anyone here with Prof PC Wong and embarking on the June cycle?

I just started on the GonalF ytd. The nurse told me I have an odd dosage of 187.5... will do that till monday for another scan and blood test.

Injecting GonalF with the pen is more difficult than Suprefact. Hopefully I don't get the nasty side effects.

Hubby just returned from Vietnam ytd evening, and this evening going out for business dinner. Sigh.... What a life!

If I am not wrong, you can skip the conselling session by KK (we skipped that as gone through one round before at Mount E). But you have already paid for it (was told included in the 200+ that we paid the first time). I guess it will be good if this is your first IVF as it will give you some ideas on how to handle the stress...but for me and hubby, didn't want to take leave to have the session. She don't work on weekends.

already made appointment with KK social worker on the same day that i had appointment with dr kelly to sign the consent..since its my first time doing ivf so might as well go for it..

Hi Fresh,

Yes, Ann and Jude are correct.. i remembered the nurse told me to pay $203 for the consent and counselling..and then they pass me the contacts for Caroline, asking me to contact her for counselling..the nurse told me its free..She is from the kk social group...i called Caroline , but she told me its compulsory to attend becos its referred by my Dr. If i dont wan to attend, i have to talk to my Dr .. in the end i didnt ask anyone..so now which is correct? compulsory or not compulsory?

Hi ladies i had a lousy day at work 2day. Altough i felt better after talking to Libby i juz wanna share with u all.

I have a coleage whom i know is a big mouth always cant keep secrets and will tell others abt others P&C issues. What happened to 2day is channel 5 2day has got this program abt an ang lady who suffered a few miscarriages coz her womb is kind of too weak to hold babies so her mum actually went thru ivf to gv birth for her and now having triplets. I was in the room and when i came out my this coleage emphazie and stress so much to me that i must watch this program and keep telling me abt it. I was so hurt by her actions coz i felt that she is crusing me saying i got a weak womb or she simply wants my mum to carry babies for me??? I was so pissed off by her esp she knows that i m gtg thru ivf now.She always appears to be such an angel but never did i know she actually had such bad heart.....

hi ros,
yup, just woke up from a 2hr 30 mins nap... everything , fingers crossed

I had 6 people in the ET with me, Dr Thong, 3 of her nurses, and 2 embryologist, Dr thong's nurse and the female embryologist were holding my hand and encouraging me when i got too tensed. Overall very very good support
Oh cause it was in the OR, hubby was not allowed it.

labbitpj, yup and the nurses were really supportive,

Jude, really hope for BFP this time

Sierra, I hope you are feeling better... rest lots k... take good care *hugs*

Jas, did dr loh have difficulties doing ET during ur try under him? Since this time ur grades r good then ur chances r high, best of luck

Hi Lyn,

Agree that was really very insensitive of your colleague. I saw the show, but didn't know that the pregnant woman was her mother. It is very noble of the mother to do it for her daughter. God has His ways of doing things. Many women/couples are able to produce children one after another as and when they want. And they will NEVER understand what we are all going through.

I had my only child in 2001. She was conceived within the first month of my marriage. Though the pregnancy was smooth, delivery was not. She was stuck in the birth canal and my gynae had to perform emergency c-section. I was bedridden for 4 days afterwards, and my baby almost suffocated. Thank God, everything turned out well. In 2005, I had ectopic pregnancy which almost cost my life. I fell into depression after that and had thoughts of killing myself all the time. And my ex husband was so insensitive that he just made matters worse. We got divorced less than 6 months after that.

Now, I am going thru IVF after 2 years of TTC. My MIL and stepfather thought the problem is mine. I kept it from them. My husband has poor count and quality....

I wish you all the best. Take care and stay away from that insensitive colleague of yours. Not worth to get all stressed up by someone who don't even deserve your attention.

Bless you.

Had my er this morning.. Retrieved 20 eggs in total..

