tomatoes, yup, i read some beta cases like that also, can u tell me wat other precautions you took after you got positive beta

i dun think i got chances to test beta now but am feeling some morning sickness now and then, last time none at all, i guess every preg'y is different.....

only now getting older, so easier to get tired, lucky, job only reqs me to sit down

Hi tnsw,

My ET was on 20 Nov 04. Beta on 6 Dec 04. heart beat detected on 16 Dec 04. So that is almost 4 weeks after ET.

I think every case is diff. Maybe your case, implantation happened later than normal. Dun worry too much, ok? Will affect your bb development! Must stay happy and relax....

Btw, there are a few pgs on pregnancy and babies in today's "Mind your body", the supplement that comes with ST.

Also in Life!, this is a column written by Peter Khoo whose wife also underwent IVF and their baby is due next mth. They succeeded after 11 years! Hope their story will be a source of motivation & strength for all of us.

Thanks Mandy for the update. By the way, did u all read the news on the front page of yesterday ST about an Australian lady 2 quadrets fr her two IVF. Fantestic.

tnsw,vonvon78,

Congrats to the both of u!!! Very happy to share ur good news.

Heartbeats can be detected on the 6th week thru vaginal scan.

18 days after ET, if blood tests show positive, it's consider 4th wks. Then scan 2 wks later to check for heartbeat.

hi, all, thanks for all the information shared here..

the ST journalist whose wifey is pregnt after IVF has theirs at TMC under Dr LC Cheng

regtmc, thanks for yr info, except mine was detected later than normal which got me worried

chemistry, mine was detected like 5 wks odd after the transfer, hopefully it was because it was an FET thats why it took longer

Hi tnsw

Got pregnancy symptoms is good as you know that HCG rising in your body is causing it

I did not anything special after I got +. Just that my conservative RE order me to have complete bedrest for 1 week. But I cannot tahan, the best I can do to stay at home and watch HK DVD series ;p

tomatoes,

thanks, got some morning sickness, dun noe if it was my imagination or wat, trying hard to see if everyday got or not but it seems not leh...

great that you can take bedrest.for me,dr loh din say, even if he did, dun thk i can take so long rest at home as i am self employed..
but trying to minimise walking and sit down and sleep during office hrs...

Hi tnsw

As long as you are not under stress and overtired, it is enuff liao. Dun actually need complete bedrest

Tomatoes, trying hard not to be stressed lah but sometimes cant help it...wkend must take care of a screaming and noti 5 yr old kid...can kill me

Hi tnsw

Understandable
Hee! Next time will be my turn in 5 years time liao... dun know I can take it or not ;p

tomatoes, gals r more guai than boys, u wld have an easier time..

how are the rest today, everyone went for lunch is it? so quiet..

tnsw,
I thought the trading market is quite slow lately? r u still very busy? Hmmm...I also very free now, might go to motherhood exhibition in a short while.

Tnsw, at least you already have a boy! someone to keep you company too since your hubby is always away. How i wish for that day! My hubby travels also and everytime he's away, i go to my mum's place. Dunno leh, sometimes if alone at home will Hu Si Luan Xiang, a little bit of noise also very kan cheong. hahaha, so useless hor?

Plus, your boy older also can sayang the little sibling right?

Hi Chemistry / Tomatoes,

I guess diff hospitals have diff practices. Don't think KKH will expect to monitor your beta level every 3 days.

Hi Mandy,

But the pains are a little disturbing. Anyway, praying for you too. Hope you will succeed then we can share our experiences together.

Hi Chillipepper,

No prob. Will pass you the Lucrin & syringes. Have already sent you my contact # & address.

Hi tnsw and regtmc

I think the rest went out for lunch liao.

Regtmc, can update us later what are the good deals you found at motherhood fair?
Enjoy your shopping

Me tomorrow on leave to go for my 3D scan at Raffles Hospital. My hubby want to see how our bb look like wor.

thanks Vonvon for your encouragement. I am going to do my blood progesterone test tomorrow morning. Anything to look out for? Hey, u going to do beta test right? maybe i'll see u there.

