Hi Chemistry,
oh dear! looks like I got to cancel my dinner appt on Fri..thanks for informing me.
btw, if the first jab of Puregone taken in the afternoon at KKH, then the 2nd will do it in the morning next day together with Lucrin? wont the timing too near each other. or like what Annie said, i will have to jab it the same time the next day during office hours.

Hi Annie,
How come u jab at night? I thot we should jab in the morning?

Hi ET,

Neither the nurse or the booklet mentioned must jab in the morning - it states that as long as the time is convenient for us, and to keep to the same time (more/less) everyday.

I did ask the nurse if I can jab at night because the day I went to collect - she offer to jab the 1st one for me, she said it's ok.

she also know that most of us can't jab during office hours because some does not have a fridge to store the pen.

Hi ET,

The nurse it's ok if the timing of the 1st jab is a bit off. I took mine at 4pm the 1st day and the subsequent days I took in early morning, around 7 am.

Hi hopeful,

What is the reason you gg for IUI?

I am on SO-IUI, you intend to go for the same?

So far the puregon has cost me more than $1k, the IUI I think it's another few hundred...I am not sure.

My gynae is at Raffles, BUT I am not sure if IUI will be done there or not because I don't think they have the lab there. As previously hb's SA was done at Mt. E

Hi ET

The guideline given to us is to jab around the same day every day.

For those taking Lucrin or any other down regulation jab, it must be done in the morning.

Hi Hopeful

Do you mind to share with us what makes you want to try for IUI and which RE you are visiting?

Gd Morning everyone.
This is the article on the HBA published in straits time last year. Hope u find it useful...

Did anyone watch the show 'Your Health' on CNA last night ? wow... Hilda is a very determined lady ! <center><table border=1><tr><td>
mime_msword.gif
ST_HBA
ST_HBA.doc (21.5 k)</td></tr></table></center>

I am currently going through the 2nd round of IUI. I was very disappointed when I failed the 1st round. I just went for my 2nd IUI last week. I am feeling quite stressful and anxious as I can only know the result in 2 weeks time when my menses is due. Furthermore, I don't know what cause the failure in the first round. My hubby has been very anxious and that really give me additional stress.

Hi Gloria,

Thanks for the effort for typing out the article! *hugz*
I just read through it, this is important information - I can ask my gynae next time - if I need to.

I managed to catch the show ..her daugther is so pretty! But I feel a bit sad for her that she can't have another child.

I made my hb watch with him so that he could have a better idea of IVF.

Hi annie &amp; tomatoes,

I have been TTC for 1 plus year already, but still can't get pregnant. My hubby's SA test result also not good, only 3% good quality. So we decided to take action and do something about it.

I went to Dr Lai Fon Ming at Camden Medical Centre. He did a scan for me and also took blood test and SA test for hubby yesterday. We're now waiting for the results to be out on Thur. And he'll discuss with us what is the next step. I think I'm only going for IUI cos he didn't ask me to take clomid or injections. He said that as long as I can O on my own, he'll only be doing the insemenation on CD15 or CD16.

I'm very new to all these and I'm quite blur. Don't know what is the normal practice for IUI. So now I just follow what the doc told me lor. But I still can't decide whether to go for IUI or just to take medication for hubby and try on our own.

Hi Peacy,

I am gg for my 1st one within the next few days (depending my follicle now) ...I am very worried and anxious but I keep telling myself to relax as stress/anxiety won't do any good to my body.

Hi hopeful,

My hubby's test didn't turn out good, count was about 4% and the good ones aren't many.

I was screened for the common fertility problems too - and results were ok.

My gynae suggested I do SO-IUI to increase the chances with more "eggs", because since we are working on it, lets work on both of you. But she left the choice to me as it would cost more, and I decided to maximise my chance as my biological clock is ticking fast already.

Last night I watch the show "your health" on CNA, as what the consultant said, normally the gynae will approach step by step ...from the easiest to the more difficult (and more ex)

Dun worry, perhaps you only need IUI and thereafter ... you strike!

