Cheer up sunrise, you still have one more cycle to go so must press on

Tch,
u mentioned u conceived your 1st child naturally despite poor SA results. So glad to hear that someone managed to do that as i'm in the same situation. My hubby SA results was bad... ivf has been floating in our mind since we knew the results yesterday. We r in a dilemma whether to proceed with ivf immediately or to go for iui or try naturally first. I guess after reading your post, i will probably give ourselves some more time. Can u tell me what u and hubby did differently that mth u striked naturally?

ladybird,
my email is [email protected] Thanx so much!!! :p

AH,
ya lor... i was soooo sad yesterday evening! Sat in the car and dazed for a good 20min after knowing the results. Later in the evening, i was surprise with myself how i managed to look beyond the problem and even went supermarketing wif hubby. I think our saving grace for yesterday was that i sent him an sms that says "at least u have me and i have u"

To all,
it's really very nice to know that i can find support here. hope we can know each other better. :p

Dear tomatoes and mismoon,

actually, i do recall that this series of postings started with an innocous posting to a request for ivf experience and the main objective of my posting had been and still has been to relate my experience to somebody who is contemplating ivf and may not know much about the experience of those who have gone through. it is not (solely or even mainly) about prof chen or his clinic- in this area, different people have different opinions and i can accept such differences. The original posting, if you will recall, relate to the factors which i considered to be relevant in assessing the viability of ivf (prof chen was not even mentioned).

So tomatoes, the issue about prof chen is only incidental to the genesis of my postings. i agree with you that there should be closure on the prof chen issue. thank you for wishing us well- we are coping alright. may i take this opportunity to wish you well in the bringing up of your newborn.

Mismoon, i think that the maths do work the way i think but what is really wrong is to say that everybody has a fifty percent chance of success because it can never be. as tomatoes has (i think rightly) pointed out, individual factors which are specific to the individual person play an important part in assessing her chance of success.

My last words are- for those who have undergone and/or are undergoing ivf, dont be despair by my postings as i did not mean to discourage. you probably had taken into consideration all factors which are relevant to you before embarking on this journey. i wish you every success from the bottom of my heart.

For those who are new and wish to seek information, please be aware that there is a lot of literature, differing opinions and alternatives out there. Factors such as age, finances, time resources, emotional impact are important considerations. Do study carefully and do consult a wide spectrum of people with experience in this area.

babylover
thanks much for your clarification. opinions will differ from each person, nonetheless, i see your pt and understand where u're coming from. best wishes to u & ur wife on the journey to parenthood.

hi blurblur, how's the size of follicles todays and the number? Think your length of cycle, is exactly like mine. I went for 3 scans before Dr said ok for ER. What time will you be there tom? My appt is 8.30am.

Anyway, don't have to be too anxious about the ER, it was over before I knew it.

As you know KKH only gives 5 days MC, so I will be back to office during 2WW. Actually, am glad to do so, else I will be bored to death and rot at home. You know, 1 hour into the recovery time after ER, I already cannot tahan lying in bed and asked the nurse when I can leave.

Reverie,
How long have you been trying? Don't lose hope yet. When I saw Dr Sheila Loh, she said the are few factors we managed to conceived naturally. It could be that my egg was superior quality and I was younger. Afterall, it only takes 1 sperm to get pregnant. As for TTC no.2, she mentioned that since we are getting older, the "shell" of the egg will get harder and thus more difficult for sperm to penetrate, in addition to the poor sperm factor.

What we did differently was..We went to Tong Chai TCM but only took the medicine for about 1 to 2 months. I got impatient and read online that certain supplements helped...like zinc, L-arginine, L-carnigine(spelling?), selenium, COQ10...so hubby was on a concoction of vitamins for about 2 months. When we went for subsequent SA, his SA result indeed improved but is still considered way below standard. So we don't really know whether it's the TCM or the vits or something else(see below)....He was also checked by DR to determine that he does not hv vericole vains problem.

And I am going to tell you a myth that might have resulted in no.1...During the period that we TTC no.1, we went to Langkawi for holiday. (We already knew we had infertility problem and Dr already recommended IVF) There is this lake in Langkawi that is called Lake of the Pregnant Lady. Legend has it that any infertile couple who take a sip of the lake water there would get pregnant and thus it was given the name and publicise as such in Langkawi's travel info. So since we were there, I tot no harm trying..so I took a sip and the month after we came back from the trip, I discovered I was preggy!

To others who think I am stupid to believe in such myth, take it as anecdote to lighten the somewhat tense atmosphere here.

Well, I really don't know what's the reason for no. 1, it could be a combination of all factors. We think he is a miracle baby and has brought us much joy depite being a difficult baby. But give a try on TCM and supplements for male infertility problem. It definitely give the sperms a booster.

for one who failed after the ivf, when will the AF come har? i am into my day 11, still no sign of AF leh. Can someone pls enlighten me....

