Meow, ppl like u with good response during long cycle unlikely dr will ask u to go for short... ppl like me dr will reccomend short coz i m a poor responder to long ones... Its true that sgh got lesser ivf cases..but it seems that they got nice lady drs.. maybe u can get a second opinion from there as well then decide lor

Linda, really hope protein powder will help all ladies here to have a good numbers like. Goodluck.

Ladies, does everyone know whether would excessive protein causes gut ie joint pain? I hope not......

Bunny, i have the same thoughts with u but the problem where shld we go for additional support? Private gynae some also not wiiling to give us the support coz we dun do ivf under them.

Fond, ya i m actually not happy that scan was actually done by that african lady.... she like not up to the standard kind

lyn

actually i still need to regulate my menses before starting on anything.

tdy i told prof i still spotting off and on. he gave me options again.

1 - take hormone pills for 3 wks to regulate
2 - let it regulate on its own

i dun wanna take hormone pills again liao.. 3 wks somemore.. my body had enuff!!
i will go dr zou instead.. at least herbs are natural.

Meow, ya lor also protein leh.. but dun worry la alot of ladies here also taking wat so far no complain from them shld be ok la, hehehe

Meow, but all gynae will give hormones but u r right to do without it first coz dun expose our body to unnessary med for the time being...

Lyn

You mean gout? Ppl with gout cannot taken too much protein as they have too much purine in their body tissues. And all sources of dietary protein contains some amt of purine hence they got to control their protein intake.

For normal ppl like us....the recommended dietary for protein is 0.8 to 1g per kg of body weight of adults. Our body is unable to store excess protein hence need to consume everyday.

However if the person have existing kidney problem then excessive protein will be a issue else take a little more protein will not harm the body too much

lyn

those protein powders shld be ok lah.. drink more water then..

lyn
yah.. i think so too.. dun wanna take hormones again lah.. body so out of shape from the whole ivf cycle liao.... now i will go 'tiao' body .. maybe for at least 3 mths.. then try naturaly loh..

u also dun give up ok?

Fond, oic thks for the info. Coz these few days i got neck and shoulder and knee pain so i m also suspecting... but i dun know my pain is coz by the protein powder

fond, lyn

i go sleep liao. tired.. tdy worked till 8..
very busy!
good night.. sweet dreams.. and if got mood.. go BD! >.<

meow

Yes drinking more water is also important...something i know but always never follow...haha
Actually we also take in protein from the things we eat..just in different amt like egg white, meat and milk etc.

Lyn

Excessive protein will most likely cause harm to kidney only...and only if you have pre-existing kidney issues...if your pain is at neck, shoulder or knee is unlikely caused by protein. Maybe your calcium not sufficient or never sleep well?

meow,

Just from experience, do not put too high hopes that you will get 'extra' support for 2ww or after 2ww. From my experience it did not happen... for others I cannot say so.

Fond,

Can we still drink the protein powder after 4 hours of interval if we eat the Blackmore Conceive Well Gold? Thanks

Meow, of course i am not referring to the support that you were referring to..hehehe...i dun think prof is the type will give so much of emo support.
Meow, if you are thinking of private clinic, i will recommend CARE at paragon. The ppl there r nice. Success wise not too sure, but they have many expat patients.

Lynn, I had my first cycle with prof in july. Got pg but miscarried at 7wks. Am thinking of doing again at NUH end of the year. Like what Meow mentioned, not BT after ET just crinone gel only. WHen r u doing your cycle with Prof?

Ladies, I did my IVF @ SGH ... we were on progestrone pills from ER onwards ...2 injection is also given which is on ET day and another on day 6... BT is also taken on day 5 to determine whether additional support is needed... jus for infor, due to my failed cycle, my doctor has suggested blood test to be taken for additional support on top of progestrone pills on daily basis...I would elaborate further after I met my doctor next month

Meow,
I am with SGH.From my experience, BT is done on D14 of lucrin. If everything is fine, proceed with scanning before puregon/gonalF.D6 after puregon/GonalF, will have another scan to review on the dosage, either increase or decrease. D9 another review and if everything is ok, normally would let u know when the ER date and when to have the HCG jab. HCG jabs are done on ur own, so no need to go down to clinic.
As for support during 2ww, we are only given duphaston and D8 after ET had a BT. If the result is low, will be given HCG jab again.
Another BT will be done on D14 after ET to know the result whether BFP or BFN.
FYI, scanning in SGH is not done by the doc. The nurses will submit to the doc for the review once the scan is done and will let u know if everything is fine. In total, u will only see doc for about 4-5 times(include ER and ET).
Hope this helps

I finally done my ER already.. during the 1st scan she told me the readings of 20 follicles, the 2nd scan she said alot hidden..

after i was done with yesterday's ER a total of 49 follicles were retrieved!!! i was so shocked..

tomorrow is my scheduled ET day.. i dun think dr loh would do a blastocyst for us...

