Mandy,

Understand that if you are taking the HCG jabs, it would be good if you don't take the urine test as it may not be accurate. It's best to wait till your beta test.

I only dared to take the test after confirming with the malay nurse (think her name is nora) that my daily progesterone jabs will not affect the result. Now crossing my fingers that my beta test will turn out positive too.

I hope that we'll both succeed.

tnsw
Don't worry...when you feel lonely. We are here for you. To go thru this together with you.

Vonvon78
Congratulation! I hope my IVF can be as successful as yours.

hopeformiracle,

I guess this is not 100% confirmed yet until my beta test this Fri. But I sure hope that this is a good indication of the result that I'll get then.

I hope that your next IVF will succeed. We're all here to support one another.

Hi vonvon

CONGRATULATIONS!!!! This thread is short of good news for so long!!
You finally made it!
So happy for you

Yes, if you got a positive urine test, 101% that your beta will be +++++!!!!!
Must as well change your beta test day to earlier.... then can go shopping for maternity clothes liao cos now got GSS sales

Hi Tomatoes,

Are you sure that my beta test would be 101% +++???
I would sure want my beta test to be earlier but not sure if I can do that.

I really hope that this is for real coz' I was so excited that I told my mum. Then realized that I shouldn't have done so in case beta test turns out to be otherwise.

Looking at your comments made me very comforted.

Hi vonvon

If you want to make sure, go buy another brand to test...
Sure + also (unless the clearblue is spoilt, but definitely can't be!)

I told you I got my a + HPT before I went for my beta test that day... But can you change the beta test day? If can change earlier, why not?

Actually HPT test is much less sensitive than a Beta test, but since now your HPT test got a +Ve, your beta test sure confirms that you are pregnant! Yes, vonvon, you are pregnant!

Wish you a happy and smooth nine months!!!

Hi mandy

If you are taking HCG jabs, yes, it is better to wait awhile longer to test. Wait till the HCG is gone b4 testing is better

Hope to hear your good news also

Hi Tomatoes,

I accidentally bought the twin pack ClearBlue test kit & so tested twice coz' didn't believe what I saw & was afraid that the test kit could be spoilt. Both were +ve!!!

I'm not sure if I can change my beta test day. Since I'll be going down to KKIVF for my progesterone jab tomorrow morning, I'll just ask the nurse if that can be done.

My hubby is really very very happy & excited. He can't wait to tell his mum as she knows that I'm going thru' this programme. But I refrained him from doing so just in case.

In any case, I'm still worried abt my crampings as afraid that this will affect. It's still on & off.

Hi vonvon

Since both HPTs show +, you should have no worries then

Definitely can understand both you and your hubby happiness now
My hubby din tell his parents until we saw our bb heartbeat during the scan. But for me, I told my mum immediately cos she know that I went thru this programme and she was with me during my ER and ET.

As for the cramping, it is normal. Just make sure you dun have any spotting

I still remember the weird feeling in my tummy after I tested positive. Everytime after a meal, I always have the feeling that my menses will be coming anytime. So I was always in fear and dun dare to eat too full ;p

Hi ChilliPepper

You definitely will get your +ve soon
Dun give up!

tomatoes...

can help me update the file :

Hospital: KKIVF
RE: Dr CT Yeong
Remarks: Succeeded on 1st attempt of SO-IUI

thanx!!

Hi Tomatoes,

Both my mother-in-law & my family knows that I'm going thru' this program. Thus, will definitely tell my mother-in-law when my beta test is confirmed positive coz' she'll be expecting us to tell her the result.

By the way, when will we get to hear the bb heartbeat? 2 weeks after the beta test? What kind of scan is done (v. or tummy)? Besides the heartbeat of bb, what else is communicated during that visit to the gynae? I believe it'll be the first visit to my RE after the positive beta test, right?

Tomatoes,

Last night (while I was sleeping), I'd pretty bad cramps all the way until my gastric. It was so bad that I couldn't move. I was so scared that I cried.

