peacy,
you can put the chicken in a "TUN ZONG" the one very old fashion ones that made in china,normally have a blue fish painted on it.can buy from NTUC. where ppl use it to do double boiling bird nest, and other tonic soup.It comes with 2 lids.Then put TUN ZONG in a pot or slow cooker that filled with water.boil them for about 2 hours.then you can get chicken juice out from chicken without adding water in the TUN ZONG.it works and very simple.

Thanks renee and tch

I am looking forward to the fri scan, I will be there ard 8am so may can get to see you there.

I think I have 20 follicles, I am quite contented with the quantity. In fact, like what renee, I am more concerned abt the quality.

blurblur,
ok I think we sure can meet.are you with DR.SF LOh? My hubby will go with me.How can I say hello to you??

blurblur,
I'll be in ribbon straps green top and white chiffon skirt.I have long curly/wavy hair.I'm quite a small size gal.
what you intend to wear?

hehe, I will in jeans coz it's fri. Have not decided on the top, will update you again

I have straight hair (shoulder length), fair skin and I am kinda thin.

I will keep a lookout for you

blurblur,
according to nures we thin ones would have higher risk of getting OHSS when there are more than 15 eggs picked up on ER day.I got it right on the ER day. Yes it's very nasty indeed.don't worry,prepare yourself with more egg white intake from now on.
I have a friend who had 19 eggs picked up but she was ok.she did not experience any discomfort at all,and she quite big size almost to the plum side.NOw she's pregnat already.so lucky of her.

hi missmoon

i will be seeing prof at 9.00pm tonight. just had my blood test this morning.

yap, u r right, i am onto my 9 day. any idea why prof call it a preliminilary result? does he mean that the result will change at later date again. in other words, not accurate one lah???

i am now so worried, really feel like buying those home test kid to try myself first before i go.... at least mentally prepared mah !!! but hubby forbid that leh....

this is my first posting but have been reading this thread on and off. We've been TTC for almost 9 mths already and no news. I've got mild endo and had my laproscopy in late oct.

I'm trying to find out info abt IVF in case we need to go for it. Right now, i'm feeling a little depressed. People keep telling me not to be so stress but it just so hard. I think u gals will understand. Hope i can find some support here. I'm currently waiting for my hubby sperm analysis results. Praying hard it will be good.

Can someone pls tell me which doc is good for IVF? What is the IVF cost for private and public hospital?

Hi Peacy

Think the other sisters had taught u the steaming method. My only suggestion is to add abit of gou3 ji3 zi3 and DCC, it will taste better. Now I couldn't stand the plain chicken juice taste liao, think is de change of appetite. Do not add any salt, the juice is very tasty.

hi potato chip,
how are you doing?hope you and BB are well. Have something to check with you.Did your menses come before the 17th day, when due for blood test during your first FET?thanks.

gals those of u who took bcp b4 u started the lucrin jabs..... your af came after stopping bcp? how many days after stopping bcp did your af came? i'm feeling stressed leh... if af doesn't come then i may have to abandon my cycle.... don't want to abandon now leh... if i abandon now, i don't know when i can find the courage to go thru this again..... anyone have experience? pls help.

Hi Seow

Just call the nurses now to tell you the result... They dun usually reveal over the phone but ask the nicest nurse around. Just ask them to tell you "Yes or No" will do liao.

Prelimary results mean the results may not be 100% accurate. Prof just wanna see if there is any indication of pregnancy. Me very kan cheong for you leh...

Actually if you want, you can go test yourself oso as I did test in that morning when I am support to go for beta test on 8DPT. Let us know okie

seow,
know it's easy for me to tell you to relax.... don't worry too much you'll be fine ok.it will be a good positive result!! Jia you!!!

Renee,
Best of luck to you on your blood test results. Stay positve ok

Blurblur,
Thanks for your well wishes. I passed my driving test!

My FET will most likely fall on 6 Jan. Hopefully by then you two are mum-to-be okie

Hi Reverie,

Cheer up! You're not the only one facing this challenge. Initially I was very depressed too when I found out that we have difficulty conceiving. And it doesnt help that it seems like all your friends and colleagues and pple ard u, got pregnant so easily!

There are many IVF centres ard. I personally find that their standard would not differ very much. So it comes down to your budget and how comfortable you're with your doctor.

