i was suppose to start lucrin on 14/9. but i experienced "menses" again yesterday,and i called up kkh to ask wat am i suppose to do..and nurse sara told me yesterday she will check w dr loh and get back to me wither yersterday evening or today by 11am.
but to my anger waited till 1pm ++ today still hasnt get call from her.. so i called kk again and look for her, but the china nurse picked up the phone and said sara is busy. i tole her better ask sara to talk to me now if not i will complain to nurse manager phua. but tis china gal still said bcos sara is busy so cant get my call. then i put down my phone. soon after 5 mins sara called me and said sorry to me cos dr loh hasnt review my casenote yet..and finally just he reviewed. and sara told me to come today by 5pm to do urgent hormone test to see how... and dr loh might depends on my results to start me on short protocol... and the end of conversation i told sara i nearly complain her to nurse manager phua, and she again said sorry to me.. but said tht she cant help much too aas dr loh is so busy

missfairylady - yes im fine too and only now bz preparing for the coming Hari Raya next week on top of the fasting period... I'm trying again but have not decided when to do

missfairylady - I'm doing fine and been bz with the fasting period and preparing for the coming Hari Raya next week ...

I will try again but had not decided when to do it

Me too rushing for raya so i cannot start straight away.i told him that i want to try naturally, i will continue mayb end of this year. I told him about accu, he said no harm to try naturally with the help of accu. In the mean time he will see my hubby to check on him again.

Tnt

Understand that you must be anxious over the progress of the cycle. However sometimes i feel it might not be the nurses fault. They are really overloaded with many patients esp now the number of nurses with good knowledge like nurse sara is getting lesser. Probably its really due to Dr Loh schedule thats why its delayed.

I know nurse sara for quite some time and she is a nice lady..trying to be caring but really no time due to too many patients. So i guess if possible give them some allowance. For me if i have really urgent case i will go straight to KKIVF to get my answer or where possible schedule to see Dr Loh.

Fond, u r right that its not always the murse fault but rather i felt is the kk ivf system that is at fault but however it affects the quality if service in kk thats y many ppl swicth centres....

Lyn

My honest opionion, when i started IVF in Yr 2006, the situation was not so bad. As KKH rate is cheaper and many flock there once government announce the subsidies. Patient increases but no. of nurses and doctors remain the same. Its also not easy for them.

Hence for ppl who can afford to pay higher rates elsewhere..hopefully there might be better service. However i understand not all nurses at private clinics or even govt hospital might be better.

Ladies, FYI ... Dr Loh appearing in tomorrow's newspapers under MIND YOUR BODY. Do catch it if you interested see what he says.

Seed

Fond, i agree with u. My experience with kk is that if everything is smooth u r ok but u r some1 who needs extra care and have enquires then the place is not for u coz there isnt any himan touch ...

I clarified abt that so call china nurse status. She is actually a qualified doctor in China but cannot practise as doctor here. It's her character to act rushly so tell her nicely if don't like it. She is not a nurse but more of a coordinator and sonographer now so i guess wh have to exercise more communication with her.

miracle baby,
u really sound very stressed and worried... i think it would be better if u just go down to any gynae or go to the kk 24h clinic and request for another bhcg... no point worrying urself sick... it's going to affect ur health as well as ur mind....

Hi Miraclebaby ,

Like what Lina says , u may insist the test at KKIVF or any private gynae.. Do not worry so much at this stage as your bb is still growing and forming okie... Hugz !

Hi Fond / Lyn / TNT ,

I agree with Fond's comments on KKIVF.. Those who can afford and want service should go to private hospital which definately alot better in service.. However , successful rates are highly depends on individual body and failure should not blame anyone but just need to try again.. I failed my first IVF at KKIVF too and this allow me to be more experience in 2nd IVF as in to know what to do and expect.. I did think of switching hospital that time to Gleneagle but thinking it is not worthwhile to pay very good service and at the end still waiting for the result.. No matter which hospital u choose end of the day , just stay positive during the cycle okie..