Now stomach crampy and bloated.. Now still got abit bleeding.. Saw alot of blood on the ot bed.. Got a scare..

Dr gave me inserts.. Antibotics.. Painkillers.. And hormone pills.. Alot of med to take.. Haha..

Dr say et likely on mon.. Will update me on the embryos tml..

Hi jas
Glad u done yr et liao.. U are one step further to have yr dream.. U had a d2 transfer? Cos u say 2 cell embryo.. D3 usually have 4 to 8 cells right? Not too sure on this.. Gals here may want to share with us..

Lina; Not really.. Juz on off..sometimes.. Had slight pains juz now too.. like pin poking but stop.. Will ask doc when i see him ..

labbitpj, after you convert to ivf, what stage are you at now? i am also seen by Dr veronique and was referred to Dr Kelly Loi after we decide on IVF.

Ann, seems like we are seeing the same doc and have the same timing for IVF, mine also in sept. maybe we can be ivf buddy =)

baby, you retrieved 20 eegs? wow... amazing! i m so envious..

i m going for my blood test for prolactine and FSH, LH and E2 at my next mensus... i heard my friend just recently done hers and she was told she only has 6 eggs left in reserve. is this possible? she is only 40 this yr.

for the gals who are going through the cycle now, and sharing your experiences, I thank you as you like a teacher to me.. all the best...

Jas, all the best to you!! how was it for you and hubb since he could not go in the Op theatre?

btw, what does BFP stands for?

Hi sofia, thks for understanding my feelings. I juz wanna voice out my unhappiness coz i cant tell her off too bluntly in order to maintain a friendly environment to work in so i juz kept quite but was flaming inside. This sickening coleage of mine had a tough time conceiving too and had went thru a failed cycle of ivf but eventually had a child thru natural conception but instead of being sensitive and understanding coz she went thru this rough patch herself b4 she is totally the other way round! I feels she is kind of scared i m pregnant coz she have to do my work, wat a self fish person she is!

Sofia, i m sorry to bring u back to ur past relationship again. However i m sure u r having a new and wonderful relationship again now..

hi irene
Im surprised on the no of eggs also.. Cos scan shows only abt 15 follicles.. Thou some may nt show up in the scan.. But i tot some follicles may not contain an egg.. Now only hope the fertilisation went well and i will have excellent grade embryo to transfer..

Bfp = big fat positive of pregnancy test..

Now my tummy v big.. Much more bigger than before er.. Hope tats normal..

Btw gals
Aft er can we eat as normal? Or we need to have special diet like those just had operation?

Now aft er till 2ww is it good to drink red dates longan tangshen drink? Or wait till pregnant then drink?

Hi dream,
I had 6 other people including Dr Thong who kept trying to calm me down by talking , holding my hand and also massaging my leg haha it was stiff...
Lyn,
Dr Loh took longer than usual during my last ET as well,

baby 79, yup they are day 2 transfers..

Hi Ann

my appt with Dr kelly is in mid aug, i will try to arrange to go for the counselling with medical social worker on the same day too. i m having my blood test in July, so i hope for a smooth journey from now.. i would really dream of having twins!

hi Jas,

rest well now. remember to eat healthy and stay happy
. so nice that the embryologist held your and to encourage you, that's nice. just like you, i transferred a 2cell and a 4 cell during my ET last sat. was a little annoyed that the nurse asked me to get up so quickly cos she says doc has another patient after me. i was like 'huh so fast get up liao??' anyway, take care these 2 weeks!

hi Lina,
managed to get the mc, dr was nice about it.

hi baby,
wow 20! that's a good number! now, rest well and drink more water. as for the cells, usually the longer the days, the more cells there should be, depending on the cell itself. hope this helps.

labbitpj, Ros, serria, jas
all the best to us >>>BFP BFP BFP!!!

