linda, she trusted tt she is in good hand n she loves kids. The more the merrier. Forgot to mention, tt 2 fresh cycles, she put into 3 fertilized eggs each time! But she Nv has luck to strike multiples.. If not, u can imagine how many children she has now..

Zaza,
The protein powder is meant for easier protein intake to reduce OHSS mainly during IVF. If you take it prior to IVF, protein are known to help with Egg quality. This was told to me by my SIL cause she took protein powder when she went thru IUI and thru'out her pregnancy. Although her daughter came out preterm at 7th mth but the baby already weigh 2.3kg at that time! No need to stay in NICU at all.. discharged like normal babies and she said its because of the protein powder.

I think May mentioned that her SIL also took Protein powder during her pregnancy and the baby grow really well till Doc asked her not to take if not baby will grow overweight...

Lina,
Are you referring to the progesterone support after ET? From what I know from the nurse.. any follicles above 15 will be given Progesterone insert. I had 26 follicles retrieved and was put on Progesterone insert for 17 days. No need to go back KKH for daily jabs
Oh, but need to take OHSS pill..

hi orangey,
only inserts? not sure, we are not given a choice, must take 17 days of daily jab at kk every morning. Did you get to choose insert?

As far as I know, if you have more than 15 follicles retrieved, you will be introduced with daily progestrone inserts or daily progestrone jabs. If u opt for the daily progestrone jabs, u will need to visit KK everyday as u will require a medical staff to do it. I had 21 follicles retrieved but was not introduce with OHSS pills. However, I opted for both progestrone inserts and jabs as I have history that my progestrone level dropped drastically during the 2WW.

If you have less than 15 follicles retrieved, pregyln jabs will be introduced. This jab is given every 3-4 days. The reason why pregyln jabs is introduced for less than 15 follicles retrieve is because hormone level is usually lesser; thus OHSS is less likely to occur as compared to those with many follicles retrieved.

Lina,
We cant decide also unless you insists I guess? I think their standard protocol now: Less than 15 follicles = Daily Jabs, otherwise inserts. I think someone mention that jabs may cause OHSS to worsen so those who had more than 15 were given inserts on a safer side. Both works the same. After my ET, the nurse just prescribed me with the inserts and asked me to collect from pharmacy. After my ER, I know the nurse told me those with more than follicles were have to take the OHSS pills cause higher chances of striking OHSS.

Zaza,
I took the one from Amway. You can get it retail but its quite expensive. I know Fond is a member of Amway so she can get it at member price. There's 2 flavour - Original and Berry. Original has a higher dose of protein so if your main concern is protein, u can buy that but mind you the taste is horrible. Berry taste like strawberry milk

Fond,
Can help Zaza?

Hi Hazel, are u seeing Dr loh from KKH too ??

You stated need to substain chicken & soya food, does it apply to us who are starting the jab soon ???

And will doctor or nurse advise us to take supplement (protein powder) to support the process. btw, where u all got the infor from?

i think i need to do alot of read up. Really dun understand all those abbreviation eg ET, ER , OHSS ?

Follicle retrieve is for which stage ??

orangey,
u drink the protein powder everyday? cos now i'm on mult-vit, calcium and fish oil..also drinking anmum.... dunno if will be overloading or not if take the protein powder..

Hi Meow,

No. It's adminstered not because of OHSS. I can't recall the reason but if u opt to have the jab at the buttock, u will need to sign a consent form. Understood from the nurse that there are many nerves at the buttock area, thus cannot any how jab.

Jab at thigh will be safer according to nurse but it might be more painful. Most of us opt for jab at buttock area.

according to Dr loh, if more than 15 eggs, will either on daily jab or insert.. so he prescribed me daily jab lor ...
jus went to kkh to submit the insurance form (c0s yesterday forget to bring cheque) and i ask nurse whether i can jab on my own for the daily progesterone)..and i showed her how i jab..and i managed it..so nurse give me "certified" to jab on my own so i no need to come to kkh every day..btw myself is a nurse

hi huma
cry it out and be ready for the 2nd try.
as for failure, there are many reasons contributed such as embryo unhealthy or insufficient progesterone or inadequate preparation, or sometimes poor egg ovarian reserve due to age factor and etc..

hi linda,
that's good, no need go down daily. There was once i had to combine puregon jab, need to go down kk but i had urgent work commitment and ask nurse if i can go 24 hours clinic. The nurse so mean, ask me if i am qualified nurse, i said 'no'. Then she said i must go down immediately.

huma - cry it out and you will feel better ... plse dun supress urself as it will be more painful ... relax urself n try to occupy ur time doing your fav things like spa, facial or catching a movie ... I agree with linda on what the doctor might mention about the failure ... take ur time to grief and pop by here often as the sisters here are a pillar of support ...

hi lina
dun care abt the nurse la...anyway over liao and now u r preggy.. for me i jus feel is funny since i know how to jab why must i come down daily...hehe...btw, was ur progesterone blood level good?