Babies' dust to all.. =)

lyn
wah.. your memory very good leh..
yap. 2 ivfs

1 under LC Cheng - 1 embie to transfer only
1 fresh cycle under Prof ng

now waiting to start FET. god knows when... hahaha

really hope to succeed soon.. try so many years liaoz.. tired..

leo baby,
i'm not trying to be a wet blanket.... but just think that i need to caution u abt ohss... it's actually quite a dangerous thing to get... and at the same time even many said that with ohss the chances of bfp is higher... but i remembered when i was in my 2ww and i told the gals in the forum that i had ohss.... quite a number of gals actually said they also had ohss but didn't get bfp.... so ohss is not a sure thing for bfp.... i would say it's dangerous becos it can be life threatening... i remembered when i was admitted for ohss... BTs were actually done for my liver and kidneys... so ohss if not monitored properly can actually cause damage to these organs.... that's why the nurses are so gan chiong when u are at risk for ohss...

leobaby! *wave*

me took an extremely slow drive (40 km/hr) to my nearby medical hall to get red dates and wolfberry.
boil it with longan and is cooling down now...boil one big pot...
hope can keep body warm.
the weather now is very very hot...
i am taking chicken essence every day. maybe that made me hot as well.
i am beginning to move my bowel and during lunch, was very hungry. finally....

still lying on bed watching youtube....

Linda,

I am not sure if you are with KKH for the first time. Pls bear in mind once u want to start with KKH the one major criteria to have is call patience. I have been with them for a yr from waiting result to see doctor and even operation, is wait since its a public hospital although paying private rate because you are seeing one of the best doctor. So my advice for you if you want to continue with KKH, must put in your fair share of patience.

eskimobaby,

When i posted abt OHSS does not mean i want to have it because of BFP. Just as knowledge for ppl to take note and seek early treatment. I was concern for sunflower and asked her to go chk. If she really BFP all the more impt it is for her to seek help from KKH. Since I was on the book and don't want to read like from start to end I had selective topic reading which of course OHSS was my concern. Thank you for highlighting to me.

leobaby, the red date tea is very tasty...
good change from plain water...
those who can't drink plain water and have been depending on ribena can try this instead cos there is no sugar added....

even tho there's a drop in the quality of service at kkh which some of u have mentioned... but i have this to share.... i really didn't realise this until i met up with my frens yesterday when they asked me something... they asked me if i spent tens of thousands of dollars on ivf.... many yrs ago, ivf is only possible for ppl who can afford it... a cycle may cost over 10k, 20k in cash and this is only for 1 try... and we know that usually this is a 'wu di dong'.... to their surprise.. they didn't realise it's so affordable nowadays with the claims that we can make thru medisave as well as subsidy.. and kkh so far is the cheapest.. costing abt 7-9k for a cycle depending on ur stimulation dosage... of cos if u compare pte and public hospital... not considering the skills of the fertility specialists.... definitely pte would seem better... but not forgetting why is pte better? becos u are the one paying for it... for eg, u are given a single room to rest in after ET in pte hosp... but did the pte hosp give this to u? no... it's paid by u... all these frills nothing is for free... i'm not pro kkh.... but i've seen enuff of wat goes on in pte practice to realise that wat i really need is straightforward services... of cos whether in pte or public services, we still have to be vigilant ourselves and demand for our rites and clear any doubts we have....

frankly before i went to see kkh dr loh... i never ever thot that i would go to a public hosp to seek treatment... and my idea is if i do ivf then it's going to be my last hope and i may not be able to do as many times as i need to under pte practice due to the costs...

Leo baby, i see ur point of sharing info abt ohss. U r juz being concern abt other ladies condition i shld say we shld appreciate u ...

Actually should quantify myself in case ppl really don't understand ivf cycle and like what Fond said the early stage OHSS is not indication of BFP. Embroyo only implant abt D5 to D7 of the cycle so of course the embroyo also needs time to grow so if a person only get very very bloated like few months pregnant abt D10 onwards its a high change of OHSS with "possible" BFP. Test the "possible" with BT.

ivftwins,

the red date and wolfberry can use to cook soup with chicken or pork. very nice to drink too. I just learn from receipe White fungus is also good for the spleen. So maid now cooking red date, wolfberry, white fungus, chicken soup.

