Hi Miko

I find something fishy lor. When u c the sinseh at JE, she will recommend u to Prof Chen (she even has a box of his name cards in her drawer and yet she said she don't know him, never see him before
.) When u go to Prof Chen, he also said he don't know this sinseh and don understand why she referred so many patients to him. And yet, now he refer you to her. Don't u think something fishy? That is also why we stopped seeing her. Hb felt that she does not have professional ethic lor.

tnsw

Ya this sinseh is very very popular. Her Q is super long. She opened from Wed to Sun. If u 1 2 see her on wkend, u hv to be there ard 5-6am to get a Q no, if not we will not be able to see her. She starts consultation at 7.00am.

Hi tnsw,

The Chinese sinseh at JE was recommended to me by my cousin, went & see her last yr. My hubby & I were quite impressed with her, she suspected my hb had varicocele & me PCOs.

She recommended us to Prof Chen at Gleneagles & we were confirmed with her diagnosis..

Didn't go back to see her again as thought now on western treatment, shouldn't mixed with TCM..

Don't really know why Prof Chen highly recommended as mentioned by Miko. Will ask him tomorrow, see whether he tell me to go see her & not other sinseh as well...

thanks, all for the information

et winky, i will private message you her number and you try to read thru some of the previous posts on my "tips"when going to consult her...

Hi Marine,

Don't be too discourage yet, read ur thread but perhaps it is still early for u .....Try to stay more positive as if u're fighting a battle now...keep thinking i need to WinWinWin and u will

All the girls (incl. me) will pray for U

Hope 2molo U will bring back the good news to us

Anyway will appreciate u to share with me when you hv decide on the TCM...think hbby will want me to sake Prof chen advice to go back Jurong
East...Address as follows:

YING CHUAN CHINESE MEDICAL HALL
BLK 202 Jurong East Stresse 21 #01-117
Singapore 600202
TAN LEE KEE
TEL : 6897 5655

Tsnw,

I m 32, hd 1 failed ICSI - as my 4 ferilised eggs did not cleavage so didn't proceed to the ET at all ...was told that something is wrong with my eggs from previous gyneo...

Currently seeing Prof Chen for better adivce

I am an Asst Trader.

potato chip,

alot of chinese doctora also refer their patients to western doctors

the doctor from tmc told me to see this chinese doctor, he told me that some of his patients went to him and told him about it (the chinese doctor)

and on the other hand, this chinese doctor also told me that she has heard of my doctor from tmc although she has never met him before

same,tis chinese doctor has also heard of dr loh from kkh and had also attended a talk by him

i think its a matter that chinese doctors are not 100 percent correct and they obviously cant do scanning or do ultrasound, so they also scared to make any recommendations which may be wrong and also have to rely on western doctors..this is my own opinion, dun noe correct or not

because my chinese doctor asked for my western doctor's medical report also....

okay marine, let me know why prof chen recommend her instead of other pple....

potato chip, tis je doctor so "luk gu", i think i think twice before seeing her, somemore so far from my house

regtmc, read your story and feel that you are very brave to go thru everything and truly u deserve the joy that you wld be receiving...

Hi tnsw,
exercise do help to relief stress and it is a healty decision. I m also into exercising now.

Hi Potato Chip,
As for the CP in JE, I also feel smthing fishy. Seems like every couple who went there for infertility issue, they will be referred to Prof Chen and vice versa. I remember I read posting from other thread that some ladys actually did what the JE CP told them, went to see Prof Chen and was ask to do a surgery, when to consult another Dr from KKH for 2nd Opinion and was told that surgery is not necessary.

Hi Vonvon,

3 days after my beta test, I got very bad cramps on thigh and followed by bleeding. Dunno is it pantang or what cos my friend tapped me on my shoulder that day too. When i went to KK 24hr clinic, the gynae can't find the sac and based on my beta results, he say should be able to see something. So he had me warded and send me for a detailed scan that very night. Luckily the sac was found and the bleeding also stopped that night.