hi baby, you mean tummy will bloat quite obviously in the process of ivf? which stage would that be? cos i m thinking about keeping my ivf p&c from my office colleagues. not that they are not supportive, but more of i do not wish to have too much attention on my ivf since we are a not that big office... should i expect to put on a lot of weight overall? or just the tummy will be bloated? u think i can cover up by wearing something lose?

dear irene,

dont worry too much about the bloated tummy thing. i think it depends very much on the individual and one's reaction to the medication. sometimes it may just look like you had big feast full tummy. worry not

Dear irene, is ur colleague kapoh like mine? If u have kaypoh colleague u will expect alot of questioning from them coz need to go hosp for scanning and BT and also the 2 HL from ET , will it kind of be stressful to u?

fresh,
the kk counsellor is caroline. very nice & chirpy lady. when she shared her own ivf story, she was still trying to smile. she even mentioned her boss saying now she wld understand her patients more cos she went thru failed ivf

Dear meow ,
i heard the blood test was meant for this purpose. but i dunno the details. i can check with the nurse when i go there next month and then let you know (but of cos i hope i strike this month then i won;t need the ivf la..)

Dear Lyn
i would say my colleagues are generally nice. its just that i prefer to keep it a private affair and perhaps i'd share with just a couple of close female colleagues. i am really not keen to let my boss know too much details.. but i guess that won;t be possible since i would need to take leave or off... my boss is female and she seems like a nice person from the outside, but my personal take is that she can be quite sacastic at times and may not mean what she say, so i m a little concerned. plus this is still my first year of service.. so i m kinda caught between getting a good appraisal vs just having a life and dun care what the boss say but have a life. Do you gals tell or intend to tell your bosses about your ivf?, to what extent do you share with them.

i m not sure how it would be like for me.. i guess i can only take it one at a time. plus hubby would be going for overseas reservist during that time. so i m really trying to figure out what would be the best way to do this... hubby ask if i wana postpone, but i m really not keen to wait further.

hi pari

yup.. all MUH staff are masked. so no chance to see nurse Jen's face. but she quite farny and positive.

hi mummynen
i am also w prof wong and will start suprefac next wk. u are way ahead of me wor. i tot the gonal f pen will be easier to use. no ar.. nurse jen said from my records, shld be starting on 150.

hi lyn
sorry to hear abt ur bad day at work. but dun let the coll affect u ok. must stay strong, ignore such insensitive pple.

Meowmeow...

Let's work towards a BFP... Hopefully everyone in this thread will graduate and become a MTB/mothers in the year 2010.

Sierra,

Hope you are doing okay after you came back from hospital. I am getting a bit worried and concern as you have been pretty quiet since afternoon. Hope you are resting well after being discharged.

Jas,

From now till your BT make sure you rest well and eat well ok. The babies need you..

Baby,

Wow 20 eggs retrieved is a very gd number. I only had 8. Hopefully you will have all of them fertilised and have many quality embryos for transfer. Will be waiting to hear from you soon. Till then, dont forget to eat your proteins...

a qn to ask:

if we only start suprefac for down-stimulation on D21. but say if u ovulate on D14, then by D21, wun the egg be fertilised already. then if still inject w suprefac, how ar?

hi irene, noi and cherie, i like to sleep with my cat too. she sleeps on the floor though. i have a friend who shares her bed with husband, dog and baby. i think i can continue to keep my 10 year old 'baby' cat. dun think so much first.

hi lyn, just prayed for you that you will be protected from hurtful remarks like what your colleague said. felt sad for you. detox your mind off such people ok. it is their misfortune that they cannot control that wagging tongue of theirs. take care.

labbitpj, Ros, serria, jas and those sisters who have just had their ET,
BIG FAT POSITIVES BFP BFP!!

anyone mind sharing how ER or ET is like?
Especially ET, can lie down for 5 - 10 minutes and then how did you leave the hospital? you walk out or sit on the wheelchair? Also, how long after the ET procdure did you go pee?

hi irene, i m 10 months into my current job.