This morning when I went for my jab at KKIVF, I told nurse nora & she said this is normal. But I'm afraid that this kind of cramping will affect. Of course I prefer to believe that it's normal & it's ok.

Hi vonvon,

Congrats, so happy for u. If HPT shows positive, then beta sure show positive. So did u do a beta test this morning? As for the heartbeat, it should be detectable 2 weeks later. They will do a v.scan to detect the heartbeat.

Hi chillipepper,

Be positive. Have u checked with KKIVF when u can start the puregon jab?

Hi tnsw,

Any updates on your appt yest?

Hi Chillipepper,

Have you called KKIVF? Let us know what doc advise you. Don't worry. Things will be fine. Praying for you....

Hi Chemistry,

I told nurse nora that I took 2 urine tests & it showed positive & if I can take my beta test earlier. She said it could be done tomorrow.

The beta test is only to show if pregnancy is confirmed or not, right? Will it tell the chances of twins, etc? My hubby is wondering if taking the test a day earlier will affect the result being reported.

Hi Vonvon

Congrats!!! ***hagz***

What a good news and motivation to all of us here. I think shouldn't be a problem to bring fwd yr beta test
. Take care and hv a smooth 9 months.

Hi vonvon,

Congrats!!! I strongly believed U HV MAKE IT

from what u mentioned u've tested +++

Hi Tar,

Can I hv u EMAIL address?

TKS

Thanks, Potato Chip.

I sure hope that will have a smooth pregnancy & all turns out as well as Poohy & westbb. Both their boys are so adorable.

first of all, i must thank everyone in this board for encouraging me and giving me support during tis time...

went for my appointment yterday, left at 5pm and panicked when i couldnt get a taxi, practically walked/half ran all the way to peoples park..couldnt get a bus and finally got a taxi...

reached there and had to wait for quite some time

dr loh saw me and can tease me "tnsw,you very pessimistic one hor, let me scan first"

guess wat, he scanned and he found a heartbeat but said that it was slow and progress is slower than normal, dun noe wat to think of tis

and i cld see on the scan machine a small black thing ticking away

i nearly broke down and cried becuz i dun know how to accept tis whether it was good news or bad...

he just said "too early days to tell, nothing you can do and i will see you in three wks time and i am going away on leave"

i said "i am very kiasu, can i come earlier or not"

he said "okay and arranged me to see his fren in two wks time"

i asked him wat can i do or dun do, he said "besides bungee jumping, other things u can do"

i said i wont do anything, not even shopping which is my favourite activity....

his nice nurse said no chinese medication now, try not to exercise and dun go near anyone who smokes

so dun noe wat to think now?just pray for the best...i do have some slight cramping on and off and the bleeding that day was terrible and i was so frightened as it had never happened when i had my boy..

now pray for the best...

vonvon, forgot to say congrats, glad for you that you made it through after the sacrifices that you make, just like the others, hope you have a great few months ahead

potato chip,

thanks for your encouragement all the way, dun think i can make it without all the support here...hope that you will make tcm work for you tis time and succeed on the fet next time..

tomatoes,annie, regtmc,

thanks for coming back to encourage the rest of us here really appreciate it

Hi tnsw

Miracles do happen!!!! And it is happening for you!!!!
I want to cry becos of you also. Your bb is strong and wants to see the world!

Hang on there tnsw, you will make it. Meanwhile, do have ample rest and listen faithfully to your gynae. Remember to talk to your bb every day...

Hi vonvon

For me, I wasn't allow to do scanning until my beta reaches 6000 and above. If the cramps are bothering you, do make a appt to see your gynae to soon for further advices. I should think that they are normal. Btw, by looking at the beta results, it will not confirm if you have twins or not. Normally will confirm during scanning. My inital scan was done thru vaginal. Cos abdominal scan cannot see anything.

Hi tnsw,

Told you that things may not be as pessimistic as you think. Hope the next time you meet the gynae, it will be good news.

So, Dr SF Loh going on leave? This means that I may not be able to see him 2 weeks later once my beta test is positive.

In the meantime, do take care of yourself.

Hi Tomatoes,

Does that mean that you have to keep on having beta tests until level reaches 6000??

