Hi Vonvon

You have a good number... that's great!!!
How are the grades for the embryos?

Really hope to hear your good news 2 weeks later

Have a good rest and come in to chat with us with you feel better

Hi Vonvon

Really great that u hv so many eggs fertilized. You are back so early. So from now on, must rest more n move less. Be a good girl huh.

Ya, for me, I oso tah boleh tahan the full bladder. My first attempt was even worst. Waiting for my RE with a full bladder for half an hour. After the procedure, I think the nurse had forgotten that I was still in the room. So in fact, I could rest as long as I could but I couldn't tahan the urine anymore and got up about 20 mins time
. During my second attempt, I think there was another patient after me, so was asked to get up after 5 mins. My second ER was not very good, my RE made 3 attempts to eventually complete the ER. She said I was too tense. In fact, it was too urgent with the full bladder and not that I am too tense

Hi Tomatoes

As for the grades of embryo, during my fresh IVF, my RE told me there r 2 top grade, 3 average n 4 lower grade. So she put the best grade during my first attempt. However, during my FET, she told me the thawed embryos were very good (but did not mention the grade). I am still wondering. Does that mean that the quality of the embryos will still improved after freezing n thawing?

Hi potato chip

Dun think the embryos' grade will improve after thawing. Maybe what your RE meant is that the quality of the embryos did not deteriorate after thawing

vonvon, same same, i cannot tahan the full bladder feeling, i got up and went toilet twice before the et

i was very afraid and asked the nurse if it was okay as the doctor was supposed to be there at 830am but he came only at 9am...

the nurse told me that dr loh is very expert in doing et without a full bladder, trust that everything is in order...

Tomatoes,

I tried asking abt the grades of my embryos but all Dr Loh said was that they are all of good grades with no specifics. I didn't pursue coz' was too anxious abt the procedure.

Chillipepper,

My RE gave me 5 days HL and was told to get add'l MC when I go back for my blood test next Tues.

Potato chip / tnsw,

I share exactly the same sentiments. Dr Loh said I was tensed. But it wasn't becoz' of my nervousness, I was super urgent & was trying my best to control. How can I not be tensed up with a full bladder? Moreover, the nurse was pressing on my bladder while doing the scan.
One strange & uncomfortable thing is that after ET, I'd difficulty going to the toilet, even until now. I've this very urgent feeling on my bladder but when I go to the toilet, I release only a little urine. And the feeling is terrible. Did anyone of you experience this? Is this normal? Or should I call up KKIVF to check?

I'm not sure if I'm being paranoid. After ET, I dared not make too big movements, afraid that it will affect. Just had the urge to do big 'biz' & not sure if I'd exerted too much pressure, had very slight brownish spotting. Is this ok? Or after ET, there may be slight bruise due to the insertions? Is it that fragile? If so, how to do 'biz' next time? Or am I being too paranoid????

Hi potato chip

It's ok, this is the place to learn and share with one another. Sometimes I may be wrong with my facts oso

Hi vonvon

As long your RE said your embryos are good, then dun care so much liao. Sometimes, the more we asked, the more worried we will get

My embryologist told me to drink prune juice after I did my ET - to prevent any exertion during moving of bowels.

However, do observe your urge to urine...and your spotting. If really feel uncomfortable, call your RE to check.

Take good care and rest as much as possible

Tomatoes,

You are right. Sometimes the more we ask, the more worried we'll get.

Thanks for your advise. Will get my hubby to buy some prune juice to prevent any exertion during moving of bowels.

Still having the urge to urine but no spotting liao.

Hi Vonvon

Wake up liao! Me too, already so urgent and the nurse kept pressing on it
. Some more the nurse is a part-time nurse. My RE had to keep correcting her the scanning area while she trying to input the embryos (two of them kept pressing, very jia lard).

I don hv the problems you encounter now, so can't advise you. I think you still have to continue with more water intake if I not wrong. Maybe that will help bowels movement too.

Hi Potato chip,

Ya...it was very jia lard to have someone pressing when you are already having a full bladder. How to relax, right?

Have to continue with more water intake coz' I've a lot of eggs being retrieved & nurse afraid I might have OHSS (touchwood!!!). But I dare not drink too much now becoz' of the urge that's making me very uncomfortable. Just hope that it'll go away soon. Anyway, I've just dropped an email to Dr Loh to see if he has anything to advise me.

By the way, are you currently working? How many times have you attempted?

