fandz,
is it? i thot with OHSS they won't do the ET? that's wat the pamphlet say... anyway my OHSS symptoms have subsided... it was really bad yesterday after ER.. every step i take can feel the pain in the lower tummy..

my ET is tomorrow.. but i've not asked whether have to lie down flat or can sleep on sides... but yesterday after my ER cos of the pain i couldn't lie on my sides... i'm used to sleeping on sides hugging my bolster kekeke...

nicole,
all the best to ur ET today!
they didn't say anything except that dun expect all 31 eggs to be fertilized which i also expected.. guess so many eggs sure have some that will not have matured.... will only know the quality of the embryos tomorrow morning before my ET.

tnt, zaza,
... keeping my fingers crossed for tomorrow's ET.

brownie,
dun be sad... just wait for the blood test and see how... *patpat*

boon boon and die,

which stage are u at now?

daffodils,

You are indeed very lucky to have a supportive and understanding family around you.

Hey sisters here,

really a BIG thank you for all your support, esp the last few days. It has been a roller coaster ride for me and without you girls here, I would have gone bonkers.

I just want to pray for wisdom to allow me to make the right decisions on how to move on.

daffodils,

cos I've already used up my 3 times medisave deduction; 1 for fresh cycle and 2 for FETs. Their FET is so ex, abt 7K.

since govt has subsidies, I guess my choice is to switch to a govt hospital; which I've chosen KKivf. KKivf FET is only about $1.5K and fresh cycle about $9-12K. A BIG difference to me lor.

gals,
can i check if ur DH went in with u for ET? or wait outside... i saw that we can get hubby to go in for ET.. dunno if i wanna ask him to go in or wait outside..

is it too late now if i order tingkat for lunch now starting from next monday since my ET is tomorrow?

daffodils,

I must add that although the price differs a lot, the service also differs too.

CARE, as a private has more personnel touch than KKivf. At CARE, Dr paul will do all scannings and review and they do monitor you closely but for KK, it's like their everyday event.

Thus, you have to weigh which one is more important.

daffodils,
let the tears come... it's never easy to get over something that we yearn so much for.. give urself time... i think ur hubby also hope that u can be both mentally and physically ready instead of rushing into FET... so take ur time..

eskimobaby,

yeah. dh can accompany you into ET room. I guess it's never too late to call for tingkat now. Remember, some of the 'liang' food, we can't take during 2ww. Is it better to opt for confinement food?

fresh,
do u know which are the caterers providing confinement food? someone recommended house of catering here... i saw their tingkat menu.. seems not bad and they use low salt, low cholesterol and vegetable oil... but i'm also not sure wat are the liang food... is old cucumber soup liang?

fresh:

I like the service and the ppl at CARE leh... they are always so welcome to give advice and lend a listening ear. Don't need to q too long too. Yeah.. they are a bit ex but really no choice for us cos hubby and I cannot afford the time to wait at kkh due to our job nature. The timing at CARE is more accomodating.

hi juju,
thanks. Did you try confinement catering? i wonder if it taste good.

hi eskimobaby,
all the best for your ET. Rest well during 2ww. You could try calling tingkat, should be able to start immediately. They will sometimes collect cash or cheque on the 1st day of meal.

hi brownie and daffodils,
stay positive.

December,

A nurse told me this 'Be patience. God has plan for everyone' I was a bit angry at 1st but few days later when I calmed down I told myself I must wait patiently, God will give me baby in his time.' Have a good discussion with your partner. I am sure there is a way out. I will pray for both of you. Hugz.

Daffodils,
At the same time while you are contemplating the next step of FET (also good to contemplate next step as it’s a new step forward and brings new hope for your eventual BFP), give yourself a pat on the back for surviving this trying IVF ok..you sure can BFP in the near future..

Brownie77, all the best for you too..am sure can BFP eventually..

Serene,
the more tired you are, it means your pregnancy hormones are growing day by day. Don’t say you, I am not pregnant and already feel low energy sometimes..heeeheee…Take care and come back and visit whenever u free..

