need to ask a dumb question... when we thaw a Day3 embryo, can it still grow in lab to Day 5 blast? Or does it have to be put back into the womb immediately? If so, how do we know if the embryos have survived thawing?

Any idea?

Prayhard,
Actually in my heart I hope to strike naturally. Haha! Thinking too much liao. Tried so long still dun have, how can such things happen to me.. But ok la.. since no pregnant, might as well come early..

july,
erm.. I think once thaw they will continue to grow. If cant grow mean never survive ba.. I also not sure.. Just my thoughts..

Hi Irene,

You mentioned that upon signing the IVF consent form we'll be assigned to a doc. Does that mean we can still pay the $85 as i read earlier (mentioned by someone i cant recall who) to switch to Dr Loh if he's not the one assigned to me?

Diveera: Thank You so much.

This period makes me lost track of time. Every morning when i wake up, I'm not sure what day is it.

Implantation takes place on D6 to D9 or D3 to D5? Cause Dr Zou told me it is D3 to D5. But some sisters say that it is D6 to D9.

july,

Usually they will thaw 1 day before and let it grow. If d embryos can grow to D5, then will transfer on D5. If not, they will transfer earlier. If so suay *touch wood*, d embryos did not survive d thawing, they prob will thawa another straw but they will seek your consent 1st.

Hi Skies
Yes, froze all embyyos. Think in 3 straws can do 3 rounds. May i know after the OCP for 21 days, how many days of jabs did u have? When are u seeing next seeing doc? DO u plan to stay at home for the whole 2ww? Sorry so many questions hee....

Jia YOU !!!

nancy,

How many embryos do you have??

I juz came back from there.

Im abit blur on d days now.. I went to see Dr Cheng on d 9th Jan which is d starting of Lucrin jabs but my last OCP is on d 11th. I continued w Lucrin jabs until 30th. So d jabs are for 21 days??

I dont think I will be able to "disappear" from work for 2 weeks coz I only told my sup bout IVF but it happened tt my 2ww clashes w CNY. The embryologist told me D5- D7 is more crucial days so have to try rest as much as possible so I guess I will hav to take MC for next week. Oh, forgot to mention we are aiming to do d transfer next Monday but have to be on standby during d weekend in case d embryos did not grow too well or reaches blastocyst earlier.

HI skies
I also abit blur after a year's break
Just received an sms from TFC this am telling me to renew the storage fees for the embryo's care after a year. Hee..Like paying for child care. I think i have 10 embryos in total of 3 straws. How abt u?

U had jabs for 19 days. Guess it's +/- 21 days according to individual. Yes, i will also stay at home during the crucial period. After all these effort and $$$ spent, better to rest and hope the embryos will stick. How many u plan to put ? I dun dare to do 3 although i am turning 37 already. I will go for 2 embryos.

Wow, transfer next week ! That's good timing before dr cheng goes on leave. So exciting. Stay positive and all will be well. Jia you !!!

nancy,

I have 17 in total of 5 straws. They say will thaw 7 embryos to grow into blastocyst. I think they say d survival rate is 60- 70% ba.

I shd b putting 2 since Dr Cheng advise so. I hope I wont go crazy staying at home.. Maybe you see what Dr Cheng say when d day comes then you consider. There are ppl say to put 3 to maximize d chances. Now I hope they will survive during d thawing..

Tickles, I just went to see Angela this morning for scan. She gave me a detailed schedule of the programme. I will be cycling in April. You are doing it earlier right?

Her programme is very different from my previous one..seems to be using alot more drugs... i look at the list, abit see stars....

Skies
Yes, the thing that is beyond our control in FET is the thawing part. Hope that all will survive the thawing and choose the best.

nancy,

Juz tt I feel every stage of IVF/ FET, I have something to worry about.. How many eggs, how many are fertilized, how many frozen, how many survive thawing, etc..

Pandawife,
I should be starting in Mar. Depends on what my doc say next fri when I see her.

Haha! 1 whole list. The schedule includes stuff like when will ER etc is it?

Yes...bt the list before ER and ET is very very long!..heheheh..i look at it..lost for words...she ask me if wanna ask any qns..i blur...
Mine is in Apr..and 2ww will be end Apr-early May. By then mayb u hv good news to share already..

skies
ya..ya..unexpected things can happen at any stage. The very first round after the OCP, dr found that i had Hydrosalphinx -- water in the tube. Apparently, it may burst or if i got pregnant, higher chance of miscarriage. So terminated that round and went for surgery instead. Sigh .. Imagine I have been into this since 2007 and now my first FET in 2010.

But u have come so far, next week is transfer time already. Next year cny u will be collecting ang bao already

Irene,
..hallow hallow..first, I must apologise for not keeping up with the email but I know I will write to you and another good internet sister again.

