Hi babymaking,

He will know whether u are subsidised or not during your visit, so no pt for him to give u his email if doesn't entertain subsidized patient's queries. Anyway, he did reply my mails last time knowing that I'm subsidized cos I told him I saw another gynae on duty and needs his confirmation on some matters. After my egg transfer, he was overseas and he still reply me when he returned which was more than 1 week later. During our email exchange, he got to know my beta test coming soon, and he told me not to worry and he will pray for me. Me & my hubby really very touched that time. He's really a very nice dr and now my SIL is also seeing him on fertility matters.

Hi lomotion,

No, the RE u are seeing as a subsidized patient will not be your permanant RE. U will assigned to a group of 2-3 REs and u will see either 1 of them depending on who is on duty.

Hi Fond/Potatochip

Actually, i'm given the option to convert back to subsidised patient after achieving pregnancy at KKIVF. But I feel comfortable with Dr Loh and my hubby likes him, I decided to switch to pte and see him.

Thanks chemistry! This thread is so informative that I have to only ask very little questions as most info are revealed in your discussion already. Thanks so much!

I will consider if I should get referral or not. But most probably will go KK as it's cheaper.

hi potato chip / annie / chemistry ..... thanks for the encouragement ... i am sure with this support group .. this whole IVF thingy will be easier to bear ..... just have to pray hard that Dr Sadhana will turn out to be a good one ... my gf went thr' IVF with her and is now expecting her baby girl in August .. yeah yeah .... jia you jia you ......

Hi Chemistry

I am just curious. The email add provided by yr RE is personal add or KKH's address? Cos I wrote to KKIVF to ask for my RE's email address. They asked me to send to KKIVF's email address and they will direct to my RE

oh yes chemistry i wanted to ask you about the female MO, in what way is she terrible?

cause i prefer male gynaes to females ones. males seem more sympathetic and more gentle.

furthermore this appt (in 2 weeks) is to see the doc for my hubby's sperm analysis results, it's going to be really awkward if it's a female doc.

Re: subsidised patients, last time when i was still a subsidised patient in SGH, what my hubby and I did when we were making the next appointment, we would "gey-gey" ask the nurse when would the particular gynae that we preferred be on duty, then we tried to book our next appt on his duty time. But not guaranteed will see him one lor, cos sometimes their duty roster will change last min. Not sure if this will work in KKH as well?

Hi Chemistry and babymaking

Thanks for the info. So Dr Yeong and Dr Loh are very helpful and nice RE. So nice to have doctors with you all

Hi babymaking,

She terrible cos she can't explain the results/procedures well. The nurses at KKIVF can explain better then her. While waiting for my turn, u can see her walk out to Dr Loh or Dr Sadhana's room to consult them. She's also not very tactful in her words. During my last visit, she actually look at the re-test results and say "U cannot conceive naturally" and then she just march out with my file to Dr Loh room to get his endorsement to refer me to ICSI. Terrible right?

I dun feel emabarassed for a female gynae to analyse the SA results. My huuby's 1st SA was analysed by Dr Sadhana. She actually explain which are the parameters that were bad and pre-warn us that we may need ICSI if the re-test is still bad. But for the re-test, the MO did not go thru the SA result and just make that remark and refer me for ICSI. If the gynae during your next visit can't explain well, it may be good for u to ask for a copy of the SA results and check with Dr Loh via email.

Hi westbb,

Think KKH system not the same as SGH. For KKH, the specific group of gynae only see subsidised patients on a specific day (for eg, every Friday). They won't see u on other days other than this specific day of the week. Sometimes, if the gynae's queue is long, the MO will take over the consultation, like my case during the last 2 visits.

hi chemistry: what a tactless person she is and to boot a female too. sighs. i can't imagine if i were in yr shoes, i would have definitely walked out (in anger)or cried buckets (in sadness):p

actually the embarassemnt is not for me but my hubby. it would be harder for a guy to take the blow (if there is a blow) from a female doc than a male one.

yr point about getting a copy of the test results is good. will keep that in mind. Do you know if they charge for the report?

