Hi tomatoes

U still ard so late? Working late? Tomorrow nite don work late.

The nurse will disclose the result over the phone. If positive, they will ask you to go down and collect some medication to support the bb (based on what Chemistry mentioned before).

Tomatoes,

I see...BD means baby dancing...

Chemistry,

Once beta test is positive, I'll have to go down the next day for prescription? I don't think I'll have the guts to call for the result. Thinking of that day makes me very scared. I'm really afraid that things won't turn out the way I hope for. I don't know how I'll be able to take that blow. Told myself not to think of that but still....

Hi Potato Chips

Yalor, me still "hanging" around.... Tomorrow? Yes, watch 1st Mum! I still remember and hope I still do tomorrow... ;p

Hi Tomatoes

Very good, still remember. Will remind u again tomolow

Hi Vonvon

Go down on the same day to get the prescription, not next day. Don't worry. Relax as much as u can. Keep yr mind busy with something else. But hor, to be honest, that day is really a torturing day. Mayb get yr hb to call like chemistry lor.

Hi. I am new here. Potato-chip, thanks for directing me to this group. I am trying hard to conceive by IVF. Anyone has any recommendation on good fertility specialist for IVF? I went through once but failed. It was a very depressing experience so would really appreciate some good recommendations.

Hi Potato Chip,

Yes, I m still following the thread, just that I m too busy with work, only log on at times to read posting. The thread is so active now, so many 'sisters' sharing experiences and giving emotional support. Keep it going! sisters

I have updated my profile to allow PM. You may PM me anytime now.

Hi tnsw,
Hope everything is fine for you. I got strong feeling that u gonna make it.
Thanks for taking the effort to update all our profile for easy reference. Please update me as 30 yrs, also in financial line, failed 1st cycle of IVF/ICSI waiting to do FET in a few months time.

hi, sisters,

just an update on how i am...

went to bugis for lunch before going to kkh AMC where the doctor who did my scanning was the A and E doctor who saw me when i was bleeding.

Tis was her analysis:

No fetal pole
irregular sac

I sort of knew that it wasnt that good, she cldnt see anything thru the ultrasound so she had to do a transvaginal scan and thats how she came up with that analysis

after that, went to wait to see dr loh and waited so long becuz he had some emergency thing to do...

I was already feelign bad enough and there was an ah lian and her husband waiting there and the guy was like using hokkien vulgarities on how come they had to wait so long and kept coughing in my direction, i was already fed up enuff alrady

sorry that was a side track, back to doc loh, he said cant see anything and since my medicine is running out, have to see him next wk...on tuesday at 5 plus

i told doc loh, if its bad, just tell me and let me do d and c, dun lengthen my pain anymore.. but tis time with more wisdom, i think i am able to handle disappointments well...

1.Tomatoes -28, preggie now, going to give birth rite EDD 26/7/2005 expecting a girl

2. Chemistry - 30, in procurement,same as tomatoes, going to give birth soon EDD 9/8/2005 to a baby girl(succeeded on first attempt)

3.Tnsw - me - 34, fet, waiting for appt next tuesday, just went for scan, unconfirmed findings (IVF miscarriage in april, 2004 (tmc) and FET in April 2005 (kkh)

4. Vonvon - 27, HR,went for et and waiting for results and must be good gal, dun anyhow eat (kkh)

5 Potato chip -35 ,accountant, waiting to do fet in a few mths time, now eating pineapple furiously, ha ha

6. Poohy, in IT and got one baby born on Mar 28, 2005

7. Chilli Pepper,31, in first stage of IVF

8 Marine, 29, civil servant, just went for first ivf (gleneagles) Currently waiting for results

9. Westbb, Just had a baby boy born on May 17, 2005 (really lovely and angelic baby boy)

10. Regtmc, 33, finance industry, edd 18/9/2005 expecting a boy, ivf (kkh), first time successful
and delivering in RH . EDD is 18/9/05

11.Annietan, 32, expecting first child..SO IUI at raffles hospital

12. Last but not least, ET, 30, in financial line, waiting to do FET in a few months time

ET, welcome aboard and to the rest, sorry if i got any info wrong, just tell me and i will update accordingly

Hi tnsw

Sorry to know what you have gone through today...