My SIL also went to see a TCM (dunno where) and she was told her tubes were blocked and ask her to see a gynae. She went to see Dr Loh too and after going thru all the test, there is no blockage found and she and her hubby were both healthy. As she had tried for some time already, Dr Loh now put her on 3-mth ovulation monitoring programme where she will have to go to KKIVF near her O-day and scan. Once the size of the follicle is ideal, she will have to bd for the next 2-3 days. If this dun work, then she will proceed to do IUI.

So if any of u are intending to consult TCM, it's better to go to those more reputable ones like EYS, Chong Hwa, Thong Chai etc. Cos small one have no SOP and also dunno what kind of chinese herbs they give.

Hi Chemistry

Thanks for the advise.

Hi tnsw

The most fishy thing was, she has a box of the RE's name card. Do you thing she will have artwork of his namecard to print it? I doubt so. Anyway, this is my guess only. Hope I don't offend any of her "fans", thousand apologies.

Hi Regtmc,

I was advised to stop taking chinese herbs/medicine by my RE and nurse sarah. I believe certain chinese herbs/medicine has the effect of thickening the lining of womb and also helps in ovulating as well.

Hi Potato Chip,

I was told to go for Blood test on D21 before I can proceed to FET. Is that true? Btw, how many days of MCs will be given after FET

ET,

No one mentioned to avoid chinese herbs/medicine during this period. Does this include soups like lotus root soup, watercress soup, chicken soup, etc?? My grandma has been boiling these soup for me.

Hi ChilliPepper,

Was on HL last week. Then MC this week. Will request for more MC next week (not sure if can or not but no harm trying). Otherwise, will request from my GP. Last resort will be on leave.

Decided (together with my hubby) to lay off from work during this period & have enough rest, hoping for the best to happen (that's after watching what Kym Ng experienced in First Mums). If after trying my best, result doesn't turn out the way I hope it'll be, at least I will not regret on anything.

vonvon78,
I think lotus root soup, watercress soup, & chicken soup is ok. Should avoid chinese herbs and medicine prescribe by sinseh.

Hi von von,

those soups you mentioned are not herbal, except that watercress belong the liang type of food. Lotus root i suspect also liang but not very sure lah.

rest well and take care!

Potato chip, maybe you are right also lah, how come she got so many of his name cards..not trying to be on anyone's side but how come she has to do this?

chemistry, u r right on the tcm. the one that i recommended also practises at thong chai, so maybe it shld be okay lah...

for me, the guy colleague din know i was preggie, and he like literally beat me on the back and i jumped up into the air and next day, bleeding..dunnoe if it was pantang, then i went to see the doctor the next day when i had spots of bleeding, the doctor gave me a jab and on that nite, i literally passed the whole thg into the toilet bowl..

that time i was really young and din know it was such a serious thing and the doc had told me that i wld continue to bleed even if i had the jab and i just went to wk for the next wk, when the next wk came, the thing was gone and i had to go for emergency d and c at the doctor's clinic (then at yishun), it was really a very bad experience

since then, i have not talked to that colleague because i blame him and still do even though its seven yrs already

Hi Vonvon,
Totally agreed that as long as we try our best.. no regrets. So rest as much as you can. Just that sometimes dun know what the company will think if take too many MCs and leave. Of course, when the time comes I will also heck care liao

Hi Vonvon78,

I'm also not too sure whether those are herbs but I literally avoided all. I remember nurse sarah did mentioned stuff like 'dang shen', 'dang gui' etc that are mixed and boiled together with black chicken kind of herbal soup should be avoided.

