thanks lina & eskimobaby.

other sisters who failed, don't be sad and give up. i can over come it so you sure can do better than me. be strong and jia you.

Ladies who went thr ER Wanna ask you. On ER day is a room given in KK so that hubby can collect sperm. My DH is not comfortable to collect it in the rest room. please let me know

sc
Put the past behind you and look forward. I'm sure u will join us in no time in the MTB thread. Most of us also come a long way before we were successful. If we can do it, so can you !

fandz
Does your UTI previously consist of blood ? If not, DHEA could make it worst, since its documented. I think better to stop your DHEA until your condition gets better.

Hazel
Since u already made up your mind, then go with your heart. Babydust to you !

Sc, Sorry to hear what happened to you. Last year was bad for me also my 1st IVF I m/c in 10th week. Really cried for 1 week and did not talk to anyone. I can understand carrying to 20 weeks hope this year bring luck and we all graduate. Hope your eggs grow to required size and its one good quality egg to get a BFP. I know we all become stronger going thr this I am really very positive during this 2nd cycle compared to my ist one. jia you.

Hi ohohjazz,

Just to add on, the other Assisted Reproductive Treatment are less invasion (less stressful). The other treatment like clomid IUI and SO-IUI does not require day surgery.

I have gone through the whole round, clomid, IUI and SO-IUI and have not regreted trying all the above first before embaking on IVF. IVF is definitely on top of the chart in terms of stress and also a strain physically for me.

In terms of cost, IVF is also the most expensive. we can only used our medisave 3 times (6k,5k & 4k) and grant of 3k 3 times. After that it is on our own.

Dear Fandz,

Sorry to hear that U have such bad side effect although the symtom seems to be that of a bad UTI attack. I have been taking DHEA for 3 months (3X a day) and the only side effect so far is more pimples on my face and body.

I have read some of the literature on the drug and seem like excessive hair growth, ache & weight gain are some of the more common side effect.

In any case, better to see a doctor to find out the problem. In the meantime, pls try to drink more water and cranberry juice which is very good for UTI.

hi monica,
your hubby can also collect sperm at home on the ER morning, just need to tell the nurse and she will provide a collection bottle for him. KK has a room for his use too. Share with you on what happen to my clumsy hubby who spill half the bottle at home due to slip of hand. I was so angry with him. But lucky that time was only testing the sperm analysis. Then after the incident, i insist that he goes to kk to collect sperm. He would bring along his laptop, video, books with R rated materials to help him produce faster.

Dear eskimobaby, bubbybear & Jude

I have history of UTI whenever i do not drink enough water but will usually ease after a few glass of water and citravescent within hours.

THis time i start feeling discomfort since 10.30pm last nite and got worse at 4am. Never did i seen blood before in previous UTIs.Doctor did say sometime minority do see blood stains in urine due to hormones in DHEA which is normal but never UTI.sigh

im waiting for Dr Loh & see what he says. Tmr will check my urine test result.fingers crossed.

Thanks Lina, for sharing. We also shld plan to make him produce in KK. So was worried if they have a room. Will share with him the info and see how he plans.

Lina, your story brought a smile to my face because i faced a similar clumsy problem with my DH. He dropped the bottle into the toilet bowl. On the actual sample day! I freaked out, until he told me it was the empty bottle. Phew...

anyway, i think it'd better to do it at KKH so you dont have to rush down to the hospital.

Hi Monica,

Do get your hubby to bring his own R rated material as suggested by Lina. Heard from hubby that the materials at KK is not very stimulating...keke

Jude & ladies

can check with you, if first ivf only use my medisave 100%, 2nd ivf share 50% mine and 50% my hubby medisave, does it mean i still can use my hubby medisave 2 more times? if not i am only left with last time to use my medisave....government grant i still have 2 times left..if no grant & medisave at all, bill is quite hefty per cycle around 9-10k hard cash.

hi everyone - just want to say Jia You to all of u!

I was in similar situation as u all 2 yrs ago.. rem to keep believing that u will b a mummy!!

My boy will be 1 this friday! it is a long journey but it is really worth it...

Keep ur chin and spirits up! God bless all of u!

Hi Fandz,

If I am not wrong, this mean that you only have one last time to use your medisave ($4K). I am stuck with the same situation. Last time medisave and two time government grant.

