lingling,
If yo're going for scan and BT this Thurs, you'll only know the BT result on Thurs aftn. If everything ok, maybe they'll ask you to come back on Fri or something to purchase the Puregon and teach you how to do the jabs.

Sunflower/Greenie,
If you do not have regular menses, note that you must indicate it to the nurses. I remembered when I just sign up, it was myself who told the nurse that I have irregular menses so she gave me a different protocol chart.

Lingling/Boon Boon,
Both of you working in Raffles place? I'm working in Raffles place too!

Hi Ladies ,

Today is a big day for Eskimobaby, Nicole , green muffin and i think sharon too.. Wish them all the best for BFP when results are out this afternoon.. Best of luck, gals !

Ya orangey, we both working in raffles place. You want meet us for lunch later?

sunflower, I am 28 this yr. how about you? I am going to the same dr as you.

Eskimobaby, Nicole , green muffin, sharon, good luck to your report.

Develyn, you are like our coordinator for this thread.

Sunflower,
My menses cycle used to be really messy. During my teenage years (sec sch), my AF seems to be like 3 months once and I think it was because I'm overly obese that time. Think 1.5m and 62kg. After I start to lose weight, it gets slightly better maybe 2 mths. Only till after I got married, it became like 1.5mths and after my HSG, every month on time but you know sometimes it will still be irregular so I just want to be safe and take microgynon.

Dilemmagal,

Prolactin is hormone produced by our pituitary gland for the purpose of lactation during pregnancy. But non pregnant ladies usually have a small amount present in their blood stream at all times. Beside its relation to pregnancy and breast feeding, Prolactin is essentially also a stress hormone that is produced by our bodies to relax us whenever we feel stress. Therefore, for non-pregnant women like us, stress is one of the causes of prolactin. Our bodies can sense that we are very stressed and produces more prolactin to help us cope. (see how intelligent our bodies are!). There are other causes as well but from what you described, it seems that your prolactin is a tad over the normal range, so I believe stress is a likely cause. I have read cases when prolactin is 3x more than maximum normal value and for that, the doctor will suggest a MRI to check for benign tumors in the pituitary gland. Hyperthyroidism can cause that too. But as I have said, for values that are just a tad above normal, its usually not caused by tumors. Mine was very close to the maximum normal limit.

Effects of prolactin: difficulties with ovulation leads to irregular menses and for more serious cases, no ovulation. As high prolactin often lead to a deficiency of estrogen and progesterone (you can find estrogen in your FSH test under the estradiol name), it will manifest itself also in thin menses and probably a short luteal phase. Do you have any of these signs? I suppose that is often why people say that stress can also cause irregular menses, its just that no one has ever written a it in simpler form including all the hormone names to explain it.

So Dilemmagal, from what you described, you are under great stress from work. May I strongly suggest to you that by hook or by crook, try to tell yourself to manage your stress level. I understand you may have very demanding bosses or cols, but keep telling yourself that you cannot be too stressed, a job is a job and making baby is your priority now. I know its easier said than than but if I can do it, you can too. My cycle started going haywire but I did not associate it with stress at first. It was only after dr peter chew did a fsh blood test for me that when I saw the high prolactin figure that I went to research. Than I looked back and analysed and associate the irregular menses to too much stress. After I started to manage stress and eat better, cycle is much better now! So your fsh test result is telling you that you must slow down, treat yourself well and find the best way to balance the demands from fighting fire at work. You have twins too look after too? I know its easier said than done, but since now you know you need to lower your prolactin (stress), you are on the right track already.

When you go for your next prolactin test, try not to have sex for three days prior, some clinics advise patients to avoid breast stimulation one day prior as that increases prolactin. Also, on that day, keep yourself relaxed to get an accurate test result. Sorry for the long post because I feel very strongly when you described your case as I was in that situation before and it is sometime that can definitely be improved and I hope you became more relaxed. Hope you get better and your healthy FSH result is a bonus!
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hyperprolactinaemia

Develyn,
Heheeehee..in future when I also "vo….t", I will use the word merlion too..so creative! Keeekeee.

Wah your babies are so big liao..heheeee..hope they grow up fast and healthy and your subsequent months gets better and better..

Serene,
Good to hear from you. Maybe you should take pictures of your poor bruised skin and show to your No.2 when he/she grows up to tell your baby how much you love him/her..heeeee..

Miracle_Baby,
Agree with Boonboon that want we want to start, no point concern about the age as it will just be another distraction and just leave it to dr to decide on the dosage. You are not old at all. I heard from my mum that an overseas celebrity did ivf at 44 or something and she succeeded! Nicole Kidman and Julia Roberts too right if I not wrong.

Die,
All the best to the start of your program and hope it can bring you baby(s) home!

Good luck to our girls who are getting the BT test today...