Hi Mandy,

I'll definitely be at KKIVF tomorrow for my last progesterone jab. Usually I'm there pretty early, betw 7.50am to 8.10am. Yup...maybe will see you there.

regtmc, the market is very quiet, i hope its like that although i will earn much less, rather have the peace and quiet to let me rest well

oh yup, read abt the 3D scan, i think MT E also got one gynae got tis machine right? i could be wrong but i think i read somewhere that MT e also got...

mandy, my hsb is based overseas, he comes back about once every 2mths or so...i am one of those who are in spore with their kid whilst the spouse is wking overseas.....

my boy quite noti and sometimes he says he doesnt want another sibling, he wants to be alone, hope that he doesnt grow up selfish as he is used to everything also for him...

Hi regtmc,

Just out of curiousity, why would you hesitate whether to do the 3D scan? Is it becoz' of cost or some other factors coz' I thought everyone would like to see how their bb will look like?

Hi vonvon,

i shd be pretty early too cos tmrw i'm going back to work.. sianz, these few days of lazing at home is making me very "nua". So u have been off since ER right? Somemore your beta test on Fri so can celebrate over the wkend! So happy for u. Aiyo, mine on a Mon..but if it's positive, i'd certainly not mind the rest of the work week! Do u intend to tell your colleagues early or after 1st trimester?

Hi tnsw, regtmc, vonvon

I did some research on the cost of doing a 3D scan. Douglas Ong clinc at MT E is charging about $350 for doing a 3D scan (consulation fee must be included even I dun need), photo & CD given.

RH is charging less than half the price at about $160 with photo given (no CD and no consultation charge). So in the end, I chose RH. Will update you all how it is like after my visit tomorrow

Hi Mandy,

Yup...I've been staying home since ER.
So, I can fully understand the 'nua' feeling. In fact, I think I'm even more 'nua' than you, after resting home fore 3 weeks.

I'll be telling my colleagues & boss as they know abt this program that I'm going thru'. I'd decided to tell them becoz' need to seek their understanding for my 3 weeks' absence. They were very understanding, esp my boss as she just found out that she's 2 mths pregnant when I broke my news (of wanting to go thru' IVF) to her. As a MTB, she's pretty encouraging & felt bad telling me that she's pregnant while I'm having difficulty in conceiving & needed to go thru' IVF.

So, they will sure ask me when I go back to office next Mon. In my opinion, good to let them know too so that they can help me out whenever workload piles up.

But if you haven't told anyone abt this & if you are superstitious (sometimes it's better to believe than to ignore), then keep it to yourself till it's more confirmed.

tomatoes, thanks for your information...
wonder wat is the CD for?is it showing the ultrasound patterns or wat?
i guess we all want the best for our child..

vonvon78,
During my 22wks detail scan at RH, I overheard the doctor said to the nurse 3D is actually a waste of money.

Hi regtmc

Do you know why is it a waste of $ huh?

Hi tnsw

I also dun know what is the CD for... the nurse said it will capture the whole scanning process of the bb wor.

regtmc,

I see...so that's why you are still considering whether to do this scan. Now I get it. But if this scan can allow you to see your baby clearer & it causes no harm (& of course if you have that kind of money to spare), then it's ok to take a look, isn't it?

Vonvon, i did not tell my colleagues as i don't want to deal with extra pressure if i do not succeed and i still have to answer to them. I am one of those pple who get affected easily with other pple's opinions. Also, my boss is single and not someone i will want to share somethg like that with. I get the feeling she is not very supportive if someone gets pregnant. Bo chap lah, if push comes to shove, i will quit my job if work is going to affect me. But hopefully that doesnt happen lah, cos to get $$ and not work during maternity is quite a good thing, haha.

I m still around. Going for lunch at 1pm. As u notice, many of us r fr finance line n today is de 1st day of de month. So many of us r busy wif closing mah
. Will still try to catch up with all of u and seeing more good news from this thread

Hi mandy

Me also come from a environment whereby colleagues and boss do not understand what I am going through. So I also hid the truth from them when I did IVF during that time.

Some more, I dun want to invite more gossips...

Hi Potato Chips

Talking about month-end closing, I also got work piling up... but really no mood to do...;p You enjoy your lunch hor... Me going at 1+pm... thinking of eating wantan mee

Hi tomatoes

Thanks for sharing. esp for people who can conceive healthily and do not want kids, they can never understand. I hate it also when people keep asking me - so pregnant already not?