I've been to both public and private hospitals. Their cost could vary from $6-13k. You can refer to MOH website. There's a publication on the cost and success rates of different IVF centres - http://www.moh.gov.sg/corp/publications/details.do?cid=pub_info_papers&id=27918339

My advice is, seek a few opinions from different centres before you settle on one. I did that by chance and found out that just on my husband's sperms quality some centres told us that the sperm bank welcomes him while some said that he needs surgery! How extreme! Luckily, we went around.

Hey ladybird, congrats on passing ur driving test
and thanks for your well wishes too.

MSH, what's bcp?

Reverie, don't despair. I also have endo (hateful stuff, rite) and we have decided to opt for ivf. While as for which doc/hospital to choose...you can refer to ladybird's earlier posting. It all depends on whether you are comfortable wif the doc. Do get advise from doc if you really need ivf.

Ladybird,

thanx for your reply. The MOH paper was very helpful. Actually, it's very comforting to read that many ladies in this thread have conceived through ivf.

Keep telling myself it will be my turn one day. You are right, whenever my friends announce their pregnancy, i feel happy for them but at the same time sad for myself. And guess what, on the average, i get at least one such announcement a month for the past few months. I would secretly wish it will be my turn the next mth but always turn out to be a disappointment. My hubby is much more optimistic than me, so I tend to keep negative thoughts to myself as i really dun want to dampen his spirit. Somemore, i find that i can draw strength from his optimism.

Btw, can u tell me how ivf disrupts work? I'll be starting at a new work place very soon. If we really need to go for ivf, i would prefer not to let let my boss know since i'm new to the place, unless circumstances does not allow. How do u deal with this?

blurblur, bcp is birth control pills aka contraceptive pills. my clinic gave us nordette. do your protocol start with bcp or with lucrin right away?

blurblur,

yup! endo is hateful. Somemore mine is no symptoms type. Was shocked when told by doc abt the condition. After the laproscopy, doc said he removed most of it. Before the surgery, i used to have spotting for many days before menses actually come, but now menses just arrive without spotting. My TCM physician says this should be the way. Spotting for many days is not so good.

Btw, wish u all successes for your ivf! :p

Hi MSH,
Seems like we're on the same protocol. I've just finished my last bcp yesterday. Meanwhile, I'm still on my lucrin jabs. My last jab would be on next Wed.
Before I got married, I had taken bcp for quite some time for my PCOS. Usually my AF will come abt 3-5days later after the last pill.

Reverie,
Throughout the IVF cycle, it's usually on the day of the embryo transplant (ET) and 2-3days after that requires off from work. You would be given MC to bedrest at home.
As for the rest of the IVF procedure like scanning and injections depending on which clinic you go to might or might not interrupt with your working hours. Some clinics do it quite early like before 8.30am, while others close really late up to 11pm.

Besides that I think it really depends on how you react to the IVF treatments. I had a very bad OHSS and to make it worse my job was very stressful. I was terribly stressed out physically and mentally then. Luckily my boss was very understanding. I took abt 2wks of hospitalisation leave after my ET, not including those few days of MC in between the early part of my cycle. But sigh, my cycle still failed

In the end, I've quit my job too. Trying to take it easy for my FET this round.

Hi Renee

I am fine, just have to bare with the mild MS now. So far, for my fresh IVF and FET, my AF did not show face prior to my beta test. I understand tat the progesterone we taking will delay AF, if I not wrong.

Hi msh, mine is bit different. Didn't take bcp but was given a jab of depot to suppress the hormones. This jab lasted me 3 months and throughout the 3 months I was in a state of 'menopause'.

Hi reverie, I also had a laproscopy done last Oct and have been ttc-ing until the last CA125. The reading shot up and doc advised that it is better to proceed to ivf. Mine was the painful type, every month I have to suffer bad cramp

Glad that it was removed, but endo will usually reoccur. True for my case that's why I was on depot instead of lucrin. A little different from the rest of the gals here. Where did you have your laproscopy done? I totally understand what you are going thru, cos I feel happy for pple who are preggie and the same time sad cos I am still not. I was even alienating myself for a period of time by avoiding baby showers and gatherings to avoid being the 'target'. Pple tends to ask lor and some are not so sensitive. Anyway, since we chose to embark on this journey, have to stay positve. I chose to look at it this way, at least we get a shot and our turn will come

Hi tch, today is your ER. Must jia you okie? Am sure everything is going to turn out fine
Do update us okie?

hi ladybird. congrats you pass your driving test!! see, this is a good start for everything ahead.so your BB is on the way to meet you!
thanks for you well wishes.really hope there will be milacle happen tommorow.I'm still praying very very hard.

