Did anyone watch First Mums last nite? I was really closed to tears when the doc announced to Kym that her IVF was unsuccessful.

I really feel the grief and disappointment even though it is just a show.

Hi Tomatoes

Yes, I did. In fact, towards the end of last week show, when her dr showed her the -ve urine test, I also almost cried with her. But had to control myself cos I was watching it at my in-law's house. Last nite, I made it a point to reach home on time to catch the show. The scene was so familiar to me
cos I went thru it in Jan.

By the way, she will be trying FET next week. Pls update me how she did it cos I will be away. If I not wrong, she succeed in FET

Hi Potato Chip

Will update you! Yes, I think she suceeded with FET.

Even though I succeeded on my 1st try with IVF, I can totally feel the sadness and disappointment when a couple fails... The Kym scene on First Mum is so familiar... so similar with what I have been through when I was TTCing. Disagreement with hubby at times, the desperate feeling to have bb... pressure etc..

Nevertheless, do enjoy your coming trip

Hi P-chips,

My hb is fine...Tks

MISSED the First Mums show, wonder will Mediacorp had it repeated upon request ...heehee anyway will try TO CATCH UP on the next

Tomatoes, Potato Chips, I watched First Mum too! Felt so very very real... can really emphatise with the character. I think i'll cry when she finally got +ve in the show! And it's like so ironic, the school girl doesn't need a bb and got preggie but Kym's character wants bb so desperately but cannot have...

Tomatoes, westbb, this show is so real and familiar to all of us
. Maybe that is fact of life. When u don want something, it comes so easily. When u desperately wants it, it just don appear at all. Really love this show.

Hi Babymaking, 1st mum is a show on Ch5 every thursday at fr 8pm to 8.30pm about the story of 4 ladies like us.

Gals, enjoy your long weekend
. Bye bye.

Hey Babyfaith,
Glad to know that you are also going thru the treatment soon as I am also going to start. When is you starting the IVF program? I have just visited Dr Loh on friday and he has referred me to KKIVF liao. I have also took the blood and hormone test... and nurse said I can start on 16th May if I want to... a bit scare but think should be ok.

Hi chillipepper,

That's fast! If u are preparing to start IVF in mid May, then u have to start building up your body now. Remember, dun take the cold and liang stuff. If u want, can also try to take DOM every alt day b4 u start the jabs.

HI Chemistry,
Thanks for your advise. Will try to take DOM but can I still take after I started the jab? I am still feeling a bit of pain from my current menses... Dr Loh said that my lining is a bit stress... not sure should I start so soon or wait till another month. Any way my blood test is still not out yet. Will see how... So what else should I take?

Hi ChilliPepper,

Not advisable to take DOM after u started the jab, Dr Loh say no herbs and DOM consist of herbs. U should have another counselling session with Dr Loh b4 u start your jabs, So maybe u can consult him whether it is advisable to start this cycle.

Hi Chemistry,
Can I check with you... when you start the IVF program on D21... will your menses still come in the middle of the program? Also is it better to have the jabs done in the morning or evening? Thanks

Hi Chillipepper,

We were advised to do the jabs in the morning. And yes, u will still get your menses when u start the Lucrin jabs. So u starting this cycle?

Can I check for the IUI procedure, does your gynae monitor your follicles or you've to take OPK before proceeding?

If not, how would your gynae know when you'll ovulate? Afterall, our cycles change every month.

hi Mashy,

gynae will monitor the growth of your follicle.

because you will be taking the clomid so it will sort of trigger the ovulation, and the puregon will help you to produce more eggs as well, so the ovulation is sort of manipulated with the drugs, it will not be your usual cycle length.

the size of the follicle is being monitored, once they reach the ideal size, you will be given a hcg jab to burst the eggs and IUI will be scheduled the next day.

if the follicles is not growing fast enough, the gynae might increase the dosage of puregon.

Annie
Funny leh.
I'm prescribed clomid. Then just visit her with my hb's sperms for IUI. That's why I was wondering why don't need to monitor whether going to ovulate yet or not.

HI gals,
Anyone knows what is the range of FSH level that is considered normal? My hormone test result shows 6.02 FSH level... Any idea?

Hi Mashy,

yours is just IUI right? then you dun need the puregon jab..

your gynae never scan to see if your follicle is there anot? then how does your gynae know if the follicle have burst from the ovary?

I am also puzzled leh...

Hi Chillipepper,

Think 6.02 is ok. Mine is borderline high, 9.8. The higher the FSH means u need higher dose of puregon to stimulate the ovaries.

Hi Chemistry,
My test result also show that I have the rubella immunity so most likely I don have to wait longer. Will Dr Loh be doing the actual monitoring of progress in your previous case?

Annie

At my first appt, my gynae checked and found left ovary empty. So she presumed I've just ovulated. I was to return the next cycle at the same CD to do IUI. So really wondering whether during the IUI, will she scan first before collecting my hb's semen. We're given a bottle to bring it for our next appt, filled.

Hi Mashy brainz,
Usually the gynae should monitor the follicle size and then predict when is the ovulation. In order for the IUI to be successful, the timing is important. Maybe you should check with your Re again.

