Boon Boon,
Thanks for the reply. Yes, your analysis is very valid. I think what happened for me was that TCM did not work for me, or maybe it’s the TCM treatment what my previous doctor gave did not work for me. My bbt chart was perfect in the first two months of TCM but into the subsequent months of TCM, it did not help me anymore. But just want to let the sisters here know that if you feel that TCM works for you, take by all means as I have heard a lot of successful stories with TCM. But it is also true that TCM can alter the hormonal test reasons as shown by my recent blood tests.

So probably a conclusion on the issue I have raised is:

1. If you feel that TCM works for you (stabilises ur hormones in the long term), start TCM/acu before the program to nourish your body into good form to prepare for IVF
2. For my type that sees hormones fluctuates widely while on and later off TCM, maybe I will not do TCM or it will prevent the gynae from seeing what is actually wrong with me and what drug dosage to give me.

I visited NUH and told dr that I want to start with IVF under them. But I have not decided which to start, could even be later this year due to work comittment. Prof was good, as you ladies said, professional and wise. And I was briefed about the protocols by the nurses too.

Gloria and Pari,
I see your point. Yes, it seems that NUH does have the protocol of doing checks and supporting the lining during the 2WW. I am worried about that too. As I read that KK does it and I have read some old records that ladies who did it under Christopher Chen has to go back every two days during the 2WW to check for lining. One lady was diag with very low estrogen level (both estrogen and progrestrone work hand in hand to support the pregnancy) and she was given injections which in term thickens her lining and she succeeded on her first turn. (But of course, cannot conclude that that was the reason for her success, for one thing, think she was very young, around mid-twenty or so). So when the chance arise, I will also want to ask prof about the support for the 2WW.

Boon,

oh sorry I tot u hv had 1 cycle before. I must have mixed u up with another lady. Yah, I have been to Dr Zou since mid April twice a week too. Couldn't ask her yet cos AF just reported yesterday, my next appt with her is supposed to be tmr but may cancel cos she says heavy days dun accu. What are the days u go accu?

Hi Ladies, I printed this out and pasted on my wall. Look at it whenever feel down. Its what is needed for IVF warriors:

Don't Quit
When things go wrong, as they sometimes will,
When the road you're trudging seems all uphill,
When the funds are low and the debts are high,
And you want to smile, but you have to sigh,
When care is pressing you down a bit,
Rest, if you must, but don't you quit.

Life is queer with its twists and turns,
As every one of us sometimes learns,
And many a failure turns about,
When he might have won had he stuck it out;
Don't give up though the pace seems slow--
You may succeed with another blow.

Often the goal is nearer than,
It seems to a faint and faltering man,
Often the struggler has given up,
When he might have captured the victor's cup,
And he learned too late when the night slipped down,
How close he was to the golden crown.

Success is failure turned inside out--
The silver tint of the clouds of doubt,
And you never can tell how close you are,
It may be near when it seems so far,
So stick to the fight when you're hardest hit--
It's when things seem worst that you must not quit.

- Author unknown

Nicole-If u didn't get the answer, I will help u to check on Sun. Normally I didn't fix which day to go just "Su Ka Su ka" but will try to go twice. Next week maybe will try Thur (becos going to in-law house for dinner).

Babygalore-I think I am the same tpye as u, not respond well to chinese herb (this is told by my previous TCM). That is why I also stop TCM but continuing with Accp ( for blood circulation).
It is indeed important to plan the schedule if we are working. Meantime, take a rest first and then slowly plan to start the program again.

Hi noi,
My mum is unable to help me. She is taking care of my niece. How I wish she is free...arghhhhh...

Hi Lina,
I will consider tingkat. You also ordered tingkat in your 2ww?

Hi Gloria,
I am so sorry for you. Pls take good care of yourself. What is your next plan?

Hi dream,
Pls have good rest after ER. When is your ET?

babydreams
thanks for sharing your story and as the sisters say, ivf is a trial and error for the DR but also for us. What is positive is that you responded well to puregon. May be the dosage was too high and that a why the eggs developped so fast. As the nurse said it is the medicine that do the work and not your egg whites. So do not feel bad. When was your first scan and how often did you do the scan? Did the DR change your dosage at any point in time?

Strawmany
please remain positive.

