Serene,

Happy 2010 to you and your family too.. let me know when you pop
Waiting to carry your princess

Tickles

Yes, your daughter is a blessing.. so dun be too disheartened ya!

My cousin also have the same problem, low sperm count and mortality. Tried very hard and got a boy... Den 3 years later got another girl. He's also having a very stressful work life, posting to china and den back to Penang.. a workaholic infact, but still tried very hard.

Dun worry, you'll have your #2 & #3 on the way. You'll stand a high chance. May I ask how did you spend your 2WW? I had friend who went back to work or even travelled during the 2WW and failed the cycle. Well! it depends on the individual's body. I always considered my very weak so I gave myself a CRIB order... only getting up to go toilet or eat. Particularly during D7 to D9 where implantation takes place, I make sure I dun move much. Kept my tummy warm at most time with a warmer stuff toy which acts like a hot water bottle. I guess a little efforts goes all the way...

Take good care and happy new year to you!

Mrs Teng, u must jia you too.. Even if there is many obstacles infront of us... U working currently? I feel women have to worried abt conceiving and at the same time stressed up at work and its not easy..

Lyn

YEs, it's not easy to worry about conceiving and handling work stress at the same time, it's even more stressful when you have friends n relatives asking you when you gonna have kids.

I'm hoping to do FET soon, cos I'm not getting young, can't afford to waste time, energy running out and brain juice drying out too! seemed to be getting more and more forgetful these days.
Guess my resolution for 2010 will be getting a baby this year.

I'm not working anymore.. It is far too taxing even to handle these 2 little ones. Here's the works of Dr Loh and his team members... my 2 little IVF imps:

3445650.jpg

Humbug, Hazel & Mrs Teng

Thank You for the encouraging words.

I'm with KK & my doc is Dr Loh. Ya.. I've been briefed on e process & I'm only aware that I will be hospitalization leave when stage 4 starts.

So does it mean that the scan for stage 1 & 2 only takes half a day?

A good a Happy New Yeat to all.

Syann

Think the first few stages you only need to be there very early in the morning, Take time off from you company.. Cos scanning is very fast, and after bloodtest, they'll tell you to go home and call back later in the afternoon. so dun even waste the half day leave if you have an option to take time off.

syann, I Nv take leave for scan. Just be there at 730am, n be the first few to scan. Tell ur boss u will be late as u r going to see doc. If u work in town, u will be in office by 10am. Depending on how much u wan to share with ur boss. Either the truth, ivf or u need to do a woman procedure. N all these check ups n testing r required coz of that.

Kkhivf will give u hospitalization leave. N it will not hv the word ivf Printed on it... So no one knows for wat purpose.

Just be positive during ur cycle and pray hard coz luck is impt too. I am someone who gets sore boobs n bloatedness n mood swings in my monthly cycle. So b4 I started my cycle I was worried that with all the hormones jabs, it will be worse, even the nurse warned me. But surprisingly, I just get tiredness. I even MISSED a few dosages of Lucrin which dr loh also worried n asked me to take blood test to confirm I did not ovulate on my own. Bloatedness comes in only during 2ww coz of ER but not very bad either.. God n my dh's ancestors mUST be watching over me.. Coz I believe we all need divine help no matter how good our egg quality, lining and doctor are.

So, u must pray okay.

Mrs Teng,
Thanks for the tips.. I rested 5 days at home after ET but in between, I did go out for some jabs. I think for my FET, I will ask for 14 days hospitalisation leave. Will stay at home and not move at all except gg to the toilet. Thanks for sharing what you did.. Your 2 little ones are so cute..

Tickles

Shock up all the good movies or drama to watch... as your your little one, hope there's someone to take care of her while you rest.. I understand it can sometimes be stressful just worrying about her well-being.

During my 2WW, my hubby will prepare sandwiches and hard boil eggs for me. He'll leave everything in the room.. I wake up, eat sandwiches for breakfast and the rest of the day, hard boil egg whites and crackers. Drink those packet milk or milo. He even leave a flash of warm water for me. All these within reach. Den he goes off the work.

Mrs Teng,
Thanks! I will do the same during my 2ww for my FET.. Will find some good drama to watch..
Yes. For my girl, she goes to child care, so I dun need to take care of her in the day. At night when she cmes back, my hubby will help.

Tickles

you take care, my gals having fever due to MMRV jabs and I got a cake to assemble for a 1 year old gal's birthday... will talk to you tonite!! tough life as a woman... haizzz...

Hi Mrs Teng,

Your message has actually inspired us. I starting my FET soon and hope to have a twins like you.

Tickles do not give up. I've a fresh program a year ago and have to go thur 2 D&C and one other operations. Rested for a year and now embarking my FET soon. I actually have a boy now. But trying for long time (almost 7 years) did not manage to conceive the second.

