soulvacation
For many pple who have never tried teaching, they always have misguided opinions - think that we're very free, long holidays, end early everyday, very highly paid etc etc. But it's not all true. I face a lot of stress handling the kids everyday at work and the holidays not even enough for me to recuperate from the blood vomitting!
Suyana> Am in a govt school, what about yourself? I remember my ex-colleague also having problems conceiving and the principal did not allow her to take No Pay Leave. So she threatened to resign. She can afford to cos her hubby drawing quite a good pay mah. Then, the school panicked and allowed her to take the 6mths off. They cited the reason as: medical and private reasons during the staff meeting. So I think it differs from person to person...
But if you're thinking of taking extended NPL AFTER maternity, then usually they'll be ok with it. Just be prepared that you may not be posted back to the same school. That means you have to pack up and sayonara all your friends before you go on maternity leave. Sad right.
Hazel> Being in govt sector doesn't always mean they have to be pro-govt one I think... You may think that since we're teachers, they shld be nicer to us, but no... we get the most s**t. =( Pro-family is all talk only lah. My school doesn't even have a nursing room lor! I hear pple always go staff toilet to pump or they use the sewing (home econs) room when no students are there. =(
I can only do IVF during the June hols. Hospitalisation Leave is anytime one, but if you are away too often or too long, then your performance grading WILL definitely be affected. They will take the opportunity to mark you down. One time I kena chicken pox (as if I want right??) then I came back and kena from my boss. It is a sad life.
Sorry for long post. =P
Suyana> Am in a govt school, what about yourself? I remember my ex-colleague also having problems conceiving and the principal did not allow her to take No Pay Leave. So she threatened to resign. She can afford to cos her hubby drawing quite a good pay mah. Then, the school panicked and allowed her to take the 6mths off. They cited the reason as: medical and private reasons during the staff meeting. So I think it differs from person to person...
But if you're thinking of taking extended NPL AFTER maternity, then usually they'll be ok with it. Just be prepared that you may not be posted back to the same school. That means you have to pack up and sayonara all your friends before you go on maternity leave. Sad right.
Hazel> Being in govt sector doesn't always mean they have to be pro-govt one I think... You may think that since we're teachers, they shld be nicer to us, but no... we get the most s**t. =( Pro-family is all talk only lah. My school doesn't even have a nursing room lor! I hear pple always go staff toilet to pump or they use the sewing (home econs) room when no students are there. =(
I can only do IVF during the June hols. Hospitalisation Leave is anytime one, but if you are away too often or too long, then your performance grading WILL definitely be affected. They will take the opportunity to mark you down. One time I kena chicken pox (as if I want right??) then I came back and kena from my boss. It is a sad life.
Sorry for long post. =P