Hi Chillipepper,

Will u be having a counselling session with Dr Loh b4 starting your jabs? During the counselling session, he actually went thru the blood test results and advise the dosage of medication u will require. As for subsequent monitoring of your progress, the gynae on duty will do that. During my time, Dr Loh was the gynae on duty for 2 of my 3 reviews. Dr Loh will only come in to do the egg retrieval and transfer subsequently.

hi Mashy,

even on the day of the IUI, the gynae will scan again to confirm that the egg has burst from the ovary before proceeding.

Btw, having a empty ovary doesn't mean you have ovulated, did she check that you do ovulate?

as for the semen, your hb has to bring it about 1.5hr ahead for them to wash it, did they brief you on the timing?

Hi Chemistry,
The nurse at KKIVF actually asked to to go for counselling session with a counsellor but told me to go KKIVF on my D21...to teach me how to do the jab.. did not specify whether I will need a review session with Dr loh.

I just had an appt in SGH on tues. The gynae was so straightforward when he saw my hubby's SA. He told us that no point for us to go through some more test coz he said that there is nothing he can do to help my hubby to improve the quality of his sperm. He said that we will go for another 2 round of IUI in SGH and if it is still unsuccessful, we have to go for IVF. Anyone of you did your IUI in SGH CARE before? I am so confused right now coz I am so afraid to face another failure again.

HI Peacy,
Can understand how you feel as some of us have gone thru that stage as well. Though I did not do my IUI in SGH, I have done 4 cycles of IUI in other private hospitals. IVF seems to have higher success rate than IUI.

Hi Chillipepper,

Should have a session with Dr Loh cos u have to sign some consent forms prior to the start of the program. The consent form states something like u understand the programme and also on the management of the embroyes in the case of a seperation, death etc. Can check with the nurses at KKIVF.

Hi Chemistry,
I signed liao leh... My first visit to Dr loh, he already referred me to KKIVF and then they gave a whole list of things to sign liao except I have not gone thru counselling.

HI Chemistry,
Just booked my counselling session but they are all fully booked till end of May. By then, I would have already started the program...Sigh .. Till then, counselling also cannot help mah

peacy, i've done 2 IUIs in SGH CARE before. Unfortunately for me, none of them worked... sigh. So I switched to a pte gynae for IVF/ICSI.

potato chip, are u back from your trip? got try hard hard or not: ;) No need to envy me my maternity leave leh... I'm self-employed, so not much of a maternity leave to talk about, if anything serious i still got to work!! *stressed*

Hi Annie

No, she didn't. She just looked at the Vscan and said I just ovulated.

Yah, they gave me a piece of paper on the timing.
But she didn't discuss with me that we're doing IUI leh. I only knew when I was paying at the counter and the counter girl was telling me what to do. I only knew I would be prescribed Clomid.

Hi Mashy,

sometimes gynae had their own way of doing things so i guess your gynae is sure that IUI is a chance for you. so when you are doing your IUI?

What I can share with you is i have gone thru the fertility checks that it includes ovulation check - i.e. my gynae will ask me to go back on a certain day to check if my egg is there, then the blood test to check my hormone level to ensure i am ovulating. Only when i cleared my fertility checks and hb's SA shows low count/quality then we were referred to IUI. But mine is SO-IUI.

hi hi chilipepper...we have just registered ourselves at KKIVF on 03May... my next apptm 26/05 ... should be starting the procedure in late may. Went thr' a briefing by the staff nurse at the IVF Centre ... i think my hubby more stress than me .. ha ha .. he was telling the nurse that he rather the wife to poke him with needles than to administer the "poke" to me ... ha ha ha ... i think we really must have a open mind ... be prepared but also be positive and always remind ourselves why are we doing this ? be focus !! all the best to you .. keep us posted !!!

Hi peacy, yup they do IVF too. Maybe I was under subsidised at SGH before referred to CARE, so the experiences with the gynaes there were not very good and always very stressed cos sometimes see those not very experienced gynaes, always worry dunno they know what they are doing or not - the way they speak and behave just do not give u the confidence, u know what i meant? We thought then that we were already stressed enough over this TTC thing, now still have to stress over the gynaes. Then my friend recommended her gynae who is supposedly very good with infertility, so after discussing with hubby decided to switch to pte gynae for more dedicated services and most importantly less stress.

Hi BabyFaith,
Ya we shall support each other in the coming weeks okay? Quite scare. Anyway, have u booked your counselling session yet?

i have done an IVF at TFC last year and had a miscarriage.

Now changed to KKH alrady, can anyone tell the procedures at KKH as i have forgotten wat the nurses told me.

Also, is 100 percent bedrest definitely necessary and also is Puregon difficult to administer as i had difficulty using it at Raffles Hosp last time.

Any success story of IVF mums who din take total bedrest..thanks alot

Chillipepper,

The counselling session is only to keep u & hubby mentally prepare for IVF procedures. Actually, i dun find the counselling useful to me & my hubby, cos both of us were mentally prepared for ICSI long ago. I also read up a lot from the web so already know what we may face.