So what was Dr Loh advice for you? To see him again next Tue then decide is it?

I think you are right, if it is not viable, then rather shorten the pain and do what's need to be done so that you can try again... but really hope miracle will happen for you...

Have a good rest and dun think so much for now.

hi tomatoes,

thanks for your consolation..

Dr Loh said nothing much can be done, wanted to see me next wed, i said my medicine running out, he counted it and said okay, see me next tuesday then

I told him dun lengthen my pain, i just want to get it over instead of dragging on...just cut it short and he wld do d n c..i think i dun trust other doctors as last year after my miscarriage, my menstrual cycle took such a long time to come back and dun noe if it was tis miscarr or wat happened when i gave birth which caused me to hv tis thin lining problem

i am very very sian of this whole issue and sometimes feel like giving up but i tell myself i have been so far already, if i give up now, i am really not fair to myself

but then again, i see other people who just let fate dictate how many kids they have and me on the other hand try ways and means to have another one.. i wonder whether shld i be like them

really wonder and wonder sometimes...

hi tnsw,

Sorry to hear that. Rest well and try again. Dun give up. If your sac can attach on your lining and just no heartbeat or fetal pole, probably it's a case of poor quality embryo rather then your lining problem. Maybe u want to check with Dr Loh on this.

Do u still have anymore frozen embryoes or u have to start the jab all over again?

Hi tnsw

Dun be discourage, at least you oredi have a child. Some couples even find difficulty in conceiving their 1st child (like me). You still have time lah, remember Zoe Tay gave birth to her 1st child only on 37/38 years of age?

Before, you start your next pregnancy, must remember to build up your health again...

Somemore, you still have alot of "sisters" here to cheer and standby you

Hi vonvon,

u can either go down on that day or the next day to collect your prescription. They gave folic acid and duphastan only. As for appt, they will give u a date for the scan, but u will need to make your appt to see Dr Loh on the same day either at Clinic D or TPS.

Hi tar,

Where did u had your last IVF done? Do u have anymore frozen embryoes? So far the ladies who conceived thru IVF here had done ours at GlenE, TMC or KKH.

Hi tnsw

Sorry to hear that. Was so anxious waiting for your result yesterday. I think what chemical said is right, it might be caused by the poor quality of yr embryo which you have mentioned before too, and not the lining problem.

Hi Tar

Don't mention. Can you share yr IVF experience with us, such as which RE, or which hospital, how may eggs collected and how many embryos, etc. Cos our sisters here r from different hospitals n RE. For myself, I hv failed my fresh IVF n 1 natural thawed FET with KKIVF. My RE is Dr Sheila Loh. As for good fertility specialist to recommend, I think it also depends on ourselves and the embryologist. Although I failed twice, it doesn't mean that the RE is poor cos there r still success stories from her. The only comments I have on her is the super long Q and the lacking of personalise service. Other sisters here will be able to share with you their experience with their RE, am I rite, SISTERS?

Hi annie and potato chip
I went for a scan on monday. It turns out that I have 2 follicles which are 26 mm and 22.5 mm long on my right side. The nurse actually give me an injection to burst the follicles to release the eggs. I went for my IUI yesterday. I am supposed to go back for a scan next mon. Do you know what the scan is for? I felt that SGH is more detailed than my private gynae.
For the previous 2 cycles, my gynae did not give me injection. He just scan on day 12 then ask me to procced to IUI for the next 2 days. I really hope that I can succeed this time. I have a phobia with injections and I don't think I have the gut to go for IVF if I failed.