Hi baby making,

Mine is also a female gynae and it's ok for her to go through the SA with my hb, just a matter how how you take it, the results for my hb were not very good even at the day of the IUI but we appreciate that she's frank and offer solution/advise for us. My hb was ok and receptive to results as he is also keen to have a bb, so he was willing to give a try.

Hi chemistry/potato chip,

Had my ultrasound scan & blood test this morning (D14 of Lucrin Jab). Just called up for the result & was told all is good. However, they scheduled me to start on the Puregon Jab only on 5 May. I thought I could start off this week. Is there anyway I can start earlier? Thought all I need is to buy the medicine, needles, & for them to demo how to jab? Still have to wait that long for this?

Pls advise.

I am so disappointed. I didn't get to see Dr Loh today at my appointment time and it is my first time visit. The registration side told me that he has an operation to do and only can see patient at 4pm and they forgot to inform us. Need to go down again on Friday and try my luck. The nurse pre-empt me that first time registration is going to take a long time and asked me to be prepared. How come like that one huh? Amyone comtemplating on IVF on this coming May or Jun?

Hi babymaking,

I can't be bothered with her as long as she dun waste my time and quickly refer me for ICSI. As for the SA results, they dun charge if u ask the gynae on the spot to give u a copy.

Hi vonvon,

They have some basis to determine when to start the puregon jab. Think it's based on the scan + blood test. Starting earlier may result in less ideal results.

Hi chemistry,

That's not what the nurse told me. She said becoz' too many ppl & thus have to schedule me on later date. Thought it's not a valid reasoning to subject me for another week of Lucrin jabs.

Think I'll call up to verify.

Just called up another nurse & was told it's both due to too many ppl (thus the need to schedule) as well as lining of my womb that's not so ideal yet.

Hi chillipepper,

It's really bad that they forgot to inform patients abt it. So u got another appt on Friday, is it? The registration doesn't really take very long lah, unless there are also a lot of 1st timers before u. Otherwise, at most 10-15mins only.

Have u seen a gynae for fertility checks before? If not, they will send u & hubby for a series of test before referring u to IVF. May take a few months before being referred for IVF.

Hi Chemistry,
Yah.. got another appt on Friday morning. I have gone for a few fertility checks e.g HSG and my husband's sperm test etc but not on blood test or hormone test. Previously gone thru a few rounds of IUI too with other hospitals. So do I still need a few more months before they refer me to KKIVF?

Hi Chillipepper,

Have u got the reports of those test that u have done. If u have the report, they may not send u for further tests and u may get referred to KKIVF faster.

chemistry,

how long after your scan & blood test did you start on your puregon? I only have 10 more needles left. It's not going to be enough. Not sure if the Lucrin medicine can last till end of puregon jab. If not, do I have to buy another bottle just to last a few more days?

hi annie,

thks for sharing your experience. as for my guy it's going to be a big blow for him if he has problem. so therefore i would feel more comfy if it's a male gynae.

thks chemistry, will ask the MO for a copy of the results.

Hi Chemistry,
Is it true that they can only conduct the hormone test when you have the 2nd day menses? Can they conduct the test on other days?

Morning Vonvon

In fact, I have alot of left over needles and swap and a bottle of lucrin (which I used less than 5 times). Do you want it, if you don't mind? It is a waste of money to buy it just for the next few jabs.

Hi vonvon,

I started puregon 4 days after my scan & blood test. My Lucrin last me just nice to the last puregon jab. So likelihood yours may not be enough.

Hi chillipepper,

They can do the homone test on day 2 or 3. But I was so gan cheong to start ICSI and dun want to wait for another mth. So I did mine on day 4 which the nurse agreed. Not sure is it because of that my FSH turns out borderline high.

hi potato chip,

did you buy another bottle of lucrin? Or this is what's left after you were done with puregon?

