Hazel,linda
Me and Dew are still in 2ww. Will go for BHCG test only on Monday. Wish us luck!

Hazel,
I take 2 egg whites a day, one brazil nut and the occasional brand essence of chicken.

rostrum

NUH's counselling is done by the CHR nurses and it's free. abt 15 mins depending on how many qns u have. :p

Muski,

I did my fresh IVF cycle in late 2006. Few days after ET, I felt really unwell. I had to go to KKH daily for 17 days for oil progestrone jab.

I was nauseous, cramping, gastric, diarrhoea and very uncomfortable when I make any move. My body was in pain due to the jab. I didn't get OHSS but a BFP
Now my son is 2 years +.

Hi Linda,
thanks for asking. I had a bad news and good news.

Let me start with good one. Yesterday I did scan at AMC and Dr sadhana confirmed that I am having singleton. I saw baby's heart beat and was measuring 6.4 weeks was really happy. my hubby cld not see as they said they have to do vaginal scan. He really wanted to see.

the bad news nov 2nd monday I had some brown blood which leaked like water some 200ml and aft that some pinkish spotting was so scared. actually we went to the templw to pray and this happened there we ran to the 24 hr clinic the dr there did scan and said I have 2 sac's but in one cant see baby. And one is normal and gave me progestrone jab. my spotting stopped soon aft the jab.

My next scan is in 2 weeks. Dr sad asked me to take jab once every week. and the progestrone pill 3 times a day.

Rostrum, I got increase the GonalF dosage to 300. Then reduce again when nearer to ER.
Anyway Prof will decide on the dosage after every scan and blood test.

Yes, counselling is with CHR and very short, no need to pay. CHR will ask you and hubby to come and explain to you the process what to expect and costs and signing consents, that's it.

Monica, how was your scan?

Emma, Dew, Good luck.. BFP ok..

Btw, those with KKH, do you still need to jab every couple of days after BFP? at NUH we have to until 12wks of pregnancy + the Duphaston also.

Su, can I ask how you lost your baby in wk 7? like start with bleeding? or only when scan then find something not right?

Hi Monica, I'm sorry to hear about the scare yesterday. At least the Dr at the 24 hour clinic could confirm that the baby is fine. Will pray for you that everything goes well.

Singapoh, Ya after I read Monica message, I can guess that KKH doesn't practice twice a week jab for the progesteron.
I don't understand why NUH has this practice.

Singapoh, so KKH practice insert after BFP? For how long? on top of insert still need to take Duphaston?

Vi4n,

Oops my mistake...Progestrone insert for 17 days during the 2ww. After BFP, change to Duphaston oral pills. This is for my FET.

Vi4n,
are you given the duphaston and folic acid?
BTW, there is an oil jab that we have to take 2times a week once confirmed BFP.

About my miscarriage.
After getting BFP from blood test, first scan was 2 weeks later which was around 6wks. Everythign was ok. Had singleton, saw heartbeat and measured around 3cm.
Not too sure why i had to see them agian a week later and not 2 weeks. That time was Dr Anu, the 2nd check was with Prof.
2nd check, scan showed the sac but no heartbeat which was checked by Prof. Had to see a specialist sonographer at Ruby Clinic(the old unit) as they had advanced machine. 2 drs checked again no heartbeat. However, the sac grew to about 5cm.

Had no bleeding, did not fall, nothing happen to me as far as i knew. No weird changes that i noticed. And the funny thing is I did not even bleed even after a week of the diagnosis. My D&C was a week after that means supposedly 8wks of pregnancy. SO till the day I had to go for D&C, I was alright. Prof scanned on me again the morning of D&C to make last one confirmation. Frankly speaking, i was phobia of that bed coz that was the place i got my bad news.

Have u had your second check?

Su,
Yes, duphaston and folic acid and twice weekly of the jab.

I'm actually thinking will it because of the jab, that's why any symptoms of anything wrong will not show?

From what i read the gestational sac for 6wks should not be bigger than 2.5cm.

During the 1st scan, Dr Anu didn't comment anything?

Anyway, hope you will have a blessing this time round.

hi monica
thats scary...but hoping all will eventually turn out well...and congrates on seeing the baby's heartbeat...do have plenty of rest..r u currently still working?

Oh Berrybaby, in NUH we are not given Pregyl.

And Su, not yet, my next scan will be on 13 Nov which is still so long..

hi vi4n
u r right..

in kkh, after bfp routinely only given duphaston and folic acid..injection depends on individual if they have spotting only

in nuh, after bfp routinely will give duphaston, folic acid, and injection depot pulliton 2x/week..i knew it cos my 1st cycle was done in nuh, was bfp but hcg drop after a week later

HI Suyana, that's very sad. Thanks for sharing. It's also quite chilling. Sometimes i wonder if IVF has a higher or same chance of miscarriage as normal pregnancies. From the KKH website, the mc rate for ivf patients is 11%.

Compound to that, having twins already carries a higher risk compared to single pregnancies.