thanks, sisters,

I asked doc loh, he said that the lining shld not be an issue but then again last year i had a miscarr after my ivf at tmc and the lining was about 7 plus mm, the best shd be about 10 mm

i conceived in 98 and had a miscarriage, dun noe is it pantang or not, my colleague a guy went to tap me from behind at nite after class and the next day i had intense bleeding and then i went to see doctor, had a jab and that nite, the whole thing just passed thru to the toilet bowl and that time blur blur din see doctor till one week later....then i had a miscarriage and a d n c

till one year after that in 99 then i managed to conceive and that was a miracle because i had just moved house and got preggie one month after that

gave birth in 2000 and till now, time has stood still already

Yup, i will try to build up my health and also i dun have any more embryos, dr loh did say that the tmc embryos may not be so good, i dun blame anyone but fate...other pple can manage with tmc, but yet, i cant even with both tmc and kkh

i already got no choice but to see wat the doctor says next wk, am prepared mentally for D n C already

Tar,

How is your progress and did the doctor say why it failed? it takes many factors for ivf to work and maybe just one of the factors failed you, try to see if you can talk to yr doc, or maybe you wld want to see chinese doctor in the meantime...

Hi Peacy

I think the procedure for IUI at SGH has changed. I did hv a jab before IUI, but no medication and scaning done after IUI. Just wait for AF come. If AF did not show face, then go back to them for blood test. By the way, did they prescribe anything for u? So are u resting at home or back to work already? Will pray for u.

Potato chip, thanks for your concern...really feel very comforted with all the sisters here...

Doc may arrange d and c next wk if it doesnt go on well...have already told my colleague, lucky she is very understanding although she is older than me and single

guess no choice, i think i wld take a break and let my body rest before starting tis again..does anyone noe whether how long after d and c the AF comes back, i remember mine took a long time to return after my misc last year, thk the doctor at RH was overagressive in the d n c...

Tar, do you want to tell us smthg about yrself, like age, profession so that we can update for everyone's reference?

Hi tnsw,

I'm sorry to hear that. Was pretty anxious for you yesterday. Don't worry. Perhaps you'll have good news from Dr Loh next week? In the meantime, do take good care of yourself. All the best to you!

Chemistry,

After the prescription & appt with Dr Loh, any more needles to expect? Or pregnancy as per any other normal expecting mums??

hi, vonvon,

such things bo pian one lah...have to accept fate...

am not sure about whether got any more needles, but all pregnancies esp ivf pregnancies are very precious so guess must take special care

i think i am going to take a break and take some course to relieve my mind off tis

tnsw,

I think you are a very strong woman to be able to accept failures & disappointments.

I'm not that kind who can let go easily. I will keep on dwelling into the failure & disappointment, even though I know that it's not going to help in any ways. I can still remember the disappointments that I get each & every month my period comes coz' it means another count of failure. Sometimes, I will just hide in a corner & cry, asking why must my worst fear (of having difficulty in conceiving) hit me in the face.

I must say that you (& Potato Chip) are strong women.

Hi peacy,

If the HCG jab is given to burst the eggs-at least you know, ovulation will take place in the next 24-36hrs (if i am not wrong), so the chances should be higher.

No, i didn't have the scan, but don't worry, if they are more detailed, then you should be in safe hands.

Hope you will succeed.

vonvon, you are only partly rite, i also think about why other pple can have children easily and here we are struggling but recently i have learnt to let go alrady

I have been married for quite some time also about 8 yrs already...when i see frens who got married after i have given birth go on to have two or more kids ..i feel very frustrated and sad also but i noe that we shldnt compare..life's unfair, we shld learn to be appreciative of wat we have..but smtimes its hard

wat to do?hv to accept fact that everyone is different, they do not have the problems we have but neither they have the things that we may have, get wat i mean?

vonvon, take heart, u are very young, you have time ahead of you...

tnsw,

I came to realize that sometimes the more you wanted something, the more difficult it is to have it.

Guess these are all fated & like you said, you just have to accept facts & learn to live with them. Else, life would be very difficult to go on if you don't learn to let go of things that are beyong your control. Well....easier said than done though.

Anyway, we are all brave ladies here & I believe all of us WILL be blessed with what we want.

Hi ET

Surprise that there r so many of us fr finance field. Might be our profession that affect of fertility. I have settled my query with tomatoes, need not pm u now. Thanks anyway.