HI mimimouse, on thurs when prof scanned..i have 6 on the Right and 7 on the Left..so carry on with the same dosage..tmrw is my scan again.

Did u or any ladies here do an Antral follicle count before starting on Gonal? Cos i did..and mine was 6 on the right and 4 on the left..and i heard that Antral Follicle Count is actually to determine how many egg potentially will be retrieved isit?..

LYn

No worries! Anyone else would also be curious why I'm eager to go for FET even you din asked.

We both love kids and lots of them... probably bcos we are the type who like to have big but not the super huge family type..
We love gals and when we first knew they we both gals during the scan, we were both elated. It's like see your favourite football team scoring a golden goal kind of excitement in the gynae's room...

Another reason was becos my hubby is the eldest grandson in the clan, so we were in a way pressured to continue the bloodline...

Tangtang, Tickles

Let's try our best to give our older kids a young playmate.

hi mummy wannabe
may I ask if u r seeing dr lc cheng (TFC)also, r u in ur 20s, 30s? how was ur experience with him?
thks & happy new year!

hi lyn
yes, i'm seeing dr lc foong. during my last appt, i somehow got the feeling that he is not really interested in helping me. maybe i'm a no-hope case due to my age.
i knw all ladies seeing him has very positive feedback abt him, maybe tats becoz most r in their 20s/30s, hence the treatment is different.
anyway i'm in a dilemma also, thinkg if shd change doc or not, coz hv not made much progress for the whole of 2009. but yet change also means wasting more time again.
thks for hearing me out, happy new year!

Hi Tickles,

I conceived my boy with the aid of TMC. On medication and succeed having my boy. FET next month and I'm with Dr Loh, KKH.

Hi Gan,
MY FET will be natural.

Mrs Teng,

You are right, we all love kids and I think my son needs a siding. I've a friend whose parent died when he was 26 years old. He is the only kid and wouldn't not let my kid to be alone if I died early. This is why I did not give up trying.

Hi happyhippo,

i am in my 30s. My experience with him is good. He is patient and detail in what he wants to do and also with the explanations.

Try to talk to Dr LC Cheng. He is a very apporachable doctor.

The envrionment in that clinic is very cozy too. There are only 2 nurses. 1 receiptionist. 1 Lab Dr, and a couple of the Lab tech. So in a way it is quite ez to communicate with them and somehow they will remember you.

I cant compare with the rest of the clinics in other hospital because i have never step in the various clinics before.

Tangtang

I had a friend who told me that too! His mother died of heart attack.. collapsed in the bedroom and he was on his way home.. He reprimanded himself for not being able to reach home soon to save her. He told me that he wished he had a sibling there to take care of his parent when he wasn't around. He felt that the burden of taking care of his parents were all on himself, no one to share the load..

Told me that if I ever have kids, dun just have one... spare a thot for the poor child.. the words hit hard on my head... that's why if I can have more, I will lor.

another 30 yrs down the road, things wld be significantly different from now... Pp are getting more n more westernised n venturing overseas coz spore is too small. The belief of having children to 'fan2 lao2' may be diluted by then. children of the future Cld be working overseas or settled down overseas. We hv to think abt how are we going to be self sufficient so as not to be a burden to our children or even to hold them back from fulfilling their dreams. Thus, we need to ensure that we hv enough medical coverage n most importantly have money at old age.

As we r more educated, we should not always have The thinking of having more children so that they can take care of us next time or to 'fan2 lao'. being more educated means we can better plan for our old age n retirement. Yes, we still need to hv children, just a few is enough. Give them the best education n teaching n once they r grown up,... They shld hv the skill sets to make a good living N we lead our old age self sufficiently.

Agree that being westernised is one thing... Giving best education n teaching them is to let them be self-sufficient... BUT, our root and culture shouldn't be diluted just becos they become westernised... We are considered westernised ourselves but still strongly believe in our roots and cultures. I've stayed in the United states for years and I still consider this small country my root, my home.

Of cos, it's a must to be self-sufficient on our part. Wat I'm getting across is the filial burden that a single child might have.. it's not a monetary issue... it's the inner beliefs in an individual that he or she should 'fan2 lao2'... Out of love for our parents, regardless of whether they are self-sufficient or not... I feel the obligations to be filial. I believe my friend felt the same wayy too. Unless this individual is a 'bu4 siao4 zi3' ... can forget about having such kids man! No offence.

Being realistic, if you have tonnes of money... you'll have 3 generations caring after you and hoping you'll include them in your will. And if I do have this... I'll make sure my kids are taught the value of roots and culture. Not becos I've fortune left for them to fight over ~ (an excellent westernised teaching I supposed)

Our current concern is whether our present policies and practices are damaging the environment in 30 years to come. Whether our offsprings have a mean to survive in a deteriorating environment. H1N1 and all the combinations of just the HN virus is enuf to extinguish the 'human race' any sooner.

