Hi Lyn, he does ivf am told few of the better doctor. He my second doc as after few years trying with my old gyne fail i want ivf so when to him. On my first consultation with him was diagnose w 2 fibroids so arrange surgery to remove and do other stuff in preparation for ivf. (Laparoscopy/hysteroscopy)during e surgery. Then till now I have learn plenty about my body.

Noi, sry wrong doc my is yap lip kee from Gynae Consultancy p/l

For those who might be interested :

A guide to Assisted Reproductive Techniques - a fertility seminar organised by NUH.

Date : 3 oct 2009
Time : 2 pm - 5pm
Venue : Woodlands Regional Library ( auditorium )
Speakers : Prof P.C. Wong , Dr Anupriya Agarwal, Miss Joyce Mathew

Call : 6772 6464 for registration ( free admission but registration required )

Im new here but have been reading this thread.
Anyone with Dr marianne, KKH ? Is she good ? Got magic hands like SF Loh ?

Retrieved 16 follicles, only 7 contained egg.
Jus now the embryologist called. only 6 are matured, and 4 are fertilised today.

Tomorrow she will update me on the quality.

Rostrum, we paid extra of $1121 due to my gonalf dosage.
I was on 225iu, then increase to 300iu, then reduce to 262.5iu.
And yes for all the early check like BT, consultation with Prof Wong, all are not claimable.
And that i think total to aboout $700-800.

Gloria, yes the nurse asked me whether i wan 7 bedded or single, when I asked the different she said $100. I def prefer single loh.

Hi Vi4n,
Congrates!!! How r u feeling? I was down yesterday aft the procedure cld not walk for 30 min was paining lower there. today I am a bit ok but still slight pain near ovaries.

I was just told 12 ovum pick ups. Really did not understand if all had eggs or not. Will know only tomr when I go for ET.

All the best for your ET and 2WW. tomr I will not be able to post as my DH will be at home for couple of days starting tomr and he is very strict.

Ladies please share baby dust to Vi4n and mee tomr our ET.

Hi Monica,

How come you so sure ET tomorrow? i'm not being informed yet. but most probably will be Sat. unless the embbies are good quality then will be on Monday.

Yes, yesterday i was in so much pain also. from lower abdominal, vagina, backache.
and later the night i had diarrhea leh.. but after that i feel much better too.

The embryologist never call u to update you?

I believe in KK they do D3 transfer. Among the fertilised they pick up 2 best and transfer. Me also doing first time. Sisters who know better can correct me

Btw, i bought the 1 pack type of ensure yo.. not nice leh. it sais milkshake style..
i have to force myself to finish that.

SF loh needs to attend conference. What im puzzled is last minute then know need to attend conference one meh. The nurse just informed me this morning.

hey gals...
i noticed alot of gals here feel alot of pain after er... is it normal? cos me and a few gals over at dr foong thread doesnt complain of such discomfort... in fact i dont feel a thing after i woke up from my er... only have slight bleeding which last for abt 2 days... is it at kkh the er procedure is more invasive?

if it is...then its good that gals who are going to have er at kkh can discuss it with their dr to see how to minimize the pain... cos its quite scary with those telling the pain after er...

not to frighten ladies who are going to start at KKH. i feel ok after the ER.. only drowsy after tat. After a few hours rest, no longer drowsy. But adominal pain a bit pain, feel like menstrual cramp.

Gloria, I agree with you too. The short period i had for Stage 2 could be the reason why my bill was such an amount. I had 150units of GonalF for the first 4/5days. Then went for scan, after which it was reduced to 125.5/115.5units(cant remember). I think they did not want me to suffer from OHSS. My first scan I had like about 8 follicles though some are small.

Rostrum, the cost cover everything in IVF-suprefact, gonalf, consultation, scan, blood test, crinone gel and the ET and ER procedure itself. It inculde the stay in the hospital. I took one bedder too.

Actually not say 'pain' but discomfort. i felt totally fine when in hospital. not even drowsy. very excited to be discharged. had my milo and biscuit and once discharged i had another cup of milo and butter toast at kopi tiam. after that i think i started to have tummy ache already.
but it is due to diarrheao loh..
The vagina pain is soreness.

wow Vi4n, you still have biscuit. I was only given Milo.Kk only provide milo. i asked for discharge too but was been told to stay a little longer although i told the nurse i feel fine already. Ends up i was there for 4 hours..

Jus sharing the protein level of spirulina;
Protein

Spirulina has the highest protein of any natural food (65%); far more than animal and fish flesh (15-25%), soybeans (35%), dried milk (35%), peanuts (25%), eggs (12%), grains (8-14%) or whole milk (3%). Larger algae, like seaweeds, are macroalgae. They already have an important economic role. About 70 species are used for food, food additives, animal feed, fertilizers and biochemicals.

I'm thinking if i take more of spirulina, can i don't drink Ensure?

Hi Chin,
I awake at the Recovery room at 1pm and pushed back to the ward around 1.30pm, but only discharged at 5pm loh. because Dr also only came for review around 4pm, then i was milo and biscuit.

Vi4n, the dr review you at 4pm? That is good. You are with NUH rite? For me, i was only reviewed at about 5pm...and had to stand the hunger till then. Heard that you have many eggs retrieved. Good luck to you for your ET, and rest well druing 2ww

hi Su, yeah. maybe because every hour when nurse check me, i kept telling her, i'm hungry. hahahha

Chin, if dr no review, then who give permission to take out the drip and let u drink?
It was the dr who told me the no. of follicles retrieved.

One thing for sure, the nurses and doctors are very attentive. even the embryologist is very nice. asked how am I today and if experience any pain to call who. and I don't feel she is rushing the conversation at all.

Hi Vi4n,nurse reviewed it. no doc same to see us at all. she came to check our blood pressure a few times. after got off the bed and changed, the same nurse told me the no. of follicles retrieved. my last scan scan showed 11 folicles but end up retrieved 17. is scanning usually not accurate?

Hi Chin,
U ended up with more follicles retrieved.

For me, scan showed 21 in total, but only retrieved 16.

hi baby

i didnt feel pain/discomfort or anny bleeding after my ER. i am w nuh. mine was done by Dr Steven Chew cos Prof was away that day.

hi gloria
mine was 150iu for 9 days with 1 bedder.. also abt $8k plus only.. thus dun have to fork out cash.

Vi4n

dun worry ..
although i didnt see his face nor talk to him on my ER.. he is very experienced doctor..

no discomfort for me at all
and he managed to retrieve all the follicles on both sides for me.. cos that time.. prof did say 1 side of my ovaries quite high..might not be able to retrieve on ER day.

oh.. dr chew is just a bit slower than prof only. i heard from the chr nurses lah.. hehehe'

slow and steady !

Hi Jude,
Dr Loh prescribed 50mg DHEA for me to be taken as 25 mg twice a day. How much is your dosage? Noted that you didn't have much side effects on that. Heard that it takes 4 months to see the result. Is your upcoming cycle on short protocol? Best of luck

hope 4 bb

dr chew is the visiting consultant when prof is away. dr chew has his own clinic outside of nuh.
as in. private practice..

Hi Esther,
I m considering NUH...hving an appt wif Prof this Sat...after which I will make a decision whether start the cycle wif NUH or go back to KKH...

Su_yana,
Yes...I understand tt the cost do not include BT also...I hope I dun nd to take a lot of GonalF...I m more scared of the jabs rather than ET and ER....