Boonboon,

Thanks for your reassurance, I am trying your method too. Because I realised that even if eat a lot of herbs or medicine, if our body does not work hand in hand with good stress management and nutrition, its back to square one.

Serene,
Same here. In early twenties, got to use several pads in one day. Once reach late twenties, flow lessened. I still remember I kind of felt happy then as was no longer so messy and having children was not a concern yet. Now think of it, I was really silly. It was a signal that fertility was at its prime during mid twenties. But lets not be negative, since we know now, all the more must take good care of body, eat well. You rest and makan well ok..

Hope_bb,
I am not in a good position to advice you as I also have thin menses and could be due hormones or miscarriage previously. Nevertheless, it could be that your system is still trying to adjust back after all the hormones from IVF. So try to eat balance diet and drinks lots of water to detox your system and do ask dr foong about it so he notes it for your next cycle.

Dream
Heee…me not nutritionist
paiseh, still earnestly reading and I also learn a lot from you ladies here. Yes, your hair fall is most likely due to hormones and personally, I also experienced phases when hair falls a lot and it often stablises after a while. As you do not want to use medicated shampoo during 2WW, what you can do is really cut down on food with msg, such as instant noodles and any processed food with high salt content. In any case, you should not eat such food during 2WW or pregnant..must remember..

Yes, Dream, diet change is likely to impact our egg quality and ovulatory health. This is the summary from the fertility diet that is relevant for you:

"Eat Slow Digesting Carbohydrates, Not No Carbohydrates at All
The Nurses' Health Study revealed that women who ate easily digested carbohydrates (also know as fast carbs) such as sugared sodas, potatoes and white bread increased their odds of contracting ovulatory infertility.
However, those subjects who consumed slowly digested carbohydrates (slow carbs) which are rich in fiber found their fertility improved. These slow carbs include whole fruits, dark breads, brown rice and beans. Not forgetting that in NTUC, you can find wholemeal pasta! Its brown in color.

In short, the reason carbohydrates impact on fertility is because they determine the blood-sugar and insulin levels. When these rise to higher levels, they disrupt the hormones needed for reproduction and therefore disrupt ovulation leading to ovulatory infertility."

So Dream, the answer to your question is yes, you must not deprive your body of carbo but be selective.Try to lose weight slowly and safely. As far as possible, stick to wholemeal bread, if can, eat brown rice instead of white rice. If your hubby finds brown rice very hard, can compromise and mix brown rice with white rice to cook. If you eat slow carbs, you will find that you don't go hungry so fast and in that case, won't overeat and put on on too much weight.

Another very IMPORTANT finding: for ladies here who like to eat zero fat milk, yogurt and skim milk, go easy on them because they will affect ovulation. The reason is that skim milk is obtained from whole milk by seperating out the fat and during such process, all the essential hormones including progrestrone and estrogen were taken out. What is left is prolactin. And when we eat all this zero fat diary, we are cosuming food that is an imbalance hormones that is bad for us. It does not take a lot to upside hormonal balance. In fact, studies show that for woman who are trying to conceive, its better to take whole milk that has a better balance of hormones. Makes a lot of sense as cow's milk was originally meant to nourish baby cows who need all the right nutrients and hormones to grow. Its we human who are too smart, went to alter the natural balance of food thinking its good. It might be good for people who are not trying to conceive and want to lose weight, but maybe not so good for us who dread hormonal imbalance.

Wow Babygalore, I really salute you. You got so many info. Thanks to you now we also can be knowledgeable. I better go back to my work before someone finds out that I'm surfing instead of working. Catch you girls later.

Pari/ Gloria,
I used to have recurrent vaginal infections. Though it is different from UTI, the ways to cure or prevent it are similar.
Can try plum vinegar, very effective. I bought from EYS and drank everyday... it helps to boost immune system and make sure the ratio of the good and bad bacterias in the intestines are of healthy ratio. Lots of benefits to consume fruit vinegar in fact. But if have any gastric problem, must be careful with the consumption. Btw, the fruit vinegar is not acidic which many pple misunderstood. It is in fact highly alkaline when inside the gastric and intestines.

Bliss, I also have recurrent virginal yeast infection. But sinec my IVF (touch wood) this 2 months don't have.Maybe I will buy the plum vinegar. Tks for your suggestion

Pari,
I am hoping to try acu..but maybe only in a few months time, nearer to program that time.