Dear Vanilla pod,

Thanks for comining into the forum to give us encouragement. We will jia yu!

jude/ meow

can i appeal to cpf to allow me use 1 more time if fail? afterall it is our money...and for my 2nd ivf it was aborted half way due to poor response..its not fair..

fandz
i know the pain u're going thru, i had two consecutive UTIs when i started ttc-ing. the first time was really bad, i was peeing out blood clots! can u imagine my shock, as it was my first experience wif UTI, din know what was happening so totally freaked out. hope u recover soon.

sc
tks for sharing yr story, i can only imagine what u went thru. hope u hv many good follicles this time, and all the best for your OR and ET!

fancy and su yana
think we all went thru similar, step-by-step process - clomid, IUI then finally IVF. hope we'll experience success soon...

vanilla pod
think we chatted on another thread previously close to a year ago!
tks for dropping by so long after your journey, hope all the ladies here can share yr same happiness soon!

eskimobaby
tks for the timely reminder. yes, after all the ttc-ing, i've come to appreciate my DH a lot more. it's easy to get engrossed in our own emotions, and forget that our DHs could also be feeling the pain inside. whatever it is, we must always rem to treasure our DHs.

hi spiffy,
my goodness, men are indeed clumsy. Such important item also careless.

hi monica,
not sure if kk will allow the wife inside the sperm room as i know some other private ones will let the wife help out, so that the process is faster.

hi jude,
actually only one wall painting of nude lady, that's all.

fandz
the policy is set by MOH. the rational then was that the chance of success reduces with each try, so to prevent depletion of our medisave, they capped ivf withdrawals at 3 times.

wif all the improvements in ivf technology, the policy is prob outdated. and like many of their policies, they won't bother to review it unless it becomes a big issue and someone/some group lobbies strongly for a change.

Hey ladies, kk room can let both DH and wife in to produce semen but wont wife be in the ops theatre for ER while DH producing semen?

My DH actually prefer that. He say since cannot penetrative sex, he rather alone masturbate than i there to distract him. Haha!

Hi Vanilla *wave*

Seed

Hi Sc, I hope this cycle will bring you joy and success that you have always wanted. And of course may it last for the 9mths.

Just want to check, we are allowed to use 50% of each wife and hubby medisave for ivf? I always had this impression it can only come from one account, either wife or hubby. Hope someone can enlighten me on this.

hi su yana.
i've only done one cycle but i believe we can decide how we want to split the amount bet the husband/wife, cos i rem the staff at gleneagles asked us how we want to split the $6k fm medisave.

on ER date, can collect sperm at home. Bring along to hospital when wife goes for ER. at times it is less stressful for the dh as afterall in in the comfort of his own home.

saw dr loh just now when I went for briefing. During the briefing, the nurse told me support will be given during 2ww. She said Can be insert or injections. Depending on what can of support is needed.

Buddybear, i m only 31 this year. There isnt any drastic change in lifestyle of diet... Dun think its menopausal coz E2 is 77 which is normal so i guess menopausal E2 will drop drastically rite?

Eskimobaby, u r very right actually with or without children we must really treasure our spouse coz they r the one who will walk with us till death. So we must not let this difficult path damaged couples relationship.. wats the point of having successfully conceived but husband and wife relationship in bad shape rite?

Fandz, when was ur aborted cycle done? Hw come u use medisave? As for myself when dr loh asked me to do iui(which i didnt), i didnt use my medisave at all i juz use the co funding which subsized half the amt and wat i need to pay is 1k for the puregon and ultrasound... Perhaps u can write in MOH to appeal stating that kk staff that u r not aware of able to use goct grant only. Hope this helps....

Jude, how long u taken DHEA? When is ur next try? R u under Dr zou too?

Lyn,

Sounds drastic. After my failed cycle, I tested my FSH and it is at 7.6 much better then before. (Before I was about 10 to 11) My Gynae explained to me that the injections we take in IVF will regulate and lower our FSH, which means those who have high FSH before will go back to normal after one or 2 cycles of ivf as the medication would have help supress the level back to normal. Could it be something you ate before you went for your FSH blood test?

Someone asked if 7.5 is high for FSH. The answer is NO. High FSH is above 10. According to Dr Zou, anything below 10 is fine and acceptable. Best is below 8.

Fandz,

Do drink more warm water to flush out the side effects of DHEA. That is why I refuse to take the DHEA medication. I had enough of IVF and scared of all the side effects. I have tortured my body long enough.. time to let it rest

SC,

Jia you, sure successful one this time
God will shower you with his blessings

Ohohjazz,

Last spoken with my gynae after my failed cycles, he told me ivf is the highest form of method to get pregnant for ladies who have difficulities conceiving. IUI and the other methods are not as effective. Since IVF cannot work, then nothing can work except go to TCM and 'tiao' our body and try naturally. Live a healthy life style and keep praying.. this is what my gynae advise
It really depends on individual how your body can take the medication and react in it.. some do IUI already successful, some need stronger medication from IVF.
Hope that answers your questions.