Hi Potato chip,

Really not too sure whether both of them ( as per mentioned eariler ) had a connection

Anyway will try to get more other ref. on sinseh

Hi Tomatoes,

Can i hv ur contact on the EYS u see...TKS

vonvon, you are right to take the best care during tis period, i wish i can just quit and concentrate on tis but dun thk at the moment i can do tis...

my job just lets me sit around so hopefully i can make use of the time to relax and build up my body whilst earning some money to pay for my ivf expenses

vonvon, maybe try to take some food which is "neutral" not cooling one...normal soups are okay lah, i guess....

ET, did the doctor tell you whether is yours a natural cycle or controlled one

correct me if i am wrong, if its controlled cycle, you have to take the injections etc and then do the ET

but for me, i was totally not on jabs, i followed the natural cycle, went on the tenth day to check for ovulation

every few days go for transvaginal scan to check for the growth of the follicles and given the ovulation kits to test everyday, once you detect the LH, then they wld arrange for me to do the ET..just my real life example, my LMP was 4th april, 2005 and i ovulated on 20th of april and did my ET on 23rd april

so i think yours is a controlled cycle.....not like mine..tis cld be becuz you dun ovulate regularly on your own...i could be wrong....if you are not sure, maybe you check the KKH website and read up...the facts there

Hi Miko & ladies

Even though I am one of Prof Chens patient who succeeded under him, I also dun support the idea of the JE sinseh referring patients to him and vice versa. I also find that there are some connections between the JE sinseh and Prof Chen though they may deny.

Miko, my EYS sinseh is Dr Qi(4) from Tiong Bahru Plaza outlet. I dun have her contact with me now but I remember she is only available on Mon, thu, Fri & Sun.

Hi ET

I did not do any D21 blood test b4 my FET lei. Mayb cos already done before IVF. When I went back for my failed IVF review by my RE, she told me I can do my natural thawed FET anytime. Just call the nurse at KKIVF on the first day of AF (the month that I intend to do my FET). The rest of the steps are similar to what tnsw mentioned.
By the way, I need asked her about the difference between natural and ... (not too sure the name) FET. She told me I natural thawing is cheaper and viable to me cos I am ovulating on my own.

I thought you intend to trf to Dr Yeong? Or u hv decided to stick to my RE?

Wow yr hb in the same line as u, so stressful.

Hi Tomatoes,

Noted tks,

My colleg. just passed me this contact

EVER SPRING ACPUNCTURE & TONIC CENTRE
70, Thomson Road Singapore 307588
(Opp. United Square )
TAN BEE GAWH ( TCM phyisician )
Tel 6256 8774

Heard she was on TV helping some couples on fertility issue.

Anyone out there see her b4?

Hi Miko

Ya this sinseh appeared on TV n newspaper very very frequent. She handled all kinds of illnesses, including fractured arms/legs, etc. Have not seen her on infertility before.

Hi Potato Chips

Thanks for the reminder. But may missed it tonite cos going to City Hall to meet an old friend. Will ask my dad to record for me. Hee!

potato chip,if i am not wrong, the controlled cycle is just like the normal ivf cycle where you take injections and see how your body reacts if you are not ovulating on your own..

anyone knows if accunpuncture helps in fertility, have not tried it before...

Hi tnsw

I think accupuncture shd help lor. I have never tried too. Cos I read from EYS website, for women's infertility, they will use herbs n accupuncture.

Hi Potato Chips

Sort of lor.. I scare he will spoil her too much....

Actually I am glad that he has a bb to keep him occupied. As he once fell into depression after not working for a long time. He went drinking and became drunk regularly. I really hate that period... cos really make my whole family suffered. Luckily my mum try to straighten out his thinking and now he has stop his drinking liao. You know lah, men cannot do without a career.

Hi Potato Chip & tnsw,

Mine should be natural thawing. but coz my menses has not been regular after my IVF, my RE ordered the blood test on D21. I guess just to ensure.

