zaza,
thanks... yeah.. very much better...

happy,
really glad to see your post and your encouragement... you must be a great mummy now

fond,
it's really brave of you for not crying and be brave in front of your hubby and your frens... but sometimes it's ok to let ur emotions run over u especially in front of ur hubby... these treatments are supposed to draw both of u closer.. even tho he'll also be stressed when u cry but at least he knows how u feel... we may not need solutions from our hubbies just a shoulder to cry on... just let him know that...

when i was hospitalised, there was this other lady same age as me who was admitted into the same ward a day after me. she was there for a cyst surgery. She just registered her marriage in march this yr and customary in dec... after surgery, seems like doc told her that one of her tubes may be blocked and her ovaries are sticking to her intestines which doc suggest that she takes some medication that will cause her menopausal symptoms for 3 - 6 months.. i was telling myself that i may be slightly more fortunate than her...she seems to be taking it very well... i was there because of OHSS and my only worry is whether i will get pregnant or not.. i'm not trying to gloat over others misfortune but just thankful that i was able to go thru this ivf smoothly...

when I was young, I took fertlity for granted.
I was enjoying my freedom and didnt heed the advise of the elders - get married and have kids early.

When i realise the danger of aging, it seems to be too late ......

If given the chance to turn back the clock, I'll not be as picky, I'll marry my husband early and start TTC right away .......

Now cry also no tears .....

having said all the above, i slept for abt 5 hrs last nite and then i couldn't sleep anymore.. keep tossing and turning and worrying whether i'll have my BFP in abt a week's time...

any idea when can i start testing my urine before BT? will the inserts affect the urine test?

Fond,

Don't be disheartened and don't give up. If you persevere because you want it badly enough, you will surely succeed. Be strong.

I was able to conceive naturally 4 times but miscarriage each time. I had to do D & C four times. Now, I have a phobia and keep relieving the scene when I was pregnant and went for scan and the doc could not detect a heartbeat. My heart was broken four times.

BFN is better than miscarriage because you can try again. I don't know how many miscarriage my body can take until it breaks down or until the doc says to give up. Also with each mc, the chances of a successful pregnancy gets slimmer while with BFN and each subsequent IVF try, your chances increase.

Take heart and be strong. Only if you want it badly enough. I am not giving up. I'm currently waiting for my menses to arrive to start my 1st IVF at KK this month. You try again too ;) Evert attempt brings new hope.

Hi Lina ,

Yupz.. she tried for years and took even bank loans.. she is a very determine lady.. Extremely.. Now she has a complete family and so happy each day she play with her kids.. total salute..

Hi Eskimobaby ,

Sorry, please advise when is your ET and are u on progesterone (Utrogestrone)? No HCG pregnyl jab involve right ? If no HCG jab involve , u can use HPT to test at D12 after ET.

Hi Die ,

I believe just one IVF can shows u if there is a problem with the sperms/eggs or say like embryo.. u have great chance as u are pregnant before.. at least in IVF , they choose the best for u.. Plus u will also be able to know your lining range.. each problem can be resolved.. Babies' dust to u..

develyn,
my ET is 5 june... nope.. i didn't have any hcg jab after ET... the only pregnyl jab i have is the trigger jab i had for ER.. but i'm on Utrogestrone inserts 3 times a day... so i can still test at D12 after ET?

i'm really afraid of seeing BFN... sigh... never seen a BFP on a urine test strip before... always BFN...

Lina, Greenie and Vinwee,
Dr Zou put me on her endo herbal medication yesterday n advised me to hold on to July's IVF slot until later this month. Guess she doesn't want me to miss this chance since the appt has already been set. So Greenie, I'm still in July until Dr Zou confirms that my body is still not okay yet.

Vinwee, I always drink warm water tt's why it's puzzling.

zaza,
the pillow looks really cool.. but i'm not BFP yet.. and if i get this and put on the bed i dun think my hubby will have anywhere else to sleep.. kekekeke

good morning ladies, did anyone attend the counselling session with the social worker on your ivf journey? is it helpful? I am with kkivf, is this counselling session is also avaiable to NUH and SGH.

zaza,

develyn,
ok.. thanks! hope i have the courage to test..

may,
for me, i thot it was useful.. cos the counsellor will put things into perspective for u and also i thot it was good for my hubby too cos he was clearer abt his responsibilities and what he needs to do during our ivf journey...

babydream, i was the same, taking fertility for granted when I was younger, wanted to enjoy married couplehood. I am married for 9 years and have been trying for the past 5 years,

I am 34 now, think it's even more difficult to get pregnant, given that I only ovulate twice a year and my hubby is stationed overseas which doesn't help. So after much consideration, I have left my job to join him on the baby making process but still unable to conceive, so now back in SG to embark on the ivf program.