How I got all these answers cause I went to see my own Gynae at The Private Suite to see what the next option and where should I proceed from here since I will never get an answer from Dr Loh. At least my own gynae is upfront and tell me the options and what I should expect which was never told during my 3 cycles (1years few months long of 3 ivf cycles)....

Humbug, if wat ur gynae say it true that a failed ivf will lower fsh level then i feel more hopeless lor, its ok only tell u....

Lyn,

No lah maybe you ate something before your BT lah.. why don't you test again. Your FSH level should be not so high one lah... please don't scare yourself. You will be okay
There is hope please hang in there ok.

I am not doctor lor so cannot tell hehe... jia you, jia you ok.

Sisters,

I am back!! Heheehehee
..arrived over the weekend..very shagged out..did washing of the dirty clothes and putting away the trip stuff…today on leave..

How are you all getting on…??? While I am typing this, I am also reading up on the past threads since this morning...please bear with me..

Also did something important that is got rid of the terrible total security virus from my home pc!

Lina
If you are still bothered by Total Securities virus, please follow “wiseman” s advice from this website:
http://answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20090928140422AAZYyeM

It worked perfectly

Fond, Lyn, Liz,
Yes, lets all use the sad hongkong case as a mirror to remind ourselves to be happy and treasure what we have got..easier said that done but not impossible bah !

Eskimobaby
Totally agree with your sentiments when you see that old couple. In fact, two of my ex-cols, each have three and two children respectively told me before that the most important person in their lives are their hubbies. I was very shocked to hear that at first as I was still in my mid twenties when they said that. They said that whether we like it, our hubbies will be only person who will walk the path with us forever and not our children as they will have their own spouses to take care of eventually….very true leh..so we must make our spouses very very happy izzit it..heheee..

Happy to know you are 18 weeks liao…
We virtually watch your little one growing up…
heheee..we are the kapo aunties here..;p

Lyn,
Sorry to make you sad earlier..*pat pat*…no lah, I not so good..just want to make use of the chance to squeeze another chubby baby…heeeee..and I am sure with time, we can have our very own chubby babies to squeeze right..heeee..

Sunnybaby,
I am proud of you that you changed your mindset…and while its no doubt a little sad, you must be proud of your hubby that he is such a dear that the children like to stick to him…keep inviting those vibes yes, we will all have children to call our own..

Greenie,
I hope you saw Dr Zou liao. BTW, for subsequent cycles, you don’t have to wait for menses complete. Can do from Day 4 or so as long as flow not so heavy…

May
Congrats on your two bundles of joy…come back and visit whenever you are not so tired…thanks for pouring the babydust here until here gets flooded with them..

Suyana,
Yes, the first few cycles after a D&C can be quite light as the lining is taking its time to rebuild. Eat healthier with special focus on iron rich stuff, such as spinach and also drink chicken essence at least twice a week if you can..

Buddybear,
Congrats too
…have a very smooth nine months and a smooth delivery too.

December,
Hope you feel better slowly…we are here for you…and witnessed first hand your hard work. Its ridiculous you failed embies..you never fail them..its just that the timing will be here soon in future…don’t give up..

Meow,
How have you been!?
Your cheerfulness and postive outlook on life encourages me a lot
And I am sure you will be able to find a good doctor with a lot of yuan fen with you..heeeeee….you will know the gynae is the one for you after you seen him or her around three times…

Meow, you nephew is ultra cute..you know, I am that type of auntie that see cute babies I cannot help but want to squeeze and kiss them and squeeze them and kiss type leh..I got that urge when see your nephew leh..howww…;p

Your backache like very serious…does using heat pad help or you want to consider yoga? Yoga can help to improve show how..

Minnie,
Congrats, you will have a little or a few little minnies…hehehee..

Cdah,
Huggzzz..rest and try again k…go for a short holiday if you can spare time..

Leobaby..
You are a strong and brave lady..I salute your courage…great to have your courage here with us and while we are trying for babies..lets enjoy the sisterhood in the meantime k..

Die and sisters who want to create a lovely home for babies.
I have come across a book under the chicken soup for the soul series its called “chicken soup for the adopted soul”. If you have time, consider picking it up? I am a great fan of that series of books, lots of inspiring stories that can give us a lot of insights.