TCM ask me to drink more of such soup.

Eskimobaby, i fully understand that u r very appreciative 2wards kkh coz u gotten a BFP under them. Juz being frank with u, not all ladies here r as lucky as u r. As to whether r there complains or praises abt kk or any other ivf centres its juz others very personal point of view and thats wat this forum is all abt. Pls do not feel offended, i m juz speaking my point of view as a pt who did not have a pleasant experience with kk.
As u mention that kk is the cheapest among all ivf centres i agreed but I hope ppl do not need to compromise service as a return of reduced cost.I m glad ivf is so much affortable nowadays coz of increased medisave claim and govt funding but kk is the only or best choice to choose under this circumstances. Fyi, Nuh is more ex becoz they r using gonal f and thus the diff...
This is juz my personal point of view and not to offend any1

Hi eskimobaby
heh did I sound so stressed and worried? I think so but I really am calm now. So concerned about me,I must thank you.

Hi Develyn & Lina
Too tiring to ask for another HBCG test at KKH or any hosp. Plus I don't want to stress myself again waiting for results which is a terrible feeling. Now I decide to leave it to God and I must trust God that I will get a good news at end. Must believe in myself and start taking things easy.

Those ladies with BFP and in 2ww,
Please don't allow yourselves to be easily affected by my case.This is just a general info as what babygalore said. I apologise for causing much unnecessary worry and wish you all the best!

Let's cheer all the way.

lyn,
i had my fair share of disputes with kkivf during my ivf too.... when i was supposed to start lucrin, they told me i can't cos of the orange alert and luckily within the next few days the alert was reduced and i could finally start and i went there but it was not communicated between the pharmacy and kkivf that the stock hasn't arrived yet.. i went down to demand an explanation from the pharmacy as i had to die die start my lucrin that day... ... there was a shortage of lucrin worldwide at that time as the US economy came crashing down and their factories have stopped production.... so in the end they got the stock in but it was suprefact which is slightly more ex than lucrin.... but they still charge me the same... so the same thing goes for why they are using puregon and not gonal F... cos it's a cheaper alternative

but sometimes we need to be realistic too and decide wat really suit us in the end... kkh really made it possible for ppl who really can't afford such fertility treatments to go for it...

wat i posted earlier wasn't to fight for kkh or say that we should tolerate their bad services or becos i got a bfp so i'm positive abt kkh.... but there are gals who are feeling so insecure abt the whole ivf thingy already... so the last thing they need is to feel even more doubtful and feel that there are double standards or lose hope in the treatment they are receiving there now....

Hi Lyn / Eskimobaby ,

Fully agreed that it is individual opinion n experience..Honestly , there is one lady in this forum pointed out her view with kkivf as well after bfn.. she said " develyn, u are different from all of us as u get bfp already.. u will never understand what we are getting thru' ".. I was quite upset that time and i said that i go thru 2 fresh cycles of IVF with KK too.. agreed that the service is not good compared to NUH/SGH or others private hospital.. But end of the day , it is ONE hope and it is to get BFP.. after BFP , it is to hold the pregnancy well and next it is to have a smooth delivery and next will be a healthy babies...

Below is a review on what many MTB or mummy have went thru and YES it is luck and individual body :