Hi vonvon,

Congrats on the no of embryoes. Have a good rest today and try to minimise movements. Remember to take more protein this period too. So u intending to get the jabs done at your GP?

Regarding the bladder thingy, dunno why I actually dun feel any urge to pass uring that time. After the ET, I still wait for my hubby to come back with the medication, take the jab and then go Mac for breakfast before I go to the toilet to pass urine. On that day, I dun even dare to do big biz. So silly hor

Hi Vonvon

Ya I am working. I have made two attempt, ie 1 fresh IVF n 1 natural thaw FET. I hv 18 eggs but only fertilzed 9 (just nice for 3 attempts
).

My first ER was quite smooth except very urgent lor. The FET was not that smooth, partly cos of de full bladder and the RE n nurse kept pressing on it, really cannot tahan. RE said I too tensed, she had to try a few time to deposit the embryos
. Can even see blood on the catheter. The embryologist had to change the 2 or 3 catheter.

I heard that Dr Loh email response is very fast

Yah, we all sure very tensed during ET. Who will not? Me too! my RE said my uterus kept contracting during the ET and the embryos kept flowing backwards in the catherer;p He said he really had a hard time putting them in.... ;p

dr loh also joked that i damn ken cheong because he said my gut was very active, wonder how he knew..

vonvon, dun noe if tis helps you, after my et done last year, i had some spotting, brownish discharge, they said it was due to the irritation of the inserts that i had put in..wonder true or not but if you are afraid, why not call sister phua or sarah, am sure they wld be glad to talk to you

was just wondering about the quality of embryos, dun tell me lesser grade embryos cannot make it and how to distinguish bad or good ...there are cases when not so good embryos also actually implanted ...so i really wonder

vonvon, dun take liang food and take more protein food like eggs but maybe not the yolks, fish etc

maybe there is one lesson learnt, drink prune juice, never heard about it but now since its mentioned, feel that its a great idea, thanks for sharing

tsnw,
I remember Dr Yeong told me Grade 5 is best. Out of my 12 embryos retrieved, only 5 can be use. They r grade 4. So now I only had two left.
I think it doesn't matter abt the grade cos a lot also depend on ur womb lining. Out of 3 I transplanted, 2 were attached to my uterus but unfortunately, 1 heartbeat gone on the 9th wk.
Recently I had a friend who went KKH for IVF and she's under Dr Sheila Loh. She had PCOS and she transplanted 1 grade 5 & 2 grade 4. Just ytd she went for scan and only 1 embryo seen with heartbeat. She went KKIVF after I shared my experience with her.

Hi regtmc

Is glad to here another success story. At least give us some motivation

Cant remember how Dr Sheila grade my embryos, not too sure is by no. or by alphabet.

regtmc, thanks for your information but dun think doc loh told me the quality of mine
but the womb lining in my case is the problem as i have said before, but glad for you too

kkh is good , i shld have gone there instead of raffles and tmc....

but your story really gives us motivation

potato chip,how have u been? i still see streaks of old blood, doc loh cant do anything,he just told me to pray hard

chemistry, forgot to ask you this, two days ago the doctor got the nurses to give me a jab and now the fresh blood spotting is less but still got brownish streaks, wat happened to you last time, after your kkh stay, did you stay at home?

any advice wld be appreciated

Hi tnsw

I'm fine. Thought u r resting at home now, so don't want to disturb u. In fact, I am quite happy these two days cos my AF is here. U must be thinking that I'm crazy rite? Cos all this while has been TTCing n very scared to see red. Whereas this month, I was so relax, eat whatever I wish to eat (esp pineapple, have not been taking since ttcing), of course also taking dong cong chao, DOM and BFW. And my cycle was so good this month, zhun zhun 28 days, really very happy lor
. At least, I am back to my normal cycle and could really detect EWCM mid of the cycle. Maybe due to the ttcing stress, my cycle has been fluctuating between 30-38 days. Will rest for a few mths and take more tonic before doing my next FET.

Since the bleeding has stopped, hope everything will be fine with you. If there is a need, maybe can ask for more days of MC to rest at home. Anyway, the market is quiet lately rite? So don't be so bothered by yr job. Health is more important

tnsw,
could it be implantation bleeding? I think u need to rest in bed at the moment. Don't give urself so much pressure, take care.
kkh is good for IVF but service wise I dont thk so. That's why I switch to raffles just before Dr Yeong left. Raffles Dr Thong referred me to KKH Dr Yeong.

