1. He mentioned that there is no pressure, I took it to mean that it will be emotionally less stressful than childless couples which is true.

And also like you, hubby also said that for me to make the decision. He will support me and contribute sperm! haha! Afterall, that's really the only thing they need to do right.

Seems like I am reading more and more success cases under SF Loh (JJ is one more).

If you were to see him early Mar right after your AF, you should be able to start 21 days from Day 1 of the cycle so it will earlier than Apr.

My friend hold high regards for him. She had a naturally conceived baby delivered through him. I find him nice and friendly. And he was able to tell me the various reasons why I spotted for a moment and during scan, show me the possible spot of blood vessels that may have caused the spotting.

JJ, if you want to see him urgently or worry about your case, email him. Tell him how badly you need to see him, he will be able to arrange something. That what my friend did and taught me to do it. I manage to have make an first appointment with him within a week after I emailed him. If through the central appt line, I had to wait for a few weeks.

Also, I had a second like spotting and email him and he responded within the night and reassured me that if it stopped, there is no urgency to see him.

Ladies, Hope these tips help.

Hi Mimi - thanks ! i did brisk walking and also stretching exercises. Also i went to see a naturopath and she helped to change my diet from less chicken to more fish and cut down on all forms of sugar. She also suggested I rub geranium oil on tummy every night to improve the blood circulation in the womb area. Started taking pre natal vitamins for abt 9mths before the ivf. And i also did accupuncture at tcm before the ivf.

Btw 30s and Curious - I had my fibrods removed in 2001 and I did conceive immediately when we tried but we had 2 cases of blighted ovum so it never grew. It took me another 2 years before we decided to go for our first ivf in Dec 04 and then we waited almost another yr before the successful 2nd attempt in Oct. Dont worry and rush into it - just concentrate on getting your body in good health first. Hope that helps.

Hi tch,
Thank you very much for sharing so much with me! Yes, I already hv 1 child, so Dr Loh said there's no 'urgency' & said I can either try naturally, SO-IUI or IVF. Then later I emailed and asked him again. He said IVF better chance, but SO-IUI ok too.

Dr Loh said my hormone blood test results are all normal and my DH's part also normal. But hor...1 thing though...there's a reading on my DH's report that showed only 4%. But Dr Loh said it is common and all right! He juz gave my DH some multi-vit that's all.

My early Mar appt to see Dr Loh is for IVF program to sign consent form and see counsellor. I called up KKIVF yesterday to enquire abt the SO-IUI. Staff nurse told me that if I try SO-IUI instead. I will hv to cancel that early Mar appt. Then when my AF arrives, juz call the KKIVF and the nurse will guide me along. I think shld be asking me to go down and buy medicine & other instructions.