Hi annie,
thanks for sharing.
Gynae also said that I got no problem. But now still waiting for hubby's results. Don't mind me asking, how old are you? And how long have you try?

I also hope that I'll strike after just one try, won't be able to take it financially if I have to try too many times.

Btw, do you know if we can claim the cost from medisave? How to go about doing it?

hopeful,

i am 32 this year. We tried for 8-9mths, I tot of trying for at least a year but I am afraid if I delay my eggs quality will drop further.
We have wasted one year before that because we wanted to enjoy ourselves first.

You can't claim medisave for IUI, only for IVF you can.

Hi hopeful

Thanks for sharing your story. Some REs will start you on clomid alone to try try first as a first step. Then move on to IUI. If you think that you do not want to waste any more time, IUI will be a wise choice.

Dun be discourage. Bear in mind that low good quality sperms doesn't mean no chance. There are alot of such examples and they did strike with IUI oso

Hi annie,
me too, waited for 1 year after marriage then start trying, at that time thought very easy to get pregnant one, so naive....

Hi tomatoes,
I have already taken 4 cycles of clomid from my previous gynae. Still no use, that's why moved on to another specialist, cos my previous gynae does not do IUI/IVF.
Thanks for the encouragement, hope that I'll be like you, strike on the first try.

Anyone is under KKH as a subsidised patient? How is their service?

hi hopeful,

I delayed one year because wasn't mentally ready to have a bb then ... now that I ready, well, will try my best.

Hi hopeful,

I was formally a subsidised patient at KKH. They usually assign u to a group of 2-3 docs and u will see either one of them during your visits. I was quite lucky cos I was assigned to the group consisting of a Snr Consultant and a Consultant. Service from the Snr Consultant and Consultant are ok, no diff from seeing them as a pte patient. But one thing is that they may get their MO to handle your case if the queue for that day is long. MOs are really terrible, can't explain cases well, and they way they talk is not very tactful. As a pte patient, u will get to see your gynae every visit, no matter how busy they are. Are u considering of going to KKH?

Hi chemistry,
Thanks. I'm thinking of going to KKH cos cost is really a big factor for me. Is the difference a lot for subsidised patient as compared to private patient of KKH? So did you changed to a private patient in KKH? You concieved on first try also right?

Hi hopeful,

Cost is a lot of diff. I remembered my 1st bill was $180+ for consultation, blood test, scan, pap smear etc but I only have to pay $60 only. But then, once all test are completed and if u are referred for IUI or IVF, there will be no subsidy anymore. However, u will still have a choice to remain as a subsidised patient when u conceived on IUI or IVF.

For me, I suceeded at 1st try and I had from then converted to a pte patient. Now, I seeing the snr consultant who attended to me when I was a subsidised patient.

Hi chemistry
Did you succeed on the first try of IUI or IVF? If it is IUI,what are the factors that contribute to the success? Thanks!

Hi peacy,

I was on IVF. But think the factors should be about the same, i.e. be positive, dun stress yourself and avoid cooling stuff.

Hi Annie..
Good Luck and All the best for your IUI !! Tomorrow is your big day, after enduring all the jabs ....

Hi Annie
Good Luck!

Hi Chemistry

Thanks for your advice! I have been telling myself to relax and don't think too much. Really hope that I can succeed this round.

Have anyone of you have this feeling of cramp 10 days before your menses is due? I am experiencing this right now. I think I have fail again.

Hi peacy,
don't worry too much, stress is no good for TTC. There's nothing you can do now except wait, nobody knows what is going on inside. Don't think negative, you may have strike. Must have hope. Did your gynae follow up with you after u did IUI?

I have decided not to go for IUI for the moment, think I'm not prepared yet.

Hi hopeful

So far I did not have any follow appt with my doc. You are right. I should not give myself too much stress. Thank you!

tomatoes, hopeful, ET, westbb, chemisrty, gloria, peacy and kissbb,

IUI was carried out on Friday - as hubby's SA is not very good, we were advised that IUI to be repeated on next day, Sat.