I know it's stressful going thru IVF, and I always tell myself, 3 try is the maximum, if I still cant conceive then it's heaven's will, but at least when I grow old I will have no regrets cos I've already tried my best.

regtmc

You are right, I think the service at KKIVF is not very personalise. Is so paiseh to sit at the counter when reviewing by the MO or RE. Just don't understand why they can't have a private room for the review
. Maybe their biz is too good now after the listing their statistic at the MOE website. The nurses were complaining too much work also. Wat to do. We pay peanuts, we get monkey lor. Hope not offending anyone here. This is my personal opinion only hor.

Looking forward to see Westbb's bb foto. Hope she is resting at home now.

Hi tnsw,

Yes, I stayed at home. Dr Loh gave me MC till the following week when I see him. It's good that the streaks of blood u see are not fresh blood. That means your condition is under control.

tnsw here, thanks, sisters for all your advice, i still very worried as i dun find any signs of pregnancy at all, not much nausea or anything

emailed dr loh, he said just pray...nothg much can be done

chemistry, thanks for your advice, i go toilet, i panic, i stay at home, lagi worse, i think and think until like xiao, i try to minimise movement in the office, wat are you wking as?

but i read somewhere that miscarr can happen even without blood just like wat happened to me last year

potato chip, i noe health more important but our job is such that if we are not here, our colleagues help out and they dun earn anything, even if i want to give them smthg, they dun want, so very paiseh to take leave

bo pian, its better to have lousy service at kkh than good service but then the success rate not so high, even tmc also can make u wait for damn long one and the service not say very good also...

Morning tnsw

So I presume u r back to office today. Take care and don't stress yrself too much.

Hi Peacy

I only did my IUI with SGH and failed twice. So decided to switch to KKH, see if it helps after changing feng shui. hahaha.. seems no improvement also
. I thought you r doing yr IUI now with SGH?

Hi Potato Chip

Thanks for your reminder. Hopefully my memory dun fail me again. Yesterday went to chiong JL sales. Bought some diapers and disposable panties. But the $5 voucher very useful.

Hi tsnw

There's nothing much you can do know but to try to relax. As long as menses not here, still got high chance. You may detect heartbeat on the next scan. Just "talk" more to your tummy

Hi Chemistry and Vonvon,
Can I check whether you are suppose to jab on different side of the stomach on alternative days? Me for the straight four days, jabbing on the same side of the stomach, is it okay? Pls advise. Thanks

Remember I was telling you abt my difficulty going to toilet in passing urine. Called up nurse at abt 4pm yesterday after feeling very uncomfortable & was told to go down to KKIVF. Went down & Dr Loh was waiting for me. He told the nurse to help me relieve urine by inserting a rubber tubing.

Chemistry,

Yes. I intend to do my jab at my GP. In fact, I did it this morning. It's more convenient to do so & also minimize my traveling up & down KKH.

chillipepper,

the kkivf nurse told me that its prefered to jab on different side of the tummy each day... if jab on the same spot, the spot may harden and more difficult to absorb the medication....

HI Poohy,
Oh I see. I didn;t know... still jabbing on the same side. Thought that utilize the space on one side then go to the other side. Will shift to the other side tom. Hope it is okay. Thanks

Hi Chillipepper,

I don't know if it's compulsory to jab at different sides of the tummy but the nurse advised me to do so & I followed instructions. Hmm...didn't the nurse give you the same advise?

Maybe it's to even out the medication for both sides of your ovaries. Just my guess.

Chillipepper,

Don't worry. I think it's ok. Just alternate your jab area from now.

To all,

Is it ok for me to take bananas? Not sure if it's considered as 'liang' food.

Hi Vonvon

Wow so serious huh. Yr RE not bad, still waiting for you at the clinic
. So how you feeling now?

Hi Tomatoes

Did your hb shop with you? Diapers are quite heavy leh. So u hv a good time shopping. I didn't manage to go down cos working late. Anyway, my target is only the claypot which I believe will be out of stock very fast.