No Nickname hospital Gynae Baby gender EDD
1 Imel KKH Dr SF Loh 1 boy (delivered) 21 Apr 09
2 Juju KKH Dr SF Loh 1 girl (delivered on 7 May) 6 May 09
3 Josephine KKH Dr SF Loh 1 boy(delivered on 12 May) 12 May 09
4 Bliss KKH Dr Sadhana 1 boy (delivered on 21 May) 27 May 09
5 Sam SGH Dr Hema 3 boys (delivered on 1 May) 11 Jun 09
6 Pleasance In KL 1girl 1 boy(delivered on 1 Jun) 12 Jun 09
7 Hopfully KKH Dr SF Loh 1 girl 1 boy(delivered on 7 Jun) 12 Jun 09
8 Ponytail NUH Prof Wong 2 girls(delivered) 4 Jul 09
9 Babymaking KKH Dr SF Loh 1 boy(delivered on 24 Jul) 25 Aug 09
10 Littlebee KKH Dr SF Loh 3 girls (delivered on 17 Aug) 24 Sep 09
11 Kaira KKH Dr SF Loh 1 boy 30 Sep 09
12 Cribby TMC TBC 1 girl 10 Oct 09
13 76 Gleneagles Prof Ng 2 boys (delivered on 20 Aug) 10 Oct 09
14 Bee TMC Dr Joycelyn Wong 1 boy 1 Nov 09
15 Tintedsky Gleneagles Prof SC Ng 1 girl 18 Nov 09
16 Lina KKH Dr HC Han 1 girl 7 Dec 09
17 Pau le In France 1 girl 12 Dec 09
18 Itjabi KKH Dr SF Loh 1 girl 17 Dec 09
19 twinstars TMC Dr TC Cheng 1 boy 17 Dec 09
20 Sophia Cheng KKH Dr SF Loh 1 girl 1 boy 25 Dec 09
21 cactus13 NUH Prof PC Wong 2 boys 25 Dec 09
22 Serene Mt A Dr Suresh Nair 1 girl 28 Jan 10
23 Develyn KKH Dr SF Loh twins 28 Jan 10
24 Eskimobaby KKH Dr SF Loh singleton 25 Feb 10
25 Fresh KKH Dr Sadhana twins 30 Mar 10
26 Orangey KKH Dr SF Loh singleton 10 Apr 10

Sunflower,

The heat plus cool ok what. not too much white fungus lor. Not whole soup cool type like the radish or winter melon. We need to maintain the qi xue in our body to keep womb warm too. If you not sure i suggest you ask your TCM first.

leobaby,
just that ohss has been such a scary experience for me that i really hope that no one goes thru it.... u are really diligently doing all u can... so i'm sure u'll make it

Wow Ladies,
Seems to be a hot topic on the IVF drs. I guess each of us has our own set of standard we want for a doctor. All of us has the right to praise or otherwise on a dr.
Not trying to be a wet blanket, actually I ever went to Dr Sandhana for my intial fertility problem. I called KK and asked them for recommendation. I guess she was one of the senior there so I went to her. I found her protocol very long. I saw her for almost a year before getting me to go for laproscopy. After the lap, they found a blokced tube. So during my review with her i asked if i could unblock it. Her answer was a straight NO. No explanation. I read somewhere it was possible. When asked what is my next step, straight away was IVF. When asked if there were other cheaper options, again NO. She even told me not to worry as i was still young and have a long way to go. I guess that time i was already pissed with her I just said that i am young yet i am having problem conceiving. So when i am older will all this problem go away...she just kept quiet. THat was the last i went KK.
Only from another gynae that i knew to unblock was possible but cost a bomb. And that money is better of to use doing IVF. At least there is an explanation why unblocking is not a wise option.
Ppl change. I am sure Dr Sandhana had changed too that is why there are ppl under her and happy with her attitude...i am happy for those under her

hi ladies, thanks for sharing.. its true, KK is cheap, thus we can't expect alot from them.. however, i know for myself that i really really need extra attention esp i have 2 miscarriages before through natural conceive and IVF. so, the next gynae must be attentive with my health condition and also nurse will be pro enough to give clear direction what i need to do if i get my next BFP.. if the next nurse like kk tell me wait for next appt with dr loh when i have spotting and also despite going 24 hrs, the doc can't do much, no medication prescribe, ask me go home rest, think i will faint again, haha

For TMC, my hubby likes Dr Cheng but unfortunately cost is really too high. So probably SGH might be a good choice for my current sitation as i also believe IVF success also depend on our health condition at that time and Luck

Thanks girls

miracle,
heee u did... dun worry too much then... just enjoy the bfp news for now ok.... then wait for ur scan.... but if really cannot tahan just go to a gynae and check...