Eskimobaby, Nicole , green muffin, sharon, good luck , all the best!

Orangey,

oh ya, think you told me before, forget again keke..

Ling,

im same age as you

gd luck for those getting bt results today!! Bfp bfp!!

Develyn
How is yr ohss getting along? Feeling better liao?
I read that pregnancy hormones can make ohss more uncomfortable.. Did dr give u any med for ohss? Or there is no med for ohss.. Need it to clear by itself?
Btw may i ask whether u are pcos? Cos i read pcos have high risk in getting ohss.. The gals here who got ohss are pcos also?

Eskimobaby, Nicole, Green Muffin, Sharon
All the best!! Keep us updated!! BFP BFP BFP BFP!!!

I went to kkivf this morning and was shocked to see the waiting room packed at 8am!! Is it the norm? Wow..

Anyway, the nurse said my mense is regular so no need to take any meds or BCP. Just report on 21st day to learn how to self-inject and start Lucrin.

Last two days abit PMS..hubby also stress.. don't know how if it gets worse during IVF with all the drugs and such..

Hi Ling Ling ,

Thanks woa.. haha.. maybr after long journey... i really hope many gets BFP and smooth journey too..

Hi Babygalore ,

Where got big..
Tomorrow is 9weeks only.. 3 more weeks to 2nd Trimester.. hope to get there and feel better..

Hi baby79,

My ohss is getting better except that the ovaries are still swelling now.. No med can be given except to let time heal.. I m not pcos case.. pcos should has a slightly higher chance of ohss.. depending on their dosage as well.. mine is due to 30follicles retrieved.

Eskimobaby, Nicole, Green Muffin, Sharon, wish you all the best for your results! bring baby dust to us!! Good luck good luck!!!

I have irregular menses (sometimes half a year once) so, I am also on Microgynon. Some say that Microgynon is used to regulate menses but why do we need to regulate our menses since we are going for ivf? Does anybody know why?

Hi May,
I think it is because you need have your menses during your lucrin before you can start Puregon.
Ladies, is that correct?

May, I think is because we need to jab Lurcin before mense and start puregon at a certain stage. But we need to clear our mense first. If our mense is irregular, its very hard to start lucrin.

develyn, 3 weeks is very fast one. dont worry so much and take care. Do you have any idea what is the side effect for OHSS? I got PCOS so i am a bit scare.

Sunflower, this is ur 1st cycle?

Orangey,which stage are you now? sorry my memory not very good. We can meet up for lunch sometime this week/next.

hi serene,
hope he recovers soon. This could be due to the starting stage of school that his immune system is building up. When my boy first enter childcare at 18mths, he had regular illness (mixture of cough, flu or fever) for about 6 months. Then immunity build up after that. Do bear with this for awhile.

Hi Eskimobaby, Nicole , green muffin and Sharon,
BFP!! keep us updated.

Develyn
No med is given to relieve the pain at least? Then did dr say roughly how long does it take for the ohss to go away? Cos when u are more into pregnancy there wil b more hormones.. Wouldnt it make the ohss worst?
May i know yr puregon dosage? Yr ohss comes after the er or et? Cos i heard its the hsg pregynl injection aft et that may lead to ohss.. Usually if more follicles are retrieved.. Pregynl injection usually nt given.. There is bt taken before et to check whether got ohss or nt is it?

Lingling,
Today will be my 5th Lucrin jab. Maybe we can meet up for lunch when I'm back from my Taiwan trip. That will probably be 7th July! Okay?

thank you for all the blessings! So glad that today is finally here. The 2WW was like 2months so long. Have been losing sleep because of today. Just got back from KK. Results will be out around 1pm.

MIA during the 2WW because my mood was like roller coaster. One moment happy one moment sad due to the anxiety of the outcome.

Eskimobaby,
Hope u are feeling ok. Saw u n your hubby this morning, u dun look too well. So didn't want to disturb u. But u saw me. I was smiling at u when u come n drop the form for BT

Hi Lina,
u are right. I have been looking at the time every few minutes to see if it's 1pm already.

I really hope that miracle will happen. Because i have tested BFN at home. .. anyway, ya, only a few hours left. I shall stay positive. Thanks

Green Muffin

O I jus saw u hpt negative. But when u do it? Maybe hormone level nt strong enough yet. Blood test more accurate. I have known many pple hpt negative then the following wk test again positive arldy. So stay positive ok.

I'm offline for few days due to flu bugs.

Develyn,
Thanks. Yap ur good under Dr Loh golden fingers.

Boonboon
I'm on lucrin stage. I just went for BT(estradiol) today and i'm supposed to do the infection test but they can't do it because i still have some bleeding. I have to wait for the nurse call to advise when is the scan and starting of stage 2 injections.

Eskimobaby
Yap its true we need to be comfy and at least now i'm comfy with this gynae.