Talk abt Wantan mee, i think of Hua Ji at East Coast Lagoon food ctr..yum yum!!

Aiyo, make me liu kou sui lei. Tomatoes, u hv very nice wanton mee at Amoy mkt (but I not sure which stall). Me taking my slice fish bee hoon.

C U guys after lunch

Hi Mandy,

You'd porridge too? Me too...grandma cooked fish porridge for me. Her porridge is the best I've ever tasted.

Anyway, enough on food!! My job is also pretty stressful & I'm not very good at managing stress. I get stressed up very easily. This is why I decided to rest at home these 3 weeks.

So, I told my hubby that I might just quit my job (forgo the 3 months paid maternity leave) if it gets too stressful. We've tried so hard to have a child of our own & the last thing I want is to let my work affect my pregnancy. Although it would be a burden financially, I think it'll all be worth it. Will have to see how things goes & how I can make myself take thing easy at work (which is a real challenge for me).

harlo, everyone,

how was your lunch today?

for me, the stock market is quiet as its the first day of the month, usually its like this and its the june holidays also..

Tomatoes, abt the 3D scan, wonder if you can see clearly the baby's face

its true that people will not understand wat we are going thru, i never told even my best fren as her hsb is very gossipy (worse than woman) and i dun want any unnecessary problems..afterall, its not to our benefit that they know also...

Vonvon, so qiao, i just discussed this with my hsb today also. I'd rather have a smooth pregnancy as well. I am in sales and have to deal with external customers as well, which sometimes can get even worse cos they think they are king and if they pay you, you have to be at their beck and call. Even during this period when i'm resting at home, i have to check my email everyday and get smses all the time too. Sianz, these people dunno how to read out of office email one leh!

Actually i am quite happy go lucky and take things quite easy one leh, but this job allows me to access office mail from home and that is the problem also..cannot really rest properly.

Mandy,

Well...at least you are the happy-go-lucky sort of person who can take things easy. I'm totally of the opposite & sometimes will just break down coz' felt too stressed up. Hubby always ask me to take things easy coz' it's just a job but I can't. If I want to do something, I want to do my best & that's when the stress kicks in.

Vonvon, your hubby is absolutely right, it is only a job. I am like you - very competitive and sets high stds for myself. But really, life is not just abt work. As long as u have done yr best, dont worry.

I always tell myself, why get so stressed up abt work, at the most quit lor. Which is why i am quite careful about $$ and try to save so that one day if this day comes, i can just quit and not worry abt our commitments. Everyone has diff expectations in life - as long as you are happy, that's enuff.

vonvon, must take it easy...i noe its easier said than done..try to do your best, if not maybe quit and rest at home?

see wat your hsb says or maybe you try going back to work and see if you can cope or not?

Hi vonvon

U must always bear in mind that nobody is indispensible. Anyway, now that u r preggy, I believe yr priority n focus will change.

I used to b a workaholic too. I work till midnite or even over nite during some critical time. Now looking back, just felt that I was very silly at that time. My boss working less hours, taking all the credit, lower qualification than me was drawing much more pay than me
. From then on, I have change my attitude towards my work. By the way, I have quit that job too.

Potato chip is right, no one is indispensible, if i m not self employed, i also want to quit and rest at home..so sleepy and tired..

actually laid my head on the table and tried to sleep...

chilipepper, wat did dr loh say?
did you ask him more questions and find out wat you want?

are u still continuing treatment? really hope that you will jia you...

Hi tnsw,
He did not said much except the 3 words "Do not worry"... Supposed to continue my injection till next week then for a re-scan and blood test. I think only then, can they advise whether to continue or not. Meantime, there is nothing I can do except to hope for the best

Just came back from motherhood exhibition, nothing much leh, mostly abt milk powder, insurance, a few maternity clothes booth, toy booth. I just subscribe the motherhood magazine and they gave me lots of freebies.

Tomatoes,
Tell us more abt ur 3D scan tomorrow.

Hey, heard on the radio there is a Motherhood exhibition at Spore Expo from today til Sun. For those MTBs, maybe can check it out?