Yes, my initial plan is to trsf to Dr Yeong but later Dr Yeong suggested me to stick to KK coz he thinks that KKH has very experience n good RE and embryologist. He cant comment on whether TMC's embryologist is good yet as he has yet to have enough IVF cases. So, I thot better to stay put first until the next fresh IVF cycle then see how. But of course touch wood lah, I hope I dont have to reach that stage.

ET, oh i see, no wonder you need to take the blood test....

If doctor yeong is under TMC, does he have his own clinic and wld he be using the same embryologist of DR Cheng LC?

My embryos were from tmc, brot it over the kkh but my RE said that embryos from tmc not so good leh, maybe true, as mine is not developing like wat it shld and am waiting to see dr loh for maybe d n c next wk...

wat is the name of dr yeong's clinic?

Hi ET

Ic. My mensus was regular soon after the IVF, I think thats why no such test arranged. Since Dr Yeong suggested, so give yrself another chance. Hope u don't have to go to Dr Yeong for IVF anymore
. By the way, did u check wif Prof Chen on the monitoring after FET?

potato chip, i tot of trying accunpuncture but scared pain leh, the ever spring doctor is a bit too far from my house if i were to consult that one...

tomatoes, sorry to hear that about yr dad, hope he wld make himself occupied with your kid, all grandfathers spoil their grandchildren, i know my father does..

Hi ET / annie,

Nurses didn't mention to me that I can't take chinese herbs. I wonder why they mention to some but not to others. As my grandma is a Cantonese, she frequently brew a lot of this kinda soups for me. So, thinking that I need a lot of liquid to flush the lucrin hormones from my body, I drank a lot.

Now I'm really worried.

Hi Vonvon

Don't be so worry. Anyway there are pork in the soup which are good for u oso mah. As for the herbs, if I am not wrong, it was mentioned on the consent form during the counselling with the RE.

Hi Vonvon,
I guess drinking soup should be okay. They just advised dun mix chinese medicine with Western medicine. Guess ask your grandma dun put chinese herbal stuff into the soup loh

potato chip, u mean in the consent form, they asked us not to take herbs

vonvon, dun worry, dun think those soups will affect much, maybe tell your gma to boil those which are "yoon" (soothing) instead of liang ones

i cant remember whether anyone told me not to take herbs but it was my fren who smsed me and told me not to take herbs as it was interfering with our treatment

she told me just like when u are abt to give birth, dun drink chicken essence, i really dun noe if its true or not

if worse come to worse, send an email to dr loh, am sure he wld give you his best opinion, dun worry okay

i drink alot of such soups also as i am cantonese, am sure okay, dun eat those chin chow, cheng tng like wat i told you...

Hi tnsw

Ya, I think it was mentioned on the consent form lei. Anyway, my hb very ks. He asked RE on the day of ET just to confirm again.

Hei, I make the right guess again. I hv in my mind thinking u must be a cantonese when u mentioned about the don know wat banana in cantonese.

Vonvon,

Since u hv Dr Loh's email address, try to email him about it. Don't panic. How I wish somebody cook me soup everyday, so envy.

Hi vonvon,

Dr Loh mention to me before that no herb during the procedures. That whay I stopped taking DOM when I started my jabs. Anyway, those soup that u mentioned had no herb mah. So dun worry too much.

Do we experience pain while we are ovluating? I was experiencing a sharp pain just down around my abdominal area. Is it normal?

Hi tnsw n P_Chip,

I tried accupuncture and TCM for about 3 months before I started my IVF. I would say it does help to a certain extend. accupunture helps to bu qi xue.

Hi vonvon,

During my time, (I started during CNY period) nurse told me it is not the peak, so the nurse can talk more and tell us more. Now, there are so many patients and u can see that they are all so busy, where got time to tell u so much unless u ask. I remember nurse sarah say that all the jabs that we are taking are hormons and certain chinese herbs may interfer with the result. she even ask me to stop Bai Feng Wan if I m taking. But, u dont worry too much lah. It is just an advise given and not proven that it cause harm.