Pari/Gloria,

yeah, think like Dream suggest, cranberry helps to prevent/lessen UTI. If u want to try, think GNC sells cranberry pills or essence. Those fruit tr*e juices might not work so well as those are not actually as pure as claimed. And I learn something new about plum vinegar from Bliss, sounds workable since vinegar is anti-bacterial in nature. Yogurt works too. Personally, I suffered fr yeast before and I ate the st paul's natural yogurt from ntuc (they have the natural type and zero fat type and avoid the latter as cautioned earlier) for about 2 weeks, then cured. It does not taste good at all, quite sour but that is good as bacteria and yeast on with sugar and u certainly don't want to feed them more.

My sister's account many years ago: she suffered from UTI and dr gave her two doses of anti-biotics but did not work. But once she started exercising every alternative days, it went away on its own. She thinks her immunity overcome it. My mum's account: also UTI, took two courses of antibiotic but did not work and dr gave her injection, now cure. So if you want to cure naturally, try natural ways include cranberry, plum vinegar n yogurt but it could take a while to cure and might not work for very serious case. Fast way will be injection. Work very fast but need to see doctor. Problem is dr usually prefer to treat by giving anti-biotic first as so-called less invasive. Also build immunity to prevent relapse.

Pari/Gloria,
I was prescribed lacto fort capsules by my previous gynae in the past too...which contain lots of good bacteria. This is to help to increase the good bacteria in the body. This does help too, for UTI or yeast infection. I notice that lacto fort capsules can now be bought at outside pharmacies already, no need to get from gynae only.

Babygalore, Bliss, Tks for your info. Gloria will read your replies when she gets back from work today as her office cannot surf net. Me now no mood to work hehehe

Hi Babydream,

My gynae, Dr loh didn't know that i'm taking tcm when i was doing ivf cos didn't get a chance to meet up with him or check with him. Only get to see him during ET. Dr Loh told me tat my endometrosis is back cos during ER, he sucked out some brownish discharge from my ovaries. Hmm about the chinese herbs, i also didn't really know if it works cos just trust dr zou lor cos she said many of her patients in S'pore and China are consuming it and it works very well for them.

Hi Lina,
Dr Loh just advised me to go ahead with FET. The only way to temporary get rid of endo is either thro laproscopy or lucrin shots. But all these are only temporary as it will still come back. The best and safest method is to get pregnant cos then menses will stop for 9mths and the womb will get its rest and the endo will shrink along the way. Currently i'm having mixed feelings on going for another round of FET cos its basically emotionally draining during the 2ww wait and my hb feels that I may not be ready for another round of disappointment.
2472926.gif

Babygalore,
I knew you had the response for everything! thanks for searching for information and typing it there. I guess I need to start reintroduce wholemeal bread/brown rice in my diet. Will get some wholemeal bread. I am really tired of eating eggs every morning! I also read can not eat cheese. What about the cheese that we use for toast? the squarish one? I usually buy the President?

I wonder whether my eggs quality would have been different if I had some carbs. When I did my first IVF, I also had poor eggs and was also on no carb. That seems to be the only way for me to loose weight.

Regarding yeast infection, I find drinking yakult or vitagen helps. Or you may want to try this feminine wash called Lactacyd, readily available at pharmacies...

hi gloria
hehe...was went to zzz liao when u posted me the message...ok i m taking the DHA (it contains DHA 250mg and EPA 150mg) in brown bottle one..i took two softgel daily as told by the GNC supervisor...
alternatively u can also take the other fish oil soft gel(double strength) it contains DHA 240mg and EPA 360mg, tis only need to take once daily...

hi pari,
continue to try natural with accu and exercise. As there are still medication in body after your last try so you might still strike.

hi chris,
for FET, do go for it with an open mind. As doctor put success rate at 20%, so you just set lower target, in case of disappointment will not be high. The cost is low so you don't need to worry about it. And no pain involved so much smoother process. Keep yourself relax during 2ww. It would be good to try now to prevent your endo from coming back. Always remember that more tries might mean more failures but this will make one stronger. Did Dr Loh give a date for you to start?

hi brownie29 and babygalore
dun mention it...
is meant to share ma..

hi bwownie29, babydream and nicole
r u gals with dr loh /kkh also?

hi nicole and sierra
hav u gals started puregon stage already?

hi bliss and mel
wish u all have a smooth delivery and rmb to post ur prince baby/ies here ok

hi Yong Wei and Babygalore,
i've bot the GNC brown bottle DHA. got member price from a friend $23.60 for 60 softgels. i took one right after lunch.
was told the white bottle is purely DHA without EPA contents. cost $68, i think.

hi WY, good to rest more. best if u can stay away from the stressors of work... wait til afetr 1st trimester lar...

hi JuJu, thanks for highlighting. will take celery moderately. Canberra Park must be the one that has came out in the papers before, right? gotto wait for Catherine to response lar...