So, it doesn't really matter if I take the beta test tomorrow or on Fri, right?

Chemistry,

What abt your situation with KKH? Perhaps you can share with me what you went thru' after your +ve beta test?

tnsw

So happy for u now. **hagz**. So fr now on must b very careful huh. Don bo chap, bo chap. Don let anybody hit yr shoulder. Watch yr diet, walk slowly (don half run again
).

Wish u a smooth nine months.

What a good month to start. Two good news on 1st June. Really so happy, no mood to work liao (some more is raining cats n dogs now).

tomatoes, thanks, its really a miracle that the heartbeat was seen as i was having low beta levels which hardly doubled over two days...

i had already given up hope when dr loh said that he cld see some ticking...i really hope that everything wld turn out well

dr loh is going on leave, maybe you can call the hotline to see exactly when, or ask the ivf nurses, am sure they wld noe when he is around or when he is away..

vonvon, thanks, hope that everything wld go on right as the heartbeat is slow

last wk, i went for scan at AMC, it was both an ultrasound and transvaginal scan, in fact last wk, the doc told me the following :no fetal pole, irregular sac

when i told doc loh wat she said, he can tell me "who ask you to listen to her?"

and he told me to relax and see him yterday, and when yterday i saw him, i couldnt believe it, i nearly broke down and cried....

i just hope to take it easy and relax now...after all everythg's fated

i will pray for you just like i did last nite for the rest of the people here.....take care and let us noe after yr beta test

Hi Tnsw,
I believed that you have made it too
See it has turned out well.

Dr Loh going on leave? Hmm... what a timing... then wont be able to consult him on my problem or worse he wont be there to do my ER.

Chillipepper,

Perhaps you can check with the KKIVF nurses when you call up for your result if Dr Loh will be around during your ER & ET.

hi, chillipepper,vonvon better call to see exactly when dr loh is away, it could be just a short while...which may not interfere with your appointments

potato chip, thanks for your advice, wont anyhow eat and wont be so bo chap already..i have already tried my best, really dun want to jeopardise anything now...but of cse still cautious as doc loh said that bb heartbeat is slow

it is raining on your side, its okay here, cloudy but not raining yet...

u take care too, ok...

vonvon, beta level supposed to double every two days, for me, the level was only 77 and after two days, the level was about 177 or so, even doc loh said it was low...

if i am not wrong, correct me if i am, higher beta levels may mean high levels of hormones which may cause morning sickness in preggies..although i din feel that way 6 yrs back when i had my boy....

the beta levels wld reach a peak at 12 wks (coincidentally the end of first trimester) and thats when morning sickness hopefully comes to an end...

u can refer to websites like www.parentzone.com, www.ivillage.com if u want to read up more...

tnsw/tomatoes/chemistry,

At what beta level is considered average at D18 after ET? What kind of reading should I hope to hear from the nurse?

vonvon, i am also not too sure, but for me, april 23 was my et and 9th may was my beta test and i got less than 100...

okay, i will try and check out the chart for you and post it here after i have got it from the internet

there is a website www.2reproduce.com, u can join as a member and you get a password, you can send a question to the RE and they wld answer you, its a USA based website, i have posted there before

if you free, you can join and ask questions there

Hu tnsw,

I'm so happy for u!!! Luckily, u still hold on and never immediately proceed for D&C during the last visit. I really hope your bb stays with u! Do talk to your bb and tell her how much u love her and want to take care of her. I talk to my bb everyday since I got positive. Sometimes, when I put my hand on my tummy, she will move towards my hand and form a peak on my tummy. I believe they can really feel our love for them.

Hmmm, so Dr Loh going on leave... I'm seeing him tonight at TPS. I notice he usually take leave during school holidays. Luckily my EDD doesn't fall on school holiday. Anyway, he told me he will be around to deliver my baby that period of time. So which gynae will u be seeing 2 weeks later?

Hi Vonvon and tnsw

So happy for both of you! continue to stay happy and positive! I really hope this week and next week will pass soon and then i will know my results!