I find that this forum is really very helpful in support and information sharing, especially the optimism and encouragement by the sisters here to mother wannabes. Thanks a lot!

Congrats to those who BFP and wish all the best to those who are trying! Keeping my fingers crossed for myself too!

eskimobaby, oic, I was actually thinking of skipping the counselling but now i think it would be good to attend to let my hubby know what his responsibilities are.

Hi May ,

Yes , all hospitals will have a pre-counselling before u start IVF programme.. ermm i find it not useful ..The moment when u decided to do IVF .. no matter how much ppl says is mentally stressful..etc .. u are still going to do it.. 34 is a good age to do it now.. accept the journey with open mind.. is not 100% successful BUT u know u have did your best to form a complete family.. u know wat i mean right..

2558765.jpg

Hi Ladies ,

Sierra has just done her ET this morning.. Transferred 2 embies and now resting at home..
Let us pray for her to get BFP and MTB very soon! Sierra , u have a big support from us.. Hugz!

develyn, i think i will leave it to my hubby to decide whether he wants to attend, personally, i am not too keen. ya, it's not 100%, in fact, only 30-40% success rate, but i have been following this thread and read so many good news, keeps my hopes high but no worries, have have lor, don't have don't have lor, since have not been having for the past 9 years....

sierra, take care and rest well k, all the best to you!!

Happy -Your posting encourage me alot. Even thought I think I am positive but sometime my mind will go to opposite (just like this morning when I wake up and suddenly I was thinking if I have no follicles how....). However after reading your post, my low spirit back to normal. Regardless the result, I should not give up..

Fond-Don't be sad, I am sure you are not alone. So let's continue to pray and work toward our dream..

Develyn-Yes, when I heard fr Dr Zou that you wanted to give up because of OHSS, pity that you are sufferring so much. But now seeing you back again and very happy for you.. Pls continue to motivate us and support us. I hope I can join you BFP and we go bb shopping together ya :>

Babygalore-Thank u so much, I indeed need to under your root, your muscles and energy pls...:>

Hi May - good spirit ! Keep your mind open for the result.. lesser stress = higher chance!

Hi Boon Boon ,

Yupz .. gotta give up last Sunday.. really cannot take it liao.. but gets better on Monday and started posting.. oh plsss.. u better 100% BFP.. i am waiting for Libby, Fresh, Tany, Humburg & YOU to get BFP.. wanna buy this :

2559064.jpg

may - I attend the counselling with my DH and it was ok. The nurse shows us some slides and afterwhich we had a private session with the nurses to ask any possible questions
It is compulsory for IVF couples to attend the session @ SGH

Hi May, I am also 34 years old, tried for 5, 6 years. Took fertility for granted.. sigh

Happy, and other ladies, thanks for your sharing, it is really encouraging. I can't imagine anyone going through so many cycles, pain, regular visits at 24 hr clinic etc. I don't think I can take these all. You gals have my admiration, and I pray that all of us will be successful MTBs soon, and for those new MTBS, they will not go through what we have gone through.

Fond, don't give up. There are many here in forum who will support you. All brave gals.

Hi ladies, I am a little confused with the many abbreviations used. Can anyone tell me where to find definition for these and more of them? ;p

BT
BFN
FET
BFP
OHSS - why life-threatening?
ICSI

Hi Fond,

Read your story and seems like we share similar heartache.

I was also one of those that left too late to start TTC (36+ now). We have been married for 10 years and TTC for the last 4-5 years. We went through like 5 doctors (Thomson, gleneagles, Paragon and finally now at KK). I had a successful BFP with IUI in 07 but that ended in a D & C as no heartbeat. we went on to our first IVF try but no viable embryo to transfer. I cried buckets when the doctor said that it could be a genetic problem from me. We decided to TCM for 1 year and tried our 2nd IVF this May. Result was BFN and I only had 1 embryo (not so good grade) for transfer.

I seem to be those that don't response well to Puregon or maybe I really have some genetic defects and cannot produce healthy eggs.....high FSH level (10).

Hubby has been very supportive but I still feel very bad as seem the problem is me! But we have decided to move forward and try again. I will be meeting Dr Loh tom and review the results as well as see if any other options available.

We would very much want to have our own baby but we are open to the option of adopting if I still cannot conceive by 40.

Sorry for being long winded but just wanted to share my story.

To the other ladies, thanks for sharing your stories and your encouraging words. Those BNP ladies are my motivation.