Libby
Have you gone for your BT?

thank you for all your wishes and encouragement. Just reached home about 2:30 pm. Was a long day since woke up at 5:30 am and could not sleep well at night as I was afraid to oversleep. ER went well. Was under GA so can't recall much. "woke" up in the OR and the nurse was there. Then transferred back into the room where I had to stay 4 hours before dr discharge. They kept taking my blood pressure. May be bcos mine was very low 89 something. Don't really know what it means. Was given antibiotics, progesterone suppository and some other medicine. Dr will call back tomorrow to update on eggs fertilization. Crossing fingers. ET most likely Saturday. Considered day 2 or day 3 transfer?

Mel
thanks for babydust. They are sticking with me!

Lina
excited for you. A different kind of 2 ww!

Hi Dream,

It is actually the egg whites that is making the eggs grow so fast. The nurse told me not to take any "extra" food cos the medicine shd be able to work on its own. The doctor did not change my dosage. I was on puregon 200 and when i went for my first scan, directly have to go for er cos the egg grows so fast and big already.

And during the review, the doc said my eggs were v sticky by nature..where in actual fact, it shd not be that sticky. Then we conclude it must be the effect of raw egg whites cos..raw egg whites are sticky and slimy...

dream,
If I am not wrong is day 3. Try to rest as much as you can and pls stay relax. Everything will be fine. Jia you!!!

Baby dreamzy
I did not imagine that white eggs could have such effect. I tried to take 1 or 2 per days but got quite tired of it. Took chicken essence instead as I thought this will also give me protein. Which day was your first scan? Mine was on day 5. Don't give up now. Although it is difficult now, try to look at the positive. You can produce eggs but dosage and egg whites were wrong. Next one will be much better. Did your DR share with you your FSH level?

Faith
just woke up from my nap. Having dry throat due to GA.

Equinox
I just had my ER and also can not lie down on the side. Too painful when I lie on the side. But yours is ET stage. May be the ovaries are too sensitive now

Hi baby dreamzy, i have to say to u dun give up. If u try at least there is a 40% chance, if u dun try ur chance is o%. Dun care abt wat ppl or even internet say after 3 tries equals very low chance. There r also alot of ppl who BFP at 4 or 5 tries. I agrees with fresh, if u give up means u r letting go ur dream of being a mummy. God have its own plan, when ur bb is ready he will give it to u. Tell urself gv it one or two more shots, at least when u r old u will not regret.....
U mean dr say ur embies r sticky coz of the egg whites? I tot we r advised to take egg whites?

Boon Boon,
Totally agree, we need to play by ear if things work or not work for us. Like u, when I start the program, most likely just do acu for better blood circulation.

Bliss, you will be "popping" soon!...sorry, just joined this thread so a bit lost who is doing what..All the best to you.

Gloria and Pari, can you share with me whenever you have any opinion on the support for the 2WW at NUH because I have an lining issue too and NUH is where I have signed up for the program. Thanks in advance!

Baby dreamy, where did u do ur previous ivf? If u switch to govt, u still can enjoy the 3 times of co funding and govt charges r lower so not so much cash payment.

Baby dreamzy, yeah, agree with lyn, don't give up. As long as your means allow, don't give up. Leave no room for regrets..

Actually I am quite confused about the egg white thing. One nurse told me that don't have to eat egg white if there are no signs of over stimulation. But I have been reading that must eat egg white for the follicles to grow. So must eat and cannot eat? Can advise? Thanks.

hi catherine
still keep my finger cross ..

hi Babydreamzy
thanks for sharing ur 1st ivf experience...wat is ur stage currently?

Hey Ladies,

Libby has slight bleeding so she is CRIB now so will not be able to access the forum for today and tomorrow. I will let her tell all of you more when she is back.

Steven,

I would think the best person to ask is your wife. She should be able to tell you which doctor she is comfortable with. Actually no matter where we do IVF, we all need some luck cause each of us will face our own symptoms. Yes, waiting is one problem. If you really do not wish to wait long, you can try the private hospitals which will not be entitled the government subsidy
Hope you can work this out with your wife soon and embark on the ivf journey

Hello Babydreamz,

Am not too sure if it's the egg white that caused you to have the eggs growing too fast or the eggs to be sticky. Cos from what I understand, egg white in it's most natural form ie as raw as possible, is a good source of albumin. Taking albumin I think is to prevent OHSS after retrieval. My dr mentioned that if the patient is going to have many many eggs, it is more likely she'll get OHSS. She'll get her patients to eat egg white only near retrieval and after to replenish the lost of protein when the eggs are removed....

You could have been over stimulated with the purgeon instead. You may want to ask your Dr when you're having your review.