#1 Category 1 BOSS: spoke to my bosses since january (5 months) and explained to them about the process.

they are both mothers and one of them had difficulty in getting pregnant too. thank God for their understanding but I offered to get someone to replace me should my proposed ivf timeline does not work out for them.

oso, i shared with them i deferred my ivf plan from january to june so that i can accomplish a project I was assigned. took the few months to start kicking the alcohol, seeing chinese accupuncture, work hard enough to proof my worth of salt and packing house (space for bb).

if your boss is a mother, perhaps she can understand you better.

#2 CATEGORY 2 GOSSIPMONGERS: for those radiostations in the office, i just said "i am taking medical leave...medical procedure... dun want to say so much... tell you more when i am back."

CATEGORY #3 CO-WORKERS. my colleagues complaint when i rejected work in July and beyond and spoke privately with my boss "how come she has special treatment". with this, my "medical procedure" was shared with these colleagues. In May, after helping these colleagues with their projects, i shared with them that I am taking leave in July cos of a medical procedure and i might or might not come back. to be proper, they have to plan without me after July.

so long-winded, hope it helps you.

as for Hubby, i got to pre-book my husband's time too. he is travelling all the time. make do lor... so long he is keen for bb, he will try too. CHEERS!

Hi ladies, ask Dr Zou this evening about the glutinous rice thing. she said it's for mum to be on spotting cases.

Jas,
Congrats on a successful ET. I wish you all the luck for your 2ww dear!

Ros,
Your symptoms sound pretty good lah. And you actually chart your temp which is good (I just couldn't care! Heehee). I think you're definitely on your way to BFP. Thanks for your lovely thoughts
BTW, Dr Sadhana told me, bloating is a good sign of pregnancy. So since you also have bloating,can take heart in that
But she also said ... if positive pregnant, it could get worse - the bloatedness. *Eeeeeks*

Lina,
Thanks for the kind words! Went back yesterday and again I felt freakingly bloated all over again *faint* I don't know what is it in the hospital that made me feelless bloated, but the moment I step out, I feel like exploding all over again. Haiyaaaaaaah ....

I'll update on my BT status on Monday, 29June. Dr Zhou called me up yesterday to ask abt my BT results, since she charts everybody's 2ww on her calendar. Hehe.... very sweet of her. But I told her it's not 14 days wait, but a 17 days wait. So I'm really hoping to get a good reading on Monday

To all the other ladies who are in 2ww, all the best. To the ladies who have yet to reach 2ww, hope you'll get there soon. All the best to each and every one of us here!! And happy Saturdaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaayyyy ... !

Hi Good MOrning Ladies..

Hope everyone is ok. Congrats to those who have success thier IVF journey.

For those who dont, please do not give up.

And for the pregnant ones, please do take care and have a smooth 40 weeks pregnancy.

My ER was on the 8th May but was not success and got my AF on 16th May which last abt 10 days. Then after that till today my AF has not arrive. Anyone have experieced this?

Hi Lyn
Dun let the remarks affect u..Pls stay positive dear..we r here for u...
Enjoy your weekend w your loves ones..

Hi all sisters in 2ww
Pls rest well and BFP on the way to you

Hi Boon Boon and baby
Wish u have a smooth ET and good quality eggs to transfer & stick tight tight to your womb

Hi meow
U'll have another menses during your suppression period b4 u start your GonalF..doc will use this cycle of follicles to mature it...sisters in the forum am I right?

Hi clcyeo
Not sure whether u want to separate your baby cat to sleep w you during your ivf journey? My darling used to share a pillow w me, after I started my journey, I "refused" him to sleep w me, he took a long time to get used not sleeping w me, he'll cry middle of the nite, I had to wake up and sayang & comforted him...he is like a bb to me...

For ER in NUH, you'll be under GA in OT, the procedure will take around 15-20 mins.
For ET, I was asked to lie w legs up for 3 hrs in the DS ward room after the transfer & tahan for nearly 2 hrs then I pee and I walked very slowly after I was discharged..