Hi Despondent ,

I am one new MTBs that have suffered through what others are suffering now.. married when 22.. tried until 25 even with clomid help.. and tried 1st IVF at 25, pregnant and MC... another whack fresh IVF cycle when 26 and now just pregnant for 7weeks+.. Journey is long and tedious.. but your days of being mummy will be nearer if u dun give up.. So jia you !

BT - Blood Test
BFN - Big Fat Negative
FET - Frozen embryo Transfer
BFP - Big Fat Positive
OHSS - http://www.ivf.com/ohss.html
ICSI - When they inject the sperm into the eggs. This is a process different from IVF.

Hope this helps..

BT: blood test
BFN: big fat negative
BFP: big fat positive
FET: frozen embryo transfer
OHSS:eek:varian hyperstimulation syndrome
ICSI:intracytoplasmic sperm injection

hi, have a quick question for you. when the nurses at KKH tell the number on the day of ER, is that number of follicles or eggs? cos they didnt explain to me and I presume they were number of eggs? but some of you mentioned that not all follicles contain an egg.. I come to realized that it might be number of follicles instead. Can someone explain to me?

Hi develyn,

what a cute baby all wrap up in that yellow moo moo towel. haaaa.. you will have to get 2 or else bbs will fight.

I WILL JOIN YOU SOON. WAIT FOR ME.... AM COMING....

Hi sierra,

glad that you have finally gone through the ER and ET and are now in your 2ww. please do take care of yourself. It's your privilege to ask your hubby to do household chores for you now. hee hee...

do share your BFP result, k?

Hi Bunny ,

U will only know the no. of fertilized embies during ET.. Yes, not 100% of follicles contains eggs..

Hi Fresh ,

Come Come Come.. sprinkle u with babies' dust!

2559199.jpg

Develyn,

Twins will be so cute... you hoping for girls or boys? They will be fraternal twins, so possible one boy, one girl? Then you can close shop ;)
I am so envious.. Thanks for your baby dust.. More..more...more

Hi Meow ,

I am feeling better from Monday .. hope this remains... Pray hard.. pass 1st trimester smoothly.. Already suffer alotss for the past weeks.. exhausted liao...

Wow its ready so encouraging in this forum, all of you are so sweet.Seeing so many encouraging word, i am more determin to start IVF.
Thanks you everybody

arh.. what's ER and ET now? :p HI Bunny and Devlyn, thanks for the quick help! Really appreciates that as it helps me to catch up on the forum.

By the way, just some sharing about me. I have gone for 3 pte gynaes (or 2 as the 2nd one was absolutely useless except to scare me). The 2 didn't discover what's wrong with us, except maybe irregular menses for me and low morphology (is that the right term for right shapes of sperm?) which they said were all alright! They gave me Femarra and clomid, laproscopy and then went for TCM.. all didnt seem to help. Now a friend recommends come chinese herbs from M'sia for DH, and me bai feng wan.. not sure if all these will work. So, after this cycle, I will go for IVF. However, it appears that if I want to try in Aug, it's not guaranteed that I can, looking at queue and probably some pre-tests?? Oh dear, how much time in advance should I see a gynae so that I don't miss yet another precious cycle?? And I have yet to identify a good gynae! Though Dr Loh seems the popular one in this thread, it appears that the Q is super long? And if he is so popular, means that I can't have my appts in the early morning before proceeding to work? How do u ladies juggle b/w these appts and work?? vex vex vex.. so many questions (I AM SORRY..)

Hi Die ,

Boys or Girls does not matter much.. healthy can liao.. and definately close shop after this.. sorry cos i dun have a nice journey for the past few weeks.. so i wont want to go thru that again.. just hope smooth sailing till delivery..

Develyn-Thanks. We all can go & shop for bb and ourselves. BTW, I like yellow le, my favour color is yellow. Yesterday went out with friends for makan because I finished earlier so have to wait for them for about 2 hours. I thought i would shop alot and end up only with one yellow pajamas to prepare myself stay at home during 2ww :>

ER = Eggs Retrieval
ET = Eggs Transfer

If Dr Loh queue is bad.. u might want to choose Dr Sadhana.. try to stick to one gynae who do IVF and follow thru' till delivery.. If not, then think abt SGH for Dr Yong / Dr Yu.. both are as nice.. Hmm NUH will be Prof. PC Wong..

Above are the most recommended gynae so far..

When u are doing IVF in KK , all the jabs/bloodtest are all in the morning and u will only see your gynae during ER & ET unless u requested to consult some issues..

When doing IVF .. Babies first.. work second..
Dun get stress up btw both... it will be fine.

Hope this help..

Hi Boon Boon ,

Must buy those loose loose or dress type okie

I am really excited.. all my closest ones are on the way to BFP .. I am boring alone.. u all faster come and join me.. especially those 1st time mummies... we will be dummies lor.. keke..