Tch,

Thanks for yr inspiring story..it really gives us a morale booster today....

Like yourself, i am in the same boat hving to rely on assisted conception means for the next child...

You are right in quoting wat Dr Sheila Loh says as i hv been given the same reasons....our eggs cld have deteriorate with age and also our hb's spermies cld have deterioted due to stress and the foods we eat...

hope you take a good rest and take care of yr health...

hi potato_chip

I have not stopped my medication yet. now still on crinone instert.

When were u given progesterone? After tested -ve? and you said 2-3 after progesterone, that is how many days after ET???

YO!!!To all my supportive sisters,
My blood test is the same. -tive lah.
kao_frustrated.gif
but i'm doing ok. looking forward to next appointment to see Dr Loh next week.Now I will have to start my daily routine again as usual. No more relax sit and wait for food to be served life liao.I'm going to cheong for my Penang food tommorow!!! ha ha ha! been waiting so long and think of the penang laksa,char kway tio,kway tio soup!ho ho ho.
kao_drool.gif
anyone like to try, i tell you where it is ok.
tonight I will cook the 1st meal after 17 days.any dish can suggest??

Seow,

You are in D11 in your 2WW, must always think positive..... worry about AF after your Beta test... NO AF still have hope for being preggie....Don't think about failure unless you have to... RELAX.... enjoy your 2WW. Here lots and lots of babydust...
kao_babydust2.gif

hi renee

looks like u really have 'think open' liao har!

today is my birthday, and will be going out for food...hmmmm.. what's nice !!

anyway, i was down yesterday cos' i thot i could have the best birthday present this year. but... well... what to do, is God's faith.

come to think of it... i missed chicken..heee..tonight can eat liao !!! who cares !!!

Renee...
Don't give up.... when you go for your follow up with your doc ask about the details of your IVF. That starting planning as it how you can make it better on your next attempt. As for tonite...sorry.. I am not cooking..have a Xmas party to attend and tomorrow 2 parties to attend...sorry sister, you are on your own....hee.hee.hee

AH,

aiya, already tested -ve during D9 liao... so i don't pin any high hope anymore.

potato chip, thanks for the info. i just have this feeling that AF is coming anytime..

tch,

I have heard a lot of stories about that Lake. You can also take a bath in it, too. Rumors have it that this lake will gives life and many life were taken... drowning while swimming in it. I am planning a diving trip next year to Langkawi, maybe will get some of the water home.

seow,
I think open open since the day I tested myself already. We both same same lah though could have the greatest birthday...but at the end nothing but sob sob and funny taughts.(during my 1st failure in OCT)ya I also tahan very long without tea already.tom I wil be a free bird!!!ya, I think I can free from tonight instead. I will cook hong kong style steam fish ha ha....

hi AH,

but test now or test later got difference meh ?? i also don't know leh. but it is done thru blood test, so can't be that wrong.

anyway, already disappoint once, so if test again, it will just be another time of disappointment and i have to spend another day getting over with it again.... so better be prepared lor

AH,
eh, can I tumpang a bit of the lake water from you pls?he he... wah, you so shiok ar? got party to attent. My hubby said he don't want to organiz paty, but only two of us have mini BBQ out side our house.

Seow,

I am not an expert but I was told that if test within 2WW may not be true and accurate, cos of the medication given.

AH,
yeah, just hope the sky doesn't rain that day lah. or else I need to cook all the food in my oven already.By the way sister,are you on your way to IVF soon?

Hi Renee,

Glad that you all are feeling better now. It's always very miserable when the good news just don't come. I still remember I cried like for many days after the nurse called and told me that my AF should be coming in a few days' time.
But this time round with the support from this forum, I think it's a booster to our courage to go through everything again.

Let's jiayou together okie!

hi ladybird,
I must admit that both me and my hubby are very disappointed but,like I told seow, so long Dr never tell me it's my one and only chance in my life, I will keep trying.at the same time I won't try blindly of course. I will see what can I do to increase my chance for my next IVF in March.yes we must supprt each other. I think if not because of you all here I won't be able to pull through for such a disheartening truth.TWICE some more!!!

Renee,

Yap... waiting for Jan 06's (Oooops, next mth) AF then call NUH on the 1st day.. will have to do HIV test ( old one expires, valid for six month) After 21 days, starts jabbing myself with superfacts....blah blah... the same old stories.. .. Hopefully, there will be a happy ending...

Renee...

I agree with you 100%. Having a supporting Hubby play a different role, while having supportive friends that give you the "booster" serve another aspect of life. In life we need that validation..

Okay... Renee,

I have to go and make myself look pretty for the party.... You have fun with the mini BBQ, and I will dance so that the rain will go away tonite just for U. Chat with you soon..

AH,
wow that very soon you know?you sure will have happy ending....ya talk about that HIV test...I got to do it again also. ai yah, I hate that leh. can don't do or not??ok go go go,make yourself pretty. enjoy ok.chat again.