Hi Vonvon,

only the long big ones - "Del monte" type are liang, the rest no problem.

but if you just eating one or two - it's ok lah.

potato chip, am back yterday and today..stay at home,i think i will rot, i am that type of person cannot sit still for long one..

think maybe changing to kkh wld be great for you as i told you about my fren who got alot of pblems, endo, lah, cysts lah etc and she managed to get it right the first time with ivf/icsi, was very inspired by her and hope that it gives hope to all of us

tomatoes, thanks maybe i shld talk to my tummy, i tried to do that also!!!

as for the jabs, i think someone told me to alternate but i feel more used to the area on my right hand side thats why i always jab on right hand side stomach area

as for bananas, the cantonese call it "chang ngan jiu" (they say better dun eat), dun noe if those short bananas with black spots can eat or not
day...

vonvon, i think dr loh must have put a catheter (sorry dun noe how to spell), for the first time i did et in tmc, the doctor also put a catheter to drain out the urine

the first time i did et at tmc was nothing short of terrible, the doctor took a long time to come as he was doing smthg else, and i was told to urine but dun urine out everything, wat crap man, how to tahan, until the doctor had to put catheter to drain out the urine, my experience in kkh was so much better and the technology in kkh is so much better

at least they show on the television screen your name and the embryos, in tmc, they just shoved it to your face and show you, realy low tech....

potato chip, good that af is back and its good that u are building up your health again...you told me that you din see chinese doctor anymore but now if you have time, try to see chinese doctor again, the reason why i say this is because since u got a few months before starting again, why not make use of the time to do smthg constructive...

maybe can try that dr xia rong at eu yang sang shown on tv? maybe after seeing her, you can even strike naturally....things are hard to say

i got a miscarriage last time and went to see the doctor at thong chai and i took some chinese herbs and then stopped, later i got pregnant almost by accident...dun noe if its because of the chinese medicine or not

Hi Tnsw

Thanks for your advise. I am considering about seeing TCM to tiao my body again too. Hv not decide which one to go. Recently, somebody recommend a sinseh at Marine Parade and so coincidently somebody else had also recommend to my hubby this sinseh 2-3 yrs ago. We did not see this sinseh at that time cos we were seeing another "popular" sinseh.

Ya, I saw that eu yang sang sinseh on tv before. She helped a couple to conceive naturally after failing IVF. Any idea, is it long Q or can call to fix appt?

Hi annie & tnsw,

Thanks for your advise on bananas. Will take note not to take those Del Monte ones & the 'chang ngan jiu' ones.

By the way, gals...were you all paranoid after ET? I tend to have sensitive nose, esp in the mornings. So, I tried to control my sneezing subconsciously. Think must be worried that the pressure will affect. Perhaps some of you can advise what I really need to watch out & avoid, and what is actually ok to do per normal.

Don't want to be too paranoid, but I want to be careful coz' it's not easy to go thru' this.

vonvon,just asked my mum, she said chang ngan jiu and delmonte same, the ones that can be eaten is the "ang bak jiu" - the small ones u see in the market with black spots, but to be safe than sorry, dun eat first , ask some elderly people in your house

i think most of us wld be paranoid after et, dun think any sneeze wld cause anything to happen, i have sinus prblems, maybe you use more blankets and take care of the temperature change just before morning (like early dawn)...so that your nose wld be less sensitive

try not to carry heavy stuff and dun take chin chao - the black jelly becuz its very liang and last time at tmc, the nurses told me not to take spicy food after et, incase it irritates the stomach and cause diarrhoea, for people who not used to it

how old are you vonvon?

potato chip, i think the dr xia rong is at this paragon but not cheap, maybe you can call them up to ask them, if i have the number i will post it here for you..

which is the one u were recommended at marine parade, as i live at the east also...

my fren and me went to the one at peoples park, she is also practising at thong chai and was recommended to me by the RE at tmc.the contact is as follows: gim ee traditional chinese medical hall, 101 upper cross street #03-86A peoples park centre singapore 058357. if u want her telephone number, i can private message you..

she wld require your hsb and your health medical records so that she can roughly see wats wrong and also, she very "luk gu" one...

my fren went to her (the one who conceived though she got alot of pblems ) and after i went to her, then i realised that many people were referred to her..

to tell u the truth, when i went there, i saw two ladies, one is indonesian, she was referred there by my RE at tmc last time. this indo lady got her first kid thru iui at nuh and she tried fresh cycle at tmc and failed and the RE told her to come here

Then, got another lady also, she also failed to conceive under tmc and stopped for a while and went to this chinese loh koon....

tnsw,

Thanks. Will ask my grandma.

Yup, will avoid carrying heavy stuff & eating 'liang' food.

I'm turning 27 this year. Why?

no lah, just curious, how come u wld turn to ivf since you so young, i guess you are 27 from your nickname with the number 78 behind it

wat was your pblem that why you turned to ivf?