Just want to share this that I read on motherhood, one particular thread two years back (sorry, I can’t remember the name of the thread). It set me to think for very long even until today. The sisters there said that according to their research, many adopted babies expressed a common desire, that, given a chance, they would rather know from young that they were adopted and not after they grow up as they said that the blow was often very big to learn when they are twenty plus about the parentage. On the other hand, if they know since young, its easier for them to accept and incorporate the parentage into their lives. So got one particular forum lady adopted one baby and started to tell her baby since young something like this “although you don’t come from mummy’s stomach, mummy love you very very much”.

Frankly, I myself don’t know what is the right way, to tell the baby when he/she reaches adulthood or when young, and I am still pondering it after two years as I am open to adoption…, just that my hubby is not a supporter. Just sharing this with you sisters so that for those who love and treasure precious babies selflessly, it’s a point to ponder and research about.

Gloria,
Yes, Gloria, you are absolutely right about the vit a : synthetic vs beta carotene…

No mention, I hope your down there more comfy liao

Hey, want to tell you, if you can, alternate between full fat and low fat yogurt…try to cut down on low fat/skimmed milk such as those are hormonally not so balance milk. Consider Pauls brand of full fat yogurt..taste no good but its considered unprocessed..

P&J
Congrats and really thanks for your tips and yes, I love Kambing soup! Got one near my house too…

Miracle baby,
Congrats too…wow, twins too….like Lina said, our family here is really big enough to form a twins’ club liao wor..heheheee..

Liz,
Hope your flu better liao? Try to cheer up as low mood will affect immunity too k…I got your phone number liao...will contact you when I go back to raffles place...

Oxidised and Linda and Shiny,
All the best for your cycles sisters…

Happyhippo,
Yes, blackmores is exactly as Meow described…it’s a great vitamin with all the nutrients but just want to update you and sisters that I was taking blackmores prior to the cycle but stopped upon the start of the cycle as I will be taking eggs, chicken essence and all the recommended things that I don’t want to over tax my kidney which is an important organ during the cycle. But now, I switch to take a good and balance diet..

So ladies, you can decide what you want to do, continue to take blackmores into the cycle and manage your daily nutrients into or like me, concentrate on good food now.

Fancy,
Huggzzzz…I am sure miracles will happen to you some day…it might not happen to all our us at the same time or in the same form but it will k…J I am dare to say that your hubby is one of your many miracles that will come your way..

Don’t worry about the acu at all. Dr Zou’s needles go in so fast that u don’t even realize when she is done! No bluff u one

Rostrum
The key difference in protocol that I find between kk and nuh is that during the 2WW (after embryo transfer into the womb), kk has more support in terms of more jabs and blood test while nuh mainly relies on inserts and no blood test.

However, if successful pregnant, nuh has more support in terms of two jabs every week. Another difference, KK is slightly cheaper by a couple of thousand.

You are right, subsidies are only eligible at govt hospitals..

So I guess there are always trade-off.

Don’t worry Rostrum, there are many of us here to give support. Jia you..

Judebabe
Yeah, prof will be away in end of dec…

Lyn,
I know its easier said than done not to worry about fsh…but try to remind yourself that anxiety adds to stress and is a big minus for ovarian health. Try to eat more wolfberry if u can k… that herb is great for our ovaries…

Jude,
Are you starting the cycle soon? I remember you said you will be on short protocol sometime around the same time as me..

Sisters,
A little update on myself. I finally started with the cycle. Its day two of my suprefact now. The funny thing is although I was really nervous a few months ago, I am kind of calm and “distracted now”.

It could be that I managed to distract myself too much during my shanghai trip that now I don’t even feel like I have started the cycle. Or it could be that I my am trying to manage my expectations that my subconsciousness is trying to numb myself. What I find really funny is that I am not excited that I am like just going through the motion of ivf…I find myself very funny now..

Anyway, I feel so distracted now that everyday I am still doing my normal things, thinking about work and still going for yoga. It could be a form of escapism or the way of manage this.

Sisters, do any of you still do light yoga during the first and second stages of cycle?

lyn,
yeah... relationships can be strained due to stress... but also can improve and strengthen in times of need....

i dunno much abt FSH but do know that it can change every month... so dun worry too much abt ur sudden surge in FSH... test again next cycle and see how... sometimes it's the accumulated stress and may not be something recent....