Hi Sue,
It's pretty normal I hear for your AF cycle to become haywire after a failed IVF. Some ladies here waited more than 40 days before their AF reports again. However, if you're worried, do consult your gynae for advice. But i think it's just the body trying to readjust itself again. On the other hand, I assume you did a pregnancy test this time round already? Just in case ...

the thread is moving so fast... i tried to catch up now and then but really got no energy to post...

Boon Boon and Fresh,
All the best for ur ER/ET!! Jia you!

Jas,
U had good embies transferred so have a relaxed 2WW and enjoy it! remember to visualise and talk to to ur embies ya...

Babe79,
Congrats! That's a good number of eggs retrieved. Drink lots of water to flush out the excess hormones that u've been taking so far and all the best for ur ET on Mon.

Sierra,
i'm still super duper bloated and i just saw dr loh yesterday... he told me no choice have to endure and "lun".. this will last for sometime.. this is like my 2nd OHSS attack... i dunno how long this is going to last... i'm trying my best to cope... trying to eat and drink for the sake of my babies too...all the best for ur BT on Mon.

Ros,
all the best for ur BT next week!

eskimobaby,
Hope your babies and you are doing fine! U still super bloated? Oh dear ... Dr Sadhana also said the same thing to me... if positive, the bloatedness can get worse. I was like ... now I already feel like stomach exploding, do you mean if it's positive, it'll actually explode? LIke how much worse can it get?? hehehehe ...

This morning my bloatedness has gone down a little, but it'll go up again usually in the late afternoon till night. Going back to work maybe next Thurs or Fri. I need to sort out my clothes now ... like what i can wear and cannot wear cos of my bloated tummy. Haha!

sierra,
wow... then i think u most likely BFP liao.. cos yeah the bloatedness is like how u describe... better during the day but by nite time gets even more bloated and sometimes unbearable.. i already cannot button any of my pants or worse some can't even zip all the way

Hi Sierra,

SO I guess you decide not to have ur blood test done yesterday? I am so looking forward to hearing great news from you. Ur bloatedness seems like a very positive sign. The only reason why I am charting my BBT is bcoz I am starting to feel as if I have lost all my other symptoms so monitoring my temperature to at least give me a glimmer of hope...

Day by day I feel like I am step closer to losing it...

Eskimobaby,

Thanks for the wishes... I am just hoping for the best now. At the moment it feels like as if my AF is just around the corner... My hope level is dropping day by day.... or should I say by the hour.

Ros,
as long as u dun see any red or spotting... just continue to talk to ur embies ya... usually will feel like that as BT nears cos we are also trying to gear ourselves for disappointments..

Hi Ros,
Think I'd want to wait till Monday to see my proper HCG level. Prolong it a lil' longer and hopefully the results will show a good level
Just like you, I also didn' thave any other symptoms. No sore boobs, no nausea, no heightened senses ('cept maybe more emo). Only the bloatedness and since Dr Sadhana said that's a good sign, let's just believe in that ya
I'm sure you'll be ok

eskimobaby,
Hahahaha! I also can't button my pants anymore! SO I only zip them up and hope it doesn't fall off. Hahahaha! They measure my tummy circumference at the hospital. I was 34" yesterday (this is when it was not so bloated). My normal waistline is about 27" so that's an increse of a whopping 20cm or so!

Thanks eskimobaby,

I told myself not to put too high an expectation at the beginning but the first week of 2ww, somehow ur hope level goes up... Now nearer the BT day, the hope is going down but the nervousness is getting to me...

Sierra,

I wonder how the heck did you get over all this nervousness... I can barely sit... I can barely concentrate during my assignment.

Hi Sierra.

Thank you...wah tat long to wait. I hope when the AF arrive it wont be alot. No sierra, i have not take any pregnancy test. I guess its not necassary.

All the best for your BT.

Eskimobaby, take care and do relax alot okies.