Tomatoes,
I am sorry about what has happened. Be strong. After your D&C, still must avoid all cold food, try to eat more fish. Actually I don’t find it very necessary to eat so much ginger food which I think might have resulted in my very haywire menses after that. (I over-ate ginger stuff). Eat more well cooked fish, avoid anything raw, only drink boiled water, best its to drink reddates cum longgan cum dangsheng drink but if its inconvenient due to your inlaws, at least try to drink boiled water and even mineral water that will replenish your nutrients. Also drink chicken essence in the morning and whenever you can, eat black-chicken soup that is commonly sold in foodcourts. Hope you recover soon.

Chupchip,
Welcome. I am going to do program with NUH. Like the sisters said, main diff is the waiting time. NUH can start straight away but KK must queue. In terms of protocols, the main difference is that KK gives more support during 2WW with blood test while NUH relies on inserts. Plus points for NUH is that prof wong will do the scans for patients while at KK, Dr Loh does not do the scans probably because he is really very busy. One suggestion is that you make an appointment to see the two of them and from them, see who you are more comfortable with.

eskimobaby,

I've gotten a list here from someone:

<font size="+1">Examples of Cooling and Heaty Food</font>

<font size="-1">Cool (Yin) Food</font>
Bamboo shoot, banana, bitter gourd, clam, crab, grapefruit, lettuce, persimmon, salt, seaweed, star fruit, sugar cane, water chestnut, watermelon, lotus root, cucumber, barley, bean curd, chicken egg white, marjoram, oyster, pear, peppermint, radish, strawberry, tangerine, and yogurt, broccoli, cauliflower, zuccini, corn, tomatoes, pineapple, turmeric.

<font size="-1">Neutral (Balance Yin and Yang) Food</font>
Corn, abalone, apricot, beef, beetroot, black fungus, carp, carrot, celery, chicken egg yolk, cuttlefish, duck, fig, honey, kidney bean, lotus fruit and seed, milk, olive, oyster, papaya, pork, potato, pumpkin, radish leaf, red bean, plum, sunflower seed, sweet rice, sweet potato, white fungus, yellow soybean, brussels sprouts, snow peas, sweet potato, taro, dates, figs, raspberries, raisins, sage, rosemary, thyme, brown rice, apple.

<font size="-1">Heaty (Yang) Food</font>
Pepper, cinnamon bark, ginger, soybean oil, red and green pepper, chicken, apricot seed, brown sugar, cherry, chestnut, chive, cinnamon twig, clove, coconut, coffee, coriander (Chinese parsley), date, dillseed, eel, garlic, grapefruit peel, green onion, guava, ham, leaf mustard, leek, longan, mutton, nutmeg, peach, raspberry, rosemary, shrimp, spearmint, sweet basil, tobacco, vinegar, walnut, jackfruit, durian, leek, shallots, spring onion, , apricots, blackberries, black

fresh,
thanks for the list!

i think some of the cool food can be neutralise.. for example if cool lotus root soup and u put dates in to neutralise

Tnt &amp; ZaZa-Thanks!

Fresh-I am not at any stage now, will only start when AF report. Anyway hope for the best. And thks for your food list.

chicken egg white is included as 'cool' food, but I thought it's supposed to be good for 2ww? Should we be taking heaty food during 2ww?

I've also heard that taking DHEA is good to improve quality of eggs, anyone taking it so far? Shd we be taking it during stage 2 only or even during 2ww?

anyone with experience in taking DHEA?

Can any ladies repost the Dos and Donts for IVF?
I cant seem to find it
Starting Lucrin soon so going to monitor and discpline myself. Thanks in advance!