Sisters,
BTW, sorry to sidetrack a little. Are any of you the comic, Crayon Shinchan (la bi xiao xin) fans? The author recently died of a freak accident at just 52, he fell off a 210m cliff. If any one of you are fans, lets remember our great illustrator. From now on, no more crayon shinchan..

babygalore,
good to see u back!

yeah... i still feel more comfortable chatting here rather than go to the Feb MTB thread... can relate better here than there..:p it's good that u dun stress or think too much abt ur new cycle... i was glad that work distracted me that time during stage 1 and 2....

Hi babygalore, happy that u r back! Ur post always looks so alive.....

Eskimobaby, to think in a positive way its good to know that my fsh is not good b4 i start another cycle. It maybe not mean that my eggs r running out but one time i feel is that my body is still not ready to accept another round of sitmulation... I need to improve my lifestyle ie exercise but diet wise i m clueless leh... any suggest?

babygalore!!!

u are back!!! how was ur work trip? tiring?

u wrote such a long message.. but so sweet of u to address everyone in the thread.. hugz..

oh.. i went to Dr zou last sunday.. she worked on my back and i took her herbs.. voila.. only 2 dosages of her meds.. my spotting STOPPED!! and now i have the egg-white mucus liao!! fantastic right!! cos i was spotting the whole 1 mth liao !! so happy when i dun have to put pad liao.. cos sometimes the pads give me butt irritation leh.. like nappy rash. hahaha

ok. i made appt to see dr loh and dr yong in oct. ask abt how they gonna do for my case etc.. and see they are handsome or pretty or not.. then i decide who will delivery my baby-to-be. hehehe..

oh.. my backache is gone !! i didn't do anything also.. just let Dr zou poke poke on sunday.. then yday still slight pain.. tdy no more pain liao!

oh.. dr zou is very nice.. she gave us insights on what could have been the reason behind my failed cycle.. she even rembr small details eg i extend my suprefact etc loh.. so nice of her.. i wanna find a doctor like her for my gynae leh!!

Meow, i agree with u that dr zou is a very nice lady. Even i have stopped gtg to her for the time being, she will talk to me over the phone will i got enquires...

lyn

that day i was spotting.. i called her at her clinic, but cos she was on her way to the airport ..her hubby gave me her HP # w/o any qns asked

when i called her, she was at the airport, but she was very nice to call her hubby to prescribe the meds for me so my DH can go collect at her clinic. she even called me back to tell me that she had already arranged for her hubby to prepare the meds.. so nice hor.. i mean.. she could have not answered my call since she is already at the airport.

although my bfp stil became bfn, i am very grateful to her.

lyn,
i dunno much abt diet... this one must ask babygalore
.... she's more into yang sheng.... the most important is keep urself happy and relaxed.... i know not easy during ttc-ing... a fren just told me recently that her gynae asked her to exercise... she also realise that when she exercise she has more egg white mucus.... and when she stops she dun have that much.... so i guess exercise not only help us relax but also helps to balance our hormones... but dun overdo it while ttc-ing...

pooh2,
Oic...I tort lower fsh will hv shorter protocol...then I m disappointed liao...

fond,
I will ask Prof tis Sat n c hw...cos Dr Loh suggested 50-50 last year...

su_yana,
Ya...hope we can be cycle buddies!!!

babygalore,
U mean NUH charges is more exp than KKH by a few thousand??? Tt is a lot of difference since both are restructured hospitals!

Lyn,
U shd redo yr BT in mabbe in a 2 or 3 mths time? Meanwhile, try to eat healtily...more veg and fruits..less meat...At yr age, fsh shd not be too high...

Hmmm...Seems like most of the ladies here are wif Dr Zou during yr IVF...unfortunately Dr Zou is too far away from my hse...does acu really helps alot during IVF? Dun tink I will go for it if I start on the cycle...Dun wanna tink too much and jus leave it to the doc and nurses...Haa..I seem bo chup!

eskimobaby,
U will de....everything will be smooth smooth...I am so envious of u...its v fascinating to hv the lil one inside u rite? I am imagining again...kekekekekeeke....never experience before ma...U did yr IVF wif which doc?

Hi Lyn,

Sorry for the late reply.

Your FSH is indeed very high. Yes higher than mine... I tot nobody will bit my record already!
What did the Dr say abt your FSH level?
Dun worry too much. Let's nature take its course. I was like you, very worried that I cant even start the IVF treatment. I actually consulted Dr Loh before he decided to put me on the short cycle. Perphaps that's the reason why u didnt do well for your 1st cycle. You must remmeber to highlight to your Dr abt the high FSH level so that he can decide which protocol is more suitable for you.
Dun worry lah... look at me... fsh also very high but still managed to conceive. No problem for you too!