For many pple who have never tried teaching, they always have misguided opinions - think that we're very free, long holidays, end early everyday, very highly paid etc etc. But it's not all true. I face a lot of stress handling the kids everyday at work and the holidays not even enough for me to recuperate from the blood vomitting!

Suyana> Am in a govt school, what about yourself? I remember my ex-colleague also having problems conceiving and the principal did not allow her to take No Pay Leave. So she threatened to resign. She can afford to cos her hubby drawing quite a good pay mah. Then, the school panicked and allowed her to take the 6mths off. They cited the reason as: medical and private reasons during the staff meeting. So I think it differs from person to person...

But if you're thinking of taking extended NPL AFTER maternity, then usually they'll be ok with it. Just be prepared that you may not be posted back to the same school. That means you have to pack up and sayonara all your friends before you go on maternity leave. Sad right.

Hazel> Being in govt sector doesn't always mean they have to be pro-govt one I think... You may think that since we're teachers, they shld be nicer to us, but no... we get the most s**t. =( Pro-family is all talk only lah. My school doesn't even have a nursing room lor! I hear pple always go staff toilet to pump or they use the sewing (home econs) room when no students are there. =(

I can only do IVF during the June hols. Hospitalisation Leave is anytime one, but if you are away too often or too long, then your performance grading WILL definitely be affected. They will take the opportunity to mark you down. One time I kena chicken pox (as if I want right??) then I came back and kena from my boss. It is a sad life.

Sorry for long post. =P

Soulvacation, I am in the govt sch too ;p.
I think the perception of pro family differ from school to school. Agree with what you said, does not mean in govt sector they r pro though govt says so.
Initially, my first attempt was to ensure it coincide with Jun holidays. But i did not know that NUH was undergoing maintainance during june when ER was supposed to take place so i had to extent my injection and my HL was in July. In fact in July, I was like away for almost a month (3wks for IVF and a week for my D&C for my miscarriage). I told my VP about my IVF plans and she is ok. SHe is pro family coz she has a toddler herself. I did not get any "punishment" yet but i guess my PB next year will reflect everything. I am not aiming the sky but if it differ greatly from what I am getting in 09, I can already conclude their perception.

I am willing to take the cut coz I have done enough for the school so now it is up to school. So my next cycle will also be during the Term. Wanted to do this Nov/Dec but my body is not ready for the next cycle.

Sorry, long post too

Ha, I'm currently in a medium sized local firm which is financially back-up by 2 v big local MNCs.....I am considered quite lucky that the offer came up at the right time coz I was feeling really unhappy in the previous small and poorly managed co......1 year there only but cldnt take it.

Singapoh, Hazel,

I opt for C-section becos im scare of pain and becos my hubby work require him to be on shift duty, so it will gd to be on c-section.

becos my sister delivered during july thus my brother-in-law does all the nec checking via all hospital on the charges and infor etc, thus i knew abt it.

My sis'd good friend also done IVF with KKH under Dr Loh, she too delivered via c-section in july. Accordingly to her, she paid around $6k for the package but really not sure what does the package include ?

Hazel,

Good luck to your BT.

hazel,
Did your BT I suppose? Hope to hear the good news soon!

tikicat,
Thx for letting me know who I can turn to for more advice on lap.

soulvacation & su_yana,
I left the service last dec as I thought I may be too stressed at work too. Though I've gotten my "peace of mind" back, I've yet to succeed in baby-making. I guess a lot of factors come into play. Nevertheless, I never regretted leaving. I still miss the kids and the wonderful colleagues so I tried to keep in touch with them (kids) via FB and catch up with my colleagues now and then.

My P was rather pro-family (already a grandma) and gave me the option of 6mth NPL but I turned her down. I knew I could still enjoy teaching by tutoring and get away from non-teaching duties, hence my decision.
Teaching in gvt sch or not, I can only time my next cycle during the sch hols haha. So there isn't much difference in terms of ivf scheduling.

Sorry for the long post too :p

No prob Muski...just that i know endo is very tricky when you want to go along with ivf....

I have seen many doc before i know what is the best solution for me

Nctgrace,
Many people think natural delivery is more painful
than c section. There are so many types of pain
relief now like epidural, painkiller,gas, etc.