Hi tnsw,

U may want to refer to earlier postings in this thread for KKH's procedures. For my case, I didn't really rest in bed after my egg transfer. I was watch TV/VCD or surfing the web most of the time. Moreover, I also go back to KKH for PIO jabs daily for 17 days after egg transfer. As for administering of Puregon, not difficult lah....the jab is in a pen-form and medication is in the form of a cartridge.

Thanks, chemistry, i had tried afew rounds of SO IUI at Raffles hospital and then it failed miserably

i was very depressed and last year i attempted the first time with IVF, i had a miscarriage

later on, i transferred to KKH and they diagnosed me with scar adhesions which occurred after i had my first born (who is five and naturally conceived)

after going for a minor surgery, i had an FET done last month..and i din really have total 100 percent bedrest and am going for a test next monday..

i am very frustrated when i see people around me pregnant and here i am facing difficulties conceiving

worse was when the idiot next to me last year got pregnant and her kid was like two years younger than me and if thats not bad enuff, last year i got a miscarriage

tis year operation, and i felt so depressed at one time that i really felt it was the end

sorry for the long post, i really want to let go of my steam

i had problems using puregon, in tfc, they dun use tis

any tips on how to use puregon, just want to know more

Hi tnsw,

sorry to hear abt your miscarriage.

but i think your frustrations cannot be compared to ladies who can't conceive naturally at all - at least you have a 5yr old now.

I think you should not be bother too much by the preggies around you, cheer up ok?

I had my SO-IUI at Mt. E but my gynae is from Raffles - they are using puregon, you mean you weren't using that? Where did you do your SO-IUI then?

don't worry, it's dummy proof kind of injection, besides the nurse's detailed explanation, the brochure also list out the steps to use it, it's very easy to use. My only phobia was poking the needle in, that's all.

All the best.

hi, chillipepper,

I just had my FET done last month, monday going to take a test to see if succeeded or not, the embryos were transferred from TMC

and i am just worried about the puregon thats all, the protocol in tfc is actually using centrotide or smthg (it was very long ago, last year march, so i almost forgotten it)

the march pregnancy ended in miscarr and then i had another retrieval done in oct and the eggs fertilized but then the womb lining was very thin always and even after using patches, still cannot be thick enough and the doctor at TFC (guess wat he told me), he said "i think we shld freeze the embryos and you go and take a break and maybe see chinese doctor"

i nearly flipped upside down and tombalek....here an ang moh loh koon ask me to go and see chinese loh koon...i nearly died, anyway i did as wat he said until i heard from my fren that she succeeded with first try at kkh under dr loh

and i went to see doc loh because i really couldnt take it anymore and guess wat, one scan and he recommended me to get an HSG and true enuff, my womb was stuck together thanks to the complicated delivery i had with my first born at kkh

i wonder if things are fated to happen tis way and i wonder why the doctor at raffles and thomson cannot detect

i was really under so much pressure and i thot i was going to die soon....thank goodness this scar problem is solved but doesnt mean it wont happen again

btw, does kkh give you birth control pills before they start ivf, in tfc, they gave us marvallon (a birth control pill ) to take before starting

Hi tnsw,

Dun be upset and never to compare yourself to others. Otherwise, u will only feel more miserable. Think of those ladies who had went thru IVF, didn't suceed and are still trying. If i'm u, i will feel contented tt at least I had a child.

So your FET was done in KKH as well? Did the gynae say anything abt your FET, as in the quality of embroyes, your condition etc?

As for the puregon, it is not difficult to use. Just load the cartridge to the pen, tune to the dosage u require, poke & inject, that's all! But I do hope u got good news to share with us on Monday and dun have to take Puregon.

Hi tnsw,

KKH did not give me birth control pill before starting IVF. But I remember one of the ladies got it. I think they give only if they think u need it.

Is your gynae the same as mine, Dr SF Loh? Anyway, dun be surprised that your gynae ask u to see chinese doc. Dr Loh also shared with me that he usually suggest couple to see chinese doc if they are old (near 40s), and have tried more than 3 fresh cycle of IVF and still cannot conceive. He said chinese medication sometimes can really do wonders!

Thanks, chemistry,

Its true we shldnt compare but when i see idiots in my office get pregnant like without even seeming they were trying like that, you can get frustrated

and the idiot next to me last year, always said dun want to get second child also managed second child and gave birth last year and also when she was pregnant, i had a miscarriage

my behaviour to her was so hostile that we became enemies, can you imagine

the gynae said that the qualities of embryos from tfc usually not that great

they had to do laser hatching

i used puregon last year and i remember must twist the darn thing and quite a few times i din manage and it leaked (whilst i was at raffles hosp)

hopefully if i embarked at kkh, i wont have the same bad experience

in fact i have that puregon pen in my fridge, i left it there for one year already

Chemistry, when u delivering if you are preggie and was yours ivf/icsi?

it cld be the nature of my job, am in the financial broking industry and it can get very stressful when i am at kkh and i worry about wats happening in the office....

yes my doctor is dr sf loh, he is very good