Second, I second Gan, do go to Dr Loh immediately and let him familiarise with your medical background so that you will have no worries about the interruption of care and will get full attention. Nevertheless, I hope you will BFP and no need to start in Feb.

I have stopped going to Dr Zou for now you know....I just want to let body gain back its regenerative function on its own first. If I ever go back to her again, we can even meet up there..

Can i asked whether bbt is impt? I m on my 7th day of piregon and is supposed to go back for scan tmr.. Hv been taking red dates,logan drinks, 2 egg whites everyday, balckmore conecieve well pill and with heat pack on my womb everynight but my bbt every morning is still abt 36.1- 36.3...does that means low chance of success ? Usually When will the bbt rise?thanks

pandawife,
Hopefully I have.. Wa.. even before ER also have long list arh.. Abt what? The schedules for Puregon etc is it? I am keen leh. If you dun mind can PM me? Cos I am with CARE too, but then my planning is done by my doc. So I want to see if its the same.

sun,
I did not take bbt while on Puregon...bt I did take after ER...I tink tt is the most impt part...cos after ER, bbt shd be high...if it drops too much...chances are slimmer...anyway dun read too much into bbt....jus concentrate on yr jabs now...and stay relaxed!

Syrah,
yes, I may be the one who mentioned the switch. I was told I can do the switch to dr loh, if I dun mind to pay $85. the nurse told me its more of a formality to switch to a pte patient. cos if u are refered by poly, then u r considered as subsidized patient, therefore cannot choose. but still IVF is not a subsidised procedure, only the scans, BT, check ups etv before the signing consent is subsidised. Personally i think that;s good enough.

mmm......I shall take the cue from my AF... if it comes then I should really call KKH next week to make my appt with Dr loh asap.

Hi babygalore...
np la, we are all very occupied with one thing or another, feel free to write when your time permits.

hi Sun,
I heard from an experienced KKH midwife that before there is IVF and all these advanced tech.. bbt was one way of monitoring ovulation. but I am not sure in western med, is it you mus have reach a certain temp before u can conceive more easily. I am not sure if you are seeing dr zou. cos I used to hv temp 36.1-36.3, sometimes even 35.9! But since i took dr zou's med for about 2-3 months, my temp is now about 36.7. According to her, low bbt indicates that certain hormones level is not sufficient (but i din ask which hormones in detail). so she gv me tcm med to increase my hormones and in turn, increase my body temp.

having said that, i think it also depends on how each body take to the med. because it may be heaty, some may experience constipation or sore throat after taking the med. hope this info helps.

sisters......
can you pls share your wk arrangement during 2ww, do most of you take the full 14 days MC ? or go back to work after a few days? thanks in advance..

Irene,
Yr 36.7 is after O or before O? Before O, bbt btw 36 to 36.3 is ok...

Are u doing a fresh cycle? If yes, I m given 19 days of HL...bt cos my AF reported early, I shorten my HL to 14 days and go back to work...

Irene,
Its advisable to rest for the 2ww if u doing fresh cycle...and try not to be too stressed up...
Aft all, we hv gone thru so much and eventually hopes for a BFP rite?

Irene, dr loh from kkh dun believe in bbt at all coz is not accurate compared to blood test.

TCM used to say my ovulation is no good based on my bbt. but i did BT under my gynae & under Dr Loh. Both said my ovulation is good enough to get pregnant naturally.

end of the day, TCM is good for "tiao" our health / body, but that does not happen overnight. u r lucky, 3-6 mths u see effect. if not, a few years. but then when it comes to diagnoise & treatment, western medicine n treatment are still the best. even improving of womb lining, there are western medicine to take also. some sisters share here b4. so not necessary only just acupuncture.

i spent at least 1 year with a reputable TCM physician who was famous for fetility. even dr loh knows abt her. I spent so much money on taking herbs & acupuncture. but i nv get pregnant naturally though i hv no problems. she kept saying my main problem is ovulation not good enough even dr loh dun agree and DH's is fine too. dr loh also always says my lining is good enough to get pregnant also based on the scans he did.

but then i succeeded in ivf. wat does that show? i really dun hv any problem & can get pregnant. but i dun hv the luck to strike naturally. i should not hv wasted my time on tcm & just proceed to ivf.

another of my gf also, got pcos. saw tcm for so long. in the end, child 1 through western doc help. 2nd child also. she said tcm treatment takes too long. dun hv so much time to waste.

Thanks Irene!

We're been TTC for 5 yrs. I did TCM too. My HB sperm morphology is bad. So he took TCM too. It does help to 'tiao' the body. We conceive after abt 1 yr of TCM early last yr but unfortunately it was an ectopic. Laparoscopy revealed that both my tubes are in bad shape. Hence my gynae said it's best we go for IVF.