potato chip,
thanks for sharing your experience.though I know my chance for this FET has over since I tested -tive on sun.but I'm all ready to go for the next fresh IVF.may be not so soon,till march.was your first FET a natural thaw? you were given cyclogest progesteron tablets for insert right?I've been thinking should I stop inserting since already -tive.

potato chip,
Sorry sister I miss out something...How long after your beta test your AF came? Did you get cramp when your AF due?thanks.

hi seow
i really really hope it's good news
prof calls it prelim results cos if positive then it's a first indication that the IVF/ICSI is successful, that implantation has taken place. the next stage is for the bhcg to double up everyday, a chance for the embryo to grow and attach firmly to the womb. so more rest is critical, that's wat he advised me when tested +ve. can't wait to hear from u, veli kan cheong now.

Hi Renee

Think u might hv tested too early. U should continue wif the cyclogest progesteron (yes, I had this for my 2 FET too), as this is very important for the support.

I had 2 natural thawed cycles and succeeded during my 2nd natural thawed cycle. My AF came about 2-3 days after my beta test. It was like my normal AF, no cramp n no exceptional heavy flow.

thanks for replying ladybird and blur blur

ladybird, so you expecting AF by sat.... do let me know if it has come can? I developed a cyst and AF has not come... it's supposed to have come yesterday... actually i had 2 drops of brown discharged together with CM yesterday nite... not sure if that means AF is here.... but today totally dry below. sorry for tmi.

potato dhip,
Hope it's like what you said too early... but most sisters here who already tested +tive even 2-3 days earlier than I did.It's ok la, I will hold on till the result's out.anyway it's only one day to go.thanks so much ya sister.

Hi Ladybird,

You are so lucky to can go w/o a job... are you staying at hm to rest now?

Do we really need to stay at hm to succeed for IVF? Like total bedrest???

Is work stress a cause for the IVF failure?

I keep asking myself this question?

To quit or not before IVF?

As i understand lot of sisters here did get pregant though IVF and is working as well.

Lots of different and mixed thought and feelings...Welcom Anyone to share

maxxx,
I'm a housewife too.even before ivf started. yet i failed for the fresh cycle n now tested -tive again for FET.so I guess, it's all about individule health condition.

Dear Maxxx,

I would like to share my experience with you regarding IVF as my wife and myself had gone through one cycle (which failed). We tried TCM subsequently and succeeded in conceiving naturally (I dont know whether it is due to the TCM). My wife is now in her second trimester.

My IVF experience had been daunting and expensive but I had managed to read up very substantially on this subject. May I offer my opinion?

I feel that it might be useful to know that the success rates (as in live birth rates) of ALL fertility clinics in Singapore do not exceed 30%. This information can be obtained from the MOH website for the year 2002. It is also important to dispel the inaccuracy of some forumners saying that certain clinics here had achieved 80% success rate-this is not true at all.

In other words, the failure rates are pretty high in that more than seven out of ten patients would probably fail to complete a pregnancy in an ivf cycle. In short only slightly more than two out of ten would succeed.

I believe that there is no hard evidence that the success rates increase for patients who can stay at home. I understand that success rates depend substantially on the quality of the embryoes, the age of the patient, the physical and hormonal conditions of the womb etc and quality of the doctor(?). No hard evidence that work stress causes failure in IVF.

I also understand that total bedrest is not a prerequisite and it is only ordered by the doctor in some cases of threatened miscarriage, that is if you are pregnant in the first place.

If my wife and I had to start all over again, we will safely say that we would not decide on IVF or at least we would have had a greater skeptism on its efficacy than we have had.

We would try other alternatives such as TCM or even try for a longer period without giving up.

Our reasons are:-

a) the low success rates of IVF;
b) the relatively high costs (our clinic charged a total costs of around $25,000 although what was quoted was only $8,000!);
c) the emotional roller coaster that would be engendered by the treatment;
d) the time resources that we have had to commit and (waste)in undergoing the treatment; and
e) the lack of support/service from the clinic during and after the treatment.

Even if you have decided to undergo IVF, i implore you to find out more about the clinics offering such treatment and be clear as to the total costs instead of taking the quoted fee at face value.

There are numerous threads in this website on various clinics which may be useful in ascertaining the quality of each of the clinics/doctors. Just type the name of the doctor under Find In This Page at the main page of this website.