Thanks Renee, it's good to stay positive and am very proud of you for being so strong

tch, my follicles are still not big enuff so need to continue Puregon till tomorrow. Hope the scan tomorrow will be good. 20 of them, abt 50% are 12.5mm and above, biggest is 15mm.

How many eggs did u retrieve? How many embies do you intend to transfer?

I will be there ard 8am, should be able to catch you. How to identify you?

ladybird, renee & ah,way the go gals
kao_kiss.gif
let's all work hard towards our ultimate goal

Hi Renee,
Sorry to hear that you didn't get a +ve. But it's good to see you're ok.
I'm also planning to do my fresh cycle again in march/april, after i get the go-ahead from the MP sinseh. Let's jia you together!

Renee, I salute you for being so strong!! Just maintain a healthy lifestyle and "pu" more.

AH, we actually swam in the lake leh...didn't know it took many lives...so scary.

blurblur, hmmm..think I will be wearing a brown capri if I can sstill fit cos I am so bloated. I am quite tan with longer than shoulder hair..short about 1.55m not too skinny not too fat..my hubby is quite small size and dark too...

The nurse told me 13..that is much lesser than the follicles. I also had about 20 follicles. Just hope most of them fertilized.

Cya.

HI Ad,
are you with KKIVF?Where is the MP sinseh you mentioned?Sorry ar, MP stand for what huh?will you stil take chinese med while taking all those jabs like lucrin and puregon?

to all my sweet sisters,
I am still able to be strong may be partly because there's no hormone jab like the fresh cycle which cause emotional unstable. plus,some how I couldn't see myself succeed through this FET.DOn't know how to tell you that special intuition.though I was very positive.never mind lah, I will try again. I still have all the suportive sisters to walk with me ma.
kao_smile2.gif

Renee,
No, i was with Dr CT Yeong. He does his IVF at Thomson Fertility Clinic. But I', contemplating going to KKIVF if I start another fresh cycle, since I don't have any emmbies left.
The MP sinseh is P_chip's sinseh at Marine Parade.
I only started seeing him after i failed my FET. So only about 3 weeks. I also started acupunture this week.

Ad,
he need to poke you with needles on your lower belly is it? I did once before at mei ling street chinese sinseh too. that was because I had very bad mensus cramp and also she said is for over all wellness of women's womd. cause she knows I got prob conceiving.

renee,
the MP sinseh doesn't do acup. I go to Eu Yan Sang's Paragon clinic for that. Yes, it's belly 5 needles, each legs 2 needles, for 20 minutes. then you turn over for another 6 needles on the back for another 20 minutes. It's supposed to increase blood circulation.

tch, not sure if i see you today. I was in a black tee with lite brown capri...how's ur ET? How many got fertilised? How many did u transfer?

renee, so you will be starting a fresh cycle in mar? How abt the remaining embies?

I will be having my ER on wed, feeling a little excited

Is there a room there for hubby to take out his spermies? Or must he do it in the gents?

blurblur,
yes I will start the fresh one in march or may be feb. I got only one more embryo left. can't do anything with it.so must do all over again.

hi blurblur, think by the time i reached there you probably have left. I was in white top and brown capri. Heard from hubby that there is a room with seats...not the toilet.

They managed to retrive 14 eggs and 10 got fertilised. I transferred 2, 1 is grade 5 and the other is grade 4. Left with 8 for freezing mostly grade 4s and 2 grade 3s.

Actually ET is the more exciting one...they even give you a pic of the embryos.

Thanks for the info, tch...Is grade 5 the best quality?

U must rest well and try not to move around too much
I am sure you will be successful.

I am looking forward to my ER and ET next week.

tch,
I too feel very exited for you.not bad huh,your embries are in good grades.how thick was your lining,any idea?did you take all ICSI or mix of IVF and ICSI?hey, take good care ok. you should be able to strike looking at the grades of the embries. good luck ya!

Hi renee and blurblur, thanks for your well wishes...I really hope the good embries are a good sign. But me being an active person cannot stand staying at home for long...I was walking around for awhile yesterday. Now kind of regret cos tummy feel a little crampy. Don't know whether it's becos of the walking.:p

renee, I didn't know we could actually have a mix of IVF and ICSI, Dr never mentioned to us. So it's all ICSI. As fir the lining, not sure when the do the ET. But during the last scan before ER, it was about 10mm I think. What is a good thickness?

And blurblur, yes grade 5 is the best quality but we only have 1. Dr Loh said 3 is average, 4 is good, 5 is very good.

tch, that's very good
but try to slow a little for sake of the embies ya?

ya renee, what thickness is good? Think mine is either 11mm or 13mm, is it too thick?

And during the counselling session wif doc (a young male doc) told us that it will be a mix of ivf and icsi, didn't know can choose? So what to choose?