Hi, Oxidised.
That's quite a lot of follicles. Take more protein to prevent ohss.
Have a good rest and hope you have good embbies and smooth ET

humbug
what do u mean.. u were with which hosp?
u mean when they found our ur hormone level is ok, they nvr give u additional support? but then.. if it's ok level., dun need extras mah..

su yana
no $$ for private clinic leh..

zaza
so u will be sticking to SGH? which doc u went to?

elle
that is what i wanna find out.. thanks!!
so SGH uses puregon or gonal f?
scanning not done by ur own doc.. then done by a panel of docs is it?

Dec,
the Joo chiat temple tat i used to go has Zhu Sheng niang niang(Goddess of birth n fertility).
All the best for your coming scan. Stay positive. Praying for you!

Meow,
the scanning is not done by doc. I dunno know what is the exact designation called. But they are only in charge of doing scanning and I dun think they are doctors. Once the scan result is out, then nurse will give it to our doc for review. Then nurse will let us know the result.

Zaza is with Dr Yong

Hi Sunnubaby, Welcome to Stage2.

Oxidised, thats a lot of follicles, Can I ask what was your dosage?. Good Luck to you, linda and Shiny on ET today.

meow - yup me sticking with Doctor Yong for my 2nd try
Btw, the scanning is done by the sonographers afterwhich the doctor will decide on the next step

Meow,
SGH uses both puregon and gonalF,depends on ur dosage. My last cycle I used puregon as my dosage is 150iu. Puregon goes by 50iu. But this time i use gonalF as my dosage is 187.5, where only gonalF has such dosage.
One more thing, for SGH, we need to pay in advance first and claim back later after ET. So have to prepare cash on hand.All tests, medication, doctor consultation and insurance has to be paid in cash. For medication it can be claimed later after ET. The only thing that need not to be paid with cash is the IVF procedure itself.

i will be going for my IVF session soon at KKH with Dr Loh SF as my gynae.

I read thru the thread that the success rate is high with him. But i thought during the IVF process we will not be seeing him till confirm pregnant or unsuccessful.

Pls correct me if im wrong asi also very confused.

Meow,
Yup, should be good.Because they are specialised in doing it and they are quite in details. My scan normally will take quite sometime because i have a lot of those small follicles, so she will scan thoroughly and measured the size

Fond

the herbal pot i bought is those traditional brewing herbs pot found in those grocery shop @ $5.90. so far i have no issue brewing the herbs. During brewing, i would shower and dress up. around 45-50mins, i stop brewing, let it cool (its too bitter to sip slowly while hot!) then i do my make up and i glup it down before i go out in the day. Night time i can slowly take my time...

meow - I agree with elle on the sonographers are specialised ... I was reading thru the past threads and spotted about NUH nurses mentioning about SGH not good and success rates ... I dun really agree with the nurses as different hospital report different protocol ...there is already difference in additional support during 2WW when comparing NUH with SGH ....

nctgrace

yes..we only see him (Dr Loh) around 3-4 times. FIrst consultation to see when start ivf...Egg retrieval and ET...then fail or successs see him last time.

nctgrace

yes..we only see him (Dr Loh) around 3-4 times. FIrst consultation to see when start ivf...Egg retrieval and ET...then fail or successs see him last time.

Meow,
As per explained by Zaza above, not mixing the meds. I mean SGH use both puregon and gonalF. My first cycle i am on puregon but on my second cycle i am on gonalF. Though my initial dosage 187.5 iu was reduced to 150iu now, i am still in gonalF as i have started on it.

hey monica: my dosage was 150 IU all throughout.. after ER yest i felt abit of pain but still managed to walk to pharmacy with hub and to car.. by evening it got really painful.. but still manageable.. walked hunched..

this morning i was feeling fine, now the pain is back again but not as adverse as last night's..

so overall i am feeling fine!

yah man 49 is alot, but i am sure not all is good...

Goodluck to all doing ET tomorrow..!!

err. i didn't even see sf loh lor.. by the time he's in the OR i was already out.. like kenne egg retrival by "ghost dr" LOL

Meow, i know private clinic will use more$$$ espeically they don't have the government grant given to them. BTW, who did ur follicle scanning during your ivf. For mine, Prof was not around so the sonographer in Clinic ruby..ermm..I think did my scanning.

Zaza, when are you embarkign your 2nd IVF? When was your first?

Ladies, do you think doing another round of IVF about 3 mths after the first one is a good idea? How long did any ladies wait to do the 2nd round?