From my experience, the hardest part of having a
baby is recovery. For c section, it takes much longer
to heal. C sec is a major operation thus risk is high.
My gf took only any 5 days to be pain free down there.
She had 4 natural deliveries, 3 of them were drugs
free. I took 2 weeks. It depends on how well u tc of
your wound down there.

My cousin took abt 1 year for her c sec wound to
be totally pain free. Again it depends on individual.

Hope u reconsider again..

Singapoh, where got free goodies one... The household stuff r rather cheap. But need the cut off coupons from the phamplets.

I bump into this young looking nice indian girl again just now... last saw her on ET, that time saw her in the toilet n she said good luck to me.. Just now again she smiled at me n told me good luck. She is always smiling whenever I see her. Very nice girl..

blissful, go to kkivf or 24 hr clinic to take blood test.
KKIVF told me the same thing too but my gf told me pregnant can have stains, so better go for early BT to confirm, if necessary get additional supports.
Don't listen to what they say, go for BT only if see blood.

Blissful, no my temp was still high, 36.7 that's why i thought i was pregnant. usually when my menses come, the temp will drop to 36.2/36.3 before menses come.

blissful, today is D15 for u? Since u saw stains, i suggest u do a HPT. If positive go down for BT to confirm & take medication.

Since u r not on pregnyl, u can test today already. Embyro has already planted & ur inserts will not give u false positive result

blissful, gan is right. U cld be staining coz u r pregnant. if so, u need to hv some support to stablise the pregnancy.

blissful, no signs, dun test. but now got some signs, so better test. u brown stains for 2 days can really be pregnancy stains okay.

blissful, when my mum was pregnant with my brother, she did not even know coz she was staining, or maybe light bleeding.. she thought it was menses & just wear a pad. when 1 day, my dad told her to go clinic & check coz her tummy seemed to be growing bigger. & she found out that she was pregnant... 4 mths already! so that means she has been having light bleeding for 4 mths. the gynae did something, my mum said gynae shifted the foetus position (not sure how true coz my mum is lowly educated) and the bleeding stopped!

so stains/bleeding may not mean negative news though can be worrying

My gf has 2 successful cycles, stained every cycle through out 2ww. she worried & tested using HPT. Positive both times okay.

blissful, now is not a matter of scared or not scared. is a matter of stablising the pregnancy if u are pregnant. n u are working, cant really rest in bed also if pregnant & staining.

Blissful i would advise that you do an early blood test to confirm. If pregnant, should get additional support from KK and also rest as much as possible.

Hazel, u back from isetan sales liao? so fast?

I wan to get bedsheet for the new year...and that's provided that i can drag myself out of the house later....don't feel v good again, vomited after food for the whole day yesterday, only took bread for dinner last night..then whole nite cannot sleep....now zombie and tired......

gan, household stuff yes. remmember to cut the coupons. clothees also alot on sale. but am not really in the mood to see... :p

I was at isetan yesterday. They were preparing 4 today. Disct r all there but no rebate given. Just bought $15 top. The rest nothing great....hehehe so ihad pre pre preview yesterday

Hi Singapoh, sorry for replying late. My BT was actually today but I had requested to do an early BT yesterday at D16 due to the intense cramps I've been having. It's a BFN at <1.2 for my beta reading.

I am with Dr SF Loh at KKH and this is my secind IVF attempt. My fresh cycle in July ended up in a chemical pregnancy. I would like to seek the opinions of all the knowledgeable ladies here of whether should I still continue to see Dr Loh or should I change to another hospital, private or government.

I understand that there had been discussion for the past week on this too. However, I feel that it seems like there is no personal touch at KKH and it seems like it's a production line at KKIVF centre or something. I got the same feeling after my fresh cycle in July too. The process is very very mechanical.

I have made an appointment to see Dr Loh again on 5 Jan to find out what could have gone wrong for my medicated cycle this round. I am left with 3 frozen embryos at KKH. So I am really at a loss of whether should I still continue and finish what I started off at KKH before exploring a change of hospital.

Any advice or opinion is appreciated, please.