I am also under SF Loh and i really hope he will be around during my beta test period. During my counselling session (when the dr explained the process) i got this young doc whom i think is really not very gd. A bit bo chap kind..hence really hope Dr loh will be around cos at least he knows my condition better also..

To the rest of you going thru this program, JIA YOU!! And thanks so much to those who have succeeded for your invaluable advice and support!

I called KKIVF liao. The nurse told me to re-do the scan and test on next Wed. Need to cont'd the lucrin jab ... but running low on syringes liao. No news on when to start the Puregon. Told me my cyst is 17x21x19mm on the left side. Also told me that they got other similar cases as well.

vonvon, you can refer to tis website to noe more

http://www.advancedfertility.com/earlypre.htm

below is wat i got from the web on hcg beta levels:

Weeks from LMP (amount of serum hCG):

3 weeks (5-50 mIU/cc)
4 weeks (4-426 mIU/cc)
5 weeks (19-7,340 mIU/cc)
6 weeks (1,080-56,500 mIU/cc)
7 - 8 weeks (7,650-229,000 mIU/cc)
9 - 12 weeks (25,700-288,000 mIU/cc)
13 - 16 weeks (13,300-254,000 mIU/cc)
17 - 24 weeks (4,060-165,400 mIU/cc)
25 - 40 weeks (3,640-117,000 mIU/cc)

tis is just a guideline only and by no means hcg beta levels the ONLY indication of pregnancy viability....

chemistry, thanks, i really thot that it was the end for me, just hope that i can struggle thru, i think i will talk to my tummy more, i used to talk to my son when i was pregnant...now he refuses to listen to me

dr loh told me he got two children, i quite surprised because thot he looks quite young

i will be seeing a lady called dr marianne two wks time, a young and pretty lady doctor whose room is joined with dr loh's room by a sliding door...

hope that everything's fine for me...

Vonvon,

Beta test may give an indication whether u are happy multiples, but not 100% accurate. Usually, the results will be very high is u are having multiples.

After I got my positive beta, I was given an appt to do a scan 2 weeks later at AMC. At the same time need to arrange to see Dr Loh on the same day. I dunno what is the freq of visit after that cos remember I got bleeding 3 days after the +ve beta and was warded? Then, Dr Loh made me see him earlier, 1 week before my orginal appt. Subsequently, the frequency of visit is 2 weeks, 3weeks, and 4 weeks all the way till your are 28 weeks pregnant. Oh yes, u will need to take duphastan (a progesterone tablet till u are 12 weeks pregnant).

Hi tnsw,

Thank you so much for taking time to check out this info. Appreciate it!

Chillipepper,

I still have another bottle of Lucrin which I bought & used only 3 times. Do you want it? If you don't mind, I can pass it to you, then you need not have to spend add'l $$$. I also have some leftover syringes too.

vonvon, no problem...when u speak with the nurse tomorrow after you get your result, ask her how is the level and what it means or send an email to dr loh..

Vonvon, my GP was telling me that gastric pain can sometimes be a sympton of pregnancy..

I secretly hope that i will success this time and then can i will have someone to share my experiences with cos our dates are quite near.. keeping my fingers crossed..

Hi vonvon,

For my case, my beta result was near 500 on day 17 and slightly more than 2,000 3 days later when I was warded.

Hi chillipepper,

U can get more syringes at NTUC healthcare or Guardian.

Hi Vonvon,
Thanks a lot if u really dun mind giving me the extra syringes and lucrin. Also want to get some baby dust from u

Can you pass me your contact and add and will pop by your place in the weekend at your convenience? My email add is [email protected]

Thousand of thanks

Hi vonvon

For my case, I did beta test on every 3 days to make sure mine is viable pregnancy. Different hospital different practise

Hi tnsw

Actually there are alot of cases internationally that their beta are very low but turn out to be a viable pregnancy (beta also increase alot later). So yours may be one of such case

chemistry, do you remember when dr loh scanned you and found a heartbeat..how long was it after your ET?

am worried as dr loh said my bb development is slower than normal, wonder if its because mine is an FET...