Hi Vonvon

Guess u will be like us so strong when u go through IVF and be a MTB

thanks, annie, can you take a look at my summary of all our sisters here and check if i got your particulars right or you want to add any more details like how many times iui etc

hope u have a smooth delivery...

vonvon,yes, its true, its always the case that the more we want smthg it wld not come to us

my fren who succeeded with the ivf after 2 tries at nuh many yrs ago...told me this from her sms to me which i am quoting here (hope she doesnt mind)

her words were

"..when you start the fertility program, keep an open mind.there is no guarantee on success. so dun stress yourself up. have or dont have depends on god's will..

i kept her sms to inspire me as i think she has been thru more than me, she has endo, cysts, all kinds of pblems and went to see chinese doc and yet she managed to have a kid about ten years after marriage..if she can remain strong, i think i shld be able to handle it also

hope that tis will be teach us to be strong and accept watever comes our way

Sometimes, I also resigned to fate. And I strongly agree that the more I want to have bb, the more difficult it will be...

It is just plain luck that I managed to conceive during my 1st try with IVF.... really hope I will not have difficulty in conceiving my 2nd child...

On the other hand, I also do believe that determination will reap success... so we must be strong and hang on there! God will hear us!

tomatoes, wat was the factor that had made you need to try for ivf?

I heard smwhere that if you had success with ivf, the second one shld not be difficult ..do you have any more embryos left

yup, i think we really need to be determined in watever we want to ask for but reality smtimes its not the case

Hi potato chip
They did not give me any medication. The doc said just take some folic acid. They told me to go back for a complete scan. Afterwhich, they will tell me when to do the pregnancy test. I have mc for 2 days. I just recovered from flu.
Hi Annie
The jab is for ovulation within the next 24 to 36 hours. I have my jab on mon after my scan. Really hope that this time round I will have a higher chance of success. The doc also mentioned that 88% of the sperm are moving very fast and 10% are normal. Hopefully this is a good sign.

hi tnsw,

no other details to add ... but very qiao i am also in financial sector. :p but i think every job has their own stress lah, my colleagues who are more stressful than me could concieve naturally and also easily ...so perhaps other factors also play a part.

Hi peacy,

88% is a good sign, will keep my fingers crossed for you!

Hi tnsw

I got endo and fibroids and TTC for 1.5years. Tried IUI once and failed. Fed up, went straight to IVF (dun want to waste time liao)...

Yes, i still have 4 frozen embryos. But i really hope I can conceive the natural way for my 2nd one.

Hi vonvon,

Depending on your condition, you may need jabs after +ve beta, for eg, I got bleeding 3 days after beta test and Dr Loh ordered daily PIO jabs for my 2-day stay in hospital, another PIO jab when I see him a week later. If u have multiples, u may also be given PIO jabs to strength the womb. So when is your beta test?

Hi tnsw,

It may be good to rest at least another 3 months before trying again. Meanwhile, divert the attn to on your son and dun think so much about babies.

Oh i see, thats good for you to go straight to IVF..if i knew that my pblem was thin lining, i wld also have gone to ivf, but the doctor did for me a few iuis and it failed...at Raffles Hosp

Yup, hope tt you can do it thru natural way as there has been some couples who got kid thru ivf
the sad thing is pple like me, got first kid naturally and now have to do ivf

i din even tell my best fren that i am undergoing tis becuz i just dun want any more pressure....
and gossip to get around, although its nothing wrong that we have to go thru tis route but just din want to tell people

annie, thanks for your updates, same here, there are pple who can conceive easily even if they were in stressful jobs..

chemistry, guess i wld wait lah, no choice, thats why want to take some courses so that i can divert smthg of my mind

and at the same time, maybe go and see chinese doctor, might as well lah, since like that already
do smthg constructive with the time

Chemistry,

My beta test is on next Fri. I'm totally anxious & looking forward to that day but at the same time, too afraid to face the results.

