july 2007,

What was your hcg level ? I heard the normal range is bewteen 50 to 100..

Others,

btw just now i get to speak to the some emybryologist from the lab at kk. She is friendly and we exchandge some tips.. i read from the sis here that the emybryologist in NUH is helpful... but nothing abt the 1 at KK..

Anywhere here is the summary ( if I remember correctly)

1) If you are going fresh cycle, good to have between 10 to 15 eggs..not more than that..

2) Most of the embryo is transfer at day 2 because they believe that womb is a better place for them to grow,

3) If you cultivate your embryo till day 5 ... many would not survive... but some pple still do that for higher chance of success ... you should do that if you have many embryo to spare.

-------
this 2ww is killing me and i toss and turn on the bed and i love to lie on my stomach is that ok huh ? i think i will end my MC early and go back to work after 3 days..

Sunflowerseed : How was your scan ? Is it more than 8mm already..

skies : How many day MC given ? I asked for 5 days but the nurse say usually it is 1 day ? weird right

judebabe,

I read MC for FET is not that alot compared to fresh cycle. Why dont you rest for this week? Can watch drama, play game, relax..

Hi ladies..

It was my neighbour who also went for IVF last year.. who told me to heed this advice. She told me to remain strictly in bed with legs raised after the ET...

She did not heed this advice thou and her feotus drop out on the 5-6 day...after transfer.

True aso as we will feel funny la whole day in bed... she is a childcare teacher and she went back to work within 2days after the ET.

She felt slight cramps at work and when she went toilet it just drop there according to what she told me.

Met her a few days ago and told her my cycle starting soon.. She kept reminding me again and again please dont forget to rest in bed...

Ladies - it is impt to rest in bed for the 1st few days but u must also walk around the house for blood circulation... just remember to do everything in slow motion and when u try to get up try as much as possible to use ur hands as support... turn to ur sides before getting up so the impact will be minimal impact on ur stomach....keep warm water by ur bedside so that it will be easier for you when u want to drink to keep ur womb warm ... the impt thing is to be +ive and talk to ur embies often to stick tightly to you ... gd luck

jeinthiangel,

hmm, how did your friend know foetus drop out after 5days? embbie will continue to develop into blastocyst for another 2-3 days after D3 transfer, then it will start to implant into your uterus. the whole process might take up to 1-5days for implantation. At that time, foetus has not form. even when u are pregnant at week 5, only a sac is form. foetus developed after that.

no need to CRIB for 5days, it will be super terrible. just rest as much as possible to minimise movement. u can still walk ard or sit up straight. just dont have big movements, shld be ok.

some pple are just sitting on sofa watching tv, and still strike. got 1 lady travel to oversea for team building the day after ET, still strike twins. your cervix is closed, as along as your embbies are good qualities and your lining is ok, then implantation shouldnt be a problem.

Hi July2007,
I started with brown spotting the night before and then bleeding the next day. It's like 1st day menses, without cramps though. I had to change a few pads. It lasted couple of days. The reading is about 100.
Dun think too much at this period. Just take your jabs and oral medication and hope for the best. Do bedrest and minimise movement.
I guess you can only confirm that whether your bb is there at 5wks by v-scanning for the sac. So dun think too negative yet, ok? If it's meant to be, it will be fine. I know it very depressing but no harm being positive right now. You got nothing to lose anyway right?
Take care and be strong.

Angel, this is ridiculous. A few days after transfer, the embryo has not even become foetus. It becomes A foetus only After 8 wks. Also, our cervix is closed so there is no way the embyro or foetus will drop out. The cervix will only be diluated n open during child birth. If u dun believe, u can surf the net for more info or ask ur gynae. Dun anyhow listen to ur ignorant neughbour leh... The sisters here who r trying may panic...

Yes, we need to rest after ET. But it does not mean complete bed rest through out. As long As we dun tire ourselves by lifting heavy things or go shopping, it wld be fine. Also, lifting ur legs up is also. Myth la. U mean all the pregnant ladies lift their legs r then get pregnant. No lah...

Some sisters here who r MTB do not even hv the luxury to stay at home during 2ww. Some even hv other kids At home to take care. I go out Also for meals, just make sure due tire urself. End of the day, just take care of ur self n make sure u r healthy n ur body is condusive. The rest is not within our control anymore.. Leave it to god, wat is meant to be urs it will be... If not

true i agree some points told to me i was scared stiff.. one of the reasons i came here to read up more to see others experience...

Lucky there are more ladies here with positive remarks...