Dream Dream, miss me ah? ha ha... so now u know lah - certain things must cherish! ai yo yo... dun worry lar, u have a super active Serene cycling besides u lei...enjoy her company, ok, before she goes back to work next week (am i right, Serene)!

Dream, my FSH is 9.6. but Prof started me on 225, then upgrade to 300 lei... dunno y lei...

Develyn, your signs very obvious lei... that's very encouraging. rest more, ok.

Hi yongwei,

yes, sierra and I are under Dr Loh at kk. Sierra disappear liao, din see her her for very long already. Think she is starting her puregon today and I am starting tmr. What about you?

Anyone heard from sierra?

hi ladies..

stopped posting for a while cos nothing to update also.. cos hvnt even started my cycle..

hope everyone is feeling fine.. all healthy mummy to bes

Gloria
yes yes missing you! And seems next week I would be alone! Wonder what happened to all the sisters! May be they started new threads! Ah ah ah

Nicole
good luck on your puregon. Once you start it, everything moves very fast. Before you know it you will be doing er and et. I remember I started my puregon while you started your lucrin! Good luck. Rest well. I felt very tired under puregon. What is your dosage?

Gloria
just wanted to share that my dosage was 375 iu and my FSH at 6+. But i am older than you...What is their plan for your next ivf?

hi nicole
so u be starting ur puregon tmr liao..stage 2 very crucial....so ur AF reported liao?
reali wonder where is tis sierra...hehe

hi gloria
ok good..then u must start taking at least two softgels/day ...then u on any multivit?

hi meow
r u also with nuh ? r u doing any accup / tcm since ur cycle starting soon

hi faith?
how is everything? r u approching ER soon?

hi daffodils
if i not wrong u on gonal f rite? wat is the dosage? and how many days to go before ER?

hi Babydreamzy
was remember u mention u had bleeding and cramp while u on puregon? how is thing getting on?

Gloria ah gloria! miss miss you leh... i didnt really post a lot today cos was watching HK serial to whole day... kekekeke! Just finished 1 DVD and going to ZZzzz liao! good nite all!

Halo Sisters!
Good Morning!

Dear Online Nurses
I din take any supplemament lei? Is it ok? I only take folic acid + dr Zou's medicine, is enough for me? As i have asthma any advise can take pills?

Hi Gloria and dream
Was on 375IU of gonalF and my FSH was 4.1, think age is one of a factor for the dosage of stimuation med..

Hi Develyn
A good sign lei! All the best of luck this friday

Hi Chris
Go with your heart, if u feels that u r ready, then just go for it...Dun rush yourself...

Hi Bliss and Mel
Praying that both of u have a smooth delivery without experience any pain..Jia You!

Mel
Wishing U A Advance Happy Birthday To U! May Both of bbs n you In Good Health!

Anyone can help me? I need to get more info..

Currently i am doing accu with Dr Zou, how long before FET shld i do accu?

and if i decide to do accu in Nov/Dec is it the suitable time - if count from now?

usually before FET what happened? must wait for AF first?

sorry too many question..must prepare myself before 'superior' ask too many questions ah...

thank u...can sms me also at 82825932...thank u so much in advance...

hi yong wei

i am with nuh, prof wong. u also?

i didn't do any TCM or accu before my cycle. actually went to tong ji hosp for tcm and got some meds to brew lah.but she said must tiao the body at least 3 mths before ivf wor, so i am already late in seeking tcm help..... and also cos it's always a long wait at tnog ji.. so i nvr go liao..

is it a better to go tcm before starting ivf?
i feel that prof wong dun support tcm.. any one felt the same way?

noi
you always impress me with your early message! So without fail you will wake up with your DH. Still romantic! Your FSH level is really good.

Serene
no wonder did not see u posting much! Enjoy the show!