I agree that TCM does take a long time and requires a lot of perseverance. If you have the time and prefer to try naturally, it'll certainly help.

A question to all. I read somewhere that ectopic is still possible with IVF. I'm confused by this. I thought with IVF it goes straight into the uterus and bypass the tubes? I'm quite concerned about this given my previous ectopic. Can anyone enlightened me on this?

sun, bbt will go up when u ovulate, i.e. u will see a spike in ur temperature during O time. low bbt is normal at puregon since u are not ovulating now, no worries.
Like Rostrum said, if your bbt remains high after O, high chance if u are pregnant. If try natural, if BBT remains high for 17 days most probably u r pregnant liao

Hi Rostrum,
For me, 36.7 is when O starts, till the next AF reports. For Jan before O, i managed to have 36.4, 36.5 which i think is better than last time, which was 36.1-36.3.

Yes, I should be doing my first fresh cycle after my Feb AF (Fingers crossed) ... feeling anxious and wonder how will I be able to cope with the jabs.. each time when draw blood or injetion, i never to look at the needle.. like this can jab muself meh??

I think i would also prefer to take the whole period of HL, cos my job can be quite stressful at times... I really look forward to having 2 weeks of rest... but got to clear work before I take the 2ww leave is also stressful....

Hazel and Syrah,
I know where both of you are coming from. I am actually half-hearted about going back to see tcm regularly, becos I start to feel unsure about the effectiveness of accu. plus its not cheap to do take the med and accu twice a week. Then again, I'm thinking, I have done this for quite sometime, its just 1-2 more months to go... shall I continue? Cost is one factor, my IVF cost is on the high side, and I have no govt subsidy because of my age.

Hi Gan, when you say high bbt, do you mean higher than during O period? so if during O is 36.7, so if get preg, should be higher by how much? cos my bbt remains at about 36.7 (+- 0.1 degrees) after O period.. I am curious to know...

Syrah,
yes, etopic is possible with IVF because after the embryo is put back to the uterus, the embryo can still move back to the tubes, but of cos there is a good chance it will flow back to implant in the uterus.

Irene, ur temp at 36.7 is actually quite high. For me after my menses and before O, my temp is around 36.2 to 36.3, after O, is around 36.7 or 36.8.
Did u mention u have been this high since Jan?? Did you do a HPT?? maybe u r pregnant leh.You took your BBT before u got out bed in morning right?

Irene,

I've not tried the acupuncture before. My TCM doc only prescribe herbs that we have to cook on our own. Thus, I cant really comment if you should continue with your TCM.

Btw, I've been trying to digest the info here. This may sound stupid but what's 2WW? I really cant figure that out.

Irene an Sun, copied from wikipedia on BBT for your information:

The higher levels of estrogen present during the pre-ovulatory (follicular) phase of the menstrual cycle lower BBTs. The higher levels of progesterone released by the corpus luteum after ovulation raise BBTs. The rise in temperatures can most commonly be seen the day after ovulation, but this varies and BBTs can only be used to estimate ovulation within a three day range.[2]

If pregnancy does not occur, the disintegration of the corpus luteum causes a drop in BBTs that roughly coincides with the onset of the next menstruation. If pregnancy does occur, the corpus luteum continues to function (and maintain high BBTs) for the first trimester of the pregnancy. After the first trimester, the woman's body temperature drops to her pre-ovulatory normal as the placenta takes over functions previously performed by the corpus luteum.

Irene, dun worry abt ur age. Is true tt as we get older we r less fertile. But ivf can help overcome that. U will strike as long as ur womb is healthy n embyro is gd. Of course u need luck also. At older age we r also not as sexually active as the younger ones. Tt also reduce our chance. We try during our fertile days but it becomes mechanical n stressful. Again, will affect our chance.

Dr loh told me he has a 42 yrs old patient who delivered a pair of healthy twin. So dun be discouraged by ur age. Be more positive n I am sure u will bfp!!

Sunflower
OCP is oral contraceptive pill. In TFC dr will prescribe that before the jabs. Hydrosalphinx is where the tubes are filled with water. The thing is no sure if the water inside is acidic or not which may be toxic to the foetus if pregnant. So dr says better to remove it which i did. It's not because of the pills but so happened that during that particular scan the tube was very obvious. Dun worry, I am sure ur gynae will check for this at every scan but it;s just that we didnt know.

Skies
Sigh, have been married for 6 years already. Tried 3 x IUI all failed then moved to IVF in 2007. Hubby has sperm problems. First time discovered Hydrosalphinx had to terminate to remove tube and recover. Rested then went back to start again. Second time round, did first part then high chance OHSS had to terminate and rest again. Finally going back to continue soon.