Skies, i think that scan you went for was before you started progynova stimmulation? Then wont measure lining yet. Measure lining only after about 12-14 days on progynova. If at D14, lining havent reach 8mm, then you will be given more dosage and scan again a few days later and so on until you reach 8mm. This is KKH practice lor. My scan at D14 not good so increase dosage scan again at D16 still not good so increase further and scanned again today.

TangTang, you scanned already? Hows your lining? Going to ET soon?

Judebabe, yup, scanned and lining reached 8mm. ET on fri. I saw 2 ladies getting ready for ET today, one of them is yourself? Were you in pink or black top? All the best in 2ww, rest but dont freeze out like complete bedrest because its still important to move about for blood circulation. Keep warm and eat warm foods lor. I am not going to be resting alot this cycle. Will go back to work after 7DPET.

Singapoh, do you still remember when you ET, what was your lining? Maybe your lining very good thats why can securely stick despite you do housework. So good!

sunflower seed,

I see.. So if by D14, the lining reaches 8mm, meaning a few days later will ET or reach to certain thickness then ET??

Are you transferring 2 or 3?? All d best for your ET.. Jia you..

Thanks MTB like Hazel and Singapoh who came in and provided some relief !

Staying in bed is terrible... Want to sleep yet cannot sleep cos usually it is working time now.. sleep until the body is stiff.. wonder what is going to happen tonight...I am feeling depressed.

Btw... goood to raise leg lah... bit i doubt if anyone can tahan for more than a few hours unless you are sleeping..

Tang Tang and Sunflower seed,
My linning is 10mm today. Last thursday is 8mm.. Usually pple won't ask what is the linning on ET day... cos they will tell you just 8mm enough to do ET already...However...

I refuse to let it rest.. I am one fiery lady with Dr Loh so I just ask him straight...can tell me my linning today. He showed me the screen and said 10mm...

The reason why i insisted to know because I travel from Jurong to AMK to Dr ZOU on sat to sun to do accuptunture and I want to know whether she was effective...and

I am say her accupunture is EFFECTIVE lor although i find her taking the pulse only for show sometimes..

ls it really that embryo won't drop out while walking ? One thing I regret is not drinking lots of water enuff while at ET cos dr loh says.... "you didn't drink enuff h20 huh ?" I am worried that he can't see cleary and anyhow put in. Wat to do ladies ?

Skies, if D14 already lining 8mm, usually anytime after that can ET already no need wait till certain thickness because 8mm can transfer already. Anything between 8mm to 12mm is good enough for transfer. When are you scanning again?

I going to put in 2 embryos although planned to put in 3. I even asked to put in the lower grade embryos first and save the better grade ones for next FET if this one fail.

All the best Skies, if 8mm already then its very good. If not, dont worry, can increase further one by increasing progynova dosage.

Judebabe, your last scan was last fri right? So fri to now is 4 days so ideally 4 days grow 2mm. Ah ... then maybe i should transfer on Sat hor?

I think acupuncture help. In my previous cycles, also Dr Zou did acupuncture helped lining grow a few mm, enough to be in range of 10mm to 12mm before ET.

sunflower seed,

Not sure if it's standard protocol. But I have increased d progynova dosage from 2mg to 4mg and will increase again tmr to Sat.. Hope it will help.

Skies, same here but mine was 4mg to 6mg then scan on D14 then increase to 8mg and 2nd scan then 10mg till now. Think our protocol is the same just slightly different dosage.

sunflower seed,

Until today I don't know what was my lining. And I only found out my embroy grade when I saw Dr Loh at 8 weeks scan. He was surprise that my grade 2 (5 is the best in KKH) is implanted too. The other embroy was a grade 5.

Not only I did housework, I also played aerobic steps on my wiifit! Had cold drinks and chili padi. I was stressfree lah coz my expectation was low.

Skies, tangtang ,sunflower seed,

Yup I am the lady in pink.. come and say hi next time if you meet me either in AMK or at kk..the ivf cycling journey is a lonely one..P

My last scan was on thu... 5 days grow - 2mm. I am not sure whether you shd transfer on sat leh... the thing abt linning...nobody knows what is the growth rate ..although our dear physician swears by it..a few days shouldn't matter much

I think pple like us who do FET don't need to fret over quality of egg also cos cannot be changed liao...just make sure linning is 8mm and go for it...

Judebabe, actually i dont remember the faces liao, heehee
But i know i saw 2 ladies getting ready and there was 1 cheerful lady chatting to an embryologist outside the ET room, that must be you.