Iwan5bbs
Estradiol test is the test to confirm whether the lucrin is working or not. in another way are you suppressed or not. then they will advise more. but i'm not sure the level cos only today i just took the same BT.

Any of u suffering from spotting a few days during lucrin stage?

Hi die,

haha.. ya, keeping myself very busy now, msn, reading this thread and playing games all at the same time.

Ya, i have done the HTP, but -ve .

thx for the well wishes! Appreciate! Me too like green muffin tested hpt -ve also on sat and today! Hence, now keeping myself busy here as well.

Can u believe it today nurse almost can't find my blood vein. Nurse Yean tried my rite hand then later ask me go drink so water 1st and later nurse phua did it for me again. SO kan cheong until blood vein also disappear, haha!

Die, u were at kk today? What were u wearing? I left at abt 8am.

Hi sisters-Just to update my progress, as expected no really good so now my dosage is increased to 700iu from today.
I am not sad just hope that the 4 follicles will grow and the quality are good. After 5 days the size are 13.5,10,9 and 6 only. Anyway, when I have time will read the posting. Today very busy and later has to meet Lingling and Serene for lunch :>

Boon Booon,

did u drink chicken essence and eat kampung chicken egg white? They helps a lot, Dr ZOu also recommends kampung chicken eggs.

Orangey, we can meet when you are back. Please take good care of yourself becoz Taiwan also got H1N1.

Nicole,green muffin, dont worry so much. We all praying for you. can we do it when during AF? I am suppose to take BT and scan this thursday and my AF came today.

Missfairylady, what is infection test?

Dear Develyn

At least the babies are more than 1 cm liao and that to me are big and strong babies
…I still remember Boonboon's baby development list and think by now your babies have developed many features liao leh..like Lingling said, three weeks will past in a flash. May you ovaries become more soothed day by day. When you go and buy those sexy maternity clothes, do tell us k

Dream and ladies
I was researching on what nuts/seed has the most protein and least fats and pumpkin seeds tops the list. http://www.brighthub.com/health/diet-nutrition/articles/36298.aspx

Serene
Wish your son has a speedy recovery.

Green Muffin and Nicole,
all the best..all the best!

Dear Eskimobaby, Nicole, Green Muffin, Sharon

All the best for your BT today.....BFP wishes all round!!!

I had my second Acc session yesterday at Dr Zou and still quite painful for me. I also had to wait almost an hour....hai poor hubby was waiting in the hot coffee shop sweating bucket. I hope no more blue black patches appear.....Do we need to have Acc twice a week.....? Can the Acc really help? Need to find some motivation to continue with the torture sessions.

Boonboon,
The 13.5mm, 10mm and 9mm follicles are very promising and the rest will catch up. Many sisters (serene I remember) BFP with one good one. I think your progress is good liao. Read serene's son is sick so maybe cannot do lunch. You check with her yah..enjoy your lunch with Lingling..

Hey boon boon,

dun worry too much. Just continue your chicken essense and egg white intake and water, will help. I remember some sisters also have small follicles initially, but in the end all grew big enough for ER. Furthermore with the increase of dosage, your follices will definitely grow bigger.

Jude,

try to talk to Dr Zou and distract yourself wif music or bks when she starts then u will not feel so stress. I think it does help so try to bear wif it,ok?

jude

try not to focus too much on dr zou when she is pricking u. try reading a book or playing games (on PSP and NDS) when she is poking u. then not so pain already.

hi boon boon,
stay positive, the follicles will grow.

hi jude,
you can ask hubby to sit at the tv area, at least got aircon.

hi nicole,
all the best. BFP!

Babygalore-Thanks. I also hope so. As long as enough follicles to transfer I think I am happy, of course, the nurse and I hope that the 4 can retreived and fertilized at the end..
Ya, saw Lingling message and will be going to Vivo and meet Serene later..

Green Muffin-I hope so, the nurse mentioned the ideal size for the follicle should be between 18-20mm so I hope by then all the 4 will catuch up in time and follow-up fertilized...Yes, I will continue to take chicken essense and egg white.

Eskimobaby, Nicole , green muffin, sharon - BFP to u n be +ive

babygalore - gr8 that we wld be on the same month for our next try so we can become cycle buddies N jia you 2gether

boon boon - wow, tts a high dosage... will keep u in my prayers and hopefully u eggs will grow well .... do continue to take the essence of chicken k

Green Muffin-Just read some of the posting. You are at KK this morning? me too. Anyway, wish you BFP and pls continue to stay postivie..

Lingling22

The infection test is the cultur aerobic pyogenic organism. I dont know what is it but the nurse said its to check whether we get infection there after the lucrin injection.

Lina-Thanks. I will continue to try the best for the result..

ZaZa-It is high but I think my respond is not good as i don't feel anything. That is why they are growing slow and no many..Anyway, hope for the best.