Bliss
wishing you a smooth delivery too but still one more week to go right?

Gloria and pari
Another 3 more days before the week end. The hardest part was done. Did your colleague ask you details about the operation ? What did you say? Gloria, are you sure dr will also give 2 weeks mc for cyst removal? It seems a lot to me.

Hi Meow, I'm with Prof at NUH and just failed my 1st try at IVF. I checked with Prof whether can do accu and TCM. He was alright about it, told me that TCM must be stopped before injections, as I will be doing the antagonist cycle the next round he told me to stop TCM once I get my AF. As for accu he said can continue even when having injection right up to day of ET like the sisters here do.

Dream, yeah at least its midweek. My office knew why I was away as my boss' wife will also be embarking on IVF this month they are supportive, even asked when I will go for my 2nd round when I got back. For cyst removal op, I got 2 wks MC in Jan

Yongwei,

I went for vs and bt this morning the nurse says hospital will call later in the afternoon to let me know when to buy puregon base on vs and bt results. I tot I can get it after the test (as in this morning). Yah, AF reported on time. Yah, dunno where's sierra.......

Dream

thx, r u under kkivf and dr loh also?

Chris, these 1 month plus, I have been busy with work and so I have not been posting in this thread. But I have been thinking and thinking if I should go for another round of IVF (FET). I have made the appointment to do FET in May after the orange alert is lifted. Went for 2 scans so far and FET supposed to be scheduled on this thursday. But last minute, I decided not to go for FET due to work committment. And I feel that I am not prepared for another round of IVF as I have no confidence that I will succeed for the frozen cycle. Discussed with my hubby and he advised me to go for FET when I am ready. Seriously I don't know when I will be ready. But I have decided not to go for any more fresh cycle should the frozen cycle failed.

Go with your heart. If you want to give it another try, then just go for it. But if you are not ready yet (like me), then I would advise you to put it on hold first. You need to feel positive during the whole process, especially during the 2WW.

Dream-good luck to u and hope to hear your BFP soon.

Meow-like Pari mentioned, normally Dr will not agreed to take TCM together with IVF drug. So if you decide to take TCM, it is best to stop it before the program (of course we do have sisters continue taking TCM and get BFP (Lina) so really depend on your own decision). As for Accu, It should be safe.

Develyn-Wish you all the best and BFP soon ya:>

Hi Pari,
Its very good that you taking up a antagonist protocol. My case is also quite similar to your case but Dr never changed my protocol for my second cycle. And the respose was even more worse than the first cycel I got only one egg, rest of all very small and thus converted to iui and that cycle failed too. Looks like i was a poor candidate for long protocol. Later the nurse said its over suppression to my ovaries and that's why it was a bad response.
I am very glad Prof spotted the problem and let you try the antagonist cycle. Wish you all the best.
I never tried acupuncture. How is your experience with acu and tcm? Dr told me not to try TCM but can try acupuncture.
Best wishes!

Dream and ladies

Good morning. No problem at all. Glad info is of help. You can still eat your diary food and cheese, just cut back on fat free and low fat ones. I am not sure if the president brand is fat free but you might be able to find small prints on the label that tells you. Otherwise, you can take a full fat brand (eg, kraft and ntuc generic brand) and compare the fat per serving to determine the formula for the president brand you are buying. Yesterday I was at ntuc diary section and almost all the yogurt are low fat/fat free with the exception of two brands for babies (baby recommended to take full fat) and the paul's brand.

Dream, don't give up on carbo altogether, yeah, switch to wholemeal bread. For losing weight, have you cut back totally on tidbits and snacking and all softdrinks. Those are key culprits too.

Gloria,
Great that you found right DHA. I have not bought from GNC yet. Going to eat the bottle I have still unopened in the fridge.

Meow,
I will also be doing program on prof. And his instructions about TCM for me is exactly the same as Pari's.

Baby-I hope you are fine now. I know it is hard to tell people don't take the whole process (IVF) so hard especially working women and stress from in-law/friends but I hope after you settle down and more ready you can reconsider. Meantime, take a break.

Rosypink

Who is your dr? Although I have not started on program yet, my friends who did it, drs will review their protocols for them the next round. You might really want to highlight to your dr if can review if you are sticking with him/her.