Yes, that is me
I seldom see embryologist talking to patient so I must grab the opportunity and ask all i can.... btw she is Chief Embryologist there at KK..

I read at some blog and there are pple who choose Embryologist when they do ivf just like they choose gyane but i think dun bother lah...

Can strike ... anything also will work..cannot strike...ask for the moon also no use

Judebabe,

Dr Loh was supposed to do ET for me but he had to rush off for a meeting. Another young lady doc did it for me. She has lucky hands. Both embryos implanted

hi ladies...most of u mentioned abt lining before ET...before my retrieval i did scan on sat morning and it was 9.8 then 3 days later retrieval than 3 daysa later transfer..so now am wondering what was my lining on transfer??????

By the way few days before retrieval i mentioned to Prof abt the lining..whther to thick is it bad or not...he asked me where did i get the idea frm?..i told him that ive read stuffs and also its widely known that he ideal is abv 8 to at least 13mm...he looked at me and said...firstly dnt read all these stuffs..cos we are doing ivf and evrything is thru medication...there is no such thing as too thick..he said as long as lining is abv 8mm..its good to go...this is wht he Prof Wong told me and hubby...cos i was so concerned abt my lining.
I went to ask Dr Jin...and i told her tht Prof dnt really bother much abt lining..and she said yea..some docs dnt really read much into this...so im just confused like sum ladies...

Hope n faith, my lining was 13mm 2 days before ET. I was worried tt it is too thick also on ET day. But dr kelly Loh who was on duty then Also told me for ivf patients, no such thing as too thick...

Well, I bfp. So, I guess she is right?

Hope & faith,

Prof is right. Dun read too much about lining and grading. Doc should know what's best for us. I just followed the protocol. Only came here after my ET. Everyone is unique.

Hi ALL,

I'm new in this thread. Will be starting my cycle in Mar. Can advise me what can I do to prepare my body for this long process...
I'm really afraid thinking of all the injects, scan, etc...
Really have to salute to all of u here.
I think the courage comes from our ONE GOAL- To have our own precious.
Hopefully each n every one us will be blessed soon

Singapoh, congrats. How many months are you now? When r u due? It is an really encouraging to know that both implanted even though one is of lower grade and that you go on with normal routine. Hopefully God answered my prayer and I also like you succeed in this cycle. I cut down some daily routine but, straight after ET, I go Tekka market to do my bi-weekly marketing. Didn't carry any thing lah of course, took a nap in the afternoon and bake a cake in the evening. Next day onwards, i started to go out also. I did try not to strain myself and avoid cold drinks and spicy food for the 1st wk. But now 2nd week, can't tahan, letting it go liao but in moderation lor.

Judebabe, see what work best for you. If you can't tahan resting at home, just go out for a short stroll at the park. Most imptly, is not to strain yourself lor.

Hazel, thanks for advice. Shd stop lying on my tummy which I have a habit of doing so.

Hi Seed,

I've my scan today and will be your ET bubby cycle on Friday. My lining still stay put on 7mm and Dr Loh thinks that I'm really to go but I'm quite worried. I've been to Dr Zou since a week but my lining still not grow. Sign!

Judebabe, I was at KK this morning. I wear a purple dress. I think I saw you. Anyway have a good rest.

Diveera,

Thanks. I am 19 weeks now. EDD is June 22. This is my 2nd pregnancy. My son is from Fresh IVF cycle. 28 months now.

I hv been lying on my belly when I am preggy. Stop when my bump shows coz it's uncomfortable in that position.

Singapoh, indeed ttc is something that neither we or Dr can fully control. We did our best and all lies in the hand of God and His timing. Do you have any embbies left, if yes, what do u plan to do?

Seed & TangTang, all the best for FET

Tang Tang,

Good Luck... !!!
Continue to do accuptunture at least 2 x before friday... who know they may grow..

Have Faith... Jia You

Hi Singapoh,
Guess you are right, Dun read too much before ET as it get worried at time.
For my case, the African doc bring my file to let Dr Loh reviewed and decided on my FET this Fri. My hubby even encourage me to go ahead with it.

Tangtang,

even during my 2 ww, I had been a silent reader. I didn't compare my symptom with anyone here either. My FET symptoms were much lesser than my fresh cycle.

I dunno why some sisters can lie on their on stomach. I can't. My abdomen will stretch badly when I do so... Even during 2ww. I hv backaches so wanted to lie on my stomach but hurt! So, is no good la

can anyone pls tell me if Suprefct or Lupron need to be refrigerated? Might be going overseas during that stage..... thks