my dh very poor thing, this wk everyday must wake up at 6am... Mon, wed n fri every wk, he got to wake up very early to go back home to pick up my mil n sends her for dialysis. This wk, tuesday n thursday I got to go Kkh coz 730am appointment. Haiz...

my tummy already look like a ball before the IVF lah. =p
But i do feel the tummy abit tighter like the skin is being stretched

Gan, I have googled and suggested the names which my hubby said "no no". But i think when we confirm the gender, the search will be more intense.

Hazel, I'll be going to chen jinrong to name the baby as i have engaged for my new house last year......

gan, No.. He works in the family biz. So his time is more flexible. Currently, he has lots of stuff rushing. Yesterday midnight, got calls from japan somemore, I was awake but he was already seeing.. So I Nv call him.

He is supposed to go manila n taipei but coz of this, he postponed. Actually, he told me to go with him after this.. But my Gf advised me not to travel.

Hazel, at Fu Lu Shou (si ma lu). You can surf the net and sometimes find his advertisements on the newspaper.....v famous and should be v rich to take up such a big print advertisement slot.

soon-to-be, chen junrong is the one who is always on TV during chinese new year, advising on the different zodiac animal's fate?

gan, my Gf said no travelling throughout. She said ivf pregnancy is very precious. Dun take any risk..

Actually what she said is true. Coz of the Lucrin blunder I realised that we went through so much. We wun wan anything to spoil it...

gan, I was robbed in malaysia last nov.. Pulled by a motobike n ended with wounds on my body n a badly sprained ankle.. My Gf told me that time if am pregnant, it wld be distraous...

Gan, i think he's the one for this year's. Sometimes, the TV station invites different people. But he's definitely v famous coz his charges r super high too...ask your mummy if she believes in such thingy, she will know who is he....

Hazel, okay for really short trip. But still depends on your condition. Esp if u r preggy. I was glad that I didn't book any trip coz I was feeling unwell w the constant headache after I BPF......but now, I'm really hoping to go for 1, hands and legs itchy...

may I ask if anyone here who have done IVF with NUH every asked for the embryo to be freeze without having it to be successfully cultivate till DAY 5?

Thanks Liz. We are already considered member as we have engaged his service last year. Don't think will pay by instalment lar......naming shouldn't be too expensive though he is 1 of the most expensive feng shui masters. Will call to check closer to my EDD.

Soon-to-be, names usually cost hundred plus.

Gan n Muski, I saw bbhp today, she had 55 eggs retrieved.

Hazel, I'll let u know when I ask him, if u r interested then. I hope it's really 100+ coz we spent 3k+ for him to look at our house then...

yes. this morning was ok and then just now u say u cooking noodles, i also felt hungry and thought i want to eat potato chips, went down to buy and walk around abit, came back saw some stains...
u leh?

bbhp also doing ET on thursdsy?i think she is feeling more painful than me, since the doc has to poke her 55 times like what sunflower says

Hazel when is your ET? Or are you done with it
Sorry long time did not come here. post is moving very fast.

To other ladies doing ET if there is any, good luck and take care.

Hi all, I've been a silent reader on this forum and am midway through my first ivf cycle (short protocol).
I was quite surprised to learn today that the short protocol can actually be advantageous for women prone to or afraid of OHSS and thought I'll share with you here. Apparently in the short protocol, there's the option to use lucrin instead of HcG for egg ripening for ladues in the high risk group. As we know, HcG triggers OHSS, so being able to avoid that could lower its incidence. This option is however not available to those on long protocol as lucrin is already used for suppression (cetrotide is used instead of lucrin for short protocol).
I was quite surprised to hear this from my doctor today as I've not heard it anywhere before. So hope this can help some of you out there who are deciding between short and long protocol.

Hi Hazel,

I thou you will know the no of embryos after ER. When I did my fresh cycle, they tell me straight after the procedure

tangtang, I know no of eggs retrieved after ER.. But I dunno how many eggs will be fertilized.. Once fertilized is called embryos as they have a liFe. So I wun know how many embryos until ET.. Got it?

gan, icsi definitely yes. For u, there will be some ivf also.... coz u got lots of eggs, he will usually set aside some for ivf some foe icsi if there r lots of eggs. For me, shld be just icsi. Reason being icsi has a much higher chance of fertilization. ivf fertilization may not happen if the sperms can't fertilize the eggs themselves n the eggs will be discarded. With fewer eggs, he wun take the risk. So my case shld be all icsi. U can ask him tomorrow how many icsi n how many ivf... n how many fertilized per each.

Am staining now... Sianz

Hi Roseblossoms thanks for the info shared. I am going to start my 1st ivf cycle (short protocol) tomorrow don't have to worry about OHSS. Which hospital r u with?

gan, for ivf, men's ammunition quality is impt. Coz they have to fertilize the eggs themselves.

For icsi, the egg's quality is the most impt.. Men ammunition even if lousy does not matter as there r millions, embryoist will pick the best n inject the them into the egg for fertilization. So other than our doc, the skill of an embryoist is very impt...

Hazel, i still have some stains and cramps started this evening.
Using the heatpack now.
Hope the cramps will be over soon

Hi sisters,

I have not been at this forum for a long time as I am really busy with work but I just want to share something which really bothered us every now.

Got UTI after the cycle and very lucky to find access to pure cranberry that cures/prevent UTI.

1. If those working near raffles place, there is fresh cranberry sold at Sun and Moon Fruit shop at the basement of Chervon House. Buy it and blend it and drink it without sugar. It does not taste good at all but it can rid UTI. But the supply could be seasonal. Get it now if you want. It costs $5.90.

2. Found that some Unity stores sell unsweetened cranberry juice (made from concentrate though). Its costly at about $16 but its better than the sweetened type at supermkts.

Hope this helps for those suffering from UTI.

I will not come to this forum that often but if I read anything that can improve our quality of lives, I will post here again.

And for those sisters doing the cycle, jia you yah

hope_4_bb, from wat I understand only certain hospital will do D5 transfer or freeze embryos after D5.

D5 transfer has a higher risk of embryos not being able to make as compared to D3 transfer. Coz afterall, the embryos r left to grow outside the womb environment for D5 transfer. Some doc believe that there is a higher chance of embryos growing in the womb then outside.. So D3 transfer or freezing is used.

Sisters,

And I also want to thank all the sisters that has encouraged me after my failed cycle...all of you all..sorry, missed the chance to thank you all one by one as I was travelling...

Lina,
How are you, hope you are doing well...all the best to you and if you have delivered liao, all the best to you and baby k

Eskimobaby,

*Wave wave* sister Eskimobaby...
you sound as cheerful as ever...
do do take care of yourself and baby and if I come back and visit, I will wave at you again yah

Hazel,
All my embies capsized leh...but I still think they are very brave..hehee..k, good luck to you in whatever stage you are alright

Sisters,
K, I go eat fruits and then sleep sleep liao..will visit again whenever I free

Hazel, great that you had done your ER.
Now, all the best and rest well.

BTW, I know the number of eggs retrieved once the dr checked on me when i woke up after ER. Wonder why it is not the same at KK. I did at NUH.

suyana, Aiyoh. I know I hv 8 eggs retrieved. if u see my earlier post. I dunno how many of the 8 will be fertilized as embryos. is it clearer now?

in ivf cycle, each step is an obstacle we hv to clear b4 we can proceed further. hipcups can happen along the way. First is Lucrin, our hormones must be suppressed b4 puregon. After puregon our ovlaries must be stimulated then ER then ET.. So, we really must be hopeful n positive at each stage.