I'm still feeling rather unconvinced that I've to start puregon so late coz' it seems no one has experienced this (8 days after blood test & scan).

potato chip/chemistry,

I'm feeling lost & confused. Seems like no one gone thru' the same situation as me (i.e having to wait so long to start on puregon).

Hi Vonvon

That was my 2nd bottle. I was told to continue with lucrine for a few days even when I started puregon. So u can imagine, 2 jabs each day. But is ok lah, no pain at all. My RE told me Lucrine is very important, don sting on it. So no choice lor, bought a new bottle just for a few jabs.

Hi Vonvon

Be patient. Don't let this issue affect your morale and mood lei. You need to relax, relax, relax throughout the whole procedure

potato chip,

You are supposed to take the lucrin jab while you are on puregon jab, right? By the way, what does RE stand for? Does it refer to you gynae? If so, at least you get to speak to your gynae. What I'm uncomfortable with is that I don't hear this from Dr Loh but from the nurses.

Vonvon

Yes RE means my gynae. She happened to be on during in KKIVF during a review. But for your case, at least you still can email to Dr Loh. My RE dont provide any contact no. or email address

I can understand your frustration cos I also hardly speak to my RE when u most need them. Sometime, I also wonder are those advises/instructions given by the nurses are corrent or not. Did they seek the Dr's advise or just based on their experiences?

Potato chip,

Exactly how I'm feeling now....you don't know if they'd seek the advises of doc or based on their experiences. That's what I'm uncomfortable with, esp when I'm not experiencing what most of you go thru' (i.e only 3-4 days after blood test to start on puregon).

Vonvon

What to do? I guess this is the kind of service we should expect from public hospital lor

Hi CT and Peach

I will be away 1st week of May. Hope to hear your good news when I am back. Meanwhile, do take lotsa of rest

Hi! I have not start my procedure ... but soon ....so all the 'lucrin' 'puregon" confuse me ... i think i will check it out and be more informed ....

btw, can we continue our exercise routine during the time ? I know after the ET we are suppose to rest and exert ... but how abt before the ET ? can we gym? i heard abt weight gaining ... and bloating ...moody .. depression is it true ? cham liao ... i have few new pants and blouse no wear yet leh ... ha ha The last time i went on clomid .. i got very very terrible mood swing !!!! my hubby think is depression ... i could just hide in a corner and cry for no reason ... scary !!!

Hi ladies who are currently trying, pls you must RELAX RELAX and RELAX. I know it's hard sometimes. but you must try. Don't stress yourself up. I strongly believe it will help in one way or the other.

Potato chip, you going for a tour over the long weekend? Enjoy hor.. maybe can strike naturally during trip leh

babyfaith: ask you soemthing hor. how long were ya on clomid and on what dose before your gynae suggest your try IUI or IVF?

i'm currently on clomid now, also feel the same way about mood swings (but still controllable)and also blurring of vision.

Hi vonvon,

Dun be upset, I remember CT also started puregon 1 week after her scan & blood test. If u still dun feel good about it, then maybe want to email Dr Loh for advice?

Hi Babyfaith,
I did not get any side effects or mood swings from the jabs. U should stop exercising when u start puregon jab. For me, I stop all cardiovascular exercises once I start lucrin. But still do light exercise like walking, push ups, light toning exercise etc. And then reduced to walking after I start puregon.

Hi Potatochip,

Enjoy your trip. Agreed with westbb, maybe can strike naturally!

Hi Babymaking,
I remember when I took clomid, I do get a lot of side effects. Always feeling bloated, put on a lot weight and feeling giddy at times. I took clomid for a long time... about 8 long months and later found out from other gynae that I should stop after a few cycles.. other wise ovarian cancer...

Thanks Miko2006. How is yr hb now after the op?

I really hope to see this thread flooded with good news when I'm back on the second wk of May.

EVERYBODY JIA YOU! JIA YOU!

oh dear chilli pepper, that's a long time to be on clomid with all those side effects some more.

are you ok now? actually the findings so far is that clomid won't cause ovarian cancer if used for less than 1 year, so that should reassure you.