Hi dream,
My blood test was fine..thats why the doctor gives me dosage of 200 and also because of my age. I am 27. I had my scan on the 5/6 days of puregon.

Hi Lyn,
Even the doctor was suprised to see that my egg quality was sticky where in actual fact it shd not be. It was my hub who pointed out that it might be due to the raw egg whites. The nurse said that we shd not be eating raw food cos it may consists of bacteria and cause serious stomach upset. Even the dr agrees. I always thot that eating raw egg whites can help me grow more follicles but it doesnt. And when i bleed, my blood was also kinda of slimy...which i conclude might be due to the effects of the egg white too. Haiz.

Even the doc said raw egg whites + milk are normally eaten by body builders cause they need to grow muscles. Which i think make sense..i gain a few kilo cos of that...muscles and eggs are totally diff.

Hi daffodils,

I think if eating raw egg whites after er make sense cause u need to replenish the protein lost. But i guess shd not be eating too much raw egg whites during puregon..cos puregon on its own shd be able to grow the follicles..cos that is the purpose of it right? We could eat food such as chicken, fish which are also rich in protein other than depending on raw egg whites...

And i thot over stimulated means you have lots of eggs right? i only have 10 eggs retrieved.
Mine is not overstimulated but cos of too fast growth..

hi humbug
i still go accup once/week ya..just tat my timing is ard 5pm from tis week onwards as i off duty and can straight go accup from my workplace...

hi libby
now u need many rest and hopes ur embryo stick tight tight to u

babydreamzy

since you have started your 2nd cycle, don't think about the past anymore... it would affect your mood, your hormones.... if you don't believe in egg whites anymore, don't take it liao...

guess everybody's body condition is different, thus different things have different effects on the body... like many sisters here say, IVF is a combination of trial & error, timing, some luck and other factors which are sometimes unpredictable....

most importantly, you must have a confident and positive mindset now...

Hi Pau le,

Yes, i agree with you..i guess what past is past. Recalling on how i can eat the raw egg whites really make me want to puke liao..hehe..Now i just want to have a positive mind. God has his reasons for all this. Now for my second cycle, i am just taking it naturally..try not to think too much of it..Just be natural and have a balanced diet..

Hi Yong wei, yes, i am on the 1 time lucrin shot..have been having hot flushes every night..

Sigh...hope Libby turns out fine...

It really is a blessing for those who got BFP on their first try iVF..many ladies here have gone thru a few tries and lets hope for the best!

hi! all,
Went for my scan today.. Doc Loh said he is abit worried coz the embroye that i lost has become like a blood clot near the healthy bb n he is worried that if it tries to expel out may affect the other one too. The has given me pros.jab n said must take every week. Hopefully blood clot will clear n bb will be fine.. soo far bb is okie..Anyone experience this b4??

hi ltjabi

was just wondering how yr scan went. Does sound worrisome on e face of it, but m sure nature will sort it out by itself. Dun c how e progesterone jab will help in that.

wy

ltjabi, am very glad 2 hear that bb is ok. did dr mention how he can expel e blood clot and when's e next check=up?

Hi ladies, lets ur all pray for libby. Hope everything is fine with her....

Babydream, egg white must be at least 1/2 to 3/4 cooked. Never take raw egg white coz got bacteria and cause stomach upset. Btw u r young and with puregon 200 shld be ok to sitmulate.

Babyglaore, ya i m also quite with the egg white thing. Ladies, pls share ur experience on this..
actually why do we have to take chicken essence? To improve our health condition or to improve egg quality?

hi babygalore,

eggwhite is protein in one of its purest forms. makes sense 2 eat them at e stimulation stage, to encourage egg=growing.

wy

WY Koo: He didnt say..maybe with the bleeding.. Maybe absorbed in body.. Progesterone jab is to support the healthy bb so it stays strong.. It is worrying.. Cant lie.Im very afraid.

Lina: can i check did u do thalassaemia BT with hubby??

Hi tori, u managed to use the EMLA cream throughout the ivf procedure? It will be so good for not feeling the needle prick..... Can we get it at the guardian pharmacy? Ex or not?

Wk, oic. Is there anything that we can take to improve egg quality and improve womb linning? For u did u take any tcm prior and during ivf?

ltjabi, i know how unnerving things can b, esp when one unpleasant thing happen after another. But guess few pregnancies are completely smooth. try goggling 2 c if other chatrooms hv p/p w yr experience. Take care, and rest well