Dos and Donts
Stage 1 (Lucrin/Suprefact)

- Cut off cold drinks
- water intake 2L/day
- drink DOM to build up the body
- chicken essence X 1 3x/week
- egg white x 1 daily
- Gentle rotation in circle motion clockwise after you have jab your abdomen.
- If painful - try to sooth the area you are injecting with hot towel, the skin will become less tense

Stage 2 (Puregon / Gonal-F)

- Ensure milk or Anmum milk
- chicken essence x 1 alternate day
- Soya products (high proetin food)
- egg whites x 2
- water intake 2L/day
- Brazil nuts

Stage 3 (2WW)
- increase egg whites intake
- Ensure milk or Anmum milk
- 2-3 pieces of Brazil nuts daily, some take 5 pcs per day.
- can also take sunflower seed, pumkin seed, and flax seed
- water intake 2L/day
- No pineapple and water melon
- No squatting or carrying of heavy weights (anything that stresses the abdominal muscle)
- No hot sauna or soaking of lower half body in bathtub
- No intercourse
- Do not stand or sit in a position (infront PC)too long. Good to walk a bit to promote circulation
- No raw food and avoid oily and spicy foods as it may cause an upset stomach. High hormone levels cause bloatedness and hence add to discomfort
- No strenuous exercise
- No other medication (eg. TCM) other than those given by your Dr

3 day transfer-
1dpt ..embryo is growing and developing
2dpt... Embryo is now a blastocyst
3dpt....Blastocyst hatches out of shell on this day
4dpt.. Blastocyst attaches to a site on the uterine lining
5dpt.. Implantation begins,as the blastocyst begins to bury in the lining
6dpt.. Implantation process continues and morula buries deeper in the lining
7dpt.. Morula is completely inmplanted in the lining and has placenta cells &amp; fetal cells
8dpt...Placenta cells begin to secret HCG in the blood
9dpt...More HCG is produced as fetus develops
10dpt and above...More HCG is produced as fetus develops

Eskimobaby
Congrats on many follicles retrieved, hope you have many good quality eggs fertilised. Good luck for your ET tom.

Nicole
All the best for your ER today.

Brownie
Take care..

Daffodils
Pray for the best, okie.

Jas
Woa.. the success rate is even higher than IVF.. But how come it's not as popular.. i mean i never heard of it before..

Do you know the cost? Has any of your catholic friend tried this?

Thanks for sharing this.

Hi Missfairylady,
I'm starting Lucrin on 18th June. Another 15 days to go!
Now so scared, cause my dept ah.. we have different regions - Asia, Emea and US.

Apparently, a few of my US colleagues got pregnant and they miscarriage (out of 3, 2 miscarriage).
That was a couple of years ago though. My colleagues was telling me its quite scary. Sian lah, why they tell me this
Anyway, they asked me not to reveal anything until I go into 2nd trimester (3 months) so hopefully everything goes well for me!

Hi Libby,
nope i have not, she sent me the link, but she is not married. Seems popular in UK though. I might call up to ask if this cycle fails .

Orangey

Dont let them make you feel down. Just try your luck, who knows you are of them who strikes. All the best.

As for me i'm scared of injections only. How i wish there is a way that i dont feel anything during the injection.

Missfairylady,
Yah lor, I won't think too much and be as positive as I can

Don't worry too much about the injections. I heard the lucrin needles are very fine so just relax. I have been telling myself this as for puregon, the nurse showed it to me before and it looks like a pen so sort of can "suppress" our fear by not letting us see the needles? Hee hee..

Missfairylady, Orangey
My advise for Lucrin jab, is to use the loose packet one instead of the box one. The needle is much finer, less pain.

Jas
Be positive, your this cycle with BFP.

Hi missfairlady,

Dun worry about the injections, the needle for lucrin is pretty fine. The nurse will do/show you how to do the 1st jab. Try to jab on the part where u have the most fats around your tummy area and you won't feel anything

Lina,

Just FYI, besides storage, I also need to pay extra charges for ICSI, Eggs Collections (lab preparation), Albumin &amp; etc....wow...

daffodils,

In my 1st FET, after discussion with embryologist, I opted D5 transfer (blastocyst) hence they thawed 8 embryos.

This time, again, after discussion with embryologist, they thawed remaining 10 embryos.

hi faith,
oh wow, so much extras to pay. But is worth it. The rest of the frozen embryos must keep and try again after you deliver. Then worth the money paid.
Do you have any pregnancy symptoms now? morning sickness, etc?