Mrs Teng,

How old are your girls now? 2years old? Yes, I believe we'll be able to give our kid a younger sibling soon..

Gan, Tangtang,
For FET, there is a difference of medicated and natural? I didnt know this till I saw your posts.. What's the difference?

Ever since my BT, my AF have not really offically reported yet. It seems like it comes for 1hr then stop, the next day come for a while and stop again. Its not like my normal regular menses.. Headache.. Then just now, when I went to the toilet, I saw something, its like a lump of blood yet the lump is not entirely red. Looks a little like a small oyster. Dunno what is it. Could it be the egg that was put inside my womb? I kinda feel sad when I saw it..

Tickles
I don't even need to go BT, 1st Jan around 1 plus am spotting spotted then later in the afternoon AF reported. Even the best grade embryos did not implant
Went to surf and found out it may be due to my extreme bloating. Water retention in the womb which cause coldness might have been the cause. Will see doc this tue and see what he says. Now my stomach is still cramping. Have your AF report?

Mummy Wannabe,
Cheer up.. I was very upset when my doc called to tell me abt my negative BT results.. MY AF came but very little. Its seems to be coming in small quantites each day. will come for a while then stop that kind.. Its so little that I only need panty liners.

Mummy wannabe,
Sad to hear abt your news.. I tot bloating could be good news.. How you know u have water retention in your womb? THis is your fresh cycle right?

I was also upset to hear abt my negative results. I was quite hopeful cos when I did my ET, I was told the best embryo has reached blastocyst and already hatch. So I tot this time i def will strike with at least 1.. But nvm, lets look forward together k... Jia you!!

mummy, dun be sad *Hugz*. U will succeed the next round.

I dun think is extreme bloatedness, coz ladies who experienced ohss who are so bloated that need tapping also can get pregnant. That time I thought good grade embryos will sure strike, but not necessary. Coz there r simply too many factors to a successful pregnancy. embryos r graded based on egg quality. How abt generic after they are fertilized? womb's lining is impt but the layering is too, I read somewhere. There r many more.. Too complex for doctors to explain 1 by 1 also....

If u ask a doc, why fail, esp egg is good, lining is good, etc, etc. Doc can't answer u also.... He will just say maybe better luck next time or the less tactful one may just says 'too bad'

I believe that u will strike One, just be more patient okay. Good luck!

mummy wannabe,

sorry to hear bout d news. but cheer up ok. c wat dr cheng say when u c him. meanwhile relax yourself b4 embarking d cycle again. i will b seeing him coming sat plus starting on d jabs. let's jia you together..

tickles,

For natural FET, no jabs r involved. u will keep track of your ovulation via ovulation kit,etc. For medicated FET, jabs r involved. so doc is more or less in control of d cycle. i suppose natural FET is cheaper than medicated FET. please correct me if im wrong.

Tickles,

I am not sure about the procedure of medicated FET myself. But understand that if you have regular menses, you can do a natural FET but if your menses is not regular, you do a medicated FET.
Natural FET if I am not wrong, Doc will do ET once your follicles reached the minimum size and you have ovulate.
I think i may be doing a medicated FET since my menses have been very irregular since my failed SO-IUI in June.

Mummy wannabe, *hugs* sorry to hear that and do take care.

Gan,
That day I was telling you abt my friend doing friend who is doing womb massage. I just checked with her, she is doing her womb massage with rustic nirvana. I tried to serch their website and I think the one she is doing is under the TCM Women wellness therapy. Take a look.

http://www.rusticnirvana.com/index.php?p=/html_sg/tcm

My friend already help me fix appt for next sat. The trail is $38. Then I will see what the therapist say then decide if I want to sign a package.

skies and Gan,
Thanks for the explanation on natural and medicated FET. I learn something new.. Hee..

Gan,
That day I wanted to go DR Zou there for acu. But then she open half day only.. nvm.. Maybe I fix next week appt instead.. Ask u huh, if you fix appt to go, will I be able to start acu on that day itself? Cos I read somewhere in the archives that 1 lady went and was asked to go back on day 4 of her menses to start on the acu.. Dunno why, btw, did you take the TCM med? I read that there's alot to take.. If you take the tcm med, do u still take your multi-vits and folic acid?

Tickles

Thanks. I think bloated is gd but not up to the extend that i can't even get up on my own, can't sleep etc. Mine is too extream liao. Water retention is my guessing only lah. Just thinking what have went wrong. This is my fresh 1st cycle. We r in the same boat...for me assisted hatching is done so it should break out of the shell just dun understand y it did not implant. As for my AF flow it seems ok just that i have been getting cramp since mon. Last time no cramp at all when AF report.