Hi ladies, I am embarking on the ivf journey in Oct. Doc has given the green light after my day surgery. Currently I m waiting for my Oct menses so that I can call KKH to arrange to collect syringe and medicine. I have completed the counselling, signed consent, passed the initial test for rubella/HIV test etc. Was given some hormones med to take from 2nd day of menses onwards and meanwhile taking folic acid prescribed by doc. May I know what else must I do besides waiting for menses to report? When should I start taking brazil nuts, egg white, anmum etc? Actually I have started to take chicken essence twice weekly le...not sure if it helps. Hope to catch as much baby dusts as possible from u ladies who had succeeded.

hi zaza,
yes, think so too.

hi linda,
the BT at the middle of 2WW progesterone level? that was normal range, no need to increase jab amount. But also not high and that could be the reason for singleton.

Ntcgrace, yes, seeing dr loh at Kkh. The abstain of certain food starts from e start of ivf cycle. Ie 1st jab all the way to 2ww. U heard of christopher cheng? This famous ivf pte gynae has a long list of food to abstain from. Hv a few friends on ivf n were successful on 1st attempt.

I dun think dr loh will ask us to take more protein. But he will prescribe folic acid though. Am taking tt now. Hubby taking multi vit. Also prescribed by dr loh.

Humbug
How are you? I'll be starting next month..

Linda
All the best to your 2ww. Time flies.. last time i met you, i was at KKH for my daily jab, and now is your turn. I also find daily jab at KKH very tiring.. Should i retrieve more than 15 eggs this time round, i will go to my GP here for the jab, and they charge me $13 for each jab, it's still cheaper than i take cab thru and fro to KKH daily, and definitely no need to travel. Rest well.

babyhopepath, am with dr loh, also starting in oct. Counseling, test, etc am doing it next week. I was slotted in by dr loh in aug.

Dun take chicken. My friend said chicken lots of hormones n may interfere with the jabs which are hormones also.

Ladies, I understand the inserts during 2ww is under trial n is more ex than the jabs. So those on inserts must pay more.

Linda
Yalor.. too bad u can't jab for me..
Ya.. still with Dr Loh.. i still feel that he has magic fingers..

Hazel
I agree with you, but last time, the travelling time up and down, i'm easily tired.. bo bian.. i will try first, see can dahan or not..

Linda
Yup, still on long protocol and 400iu. But this time round, Dr Loh will monitor for me, as he said previous time i was given the HCG jab to mature the eggs too early, that's why most of my follicles retrieved are empty, it hasn't grown to the ideal size yet. He was quite disappointed with the results. I will probably see him in between scanning, to play safe this time..

Hi Hazel, seem like u noe so much more than me & at this pt of time i still very confused.

What is 2ww.

And when must i start to abstain from certain food. Where to get the list ???

And when to start taking supplement ???

What is the insert that u are talking abt ?

Hi Babyhopepath,

Im in the same stage at u. Also need to take pill on D2 when menses report & currently taking folic acid.

Btw, are u advise to taking chicken essence or juz take it on ur own. And does the following food helps ? brazil nuts, egg white, anmum

Are u seeing Dr Loh SF from KKH too ??

Linda
Hopefully yes, esp with all the babydusts from our sisters here :)

Am looking forward to join Develyn, Fresh, Orangey, Lina and the rest at motherhood thread leh..

Hi Libby and Linda,

I will wait good good for u at MTB thread. You are almost there liao..... Hurry Hurry Hurry... BFP on the way!!!!!!!

God bless and baby dust to you!!!!!!!

Eskimobaby,
No neh, I am taking it on alternate days only :p
Usually drink it for breakfast and I feel so "grouchy" cause its quite fulling and now MS comes and go, feel like throwing it up on the train but cannot waste.. so expensive and must let baby absorb de.. I haven't started my Multi-V yet cause Dr Loh says must finished my Duphaston then can take lor.. Later seeing him, feel like asking if can stop Duphsaton now.. I am so constipated and gynae at Glen E told me it is due to Duphaston. She says duphaston harden our stool!!!!

Ntcgrace, u mean dr loh Nv give us folic acid since u starting next mth? Go buy from pharmacy. The refrain of food start from 1st injection. 2ww is 2 wks Wait after embryo transfer (ET). Go google n read up.

How can u not know all these when u r making changes to ur body. Is ur body so pls find out

Hazel, noted with thanks.

Nctgrace, we are under the same doc
I think Hazel too! And we all are starting in Oct. I read from previous thread that brazil nuts, anmum and chicken essence do help at certain stages. As I just had my day surgery last mth, I just took chicken essence to 'bu' my body + recently feel tired easily.

hi fresh
thanks for the info.

Ntcgrace
have u gone for the counselling or the briefing by the nurses already? u seem lost..

Ntcgrace

brazil nuts - contains selenium, aids implantation

egg white - contains lots of proteins, good for egg quality and to reduce the effects of OHSS

ammum milk - proten also.. same effects as above.

elle

in stage 2 liao.. all the best!! very fast ER and ET liao hor..

zaza
u also w SGH? queue long or not ar? which doc are u w?

Hi Hazel, im taking folic acid now also. Will do read up. thks

Hi babyhopepath, do take care.

Hi Meow, i already gone thru conselling, blood test & hormones test. Juz waiting for menses to arrive to start the jab.

Btw, i email Dr loh to ask if there are any food need to substain & he told me juz take healthy food like fruit & veg. less caffein & no alcohol.