Hi baby09,
I totally agree with you. Doing yet another fresh cycle is not a joke. I hope your FET will definitely strike. I wish you all the best for your FET. Be positive

babygalore,

I am with Dr loh. Dr advised me to try next cycle with antagonist cycle. I don't know why they didn't change my protocol for my second cycle. First cycle i got 8 follicles and my bad luck only one got fertilized and it failed later. I can't blame the anybody as i was a poor responder to drugs. MY second cycle i have been taking 600 iu puregon but still i got only one egg. Doctors can only try as its a 'trial and error'. when i asked the nurse will i respond well for a defferent protocol, she said its very hard to comment on that.

Chris-Listen to your body. If you feel you are fine (Hormone, Energy, Soul etc), same as Lina I will encourage u to go with open mind and try your FET. But if you think you can't take whatever answer then it is better for you to rest a bit further. However, ultimately we hope you will get over it and stay positive to face the issue.

pari,
you are lucky to have such an understanding boss and caring colleagues. That must help you to release some stress. I think it helps that your boss is going thru the same and hence he is more understanding. That s your lucky star. My hubby worries a lot about me not going to work for so long in this crisis since both of our work not really stable. But I thought it is now or never as time is moving fast. I did not tell my boss or colleagues and don't intend to. I don't want the additional stress. Good to hear that cyst removal also gives 2 weeks mc. Can you share with me what is the operation like in case I habe busy body colleagues who ask me. Op under GA as well and it is like our ER. Did you have to go for follow up visit? Thanks for sharing. Want to make sure I got my story right!

Nicole
I am under dr lc foong at gleneagles. You are in good hands. Most sisters here are under him.

Baby
I agree that you need to go through it when you are ready mentally. The 2 ww is really the hardest because you can't do anything but hope. At least during the injection stage you can feel in control but after that it is out of our hands. You have a supporting hubby and that is really good. Take your time but don't wait too long either. Good luck to you

Rosypink-Dr Loh is good but with too many patients sometime some patient get less attentive, this is the one of the demerit points at KK IVF centre (I feel). Anyway, I hope your next try will be smooth and sucessful one.

babygalore
decided to reintroduce some wholemeal bread in my diet as I am really scared of my hair loss. Hope that will help. When I was working (before this 2ww) I really stopped all snacks and sweet drinks, even the diet coke as they say that the taste will trigger sugar craving. I was really disciplined over the last 5 months but I may have overdone it since my hair loss is terrible. I lost about 17 of in 4 months. Did not loose any weight in may as I tried to eat more protein for the ivf. Which other snacks do you recommend? Is it ok to take nuts and the dry raisins? Thought it could help with implantation. Also heard from my SIL that it is ok to take 2 digestive biscuits as snack. What do you think? I want to eat healthier but I am afraid I will lost control again and my weight will ballon again.

Can you also tell me which food and fruits are good to take during these 2 weeks. I am really bad and done know what is cold and hot. Thanks

Boon boon
thanks for the wishes. You are starting in the middle of the year right?

Sisters
I remember Reading about heatpad in the forum but did not pay much attention to it then. Can you let me know which one is ok from Watson? Yesterday had bad cramp. Don't know whether it was due to dragonfruit I hate for my constipation. Is it ok to eat dragonfruit? Babygalore, anything in your book on this?
Boon boon

Dream, I did my cyst removal in NUH. It was a laproscopy procedure under GA and day surgery. A week after my surgery I had follow up with DR. Hope that should be fine enough for your office. I know its tough times now, all of us have to safeguard our positions. All the best to you and BFP dusts to you so you will be happy when you get back to work. I have decided to quit my work when I start my next cycle, hopefully I will be relaxed when I go for my next cycle.

Rosypink, I just started accu with Dr Zou at AMK. Alot of sisters here go to her she comes highly recommended. The accu is $25 for 40 mins. I have been advised to go 2x a wk for accu and take TCM. However I have not started TCM will have to wait for my AF before I start my TCM I guess. So far I have finished 2 sessions of accu its alright. If you are going you should bring your reports to go thro with TCM DR. Good luck to you.

Dream, Can I check with you, Is this your 1st attempt at IVF, why did LC Foong put you on the antagonist cycle? This may help me for my next cycle. Tks

hi pari

so u mean.. we need to stop TCM meds before injections.. but then we can do accu while doing ivf la.

any rec for accu then?

i very scared cos it's my 1st ivf.