Hazel, Skies and Gan Thanks for your encouragement. Ai maybe really no luck this time round...need to do fresh cycle again. For lining if it is 13mm before ER still need to go TCM?

mummy wannabe,
sigh.. Ya.. It keeps me thinking why my IVF didnt work out too when mine reached blastocyst and allready hatch. I read that this increases the chances of BFP. Maybe its just luck.. We are not lucky enug.. Maybe you can try TCM acupunture for now. My gynae ask me to try. She say can also go for massages to relax myself too.

I think it might be stress too.. Maybe we are simply too stress up already.. Seems like you were really very bloated. erm.. Did you call your gynae and tell him that the bloatedness is disturbing u? Cos I was given a list of dos and don'ts. and one of them is if very bloated, must call and tell doc.

My doc did give me a sachet that I can mix with water. Its a protein drink. and can help ease bloated. I had to drink that everyday b4 my ER cos I feel very bloated. Then my doc told me that eating egg whites helps to ease the bloatedness too.. That time I was told to eat at least 10 egg whites a day b4 my ER.

Tickles

I call up but did not speak to him. Spoken to another dr and a nurse they told me to drink 100 plus, eat egg white and longan ginger drink. As long as my urine is not dark in colour and i can breath that means i am fine. I beleive i got mild ohss as i am abit breathless and bloated like more then 3 months. Wow u can eat 10 egg whites??? I ate 6 and i am complaining. This 2ww i have suffer alot and suffer for nothing.
U know your linning thickness before ER?

Tickles

They are 18 months old..
Extremely naughty, I must say... Both of different characters, even both are of different blood group... one is A and one is O... while both daddy and mummy are A.. Lucky it was different bcos the nurses in the OT mixed up my cord blood kit and gave Dr Loh the wrong one, so they put in the wrong blood for the wrong baby.. Den one day Dr loh called us and told us about it but he personally contacted the blood bank to make the changes lor.. At that time the gals are still in the SCN, thot sometime happened to me gals... Both were only 34 weeks when they were born.. That's the negative side of multiples.. high risk pregnancy and chances of premature is high..

Mummy Wannebe

I remember reading somewhere about blastocyst being good in the sense that they are already hatched but the negative side is it's more difficult to implant.

I was also extremely bloated when the nite I did my ET... I couldn't walk either.. looks like 5 months preggie... din urine much and couldn't eat also... Rushed to 24hrs woman's clinic and they gave me a choice to ward or go home.. of cos I went home... thereafter... the pain was really terrible.

My galfriend who did the ET on the same day with me ended warded after D3PET cos she had severe OHSS but still managed to conceive twins... but during the week 14 plus, one of them couldn't make it.. heart stopped beating... she's still a happy mum of one very beautiful gal..

So dun be disheartened, you can make it.. stay positive and dun stress yourself too much.

Mrs Teng

The nurse is dam blur lucky nothing went wrong.
Tickles is the one doing Blastocyst and i am the one doing assisted hatching. For assisted hatching implantation is the same.
So that time u went to the 24 hrs woman's clinic what did they do? Did they drain out any fluid? That time u got pregnant with your 2 precious one???

mummy wannabe,
Erm.. I dunno what's my lining b4 ER leh. That I have to ask my gynae again. Maybe she did say but I wasnt paying attn.. Or maybe she did not tell me. Ya.. Gotta eat 10 egg whites before my ER. Cos can ease the bloatedness. And must eat as raw as posiible. Soft boil style.. I eat till I wanna puke.. Haha~

Mrs Teng,
Icic.. The nurse very blur leh.. Lucky they got different blood types.. I am the one who had a blastocyst transfer, I tot I read that having blastocyst got higher chances? Your girls came at 34weeks? Natural or csection? How long did they stay in SCN? Did you spend alot then?

Tickles

After ET dun take raw ones. Next time u can fry with different ingredients(ginger with sesame oil, cheese with ham or mushroom), cook soup (tan hua tang), steam with minced meat or salted eggs etc. Eggs without egg yolks could'nt make it...think of it now so scare.

Mummy wannabe,
After ET I do not feel very bloated. So never really eat egg whites too. Only drink them with soup. I drink chicken essence everyday thou..

Tickles,

Thanks for the info on the womb massage, i will check that out too. I think that's the place which Zoe Tay went for her massage after birth. =P
I went to see Dr Zou on D5 of my menses and I started acu on my first visit. I took 5 days of her med but i hated the taste of the med so told her I don't want any med during my second visit. But Lyn another girl in the forum suggested that I take her med during 2ww, I may check with Dr Zou nearer to my FET regarding the med to take. If you are still taking multi vit and folic acid, give a 2 hrs diff between taking TCM and the multi vit.

Mummy wanna be, do take a rest and try again. Your lining thickness is very good but I think there is no harm going to TCM to "tiao li" your body for the next cycle. For me, I think my lining thickness is not so good, my thickness was only 8mm.