Hi Sunflower ,

That one is update from IVF mtb forum la.. so those positive and did not go to the forum then dun get to update lor.. lolz..

Hi Joline ,

Touch wood that u dun get any spotting after BFP.. For those who gets spotting during 2ww.. there is nothing much they can do.. But those BFP , u have to request yourself to get progesterone jabs on thigh at KK 24hrs.. that's what i happen to me till 14weeks.. off and on spotting and bleeding..

Liz,
Yes, yes me back liao..how long will you be in Raffles place until? Because from next week stretching across almost three weeks, I will be on leave and going back to visit mum side relatives in Taiwan..want to use this chance to quieten mind for the ivf too. But I will be bringing my notebook so you girls cannot escape from me..heheee..If you still in raffles place then..let me know k...

Thanks for your prompt recommendation of female gynae...its Meow looking and brainstorming for her..you know, not easy to find good female doctors in Singapore..a lot of them actually go and become GPs due to work life balance.

How have you been lady? Been treating your body well to prepare for FET you said below?

Miracle Baby
Huggzz too..k..k...I feel ok now that I see you reached a good stage of equilibrium. You also don't need to apologise to fellow sisters in 2WW k??we know..the thousand and one questions in the head about how the pregnancy is going. Maybe one day when we are all older and done with the struggles of ivf hopefully with kids running around, we can sit down and write a book together on how to cope with ivf, what are the thoughts and fears that will run through and how to cope with them. Leobaby, stealing your idea of writing a book here..;p

Actually not just me, to me, each and every one of the girls here (including you Miracle baby) who found our way into this ivf forum (including silent readers out there) must have gone through some heart-wrecking stories and are ALL very brave loh..thanks for your well wishes..will hang on.

And since you have reached an equilibrium and found some peace, keep it there k girl..do what you think can give you peace and more peace. U an sure you will make it

Lyn,
Totally agree with you that the emotions can be traumatizing and make us question our self-worth even. So sometimes I wonder, how did our predecessors, aka ladies who were challenged with fertility and had no internet back then cope..so I guess we are really luckier in that sense..

Lyn and other sisters, if you have ever questioned your self-worth (I definitely did before) because of this fertility challenge, tell yourself that we are no lessen human beings, just that we are made to walk a longer and different route which can make us fitter up there!

Lyn, the subsequent time, your body will react to ivf different, even better probably as our bodies are always changing right right..

Sunflower,
You also wrote in word right..heheeee..so cute those Chinese words..

Vi4n,
Wow, you very powerful liao, Birthday fall on 9 Sep...happy birthday to you
..your hubby won't have excuse not to remember your birthday wor..;p

Fond
I want to buy your protein type, the berry type..yummy??anything berry I like..I will email you..

Develyn

Can I call you as the Princess of the All Survival Guides to IVF...great list you provided??thanks a lot..a lot..I was hoping for such as list to appear for a long time..
hey, when you free, can you repost the guide you wrote on how to cope with ivf emotionally, I saved it but co server crushed..thanks in advance k..

Yes, choosing the rights Drs and clinics to make our babies is really both a science and an art..For me, I use a method of both elimination and MCQ method. I identified the most important element of my preferred gynae as: must give me professional diagnosis no matter under circumstances.

Money face doctors (those who count time to consult me) strike out.
Doctors who behave very nicely on first visit but once think they lock in me, treat me like a commodity. Strike out too..
Lousy and irresponsible nurse (Still continue to see the Dr but tahan the nurse but once I reach home, my hubby's ears will suffer from all the "wah liao" about that nurse)..heheehee..
Etc..etc..

So my two cents worth, we all have different needs and priorities...identify the most important priority and look for the one that fits that priority. Give it a try k??

Hi Babygalore ,

*Heez*.. well, i have been thru' the bads like others such as a few like Fresh too.. ermm i have posted before on the mindset of IVF.. Hmm.. i paste it again.. Hope it really help those who are currently doing their cycle..