Best regards to whatever decision that you will finally arrive at.

hi babylover,
may I ask what's your reason that you needed IVF?(though it did not succeed)which TCM you visited that your wife conceive naturally?Thanks so much for your sharing.

Dear renee,

The doctor told us that we had unspecified infertility problems. I guess he was not able to pinpoint the exact problem we were facing. However, I did have relatively low readings on sperm numbers, motility and morphology. My wife, we were told, had some fibroids which were removed by the doctor (but some fibroids had recently re-appeared).

We had decided on IVF because the doctor told us that IVF would be "recommended" to us because, among other things, we were relatively old and therefore "time" was running out.

As for the TCM, I will pm you the name, address and telephone number.

Thanks for all your info on the double boiling of the chicken. Will try to do so when I am free this weekend. Just went for my first visit to my gynae. He briefly did an adominal scan for me and he said that normally, they are 15% of miscarriage chance. He told me to take things easy and must remember to take my folic acid. I am only in week 7 and so he said that they are still in initial stage. I will need to go back and see him in 2 weeks time. When I heard about the 15% miscarriage, I got a bit worry. He said if there is any bleeding, I must inform him immediately. I am now a bit paranoid everytime I go to toilet. Really pray hard that everything will be fine.

sorry to disappoint all, but i am not tested +ve. so sad, really do not know what to do next as i do not have any frozen embryos. which means to say if i want to try again. i'll have to go thru the whole thing again....

i really in a lost now. anyone out there can share some light with me. now that i have failed, what's next ?????

sad sad me...sob sob

Dear babylover,

Congrats on ur wife pregency, so happy to know both of u succeed naturally.

And many thanks for sharing ur story.

It has bring much enlightenment to me.

May you PM me the TCM you visited as well.

All the best.

Dear renee,

Don't give up, Contiune to try...

hi peacy

i saw prof last night. result -ve.

3 embryos transferred. in singapore, the law doesn't permit us to transfer anything more than that.

Seow,

I am so sorry to heard that. Do keep your chin up. I went thru' the same feeling. Lost and disappionted with anger and wondering what went wrong or what I should have done....bla..bla..bla.... Don't start blaming yourself or your partner for anything. It is just not meant to be this time. That does not mean you did not do your best and take precaution to the best of your knowlege. Cry if you have to..be sad of you have to (Hug... and more Hugs... from AH) but realise that you will not give up in your dream of being a mommy. Will you be seeing your Doc any tome soon to review your case???

seow,
I think before you, I'm the most recent failed case in the thread.wors that I failed AGAIN for my FET.But I learn to take it easy now as I understand better what is it all about.Really it's beyond our control.All of us here wish for the +tive result at the end of the prog.somehow not all...I've decided to do my next ivf in march 06.and during this 3 months break I will get rid of my adeno problem and may be take TCM to prepare my womb .hope can have a better chance for the coming IVF. Like all the sisters here been encouraged me so much, I won't give up!!! You too.It's not the end of the world.so long your RE did not tell you it's the one and last chance you have in life to do IVF.You have to hold yorself together.can sob sob, even cry loud loud! go ahead. But don't cry too long. you will get over it. By then you will be ready for the next round of IVF.ok?

Dear maxxx,

i tried to pm you the particulars of our tcm but i encountered a message saying that you do not accept private messages. is there any other way i can send the particulars to you?

Dear renee,

i had meant to ask you who your doctor was and what were the reason(s) for your ivf. also, why a second/subsequent cycle? have you or are you considering alternatives or giving yourself more time?

also interested to know the quoted fees and the actual total costs for the first cycle.lastly, did your doc tell you how much it would cost for the FET (the second/subsequent cycle)?

Dear seow,

sorry to hear the news but do not give up on natural conception. we went through a similar situation as you with the same clinic. the treatment failed, we did not have a good/pleasant experience and we were therefore determined to try on our own (with the help of tcm, i think) and succeeded after 3 months.

i am in my early forties and my wife in her late thirties. i have low sperm count (on all counts ie in terms of motility, morphology and quantity) and my wife has had fibroids. Like you, my wife was initially depressed but after 3 months (of our failed ivf) she managed to conceive naturally. barring any unforeseen factors, EDD is May 2006. i hope you are encouraged by our experience to try harder on your own and not be let down by your own experience.

by the way, did prof present you with any suggestions after your test results?

Renee,

I am sorry to heard about yours. Hug...and more hugs from AH. Do you know which TCM you will be going for your treatment??