Oh...you stayed in hospital becoz' of bleeding after testing +ve beta?

vonvon, take care from today till next wk..the 2WW or two week wait is usually very stressful as literally you dun dare to breathe

so far how hv u been taking care of your health?

for me, same as vonvon but i din get warded, the first time the doctor din do anything (coincidentally she was the one who scanned me ytday at amc) and then the second time i went to see A and E (the next day), the male doctor told the nurse to give me a jab

dun noe if true or not, they say that if the blood is old blood, its not so bad as if it was fresh blood. for me, last wk, it was streaks of old blood, then later got fresh colour blood, quite scary, every time i went toilet, i wld freak out

Hi Tomatoes and all Brave ladies out there,

I am constantly reading all ur postings, lots of sharing,encouragment and words of comfort...Thanks

Now I just wonder if seeing a sin seh ( chinese physican ) before any IVF/ICSI program work/better?

Cause the last time I ask Prof Chen on this, he said the rest he don't encourage ONLY the one from Jurong east I can go...

Still hesitiating ...

Hi tnsw, U already got 1 child, tat's already better than many of us. Just let nature take its course, don't pressure urself so much. Rest well and build up ur health before going for the next try.
I tried SOIUI twice before proceeding to IVF. When I was ttc, I went to exercise 3times a week and lose 6kg naturally. But I still fail my SOIUI. I didn't give up, just try to relax and got an assistant to assist me in my work before proceeding to IVF. My work is very stressful all these yrs, I have elevated prolactin level, block tube.

miko2006, do you want to tell u more abt yourself so that i can update our database of our lovely ladies here....

Which chinese doc is that? is she/he famous?

Hi miko2006

Dun really think you have to follow Prof Chen's advice and strictly go to the JE sinseh. I visited EYS sinseh and she is just as good.

regtmc, its true lah alrady got one kid..i also tell myself dun compare but sometimes hard not to do so...

think i am going to take some courses, try to lose weight before my next attempt as i have not been exercising for tis whole month

used to go to the gym at my place to do some lite exercise, now i dun even do that....

thank god you managed to conceive despite your job, hope you take care..

Hi Potato Chip,
Ya so qiao we are all in financial line, i agree it can be quite stressful at times especially when we deal alot with figures....one extra zero means a lot and if you are that kind very easily gan cheong type...la gee worst.

My hubby is also in financial line, so u see, double stress, that explain why his sperm quality is so low.

Hi tnsw,
Dont be too disappointed, u should be glad that you still have a boy, maybe you should try giving all your attention to ur boy and forget about TTC for time being, who knows, u might strike naturally.

Btw, is it you who mentioned about the CP at people's park. can I have the add & tel details.

Hi Miko,

I'm considering see a chinese sinseh, don't know whether to go back to the Jurong East one or try some other sinsehs as well...

I've just gone through my 1st IVF with Prof Chen, 1st blood test result showed -ve, going back for re-test tomorrow.

Think maybe build up my body 1st before going for 2nd IVF will be much better.

Yesterday, read a book by Dr Randine Lewis about TCM for treating infertility & also complementing ART, amazed by the effectiveness of TCM (if what she wrote is 100% true).

Going to give TCM a try...

Tnsw, When I was diagnosed with high prolactin level, the gynae said he suspected I got brain tumor, so ask me to do CT scan. I was devastated. My family got no infertility or tumour history, why me? I did the CT scan and there's a brain tumor but it's benign. Tat was last yr March. Gynae said it's ok as long as I'm on medication. Do u know per tablet of medicine costs me $25? I just carry on with 2 cycle of clomid and 2 cycle of SOIUI, then found I got polpys. Then proceed to D & C to remove, then went for HSG. Found a block tube. Told gynae I didn't wan to wait, just proceed to IVF. Fyi, From last March till Jan tis yr, I never stopped with the treatments, just carry on and on...till I succeeded in my first IVF attempt. I told myself if I can't succeed after 3 IVF, I'll let nature take it's course.

Dunno r ur aware tat when u r going thru IVF, if successful, I was told by KKH not to take any chinese medicine. Gynae told me no sex for the 1st 3 mths.