We took the advice, because ... since my eggs are there ...might as well make full use of it, as I also think the same way since there's a "window" of time there for a "chance".

Actually, the SA on Sat was slightly better ... so keeping my fingers crossed.

But I was feeling very very bloated on Sat.
But I felt better by Sun, and now ... normal.

Btw, I was given the progestrone pressary ... although I tried to lift up my hips with a pillow and slept for 30mins on it after insertion ... it still leak ... is it normal? :p

As for the appointment 2 weeks later - what is it about?

Hi annie
My gynae had never arrange a follow up with me after my IUI. Does that mean that my gynae is not good?

Hi annie,

Lots of baby dust to u and hope to hear good news from you 2 wks later.

Hi Chemistry,

What is your dosage for the stimulation jab? Mine was quite high at 300iu. I was prescribe 7 boxes of puregon that will last me till thu. Fri morning will go back for review. The nurse ask me to bring back the used cartridges so they can help jab using the 100iu left in each cartidges. just wondering how they are going to jab me. dont know is it three shots or they draw out all the leftover from each cartidges and give me a single shot. hopefully it is the latter, otherwise, I gonna take 4 jabs for that day including Lucrin.

Hi peacy,

Though she ask me to go back to see her but I forgot to ask her "why". I was still on the bed, but feeling rather sleepy then so forgot to ask. She got the nurse to book the appt for me.

I am not sure if the appt is necessary, it's my first IUI and I am not sure what to expect.

Maybe the rest of the gals can advise???

hi ET,

I hope so.
Meanwhile I try not to think about it.

Your dosage is quite high ya? Hope they can combine the remaining ones for you and do it in single jab.

Hi annie, glad the IUI went well for u. the progesterone pressary - are u referring to those creamy inserts for vaginal? yes it leaks quite a bit for me if i used at night too. surprisingly, i find that it leaks much less if i used in the morning instead. maybe u can try.

Hi ET,

My dosage is 300iu for 1 week and then adjusted to 250iu for another 3 days. My FSH was a bit high and my gynae was concern that I may not generate enough eggs with the std 200iu dosage. So that's why the high dosage. I did generate a lot of eggs, but my ovaries were swollen for a long time, think till 7-8th week of my pregnancy. As for the leftover, they will have to jab 3 times of 100ml.

hi westbb,

ya ya ..those inserts. :D

but the prescription indicate to insert at night ...so I am not sure if I should do in the morning .. I tot night is better as I am lying down to sleep after that. :p

hi annie, yeah initially nurse#1 told me use at night cos lying down will leak less. then nurse#2 said use in morning cos movements will make it easier to be absorbed in. so i just try lor :p

hi chemistry,
so on the day of review, i only need to bring 3 cartridges to kkivf and the injection pen? the nurse will do it for me?
btw, will the lucrin be enough to last us till the day of ER? my lucrin will last me till next mon which is my day 11 of puregon. what happen if it is not enough? do we have to buy a new bottle just for a few more day of injection?

Hi ET,

Yes, just bring along 3-4 used cartridges to KKIVF on your day of review. Gynae will advise the dosage after your scan. I actually have to buy another 2 cartridges after my review. But because the nurse help to use those remaining dose, I ended up with 1 new cartridge left after the programme

Hi Peacy,

The progestrone was given to support the lining of the womb for implantation (if successful).

But our body does produces progestrone too.

Don't worry too much, because each patient has different condition so gynae might not apply the same "rule" on everyone.

Maybe your gynae thinks that it's not necessary for you. But if you are in doubt, maybe ask him/her on your next visit?

Hi ET,

My 1st bottle of Lucrin is just enough to last me exactly till the last jab. Altogether, I think i took Puregon for 11 days.

Hi Chemistry,

during the programe, we dont get to see our RE at all? According to the nurse, any doctor who is on duty during our review day will attend to us. Our RE will usually attend to us personally only during the ER &amp; ET. Can we request to see our own RE on the day of review?