Mentally very straining and tired. I have shed so many tears at each stage but i am not giving up. If i dun try, the chances is almost zero. If i try, i may have 20 per cent chance. So i am not giving up...yet. Sorry for pouring out here.

Hazel, want to ask you when your TCM dr say BBT not good, you mean she is referring to after O BBT and say yours is low? Can share what is your usual BBT after O?

Mine can be as low as 36.1 - 36.3, my TCM dr also say no good. I dont dare to tell Dr Loh my worries and concerns because i told him long ago, he just threw it out of the window!

Thanks for explaining and sharing, Nancy! Are you planning FET using embryos from your 2007 IVF cycle now or doing a fresh IVF cycle next?

Seed, my tcm physican expects temp after ovulation to be above 36.6. Mine can be just around there. She said still not gd enough.... She hopes to see 36.8 that kind.

But of course dr loh will say ovulation gd or not is determined by blood test not by temp which is not accurate

nancy,

Don worry about pouring out here.. Many of us are doing d same things too..

IVF is mentally n financially stressful for couple.. I guess we shd what we enjoy to do for now and keep our mind away fr IVF ba..

Actually for me, Im abit not prepared to do d transfer next week. Feeling nervous..

Hi, Seed
no need to worry about bbt because I am one of the case who conceive naturally with low bbt. when i was under ivf, my bbt can reach 36.8 to 37 after ET. but still i din manage to strike. Amazingly when i did conceive naturally, my bbt is only 36.2 to 36.4. Even now in my 8th weeks, my bbt is only 36.6 the most. So bbt din guarantee the positive and the negative. Relax and baby dust to you

Ladies I am curious. abt this body temperature thing...

I am not preggy thou and about to start my IVF cycle next tuesday but I have always have had my body temp 36.8, 36.9 and in recent times after taking DOM, chicken essence, Bak Foong Pills it has been 37-37.1....

I know this is heaty and been drinking alot of water... Seen my normal GP but was told it is normal...

In terms of TTC is this a good sign?

Gan,
Thanks for the info... I take my bbt the moment i wake up. Mine has been about 36.7 since my last O. But i remb the month before, i was also having this body temp, until my Jan AF came, then my bbt dropped to 36.3-36.4.

I hv a HPT but I am abit scared to test (too much disappointment previously), I thought of testing it next week if AF does not report.

Syrah,
when I first joined this forum, i was also very blur about the terms, it will take a while to get used to.. no worries..

Hazel,
thanks for your encouragement. I will try to look positive... I hope I can hv a BFP at my first attempt too!

Nancy, skies and ladies..
I can't imagine what it would be like for me once I start my cycle... will need support from you and the other sisters here..

Lyn... Thanks for your support... how are things with you?

Jeinthi Angel, I heard that Its not so good to drink DOM when its close to O, cos of the alcohol... Also not ideal to eat Bak Foong Pills if you in a IVF fresh cycle, becos Bak Foong pills contain estrogen (if I remb correctly), may interfere with IVF medicine. I heard this from a fertility forum by NUH doc. perhaps you can try to find out more...

Irene, if on ivf, dun take any medicine tt can interfere with hormones jabs. That include bai fong Wang n Chinese herbs. Even if tcm doc said okay I will choose not to take also. They r after all Chinese physican n how verse they r on western drugs we r not sure. Better be safe than sorry ESP when we hv gone through so much in ivf.

Even gp can contradict gynae n said certain medicines r okay for pregnant ladies. But u rather trust ur gynae then a gp right?

My colleague has chicken pox. I asked my co doc how since am pregnant coz we were working together. Co gp said as I hv yet to reach 4 mths I better contact my gynae n seek his advice. I told her I hv gotten chicken pox b4 but she said can get 2nd time which is called shingles.. I do know abt this.

So I called my gynae n asked him. He said since I hv gotten b4, bb is safe. I google the website n found out that I hv the immunity to chicken pox already n this will pass on to my bb. Even if I do get shringles (touch wood), it will not affect bb. But with shingles hv to avoid other pregnant ladies coz If they hv nv gotten chicken pox b4, shingles will pass on to them as chicken pox!

So my gynae is right. My bb is safe.. I only trust him. Since I let him do ivf for me, I hv been trusting him coz I know I m in gd hands. He understand we went thru so much to get pregnant our bb is very precious. I told him I may need to go overseas to work in 2nd trimester. He said tt time is safe, but if I dun wan to go, he is most glad to give me a letter of excuse.

hi rostrum, thanks for sharing your experiences at NUH, I have checked with the accounting dept of NUH and they have explained the charges to me..

Thanks again to all who have contributed to my queries!