My 2nd scan is on Monday. Everything in this cycle has been very smooth, no pain, no bloating, no bleeding, no nothing. i'm hoping to have the most boring, uneventful pregnancy, which would honestly be the best gift of all!!

hi spiffy
ur next scan is on monday , mine is on tuesday

sometimes seeing those negative side, i will just telling myself got to be very positive mind...
me still experiencing undigestion, bloadtedness, nausea leh...am telling my MIL i can take tis 'opportunity' to lose some weight (hopefully) and envy u gals can have good appetite

hi spiffy i am doing my ivf at kkh with dr sf loh. started with my progestrone injection last nite but the nurse called tis morning and said that i need to inject myself with the lucrin injection as well..i am worried about the side effect.

Linda, how you know your HCG drop when we are not doing any BT anymore?

I started to have nausea last sunday, but no MS lah, this morning no appetite. Other than that nothing special. Fatigue, boob sore yes.

linda, all the best for your Tues scan..! There's nothing we can do at this stage but just try to eat well, rest well, wait and pray. i feel it's all in God's hands.

hey Happygal, don't worry...1st stage seldom has symptoms..anyway, nothing to worry about - if it comes it comes right? Worrying about it can't help it. Hope you have a smooth IVF journey.

Spiffy, I also have the same thought as you. But i ever read somewhere that chances of miscarriage is the same as normal pregnancy. Take are of yourself. Btw, your 2nd scan is supposedly to be 8wks? Is this your first attempt. Wish you smooth 9mth of beautiful journey.

Vi4n, do not worry too much. Maybe you should stop getting information about the happenings in your womb as this might stress you out. As i had told you earlier, i read on the net that ivf pregnancy is slower in progress. I also knew of a lady here mentioning that the size of the fetus is not the same what it was supposed to be but ended up delivering a healthy baby. So think that positive thought shared by someone here.
though i really cannot recall who said this.

hi vi4n
in my 1st cycle i experienced brown discharge 1week after bfp, then i insisted dr to do a hcg for me, and it comes out dropping lor..

hi spiffy
yes lor..we cant do much..and can only pray and pray...wish u all e best too

hi suyana
i always telling myself perhaps why my 1st cycle failed was bcos the embryo wasnt healthy and also i wasnt awared of so many do and donts...and i always believe god will heard us one day...

actually i am at my second stafe of ivf procedure. i skip the first step becuase i was put on lucrin for 3 months after my endometrosis operations in July 2009. next tues i will be going for my scan to check the egg and the womb lining. so many things to worry...example egg not healthy, womb not strong..miscarriage..stress out..

hi happy
u were saying u skip ur stage 1 bcos u were on lucrin for 3 mths liao...then earlier post u said u got call from kk tat u need to start lucrin in ur stage 2 ...why is it need to? is it cos of blood test? and will u get over-supressed? i don noe... jus my guess

happy
and also u were saying u started "progesterone" injection last night...is progesterone or stimulation drug? is it puregon u r saying? if yes puregon is a stimulation drug

We all have our own stories to tell but if you are deeply affected by them, I think it's better to stop reading them.

I conceived my 1st baby thru IVF. I had mild morning sickness and my pregnancy was considered smooth. I did a scan on 38 weeks and Dr Loh told me that my baby has stopped growing. Reason could be that the placenta has stopped providing nutrients to my baby. He added that the scan might be showing the wrong baby weight. He gave me an option. Either to wait or induce. Since I have reached 37 weeks (full term), I chose to be induced.

I gave birth at 38.5 weeks and my son was much heavier than shown in the scan. He was close to 3.4 kg. Scan showed 2.8 kg. It was a smooth delivery.

Linda,

You are not alone. My appetite is not good either and I am eating like a child. Eating small portion but many times a day. I am eating the whole day. Ha ha... I only put on 200 gm when I weighed myself this morning.

Morning sickness is hitting me hard. It can hit me suddenly anytime of the day. Last 2 weeks was the worst. I would feel really giddy suddenly.

Dr Loh mentioned that MS is a good sign. But then again, everyone (and pregnancy) is different so please don't try to compare.

hi singapoh
me also trying to eat a little but more frequent meal now

thanx for sharing with us ur 1st pregnancy journey...
everytime i reading some sisters sharng their experiences, i reali grateful to them...cos they r willingly to share, and to us it act as useful references...

Hi Su, Yeah, everyone are asking to stop thinking about it. But I preferred to ask more and know more, but i'm not affected. Just like to know more.

Linda, your 1st cycle at NUH also with that oil jab but you got brown discharged?

Ya.. good that you and Singapoh are not putting on weight. I already put on 1.5kgs since BFP. But heck care lah, because if i don't eat, i will get nausea and giddy.

i did ask Dr Yong (SGH) about the oil progesterone jab as I need to take it every 3 days in the 1st trimester during my first pregnancy, but she says the clinical benefit of progesterone support is controversial, so clinical studies so no effect while others do

hi vi4n
1st cycle was reali a roller coster for me... before tested bfp already got red alarm...then after that tested bfp, on the oily base injection and duphaston, still hcg drop later a week..so it was actually has shown not good sign in the 1st place liao...

Linda,

I will be glad to share whatever I know or experienced with you and the rest.

vi4n,

How far are you in your pregnancy now? I am 7 weeks now. I told myself that I need to work on putting more weight for this pregnancy because birth weights for multiples is a concern.

Last pregnancy I put on less than 14kg. Took 2 years to lose all that.

Linda, thanks for the info. This time round you will have NO problem at all ok.

Rose, I should be around 6wks plus.

Aiya so good that your target is to put more weight. My target is to put less weight leh.. hahaha..
So you are having twin or ??